Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King's Buccaneer : An Excellent Diversion
As always, Feist weaves a tale of Fantasy that retains a realistic quality that is missing in so many Fantasy novels. Feist obviously researches his material thoroughly before putting pen to paper. ( Or keyboard to word processor as it may be !! ) This novel is a a prime example of his ability to make a "Fantasy" setting seem almost real. Several chapters of the novel are...
Published on 8 Aug. 2002 by kpope15

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but too many OCR errors for a full price ebook.
I like the series and this book. This review is more about the quality of the ebook.

There are too many errors for the professional quality full-price ebook.

clintele for clientele
Drondorian for Krondorian
Ufe for life
failing for falling
certin for certain
Fulgan for Kulgan
finen for linen
Several missing open...
Published on 15 Oct. 2012 by Paul Durrant


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King's Buccaneer : An Excellent Diversion, 8 Aug. 2002
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
As always, Feist weaves a tale of Fantasy that retains a realistic quality that is missing in so many Fantasy novels. Feist obviously researches his material thoroughly before putting pen to paper. ( Or keyboard to word processor as it may be !! ) This novel is a a prime example of his ability to make a "Fantasy" setting seem almost real. Several chapters of the novel are spent aboard ship and his attention to detail and knowledge of wooden ships steering the mighty sea provides so realitic a setting that you can almost feel the cold ocean air, the creak of the ship and the sound of the ocean waves , as if you were onboard ship yourself instead of immersed in a novel upon the make believe world of Midkemia. This book follows Amos Trask and young Prince Nicholas on an important journey for the crown. It is a good break from the normal Midkemia surroundings that allows us to see other parts of Feist's world and develop a love for new characters. For all of those Feist fans out there that have not read this book ( Although I can't believe there are any of you!!), or those who like realistic Fantasy..this is a book you should read and Feist is an author you should follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any fiction/fantasy book collection, 17 Nov. 2003
By 
A. S. Garton "age garton" (milton keynes, england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
The King's Buccaneer is Feist's second book designed to introduce the next generation of his characters to the reader. This book sees Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas, lead a band of assorted souls disguised as pirates to the rescue of those who were kidnapped in the sacking of the Far Coast.
This is perhaps Feist's strongest novel. It does not rely on past events overly and although it does set the stage for events to come, the story is still both complete and fully entertaining. Feist's real strength shines through in Buccaneer - his ability to draw engrossing and realistic characters with depth.
One of my all-time favourtites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb fantasy novel., 25 Oct. 2004
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
THE STORY:
Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas, is sent to Crydee to gain some experience outside of Krondor's court. When Crydee is devastated by a brutal raid Nicholas and a band of survivors attempt to track down their captured loved ones, but to do so they must sort out a convoluted scheme involving Tsurani assassins, Keshian slavers, pirates and the Pantathian serpent priests. Their adventure will take them across the ocean to the mysterious land of Novindus.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Although supposedly a sequel to 'Prince of the Blood', this book is a continuation of the story of 'A Darkness at Sethanon' in ways that it's predecessor never was. The story is at all times gripping and the young people struggling with responsibility, love and the harsh realities of the world is very reminiscent of Feist's greatest work (and first) 'Magician'. With the inclusion of Pug and Nakor, Feist even manages to expand on his exploration of the nature of magic itself, without over exposing the idea. Which gives me an entry to say just how much I love the character of Nakor. Pug is always aloof and mysterious (as you'd expect from the most powerful magician in the world), but Nakor is a thoroughly personable character and his excentricity blends excellently with his obvious power and wisdom. Nakor's training of Anthony was one of my favourite elements of this book.
WHAT'S BAD:
I don't have alot bad to say about this book. The way in which everyone ends up finding that special someone and falling in love was a little too unlikely for my tastes and I thought that Nicholas' whirlwind relationship with Iasha was doubly unlikely considering the way their interaction goes throughout the book. This book also suffers slightly from the fact that you're always aware that it's really just a prelude to the Serpent War saga, cheapening the otherwise brilliant reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just shy of 5 stars ...., 27 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
I'm reviewing Feists' (and those involved with him) works in Chronological order. Unfortunately for some books there are new books and covers being re-released in March 2013 so reviews for the old books can no longer be posted. Not so clever AMAZON.

Anyway this review is for the chronological reading of books by Feist and others that all link Medkemia and Kelewan and form the Riftwar Saga, Legacy and beyond. This one is for The KINGS BUCCANEER.

The order is:-

Magician 5 stars
Jimmy the Hand 2 Stars
Horored Enemy 4 stars
Murder in LaMuT 3 stars.
Daughter of the Empire 5 stars
Silverthorn 4.5 stars
Darkness at Sethanon 5 stars
Servant of the Empire 5 stars
Krondor: The Betrayal 3 Stars
Mistress of the Empire 5 stars
Krondor: The Assassins 3 Stars
Krondor: Tear of the Gods 3 Stars
Prince of the Blood 5.5 Stars
THE KINGS BUCCANEER 4 STARS

This was good but not nearly as good as many of his previous books that got 5 stars. The reason for this is simple. Feist descriptive writing is still very much in evidence and you still feel very much that you're right there amongst the adventure yourself, BUT, and it is a big BUT, the story is simply not there. There's nothing to really keep this going. There's no clever twists or intriguing plots. It's a very very simple story that you could summarise in a paragraph. So here in lies the problem. There's nothing really to get your teeth into. even the few things that might have sparked some good sub splots have been left wide open, and I suspect this is because Feist is going to run with the Pantathians a little more. (If you have no idea who they are you need to go back and read the other books). So a good read but not a great one with a simple plot and story to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but too many OCR errors for a full price ebook., 15 Oct. 2012
By 
Paul Durrant (Norwich, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Kindle Edition)
I like the series and this book. This review is more about the quality of the ebook.

There are too many errors for the professional quality full-price ebook.

clintele for clientele
Drondorian for Krondorian
Ufe for life
failing for falling
certin for certain
Fulgan for Kulgan
finen for linen
Several missing open quotes at the start of paragraphs
some hyphens instead of em-dashes (elsewhere em-dashes are used correctly)

And that's just the first eight chapters. I haven't checked thoroughly, but I feel it gets a bit worse futher into the book.

Oh - and scene changes aren't marked out sufficiently well.

So: I'm pleased it's now available as a legal ebook. I'm slightly disappointed that OCR errors that shoud have been caught by spell check at least (Ufe ?) were missed.

Hopefully they'll fix the errors at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Feist novel, 28 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
This book works as a decent stand alone epic/adventure, but is best read after Prince of the Blood and particularly the earlier Riftwar trilogy for some context and an introduction to many of the characters.

It has all the ingredients of a good fantasy story but for me where it disappoints is a lack of engagement with most of the main characters, and after a long over-sea chase, not much exploration of Novindus which Feist introduces for the first time in this book. There seems to be a lot of travelling, spying, but not much intrigue. We also find out very little about the story's villains and the conclusion was a bit of a predictable anti-climax.

I am a big fan of Feist but all in all happy to move on to his next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better !, 5 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
The story contained in this book is the work of one of the best story tellers of our age. I thought prince of the blood was amazing.....this is better! And Nakor is back! Want an orange? The kings buccaneer is a story of rescue, survival, adventure and love and had me reading well into the night. The amount of research Feist has done to make you believe that you are sailing a ship on the high seas totally engrosses you so much you can almost hear the creaking of the ship as you read. And what a cool ending! Serpentwar next. If its as good as this dont think i'll be leaving my house for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kings Buccaneer, 12 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
Feist at his usual 'best'. Continues the story of the dangers facing the world of Midkemia, this time from the perspective of Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas as he grows to maturity among legends he aspires to live up to. His 'angle', of enlarging on an already strong core theme, developed in previous books, by extending the unfolding story from the perspective of different characters, and subsequent family, friends, associates, etc, allows the story to remain interesting, gripping, and always entertaining. Never dull, always ready for more. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Dec. 2002
This review is from: The King's Buccaneer (Paperback)
this book was a really good read, having read all of fiests work this was one of my favorite pieces of work there was great depth in the workings of ALL his charecters, not one lagged anything at all. my favourite charector in this book has to be Amos Trask the pirate (turned navy).
This a really good read for anybody begginer or full time fan like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I gushing about this book? You bet I am!, 28 April 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In this sequel to Prince of the Blood, author Raymond Feist takes us back to his magical world of Midkemia. It is nine years after the events of the previous book, and Aruthu is looking to season his youngest son, Nicholas. However, when that most unusual of wizards, Nakor, shows up, it is the start of a whirlwind adventure! Nicholas has to overcome his own fears if he is to stay alive...and save the whole world!
This is another great Raymond Feist book. I don't know if I would call it his best, as I loved all of the earlier books in the series, but it is definitely up there! Once again, as in Prince of the Blood, Mr. Feist does an excellent job of introducing the reader to several interesting and exotic settings, employing fascinating characters and a positively gripping storyline. Am I gushing about this book? You bet I am!
So, I would say that this is a simply excellent fantasy book, one of the best that was ever written, and I highly recommend it to you. Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King's Buccaneer
The King's Buccaneer by Raymond E. Feist
£6.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews