Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty
The words "gritty" and "drab" are very appropriate for this excellent film. It is, by its very nature, desiged to be set in the drab environment of post-war Britain.

Rose Sandigate (Googie Withers) was engaged to a local "wide boy", Tommy Swann (John McCallum). However, Tommy becomes involved in armed robbery and is sentenced to a harsh term in jail. Conditions...
Published on 8 Jun. 2010 by UK Filmbuff

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revue of the new Blu-ray
Of course this is a wonderful film, I remember seeing it with my parents at the Odeon ,Elmers End when it was first released. This was in the good old days when we had to queue round the block to get in to the Sunday evening performance and - yes -it was Pouring with Rain at the time ! I've seen it many times since as it is so realistic to the times depicted. Also all the...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by I. E. THOMAS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it for the history, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great British Ealing crime atmosphere film. British social history wrapped up as a cracking film. Those indoor scenes of a woman, a 'servant' to her family, living on a poor street in London are close to perfect. The rain adds to the wretchedness of living in one of those houses, luckily now replaced. Even the old 'air raid shelter' still in the back garden bring back memories for an older person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good product and service. Good timing just what I wanted. Timely. Good packaging. Very good product and service. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EastEnders in the late 40s, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
My grandparents lived in Tunbridge Wells in the 1970s; they had a tin bath in the cellar, quilts and neighbours who would talk to you out the window. That pre-consumer society world of music halls and bustling street markets has melted away; this film shows you what it must have been like. The violence between mother and step daughters is quite shocking. I suppose credit cards enabled people to 'do' things, but the strength of a community is portrayed quite well. It's quite humdrum, but it shows that era was not something you'd wish to idealise. I liked the way it presented the Jewish community living in London with their own vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ealing film, 17 April 2012
By 
A. J. Bagnall "film buff" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this film very much with its good storyline and dark atmosphere which captured the times perfectly. Excellent acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Always Rains on Sunday, 10 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A typically British thriller - unprepossessing London - gloomy and tense by turns - with the excellent late Googie Withers. Miserable marriages, dark kitchen sink scenes and the spiv..Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EALING CLASSIC, 13 Nov. 2011
By 
angela (lancashire uk) - See all my reviews
An escaped convict takes refuge in his married mistress!s house In East London.It shows quite a few of the East end characters of the day and although its slumland melodrama its the making of every other tv play.Brilliantly cast Googie Withers,John McCallum and lots of British well known character actors make this EALING FILM come alive and keep you interested from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good ealing fayre, 18 April 2007
By 
R. Pearce "Bob Pearce" (Londinium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The purpose of films , indeed most media ,is to entertain , inform and possible to educate . When this film was made the primary purpose was to entertain ( I suspect ) . With the passing of the years the primary purpose ,for younger people especially , is now to inform and educate. How life was in Britain 60-70 years ago. Bearing this in mind . this film is excellent in its task. The drabness of this period is faithfully reproducted with excellent acting from Googie Withers and Jack Warner with a good supporting cast .

Not exactly Ealing at its best - but good nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars True suspense with many of the regular Ealing Studio actors ..., 29 April 2015
True suspense with many of the regular Ealing Studio actors appearing against a background of post-war two London's east end. Says it all really - fill your boots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Item arrived in good time, well-packaged but only played first 20 mins ..., 4 Jun. 2015
By 
Alice Servina (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item arrived in good time, well-packaged but only played first 20 mins then cut off. Tried several times but no improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
J. V. Salinsky "John Salinsky 'Green Bookshop'" (High Street, Somewhere, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good record of period detail and a good story with warm performance from Googie Withers. An most enjoyabel film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Always Rains On Sunday (Digitally Remastered)  [1947] [Blu-ray]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews