Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2013
A beautifully crafted WWII thriller with an amazing story that embraces both the war and espionage genres and also has a strong romantic sub-plot. Wartime Paris must have been a very frightening place in 1940 with the Nazis about to invade and `In Pursuit of Platinum' makes you feel as if you are there facing the dangers and the uncertainty with Ben and Alena. I read it in two sessions and couldn't put it down. It moves along at a hot pace and I felt I was experiencing every step of their epic journey with them. What was particularly interesting was how the two main characters and their relationship developed and changed during the course of the story, and Alena came across to me as a very strong heroine. The `Shocking Secret' surprised me and left me wondering what the ramifications could be for us even today. For suspense, I rate it up with Ken Follett's `Eye Of The Needle' and Jack Higgins' `The Eagle Has Landed. It's great war fiction and I look forward to more.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
...and one that keeps your eyes transfixed on the pages as it twists and turns right to the very end. A bit like a Bond film - only this is in Kindle vision - In Pursuit of Platinum holds the reader's attention from start to finish. It also manages to capture what I would imagine (too young to know) the confusing and chaotic not to mention frightening atmosphere and environment during the war. Add to your reading list NOW!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
I enjoyed this book, the story is fast moving and full of unexpected twists and turns. I got to like the characters and was saddened when the book reached its conclusion. I will look out for more books by Vic Robbie.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
An astute and informed read. This mirrors many conventions of a Bond novel and it hits most criteria. There are some in depth explorations of the nature of the Second World War combined with action and intrigue. There are detailed historical concepts at the heart of this complex tale. Well worth a read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
My first time with this author - and really enjoyed the style. Well developed characters that truly came alive in my mind. The pace of the story was good and the pursuit across Europe felt knowledgeable and well constructed.

Would recommend as a good read!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This is the best novel I have read for some time. Excellent characterization and a rollercoaster plot. The author leads you through the story at a pace. I found it difficult to put the bok down I would recommend this to all who are lovers of this genre.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
A refreshingly unusual tale giving an insight to the impact on civilians during and after the taking of Paris by the Germans. I am usually a slow reader but this book was hard to put down. I hope to read more of Vic Robbie's books in the future.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
An excellent read. It is fast moving and atmospheric. It may be a little fanciful which prevents my giving it five stars but I enjoyed it from beginning to end and look forward to more from this author.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Fabulous book, very descriptive, left nothing to the imagination, well researched, excellent story, I went the journey with them! Looking forward to the next one Vic .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
I rate. Vic Robbie's In Pursuit of Platinum 5 star for it's gripping quality and brilliant writing style,

It's Interesting historical and very believable details,
for the gripping suspense that Vic Robbie maintains right through to the end and afterwards.

A very enjoyable, entertaining and memorable read indeed,
The end calls out for a sequel.
I have highly recommended it to many of my family and friends.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.