Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The courage which people have is inspiring.
I have read many books and have my own experiences in life where people could go horribly wrong in life and blame everything on their upbringing BUT this book is evidence of how resilient people are against enormous odds. I am astounded at how children manage to get through all that happens to them, the abuse and loveless way in which they are treated. I would recommend...
Published 19 months ago by Sandra

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cruel times for these children.
Read the book in one go, A good quick read and a true story, a bit disturbing that children were treated so badly and adults got away with it. Nice to know they grew up sane people when things could have been so different due to their childhood experiences.Their plight as children obviously missed by the relevant authorities, should not have happened. Where were the...
Published 7 months ago by Sandra Foster


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The courage which people have is inspiring., 14 May 2013
By 
Sandra (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
I have read many books and have my own experiences in life where people could go horribly wrong in life and blame everything on their upbringing BUT this book is evidence of how resilient people are against enormous odds. I am astounded at how children manage to get through all that happens to them, the abuse and loveless way in which they are treated. I would recommend this book to anyone who has been through or experiencing tough times. You are left with a feeling of being blessed in your own circumstances. I have been inspired to work for people to be educated in how important it is to be aware of what your children are going through and how it will affect them and to find a positive way to give them the love and care that they need. My prayers are with this family and I salute Robert for putting his story on paper. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this to anyone. I know the author so I could be biased here, but it is a very good read. I wouldn't say it is enjoyable only because of some of the subject matter, but their is humour in the story along with the tragedy. Bob Turley tells his story well for a first time author and does not wallow in self pity. This book can be an inspiration, if you see what Bob Turley had to endure in his life and not go under then, it could help people turn thier lives around. The book is easy to read and although the grammer isn't always spot on, it should not distract the reader from the story that the author is trying to tell. Buy it and read it, it may help the reader put some of the more unhappier times in their own past into perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most moving account., 18 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
growing up in the same period as Robert gave the book an insight to the social history of the times which was good.
For me though this was another example of the amazing extents to which humans are are not only to cope with and in fact recover from.
many times during the read i was moved to tears and also found much to laugh out loud at.
This was a very special book that i would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wounded souls, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
the title of the book tells it all, Robert has taken me on a rollercoaster ride ,the horrific nightmare where it all began at such a young age, to the hardships and many battles that he and his brothers had to face on a daily basis . eventually accumilating in present day. through all this Robert has held a firm belief in alway helping others , never asking for anything in return and to walk a straight path ,when i would of so much easier to turn the other way, the hardships and utter destructive path this man has walked with his brothers is totally unbelievable and to come through the kind of man,father and grandfather he is now i can only commend ,

well done robert on truely life inspiring story and i wish you all the very best and happiness for the future

John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Those poor boys, and the way they were treated by ..., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
What can I say?. I won't go into the storyline because there are plenty of other reviews. However, I am a prolific reader and this book is an absolute roller coaster. Those poor boys, and the way they were treated by the evil witch Mae after their much loved mother died is horrific. The one thing that shines out of this book is the love that the three brothers have for each other and stood by each other through thick and thin and there was plenty of "thin". Robert, thank you for sharing the lives of you and your lovely brothers. One thing I'm sure of is your mother would be so proud of her sons. I have just finished bawling again after watching the video on youtube x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart wrenching, inspirational read, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
a very poignant telling of lives, shattered, battered but not broken. Brotherly love prevails through terrible adversity.
God Bless the Turleys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of reviews, 18 May 2014
By 
A Hesford "misspip" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wounded Souls: 1 (Paperback)
It is so depressing to read reviews of a book, which include disparaging comments on the grammar and spelling, where the reviews themselves are liberally sprinkled with very basic errors in those areas! If a reviewer cannot maintain a good quality of spelling and grammar, he should keep quiet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despite the odds....3 brothers survive the sad circumstances of their lives., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
This is a factual account written by one of three survivors of a very tragic childhood and adolescence which takes place in Canada and moves across the Atlantic to continue in England. Without giving too much away, this story is heartbreaking and it is amazing that these three brothers learn to cope with family tragedy caused by a house fire. It will bring tears to your eyes but you will also see how these brothers go into survival mode, despite the turmoil that continues to follow them throughout their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this you must, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
A true story, written from the Heart and Soul. A story of 3 brothers. From the tradgedy of losing their mother and siblings in horrific circumstances, being sent across the world unacompanied at a young age to live with people they did not know, being subjected to endless neglect and cruelty at the hands of an individual who by todays standarfs should have been jailed.
of life, love, family and an emotional journey back to Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wounded souls, 31 Aug 2014
This review is from: Wounded Souls (Kindle Edition)
Found thus book a very good read. Can't believe that one family can have so much sadness and yet the surviving brothers after a long and difficult time came out the other end to be so caring and loving. They are a credit to their mother. God bless you all and may you all only have a happy life together for the rest of your lives. Well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wounded Souls
Wounded Souls by robert francis turley
£1.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews