Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But I wanted something better than matches or a disposable lighter for lighting scented ...
Took a while to arrive but worth the wait. It was a bit of an impulse buy and something I didn't think I really needed. But I wanted something better than matches or a disposable lighter for lighting scented candles in deep jars which result in burnt fingers.
Anyway this daddy arrived and I have to say it not like the one in the picture because mine is better! It...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars O.k. but fiddly.
One might (just) be able to braze thin brass or copper with this torch but welding would be a non-starter and soldering would be difficult as the pressure of the jet on "hot" setting would spray solder for yards! I also found the lighting sequence fiddly, with the gas "on-off" switch on the top, the ignition button on the end and the flame-setting (candle...
Published 1 month ago by Himself -10


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But I wanted something better than matches or a disposable lighter for lighting scented ..., 3 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
Took a while to arrive but worth the wait. It was a bit of an impulse buy and something I didn't think I really needed. But I wanted something better than matches or a disposable lighter for lighting scented candles in deep jars which result in burnt fingers.
Anyway this daddy arrived and I have to say it not like the one in the picture because mine is better! It does everything as described but it has been redesigned. Mine doesn't have the chrome end as in the picture, it now has a push button igniter at the bottom and a neat slider to control the flame intensity below the on/off switch. A simple flick of the side control button switches from a candle like flame to a searing blow torch and believe you me it really is searing. Like and idiot I touched it on the corner of my desk for a second or two and the scorch is all too obvious!! Now like an idiot I've just scorched my computer mouse just playing with this thing while writing this!
I don't know if it'll be any good for soldering but for lighting candles, scent sticks and burning your initials into wood and melting your mouse it's ace.
I'm such a child :)
However this is not a toy and kids (under the age of 55) should not be allowed to play with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality and value, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
Bought one for camping/outdoor use as I wanted a lighter that would work in wet and windy conditions, wasn't expecting anything great as the price is so low.

But...
They are amazing - faultless quality and solidly built. So I bought another. Now my dad has seen it and wants one himself so I'm getting another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini Fire, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
This is an excellent little lighter for the price though be it noted it is a lighter rather than a blowtorch - running time will be fairly short with a small tank. As a lighter though, it is excellent, offering the option of the blowtorch flame and a yellow traditional lighter-type flame. It will be fairly windproof (could not extinguish the blowtorch by swinging it about vigorously) BUT WARNING: the lighter coloured part at the tip is not plastic but metal and gets VERY HOT in use. DO NOT TOUCH and be careful where you lay it after use!
Instructions only in Mandarin but fairly easy to deduce . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very cool, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
im a fixit man this shrinks heatshrink solders and melts its small powerful, it very good i doubt if anyone would complain with this in there kit well worth the money thumbs up fellas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised !, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
I must admit that I wasn't expecting this to be much good considering the price but have to say that I am pleasantly surprised !

I find this extremely useful for my purpose, it has a very thin flame (about 3mm wide) and produces a lot of heat for it's size. I wouldn't use it for soldering water pipes but for jewellery and very small jobs, it's ideal !
Obviously the tip gets hot during use so it's best not to leave it burning for more than 30 seconds to reduce any risks, it's very easy to turn off and re-light it as necessary.
There is a sliding 3 position switch on the side, in it's lowest position (locked) the device is off and safe for filling or storage. The second position is on allowing gas to flow. When you slide it all the way to the front it ignites the gas then you can release the switch and it continues to burn until you move the slider back to the off position.

The rotary knob on the bottom is to adjust flame size. The filler port is in the middle of the adjuster knob.

I read through some of the other reviews and it seems that a few people have had problems which include a lack of instructions, leaking/flooding, poor quality and questionable safety.

First, the safety issue; if you feel that it is possible that you could do some damage to yourself or your home when using a lighter then don't use one.

Second, lack of instructions; if you need instructions to fill a lighter, you should ask an competent adult.

Third; the quality is fine, you can't expect all metal construction for this price.

Fourth, flooding/leaking; it is possible that someone got a faulty one but I suspect it could just be user error. If the sliding switch was in the open position during filling this might cause that issue.
One person also said they couldn't turn the device off, when the flame is set to maximum it continues to burn for a few seconds after it is turned off, it's just burning up the pressurised gas between the valve and the jet, it's not an instant cut-off.

I think (for the price) it is well deserving of 4 stars, it would have to be exceptional for 5 stars but I think 4 stars is a fair rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a bit larger than I thought, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
as it was advertised with the lighters, it was larger than I thought it would be, around 6 inches. I t is very good for the price, flame can be powerful hot blue or normal yellow/orange, easy to fill and lasts well, no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lighter, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
Burns with a torch or soft flame, so good for cigarettes, pipes and cigars. Also useful as a small blowtorch. It's surprisingly economical on gas for such a powerful flame, but is rather too large to be your main or only lighter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refillable gas lighter- and pocket blowtorch!!!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
This lighter is larger than normal sized pocket lighters, being just over 6 inches long (16cm). However, not only is it a good lighter, but the flame can be adjusted to produce an intense and powerful flame which could be used for soldering or welding! The only downside is that the instructions were in one language, which I assume to be Chinese. But it didn't take long to work out what the 3 controls were for- gas on/off; ignition; and flame intensity. So there you are. I recommend this to anyone who could make use of a pocket blowtorch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jet flame not so lame, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
as a smoker i have used various lighters to have a smoke jet flame to petrol but when i saw this i had to have it for three pounds it was a bargain it has dual flame capabilities and they both work great simply ignite the lighter and then flick the switch down and it will change from a jet flame to a standard flame best of both.
however you have to ignite the lighter on the jet setting for some reason you cant light it on the standard flame although this doesn't bother me i found it strange.
its not going to be great for welding at all it would be grossly impractical but for lighting up that cig or the stove or guy Fawkes its there in your palm. for three quid it will outlast disposable ones that are around a pound a pop i no wich one id rather have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars O.k. but fiddly., 15 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jet Flame Pencil Butane Gas Refillable Lighter Torch Fuel Welding Soldering Pen By Buyincoins (Misc.)
One might (just) be able to braze thin brass or copper with this torch but welding would be a non-starter and soldering would be difficult as the pressure of the jet on "hot" setting would spray solder for yards! I also found the lighting sequence fiddly, with the gas "on-off" switch on the top, the ignition button on the end and the flame-setting (candle or torch) on the side and the gas-flow adjustment working sideways across the body of the unit. By the time I'd finished turning it round and round to get the flame I needed to light my wood-burner I was beginning to feel both dizzy and a little concerned at the hazard to my shirt-cuffs and tie!

So only three stars for accuracy of description or ease of use, but this would have been more for it's powerful and effective flame which (once set) at last allows me to light my fire without trying to convince an ordinary lighter or match to stay alight in the up-draft of a wood-burning stove. (If you have one, you will almost certainly recognise the problem). So it does the job I bought it for.

It would probably also be ideal for caramelising sugar on deserts, but welding..... No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews