Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Suppersonic Nuclear Strike.
A great book, with a warts'n'all approach to the way USAF aircrew operated this supersonic (& then futuristic) bomber which was at the forefront of technology. It not only gives details of what it was like to operate this ultrafast, unstable and uncomfortable aircraft, but also looks with tongue in cheek at some of the oddities of military life. The raison d'etre of the...
Published 22 days ago by M. J. Young

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How to write a boring book about an amazing aircraft!
This a random collection of anecdotes from life as a B58 DSO. I'm sure he lived an interesting life in interesting times, it's a shame he's written such a boring book about it! There is very little detail about anything other than controlling the centre of gravity of the plane and we read about that in every chapter. I was hoping to learn more about the B58 itself and...
Published on 14 May 2013 by G. Silander


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How to write a boring book about an amazing aircraft!, 14 May 2013
By 
G. Silander "Graham S" (Brighton ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
This a random collection of anecdotes from life as a B58 DSO. I'm sure he lived an interesting life in interesting times, it's a shame he's written such a boring book about it! There is very little detail about anything other than controlling the centre of gravity of the plane and we read about that in every chapter. I was hoping to learn more about the B58 itself and about life as a bomber crew member during the cold war. Unfortunately I finished the book having learnt very little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suppersonic Nuclear Strike., 30 April 2015
By 
M. J. Young "Emjaywye" (Brummagem UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
A great book, with a warts'n'all approach to the way USAF aircrew operated this supersonic (& then futuristic) bomber which was at the forefront of technology. It not only gives details of what it was like to operate this ultrafast, unstable and uncomfortable aircraft, but also looks with tongue in cheek at some of the oddities of military life. The raison d'etre of the B58 force was nuclear strike and the author and his colleagues were fully aware that their chances of survival were almost nil, but nevertheless spent large amounts of their time at instant readiness with their planes loaded with nuclear stores all ready to go if the command had come. Unlike many American books it is not OTT on the great USA and is definitely a readable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I believe that it was originally a blog and it reads like one, a bit disjointed and repetitive, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
This is a book to dip in & out of rather than read in one go. I believe that it was originally a blog and it reads like one, a bit disjointed and repetitive... A bit like sitting in a bar with an interesting guy, great for an hour but tedious for too long. It is however a great insight into the work of SAC in the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book that sheds light on aspects of operation of a stunning aeroplane. It is highly readable, broken down into a series of anecdotes and explains things in a clear way without insulting the readers intelligence. I was sad to have finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable and honest, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
The author repeats himself a lot and explains CG and CL incessantly. The contents are interesting and honest, there is no hype or Bull. I enjoyed the read because of its honesty the author comes across with a lot of integrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A group of personal remisnicences of a crew memebrer but not too much technical material, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
A gathering of one mans reminiscences of the era, so a somewhat laid back style of writing , a bit like a chat over a coffee. Not too much serious technical stuff on the aircraft, but more about the context in which it was used, such as USAF life in the era etc. An OK read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a Plane Nut This is for You!!, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
Very well written with informative operational recollections and amusing anecdotes. It is written by the same guy who wrote "B52 Days" and is a view into the 1960's Supersonic Bomber, the Technology operating then and the attitudes of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its okay., 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book as im an aviation enthusiast but I thought it would be all gung ho!. However it was a good read by a former 58 Hustler crew member who went into very good detail about the aircraft and its role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
Quite a good book. Lots of general USAF rememberances. Shows what a sensitive and difficult aircraft the Hustler was to fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars B-58A, 12 Feb. 2013
This review is from: B-58A Remembrances (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing. Having an interest in the Hustler I found I was left wanting more than just random recollections. More substance needed. Seemed like a hurried-no-thought publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

B-58A Remembrances
B-58A Remembrances by Philip Rowe
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews