Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed the film and knew I had to get the soundtrack from the minute I heard it.

The soundtrack really adds to the film and creates this wonderful pulpy atmosphere to coincide with the sleek yet grungy visuals of the film. For the score itself Paul-Leonard Morgan uses a variety of sounds and styles such as drum and base, pumping synthesizers and electronic guitars to really give it a signature of its own and differentiate it from other synth scores in recent times.

Speaking of which, there seem to be an increasing number of very good electronic scores for films in recent times, such as Tron Legacy, Drive, Contagion, The Raid and a number of others, which is great for me since I love electronic music in films.

Anyway, couldn't be happier with the product, can't wait to get the blu-ray. :)
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
A cracking film soundtrack - well worth the money.

Strong instrumentals throughout, great beats. Sound coming through the speakers is brilliant. Whoever the sound engineer was for this one deserves an industry award.

Without doubt one of the best albums of its genre this year - can't see anything beating it for 2012.

Terrific to listen to and a superb body of work.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
The film, in my opinion, was fantastic. They achieved worlds above and beyond what the 'Original' attempted to do with twice the budget (And failed miserably).
The world, characters, feel and atmosphere were terrifically spot on.
It really felt like picking up a Judge Dredd graphic novel off the shelf and getting lost in it, and as a Dredd fan I cannot give it higher praise.

A big part of the feel and texture of the film was this brilliant soundtrack - It reminds me of the Fight Club OST by The Dust Brothers: Gritty, punchy, dark but powerful and full of flavour.
Exactly the right soundtrack to season Mega City One. A place full of Perps, drugs, disparity, chaos, and of course: Judge Dredd.
The soundtrack accompanies it all with a timeless feel.

It is neither a bashful surround of heavy guitars nor a synth zappathon. It has a distinctive grainy, distorted edge combined with smooth atmospherics and rolling drums. Again, think along the lines of the Fight Club soundtrack and the Quake II Soundtrack and you might be along the right lines.
Provocative, powerful, dark and in parts reflective and atmospheric - Not forgetting badass and just damn cool too.

So, just like the rest of the film - This soundtrack fits Dredd like glove, and cures the horrible hangover from the 'Original'.

A brilliant piece of work by Paul Morgan.
Much like everyone involved in the making of this film, I wish I could shake his hand!
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Fantastic soundtrack for a great film, both of which have been sadly overlooked. Adds to the visceral punch of the film, without taking it over and becoming distracting (unlike so many orchestral scores these days). Well worth a listen and buy the film too!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Let me put this way. Did you see Dredd? If you did and enjoyed it then good for you. Just in general. In a world of 12a movies we finally got something darker and grimmer and, in my opinion, didn't suffer too much from the existence of The Raid. Although that movie rocked! Ahem. Sorry, got off point there. The point is if you liked the movie and you liked the music then this is worth it. It's a little samey and it owes a lot to the works of far more interesting soundtracks, Fight Club for one. Still, if you liked the way it drove the movie then this is worth getting and playing very, very loud.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Ever since seeing the movie in cinema, the soundtrack, along with the blu ray (of course), was always on my hit list. Not sure if I have heard much of Paul Leonard Morgan's other stuff, but based on this he knows how to put an ost together to match the feel of the movie. My personal favourites is track 3 and 4 - The Plan and Rise of Mama. Even if you haven't seen the movie yet, still I highly recommend the soundtrack. Will most likely make you want to watch it lol
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I bought this after seeing and then being blown away by Dredd. The opening track will be stuck in your head for good once you hear it and i was especially impressed by how varied the album was. One track could be loud and epic and but the next could be subtle and hypnotic. I adore this score and this film and it's made me seek out and collect the Judge Dredd Case Files. I look forward to seeing what Paul Leonard-Morgan does next.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
This is an amazing soundtrack to an amazing movie. The music compliments and balances the film's stunning visuals and very serious and violent images. Dredd, the movie, blew me away with how surprising it was- a very strong comic/action hero film with dark satire and gore along the lines of the original Robocop.

The soundtrack also won me over as well. For any fans of instrumental soundtracks along the lines of Front Line Assembly for industrial/dance/techno style of bands to Pandorum for motion picture soundtracks.

Highly recommend. Tracks that stand out are Rise of Ma Ma & Ma Ma's Requiem.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Fans of electronic music will love this and if you have Escape From New York and Barrow and Salisbury's Drokk then you need to add this to your collection. There are also echoes of Chemical Brothers, Dig Your Own Hole.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
A great soundtrack to a great film. Part of wonders if the length of the tracks accurately reflects screen time but i guess i'll have to wait for the dvd to compare.
More of the same needed for a sequel please!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)