Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars15
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2012
First few chapter so this book were a great read some nice sci fi and interesting. However all of a sudden we leave the main character and go to a space ship full of children, ok managed to cope with that although it got a bit tedious. The addition of the Bible and how great life is with God actual made me very annoyed that i had committed my time to keep on with the book.

This book seemed like something i would imagine someone would be given to read on a christian camp - good if you like that sort of thing but i would imagine most people would find themselves wanting to annoyed by a thin plot that seemed designed to promote a religious point of view.

Waste of money but worst a waste of time.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Enjoyable book, made one think. all about about time travel, end of the world with a little to much emphasis on the Bible for my liking (I am not a believer, but feel others need to have something to believe in) started fairly quickly with time traveller visiting earth in the future after a supposed hit by a comet had wiped out all life
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
This book has an intriguing storyline which will keep you wondering what's coming next and a very... can't say anymore without spoiling it for the reader. Just read the book. It's a great price. What have you got to lose? Buy the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Dont just suspend your sense of disbelief, but cut it up into tiny bits, stomp on them and send the remains into the heart of the sun.
A catastrophic pointless mishmash.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
I'm not sure I understood it all bit I was transfixed by the story and couldn't put it down.. well done Scott, a modern classic and I predict great things for you!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Love sci fi books and this was a great addition to my collection. Wish i could write as good as this
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
A well written and thought out book full of interesting theories and possibilities. Well rounded and finished, leaving no gaps in the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
The hero, Skylar Rains, sends himself 1100 years into the future where religion was outlawed, and finds he is the only one there except for a beautiful woman who he names Tiara (because she wore a gold tiara) who seems to be a fantasy of his imagination. With the help of a friendly computer he flies up to a spaceship and sets off to find colonists who used to live in the empty future but left for a better life on a distant planet in a constellation 11.9 light years from Earth. The plot moves to the said colonists travelling through space to find their new home. Not all of them because most of the people on board have been wiped out by a virus, planted by a Christian member of the crew who discovered the aim of the expedition was to wipe out previous colonists because they were Christians. But because of the virus the spaceship is being flown by children. Yes, children. They arrive at their destination and live peacefully until they detect Skylar's spaceship approaching their haven of peace and tranquillity and assuming it's an expedition from their home world coming to wipe them out, hide in a cave where the approaching spaceship's sensors won't detect them. Skylar Rains flies down to the planet just before his spaceship is blown up by the planet's defences and finds the inhabitants are long dead. He wakes up in the present and meets the beautiful woman who is now called Sierra and who didn't exist in the future (or did she?). Does all that sound a bit confusing? I'm confused and I just wrote it. I confess my attention slipped during the religious passages so perhaps my confusion is self inflicted in which case I expect to be taken to task by other reviewers who didn't get confused. By the end of the story I still didn't know how all the colonists died or how Skylar got back to the present or what on earth was going on with the beautiful Tiara/Sierra or how she ended up in the present if she was in the future (or was she?). To be honest I was so relieved to have finished the story I didn't really care. I have to admit I didn't read the Book Review which made it clear it was 'Christian Sci-Fi', if I had it would have put me off.
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
A dystopian future,and one linked in with the Bible along with time travel and warp drive. A really enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
The main premise of the book was interesting; time travel to a future where humanity is gone and a space voyage to try and find what happens to humanities children. But there was too much that took away from the story, or added new elements to it unnecesarily and there was no clear ending.

My main issues with it were:

(1) A third of the way through the book changing from the main characters perspective of a space voyage to another group of people who had made the voyage 200 years previously.

(2) Another third of the way through the book dropping the new characters in favour of another set of characters with no connection to previous characters except that they ended up in the same place.

(3) Going back to the initial character to find out what happened to all the other characters and then returning him to his own time without clearing up any of the storylines properly.

All of this uses the Rapture from the Bible as a plot device to fill in all the holes, but only refers to it and doesn't include it within the frame of the story leaving the reader to fill in the story, doesn't work at all if you don't know the relevant passages in the Bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£0.99
£0.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.