Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome history
Interesting and entertaining and gives a good view on life during theses times. I wish I had a history teacher like him when I was at school
Published 18 months ago by twinkle

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I found this book very difficult to get into. ...
I found this book very difficult to get into.The first 20% is all about the history of the river,and the rest is very unclear and all over the place.I dint even bother to finish it.
Published 2 months ago by L. S. Valencia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome history, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
Interesting and entertaining and gives a good view on life during theses times. I wish I had a history teacher like him when I was at school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack the Who?, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable overview of the little known Thames Torso murders plaguing late Victorian London.What makes this a great read is the author really captures the atmosphere of the times,the same London that Jack the Ripper walked.After reading this I believe if it wasn't for the letters supposedly written by Jack the Ripper it would be the Torso Murderer we would be still discussing,to me its a far more interesting case than the Ripper and one that went on for years not a few months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting and intriguing. I have read lots of books on jack the ripper but this is the first book I've read about the torso murders, although I have heard of it. There's some interesting chapters in the book. But the whole book I found you just can't put down, not even to put the kettle on to make a cup of tea. ! A good read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of detail, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
The author has put in lots and lots of research on this book. I really found it interesting, plus you can read a chapter at a time and not lose the thread of what you are reading. Knowing the parts of London discussed I found it fascinating finding out what happened there in the past. A good factual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
I ordered this because I enjoy M J Trow's Mad Max books, and this was a chance to see how he addressed a non-fictional topic.

It has obviously been very thoroughly researched and is also very readable.

This book has encouraged me to explore more in this genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars if you like true life crime stories, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
I knew nothing whatsoever about this series of brutal murders until I read this book. The book is well researched and well written and, if you like true life crime stories...with a dash of mystery & the macabre...then this book is most definitely a "must read".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I found this book very difficult to get into. ..., 26 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very difficult to get into.The first 20% is all about the history of the river,and the rest is very unclear and all over the place.I dint even bother to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
It didn't hold my interest but that doesn't say that people maybe near the Thames won't find it interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One not to get cut up about!, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
M J Trow's intelligent work is good read and logically set out. Thoroughly recomm,ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
By 
K. hoare (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Torso Murders (Kindle Edition)
A great read with some nice detail and alternative looks at London in the 19th century
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thames Torso Murders
£1.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews