Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars60
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2010
The original 1973 Qudrophenia album is my favourite Who album, and is also amongst my top ten albums of all time, so I had put off buying the soundtrack to the film for quite a while, thinking that the songs would be merely shortened versions of those that I already own - big mistake!

Listening to the versions on the soundtrack is like revisiting an old friend - they're still essentially the same, but they're also different. Some changes are subtle, whilst others are more obvious, giving some of the tracks a more polished feel. Some fans may not agree with this, but after listening to the original for so many years, it's really refreshing to hear these 'alternative' versions of some classic songs.

You also get three extra Who tracks - Get Out And Stay Out, Four Faces, and Joker James, as well as tracks by other artists featured in the film.

This album should be in every fan's collection - and at under £4 there is really no excuse not to own it.

Highly recommended!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
Having listened to the original album many times, i find it annoying that the songs on this CD are ordered in a completely different way.

This CD is a bargain at [...] secondhand on Amazon.

It includes many brilliant songs at the end of the CD -

16. Night Train - James Brown
17. Louie Louie - The Kingsmen
18. Green Onions - Booker T & The MG's
19. Rhythm Of The Rain - The Cascades
20. He's So Fine - The Chiffons
21. Be My Baby - The Ronettes
22. Da Doo Ron Ron - Crystals
23. I'm The Face - The High Numbers
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2001
....sorry for bad english! As a german youngster at the age of 21 I am very proud to know The Who's "Quadrophenia". What great lyrics, what great guitar, well it's Pete's trademark!!!The greatest arrangements I've ever listen to. Who needs Britney Spears?!? Just listen and be part of a british milestone in rock-history!! WOOOHOOO!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
As a soundtrack to the film it compiles many of the great songs from it - The Who songs as well as some by other artists which are also excellent.

The big problem for me is that they're in a completely ridiculous order, whereas The Who's own Quadrophenia double album follows the story from the beginning to the end, with this we have Love Reign O'er Me and Bell Boy near the start and The Punk And The Godfather near the end which is annoying.

It's a great CD to have in the car as it lasts for over a hour and there's not a bad track on it and with the other artists featured it's got plenty of variety but if someone wants a CD to listen to which covers the story in a meaningful order then they'd be better off buying The Who's double CD instead of this.

Also as stated elsewhere the songs on the double album that aren't on this are better than the new ones recorded by the band for this soundtrack.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2001
This album was originally issued on vinyl in the autumn of 1973. I was then 16, and bought it the day it hit the shops. I played it right through, twice, that night. I fell in love with it there and then.
Since that time, the reputation of this album has risen and fallen a fair few times.
At its very worst, when you listen to it and your mood is wrong, "Quadrophenia" can sound turgid and lame - 70s rock, stuck in its own groove.
Listen again.
There's power, grace, calm and elegance in here.
Pete Townshend was aiming to write something to unite the rough edges of rock with the higher aims of art. In the 21st century, such an ambition seems almost laughable - mainly because so few people have the talent or the vision to even try. They'd rather loll about in a vapid cloud of "post-modern" irony or "slacker" idleness. The Who in 1973 did not know HOW to be idle.
Listen - hear the way PT combines T.S. Eliot's despairing visions of a world dry and arid for lack of spiritual life, with a pimply youth's callow cries for acceptance and self-knowledge. Hear how THAT seemingly pompous notion is turned into living, breathing music with fire in its belly, blood in its limbs - and angels on its shoulders.
The great beast that was The Who was simply magnificent back then. This is their gift to history. Take it. And be lucky.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
If you love the film then this will not disappoint! However the track order is annoying in comparision to the Who's album Quadrophenia. If you're a fan of the 'Who' you would be happier owning the latter of the two as i am. There is a difference in the versions of the tracks which can be either annoying or rewarding depending on the listener. Myself i'm a connoisseur of all things 'The Who' so an enjoyable addition to my collection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2005
a quality album from the who to go with the film of the same name,their best work in my opinion,the first thing i noticed about this cd was the quality of the remastering,it sounds awesome!a master piece album,go out and buy it today,you wont be dissapointed!stand out tracks for me are,the real me,joker james and the punk and the godfather
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
I watched the film first, then I've visited Brighton, then I bought the CD.
I really like it, but I'm afraid I might be positively prejudiced by all of those conditions I mentioned... Surely good btw!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Just lie back, close your eyes and relive the film in your mind's eye, excellent. A fine selection of Who tracks complimented with a few special tracks from the film by other artists. Picture Jimmy (Phil Daniels) and Steph (Lesley Ash) and the rest of the Quadrophenia crew enjoying being mods, it'll bring a smile to your face, guaranteed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2009
it's a waste of ink reviewing this album
much better you buy it and listen to
ALL the tracks in the 2 cds are a top rock composing and performing result

BE CAREFUL to buy THIS ALBUM and NOT the Quadrophenia Soundtrack, which is not the same thing

I have made it wrong and had to spend twice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)