Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This headset is the one!
Arrived in a very neat and tidy package and on time. The box is good for storing it later if you move around a lot. The headset is really amazing, its lightweight and the ear pads are made of some foam which is quite porous and my ears never get hot. The weight thing is actually good as these provide a good fit and the top foam is very comfortable.

Now, the...
Published 12 months ago by rrevolver

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all cost!
They cost a lot and are not worth it. 7.1...cant tell the difference really cant. Interference in right ear is just impossible to ignore. Buzzing in right ear is designed by Astro and they saying is normal. But when you just chat with someone not hearing music it will drive you crazy. I just put ticket on Astro support still no answer. I will take them back. Avoid at all...
Published 3 months ago by Damian K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This headset is the one!, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
Arrived in a very neat and tidy package and on time. The box is good for storing it later if you move around a lot. The headset is really amazing, its lightweight and the ear pads are made of some foam which is quite porous and my ears never get hot. The weight thing is actually good as these provide a good fit and the top foam is very comfortable.

Now, the sound is incredible. I use a MacBook Retina so i got a 3.5mm to Toshlink jack which costs about 1 Pound on Amazon. I use a Toshlink cable with these as i want to hear the best sound available. The cable is provided btw. The headsets have 3 modes for sound, one is crystal clear which is my favourite. This is mainly for music but i use it for mostly everything. Another is good for games like Starcraft, Warcraft, League of Legends etc. The last one is the one for those crazy CoD and Battlefield gamers, incredible bass. Just kidding about Cod, ( Yup battlefield for the win!!!). Just to sum last mode for you, when you fire a gun in Battlefield using wartapes mode for sound, you know you fired a gun.

Now Ps3 and Ps4 compatibility is superb. Xbox, i have no idea, I don't use it. The headset ha a microphone noise issue and Astro fixed that through firmwares for both its base station and headset. Lucky me when they released those firmwares for both PC and especially MAC cause i don't own a PC. The base station is quite small and has this Dolby Button which to this day, i have no idea what it does but i don't use it.

Now again, Battery life is good. 8-10 hours of maxing it out. I play while listening to music. Again i must stress, the sound is incredible using Toshlink. I have no idea for 3.5mm or usb though so i can't comment for that.

Lastly, they now have an extended warranty part on their website. You can get 1 more year warranty. Ah yes, this question has been bugging me when i bought these. All Macs have an optical port inside their 3.5 mm jack. Please get a 3.5mm to Toshlink Jack which costs 1-2 Dollar or Pounds etc and then enjoy.

For comparison my last headset was Logitech F540 which was also good but very low bass and stereo only. Hope you guys enjoy A50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
After trying several headsets and finding this as I had seen from a gaming company using an older version. It is amazing for skype calls and pretty much the best sound I have heard from any headphones. You pay a lot but you surely get a hell of a lot back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great headset, 26 May 2014
By 
M.C "M.C" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
This is the best headset I've used. It's light, comfortable even after hours of use and the sound is crisp, deep and clear. It also has a great base. I use it for watching movies, listening to music and playing games on my xbox one. It comes with 3 sound modes so you can choose one which suits you best. I only use 2, 1 for music & movies and the other for gaming. The microphone is very clear and it doesn't pick up much (if any) background noise however you will need an adapter if you want to use it with the Xbox One (ok for PS3/4, PC & Xbox 360). The battery lasts up to 10 hours and I usually charge these overnight so I'm not 100% sure how long it takes.

The build quality seems solid and the included stand is sturdy so you don't have to worry about your headphones falling off or getting stepped/sat on.

Overall, pricey but definitely recommended if you're serious about your gaming, movies or music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
Love this product, the quality is superb as was thought, i recommend this for serious gamers if you wanna play in surround sound and be able to hear the game in its intended quality the game has to offer, this is the headset for you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all cost!, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
They cost a lot and are not worth it. 7.1...cant tell the difference really cant. Interference in right ear is just impossible to ignore. Buzzing in right ear is designed by Astro and they saying is normal. But when you just chat with someone not hearing music it will drive you crazy. I just put ticket on Astro support still no answer. I will take them back. Avoid at all cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Quality with only a few issues., 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
This is an incredibly well made headset for the most part, it's very comfortable and can be adjusted, the earcups are nice and large. The sound quality is excellent although i'm not experienced with many headsets of this price range/quality.

My only issues are that there is no way to get analogue input from the soundcard for when I need to do some video recording with sound and be able to listen, that's an issue with any primarily optical headset though, the other issue is the microphone, before the firmware update I did it was basically unusable, even not it's not as good as i'd like or my previous headset, it's acceptable though.

My other gripes are that the charging cable it comes with is insanely short, you basically have to buy another one if you want/need to charge and use it at the same time, there is also no button on the headset itself to toggle Dolby Digital which is a pain if the charging station isn't right next to you.

If you play mostly on consoles then I can't see my problems being much of an issue, as a PC gamer for 99% of my gaming though, i have different needs and expectations.

All in all it's a very nice piece of kit, but then for £250 it had better be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great wireless headset., 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
Love this headset a lot.
Astro A50 sits softly on your head without any problems or pain.
Sound quality is awesome.
Without a mic 10 hours of work is not a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
quality for price amazing microphone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is good don't get me wrong but as my first purchase of headphones for games I was a little underwhelmed., 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
Getting headphones if you play video games is a good thing and having them wireless is a massive plus.

I have never bought game headphones before and was expecting to be able to hear footsteps etc much more. This doesn't happen. This i think is due to the background noise, music and explosions (mw3). I would say that I'm not very good so that might be something to do with it too.

Also when you get them, you are not told what the settings mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy, 31 Aug 2013
By 
S. Bendle "Steweh" (Glastonbury. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 (Video Game)
Bought this headset and it just will not work. The firmware to fix the freezing issue will not get past 75%. Have not been able to get them to work since opening the box. Needless to say they are going back for a full refund. Checking google and forums shows this to be a very common issue. This is no good for a £250 product. Raised a ticket with astro support and still have not had a response. Giving it 1 star because of the nice box lol.
One seriously unhappy astro customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799
ASTRO - Astro Gaming A50 Sans Fil Noir Dolby 7.1 - 0817161010799 by ASTRO (Mac OS X, PlayStation 3 / 4, Windows 7, Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £199.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews