Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King's Buccaneer : An Excellent Diversion
As always, Feist weaves a tale of Fantasy that retains a realistic quality that is missing in so many Fantasy novels. Feist obviously researches his material thoroughly before putting pen to paper. ( Or keyboard to word processor as it may be !! ) This novel is a a prime example of his ability to make a "Fantasy" setting seem almost real. Several chapters of the novel are...
Published on 8 Aug 2002 by kpope15

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feist's Writing Improves But The Story Remains The Same
Of the six books that comprise or grow out of the "Riftwar Saga," this is without doubt Feist's best effort in terms of writing skills. Backing away, at least in the beginning, from the event laden narrative of his earlier books, the author finally attempts to provide greater depth both in terms of his characterizations and building up a premise from which...
Published on 17 Aug 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King's Buccaneer : An Excellent Diversion, 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
As always, Feist weaves a tale of Fantasy that retains a realistic quality that is missing in so many Fantasy novels. Feist obviously researches his material thoroughly before putting pen to paper. ( Or keyboard to word processor as it may be !! ) This novel is a a prime example of his ability to make a "Fantasy" setting seem almost real. Several chapters of the novel are spent aboard ship and his attention to detail and knowledge of wooden ships steering the mighty sea provides so realitic a setting that you can almost feel the cold ocean air, the creak of the ship and the sound of the ocean waves , as if you were onboard ship yourself instead of immersed in a novel upon the make believe world of Midkemia. This book follows Amos Trask and young Prince Nicholas on an important journey for the crown. It is a good break from the normal Midkemia surroundings that allows us to see other parts of Feist's world and develop a love for new characters. For all of those Feist fans out there that have not read this book ( Although I can't believe there are any of you!!), or those who like realistic Fantasy..this is a book you should read and Feist is an author you should follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any fiction/fantasy book collection, 17 Nov 2003
By 
A. S. Garton "age garton" (milton keynes, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
The King's Buccaneer is Feist's second book designed to introduce the next generation of his characters to the reader. This book sees Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas, lead a band of assorted souls disguised as pirates to the rescue of those who were kidnapped in the sacking of the Far Coast.
This is perhaps Feist's strongest novel. It does not rely on past events overly and although it does set the stage for events to come, the story is still both complete and fully entertaining. Feist's real strength shines through in Buccaneer - his ability to draw engrossing and realistic characters with depth.
One of my all-time favourtites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb fantasy novel., 25 Oct 2004
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
THE STORY:
Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas, is sent to Crydee to gain some experience outside of Krondor's court. When Crydee is devastated by a brutal raid Nicholas and a band of survivors attempt to track down their captured loved ones, but to do so they must sort out a convoluted scheme involving Tsurani assassins, Keshian slavers, pirates and the Pantathian serpent priests. Their adventure will take them across the ocean to the mysterious land of Novindus.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Although supposedly a sequel to 'Prince of the Blood', this book is a continuation of the story of 'A Darkness at Sethanon' in ways that it's predecessor never was. The story is at all times gripping and the young people struggling with responsibility, love and the harsh realities of the world is very reminiscent of Feist's greatest work (and first) 'Magician'. With the inclusion of Pug and Nakor, Feist even manages to expand on his exploration of the nature of magic itself, without over exposing the idea. Which gives me an entry to say just how much I love the character of Nakor. Pug is always aloof and mysterious (as you'd expect from the most powerful magician in the world), but Nakor is a thoroughly personable character and his excentricity blends excellently with his obvious power and wisdom. Nakor's training of Anthony was one of my favourite elements of this book.
WHAT'S BAD:
I don't have alot bad to say about this book. The way in which everyone ends up finding that special someone and falling in love was a little too unlikely for my tastes and I thought that Nicholas' whirlwind relationship with Iasha was doubly unlikely considering the way their interaction goes throughout the book. This book also suffers slightly from the fact that you're always aware that it's really just a prelude to the Serpent War saga, cheapening the otherwise brilliant reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the back of the book....., 20 Aug 2006
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
This new and exciting epic adventure occurs ten years after the events recounted in PRINCE OF THE BLOOD. Nicholas, third son of Prince Anitha of Kmndor, is a bright and gifted youngster, but sheltered by the restrictive life of his father's court. To learn more of the world outside the palace walls, Nicholas and his squire set sail for pastoral Crydee. Thus begins an adventure that will place the fate of his nation on his unsure shoulders.

Shortly after their arrival, Crydee is brutally attacked by unknown forces. The castle is reduced to ruins, the townspeople slaughtered and two young noblewomen (friends of Nicholas) abducted. More than a simple raid for slaves, the invaders serve dark forces intent upon the wholesale destruction of the Kingdom of the Isles.

As brother to the future king, Nicholas must undertake a long and dangerous journey. And as he ventures further from the familiar land marks of his home, Nicholas learns that more than the fate of two girls is at stake, even more than the fate of the Kingdom, for behind the murderous pirates stands a force that menaces the entire world of Midkemia, and he is destined to confront this terrifying threat.

RAVE REVIEWS: "Feist writes skilfully and his imagination is prolific."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Dec 2002
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
this book was a really good read, having read all of fiests work this was one of my favorite pieces of work there was great depth in the workings of ALL his charecters, not one lagged anything at all. my favourite charector in this book has to be Amos Trask the pirate (turned navy).
This a really good read for anybody begginer or full time fan like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I gushing about this book? You bet I am!, 28 April 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In this sequel to Prince of the Blood, author Raymond Feist takes us back to his magical world of Midkemia. It is nine years after the events of the previous book, and Aruthu is looking to season his youngest son, Nicholas. However, when that most unusual of wizards, Nakor, shows up, it is the start of a whirlwind adventure! Nicholas has to overcome his own fears if he is to stay alive...and save the whole world!
This is another great Raymond Feist book. I don't know if I would call it his best, as I loved all of the earlier books in the series, but it is definitely up there! Once again, as in Prince of the Blood, Mr. Feist does an excellent job of introducing the reader to several interesting and exotic settings, employing fascinating characters and a positively gripping storyline. Am I gushing about this book? You bet I am!
So, I would say that this is a simply excellent fantasy book, one of the best that was ever written, and I highly recommend it to you. Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feist's Writing Improves But The Story Remains The Same, 17 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
Of the six books that comprise or grow out of the "Riftwar Saga," this is without doubt Feist's best effort in terms of writing skills. Backing away, at least in the beginning, from the event laden narrative of his earlier books, the author finally attempts to provide greater depth both in terms of his characterizations and building up a premise from which to launch this newest tale. Unfortunately he does not entirely follow through with this effort, and after the first 150 pages begins to fall back upon his old formula of letting the action primarily support the story. The result is that all the characters introduced after the first few chapters become the typical Feist caricatures that populate his previous works, and even some of the early players - Harry in particular - devolve into one dimensional stereotypes. The author's unfortunate use of the Hollywood pirate, as well as his bald borrowings from Mongolian and Saharan cultures again become evidence of his lack of descriptive imagination or a tendency towards indolence. Further, his plot devices have become repetitive: In the last six books assination attempts have played a role in three, Crydee has been devastated by seaborn raiders in two, dragons again save the day, all the boys and girls pair up, and the Pantathian threat remains essentially the same; only the Slayers have changed the color of their costume. And again Feist winds up his tale in mawkish sentimentality identical to "A Darkness at Sethanon."
Feist does offer the reader moments of unexamined action and pleasurable escape. The problem is that these modest diversions appear more and more to be much of the same: Names and places change, the action shifts chronologically, but the overall story remains familiar. But like McDonalds, I suppose, Feist appeals to those who like the expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Kindle Edition)
A bit G rated but still a good read. Could maybe do with a bit more shock or unexpected twists...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read too good to put down, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Kindle Edition)
This was a wonderful adventure, the story carries you on at a breakneck pace. This is one book to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars average, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Antrim, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Kindle Edition)
Average Feist adventure. It is a link book between storylines and setting up between the Riftwar Saga and the other adventures. I got it for a couple of pounds for kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King's Buccaneer
The King's Buccaneer by Raymond E. Feist
4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews