Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1960's INSTRUMENTALS AGAIN
LIKE THE 2CD "RIMSHOTS and REVERB" set another great grouping of instrumentals to give pleasure to those of a certain age who were around in the late 1950s to early 1960s. Original recordings-buy with confidence for not a lot of money. Excellent value.
Published 11 months ago by AC ENTERPRISES

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shows How Good The Shadows Were
This collection of instrumentals across the late 1950s and into the 1960s illustrates just how good The Shadows and The Hunters were. Everything pales into mediocrity beside their stuff. Some of the tracks on this CD are just creakingly awful, and many of the featured bands produced much better work. The Bert Weedon version of "Apache" is so bad as to be an art form of...
Published 10 months ago by Malcolm Parkin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shows How Good The Shadows Were, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
This collection of instrumentals across the late 1950s and into the 1960s illustrates just how good The Shadows and The Hunters were. Everything pales into mediocrity beside their stuff. Some of the tracks on this CD are just creakingly awful, and many of the featured bands produced much better work. The Bert Weedon version of "Apache" is so bad as to be an art form of its own. This CD seems to have gone out of its way to select the worst examples of everybody's work. Weedon only ever made one decent record, and that was "Twelve String Shuffle," which is missing, of course.
Incidentally, "Walk Don't Run" is not wrongly-credited to The John Barry Seven, as one reviewer seems to think, and neither is it some strange US version as another thinks. It is merely a John Barry cover version of this Ventures first hit. But where is their "Ram-Bunk-Shush?" A great Ventures number.
And what about the Spotnicks? Noticeably absent.
But I suppose we all remember these instrumentals as being better than they were.
Nice to he reminded of just how awful they were.
Definitely a CD for tone deaf Anoraks.
Only good thing was Amazon's three day delivery time. And the price.

Malcolm Parkin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SOME RARE INSTRUMENTAL TREASURES, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
I am a sucker for this type of music this 2 cd set is packed full of rare delights such as tracks from the
Dave Clark Five and Max harris the gurney slade tv theme A very enjoyable collection Agood purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1960's INSTRUMENTALS AGAIN, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
LIKE THE 2CD "RIMSHOTS and REVERB" set another great grouping of instrumentals to give pleasure to those of a certain age who were around in the late 1950s to early 1960s. Original recordings-buy with confidence for not a lot of money. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars instro magic, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
although I already had some of these tracks the ones I had nt
got were little gems I would recommend this album to all fans of
rock and roll instrumental music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars americans removed, 1 Sep 2013
By 
S. Rye (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
From the second pressing on the correct version of Walk Don't Run has replaced the rogue one. I would Venture to say everyone is now happy and John Barry especially so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK FELLAHS ... LET'S ROCK! TAKE ONE ..., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
Here's yet another brilliant selection put together by those knowledgeable boys at the Rock History. All the great names in British Beat are on show here providing a relook at the instrumental scene that was so popular during the 1956 to 1961 period. You'll hear Bert Weedon (the originator of course), The Shads (naturally), both The Krew Kats and The Outlaws (which included Chas Hodges when he 'worked for' Jo Meek backing Mike Berry), plus Joe Brown, Big Jim Sullivan et al and just about every other session man that there ever was. Some send ups, some forgettable items, but mostly unforgettable -- especially if you're into nostalgia and pop history as I am. Its almost like saying 'I was there!'. An excellent series from people who obviously know their stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Showing its Age, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
Some very good tracks on the cd , but some are showing how un professional some of the bands were in those days. The sound quality is not too good on some . The Shadows set the standard in those days . Best track Trambone by the Krew Kats.Sixty four tracks for the money is good value though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, memories. . ., 12 Dec 2012
By 
D. A. Hardy "David A. Hardy" (Birmingham, W. Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should like to thank whoever put this terrific collection together. I bought many of them (like The Shadows) but others I recorded on reel-to-reel from radio programmes like Saturday Club. I know most of the tracks like old friends, while there are even a few I don't remember! Who said nostalgia would never make a come-back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hank Bruce Bert Joe and Big Jim Sullivan etc, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
This is a fine collection of instrumentals - a double cd - nice to have the not so common early ones together on one collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THESE ARE GREAT INSTRUMENTALS, 27 July 2013
By 
P. Burnett (LINCOLN ENGLND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More (Audio CD)
WAS ALWAYS INTO INSTRUMENTALS WHEN i FIRST STARTED BUYING RECORDS IN THE LATE FIFTIES, ESPECIALLY GUITAR INSTRUMENTALS FROM THE SHADOWS ETC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More
Hank, Bruce, Bert, Joe, Big Jim & More by Various (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews