Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty
The words "gritty" and "drab" are very appropriate for this excellent film. It is, by its very nature, desiged to be set in the drab environment of post-war Britain.

Rose Sandigate (Googie Withers) was engaged to a local "wide boy", Tommy Swann (John McCallum). However, Tommy becomes involved in armed robbery and is sentenced to a harsh term in jail. Conditions...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by UK Filmbuff

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revue of the new Blu-ray
Of course this is a wonderful film, I remember seeing it with my parents at the Odeon ,Elmers End when it was first released. This was in the good old days when we had to queue round the block to get in to the Sunday evening performance and - yes -it was Pouring with Rain at the time ! I've seen it many times since as it is so realistic to the times depicted. Also all the...
Published 20 months ago by I. E. THOMAS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The old black and white films are great. No swearing, sex or violence. Just a good story. This film is a classic in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Post-War breakthrough film, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Director and co-writer Robert Hamer's crime drama apparently marked a breakthrough in British film. It was the first to exclusively be set in and amongst working class East Enders and just two years after the end of WWII.

The shot looking down the street in Bethnel Green where the family - and action is set has a church at the end with a snapped off steeple, which at first looks a little odd but soon sets the time and living conditions that people endured after the Blitz.

Whilst you might say that it's kitchen sink drama, with Jack Warner, synonymous with Dixon of Dock Green for that generation, a US style gritty crime is the main flavour. Move over Cagney and Bogart and replace with Cockneys but also add the socio commentary involved with a story that surrounds itself with an escaped criminal being hidden from the law by his re-married wife. The eventual chases between cops and convict across dark and moody empty railyards (excellent cinematography from Douglas Slocombe) is pretty exciting and akin to any Hitchcock finale (well, almost!).

In between, there's lots of scenes, characters and historical interest from a London that is long gone. Lots of the domestic scenes are studio set but are really well done. The acting too is of a high standard.

This Ealing though, is no comedy and isn't as entertaining as many. Boring, no, nor is it preachy or treacly but this is probably not one to reach for light entertainment. It must have seemed a bit grim and heavy going 65 years ago, mind you and whilst today its subject matter would seem tame when compared to our daily soaps, there's still fair meat and substance to keep one interested.

My DVD was part of the Ealing Collection - volume 4, which also includes Whisky Galore, Champagne Charlie and The Maggie. Considering that both the first and last of these titles are 5 star classics then this is how I'd recommend buying the title under review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it for the history, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great British Ealing crime atmosphere film. British social history wrapped up as a cracking film. Those indoor scenes of a woman, a 'servant' to her family, living on a poor street in London are close to perfect. The rain adds to the wretchedness of living in one of those houses, luckily now replaced. Even the old 'air raid shelter' still in the back garden bring back memories for an older person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Brit film, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a period piece but nonetheless its well done and very tense in places. Almost the plot of a Martina Cole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film, 7 Jan 2013
By 
J. V. Salinsky "John Salinsky 'Green Bookshop'" (High Street, Somewhere, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good record of period detail and a good story with warm performance from Googie Withers. An most enjoyabel film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good product and service. Good timing just what I wanted. Timely. Good packaging. Very good product and service. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EastEnders in the late 40s, 23 Jun 2012
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
My grandparents lived in Tunbridge Wells in the 1970s; they had a tin bath in the cellar, quilts and neighbours who would talk to you out the window. That pre-consumer society world of music halls and bustling street markets has melted away; this film shows you what it must have been like. The violence between mother and step daughters is quite shocking. I suppose credit cards enabled people to 'do' things, but the strength of a community is portrayed quite well. It's quite humdrum, but it shows that era was not something you'd wish to idealise. I liked the way it presented the Jewish community living in London with their own vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ealing film, 17 April 2012
By 
A. J. Bagnall "film buff" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this film very much with its good storyline and dark atmosphere which captured the times perfectly. Excellent acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Always Rains on Sunday, 10 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A typically British thriller - unprepossessing London - gloomy and tense by turns - with the excellent late Googie Withers. Miserable marriages, dark kitchen sink scenes and the spiv..Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EALING CLASSIC, 13 Nov 2011
By 
angela (lancashire uk) - See all my reviews
An escaped convict takes refuge in his married mistress!s house In East London.It shows quite a few of the East end characters of the day and although its slumland melodrama its the making of every other tv play.Brilliantly cast Googie Withers,John McCallum and lots of British well known character actors make this EALING FILM come alive and keep you interested from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Always Rains On Sunday (Digitally Remastered)  [1947] [Blu-ray]
16.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews