Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Avett Brothers - Craftsmen at work
The days of the Avett Brothers coming across as some sort of newgrass country punk band are long behind them. Their last album "I and love and you" was a huge hit in the States and was produced by Rick Rubin whose impeccable track record with artists like Johnny Cash, Tom Petty, Neil Diamond and a host of other bands sees him as one of the most recognisable big beards in...
Published on 13 Sep 2012 by Red on Black

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still good songs...
But the Avette Brothers now, are more mainstream compared to yearly work.
But the still sing like gods and write super songs.
Published on 12 Dec 2012 by Lars Høg Jensen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Avett Brothers - Craftsmen at work, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
The days of the Avett Brothers coming across as some sort of newgrass country punk band are long behind them. Their last album "I and love and you" was a huge hit in the States and was produced by Rick Rubin whose impeccable track record with artists like Johnny Cash, Tom Petty, Neil Diamond and a host of other bands sees him as one of the most recognisable big beards in American music. The Avett's new album essentially picks up where the brothers from Concord, North Carolina left off in 2010. This is great news for those who love the reflective heart wrenching alt country songwriting side of the band, perhaps less good news for those who hark back to the raucousness of early albums like "Mignonette". Progression however is the name of the game and once again "Carpenter" is an album that screams out for a larger UK audience for a band that can literally blow away all comers with their explosive live act.

Standout tracks here include the opening track "The once and future carpenter" which is a gorgeous travelling road ballad full of lifting melodies, soaring vocals from the brothers and building crescendos which make for a sterling start to a very fine set of songs. The plaintive lament "Winter in my heart" does suffer slightly on the lyric front but its good song that builds to a fine climax. Much better however is another in the series of "Pretty Girl" songs which started back in 2002 with "Pretty Girl From Matthews". Here it is "Pretty girl from Michigan" and clearly whoever said female was, she struck an inspirational chord with the brothers who have produced one of their best ever old style rock 'n' roll ballads in this great tune. Another Avett's mainstay is a passing nod to the early Beatles and it comes in the form of "I never knew" with superb harmonies providing the underpinning driving force. Best of all is "February Seven" and effortless country heartbreak love song which speaks of "A wound across my memory/That no amount of stitches would repair". It will no doubt generate huge accompanying audience participation when played live. Irritatingly the penultimate song "Paul Newman versus the demons" seems like the albums token rocker and largely serves to disrupt the end of the album. It may improve on repeated listens but for now it jars rather than flows. Far more preferable is "Down with the shine" with a nicely picked banjo in the background and the final song "Life" a big reflective ballad to round off proceedings with a considerable emotional punch.

Check some of the reviews on the American Amazon site and some of the bands supporters are berating the fact that Rubin has again shaved off some of the rough edges of the Avett's and underplayed their former banjo fuelled high energy. There is is something in this but clearly the brothers have been keen to emphasise their songwriting credentials in recent albums and it would be a pretty poor show if they constantly rehashed "Country Was" over and over again. That said they do need to think about what next after "Rubin" who has certainly brought a more cohesive and polished sound to the band. For now "Carpenter" is an album made for the fall, brimming full of introspective meditative ballads that seem to grow in character and stature on every listen. This reviewer will resist the urge to utilise some form of carpentry metaphor to finish suffice it to say that the Avetts new album is a solid construction fashioned from ancient materials and shows real craftsmen at work. Sorry couldn't resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy but their most low fi yet., 26 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen H. Lyall (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
One of those bands whose new releases I automatically buy without prior listening, I was initially struck by the low key nature of many of the songs. I think it is even more 'restrained' than their previous outing under Rick Rubin but is none the worse for it. Earlier recordings contained a small number of 'ballad type' songs which highlighted the vocal ability of the brothers and the gleam albums particularly cemented for me the possibility that they may eventually tone down the wonderful full throttle nature of their performances to maybe widen their appeal. It will however be interesting to see how these new songs fit into their astonishing highly enertaining stage act when they next tour the UK. The album itself appears to feature a more prominent role for Joe Kwon on the cello and more piano contributions from the brothers. They both have fine voices (not forgetting Bob Crawford's backing vocals) and as usual the lyrics and music dovetail nicely to great effect. The 'Paul Newman....' track is totally different to everything else on the album and was a bit of a surprise but is an interesting change in direction. All in all this album will appeal to a wider audience but I do slightly miss those rough edges which have been smoothed out for the two latest offerings. Still brimming with talent and highly listenable but in a different way to their earlier stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Carpenter, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant! It is simillar to every single previous album in the sense of lyrics: Incredibly well written and thought provoking. In terms of the music and instrumentality there is more percussion, i.e full drum kit, more electric guitar from Seth but still their classic stripped back acoustic songs. 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly beautiful, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
Different people will like different albums of the avetts. It's a very subjective thing.. For me, this album is their best. I have also bought Mignonette and I and love and you. Why they are not better known and appreciated defeats me. It seems anyone can sell a bad album nowadays as long as they behave badly enough and make up for their lack of talent by posturing and appealing to a vast enough bunch of losers! However, if you have real talent and can make beautiful music but cannot behave like a moron then nobody will notice you. Sad, isn't it! It is not often that I find myself listening to songs that can make me cry, but the Avetts accomplish this for me quite easily. Superb lyrics, great instrumentation, exquisite melodies, everything is here. I'll just have to make sure the tears don't blind me as I drive along, listening to them on the car cd player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, right! I really love this album. It's nothing short of sensational., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
They've done it again; I love this album just as much as 'I and Love and You'.
I'm not gonna try to analyse or describe it. No Need! Just listen to it and you'll agree, I'm sure.
Beautiful melodic songs, great lyrics. The singing is absolutely gorgeous. The frasing is very clear, specially when Scott takes the lead, which happens to be the case in most of the songs. Excellent musicianship on all tracks.
Joe Kwon's cello and Jacob Edwards' drums really contribute a great deal to the whole atmosphere of the album.

This album is on a par with the best of the Beatles (i.e. the UK versions of 'Rubber Soul' and 'Revolver') and The Band ('Brown' album and 'Northern Lights-Southern Cross').
I recommend it. Nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album catchy but still true to the heartfelt Avett brothers passionate style., 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
Excellent - great development successfully bringing together the greater polish from I and love and you, and the more emotional and accessible Emotionalisim.
Click the button and buy it you will not regret it.
Big thanks as well for including a download code in the vinyl package - a classy touch meaning I can listen to this great album if I am being Old school or new.
If you get to the chance to see the Avetts live grab it! Great concert in Manchester in 2013, full of energy and passion and really connecting with the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenter [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
I have listened to the Avett Brothers for years and I'm glad to say they are still going strong with 'The Carpenter'. A great album yet again. I just wish they had the same success in the UK as, say The Black Keys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still good songs..., 12 Dec 2012
By 
Lars Høg Jensen "Hawk" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
But the Avette Brothers now, are more mainstream compared to yearly work.
But the still sing like gods and write super songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brothers, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
I have only just come across the avett brothers and bought this latest CD without expectations but I love it, the harmonies, the arrangements. The Amazon trick of providing you with other things you might like suggest they are in the same bag as the mumford brothers, indigo girls etc but I think they are a notch better. And I would love to see them live. Wonder if they will come to the UK soon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giudizio favorevole, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenter (Audio CD)
Ottimo album , le canzoni sono per lo più interessanti e gradevoli.Classe nella esecuzione , mai sbavature. Strumentazione adatta al genere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Carpenter [+digital booklet]
The Carpenter [+digital booklet] by The Avett Brothers
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews