Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sequel!
For Star Wars fans, this book can probably be reviewed in just two words: Boba Fett.

He's one of the best-known characters in the Extended Universe, and Traviss writes him incredibly well. There wasn't a single scene with Fett in that I can remember that would have scored below 10/10. The author should be particularly proud of those scenes.

On saying...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Adam Bourke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Book
I bought three Star Wars novels as a birthday present for my son who enjoys these science fiction type books.
Published 4 months ago by Happy Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Sequel!, 7 Jan 2011
For Star Wars fans, this book can probably be reviewed in just two words: Boba Fett.

He's one of the best-known characters in the Extended Universe, and Traviss writes him incredibly well. There wasn't a single scene with Fett in that I can remember that would have scored below 10/10. The author should be particularly proud of those scenes.

On saying that, the Prologue is odd. It's from Fett's point of view, and I'd still give it full marks, but it wasn't the same style of the rest of the book (which I'm glad of, since I'm not a huge fan of first person books). It was... Interesting.

Another character that I thought she wrote particularly well was Ben Skywalker. Traviss captures the emotion of him seeing Jacen not being as perfect as he thought in a highly realistic way.

Unfortunately, the same can't be said of Jacen himself. He keeps doing things, not entirely in keeping with his character of the previous book, with no explanation for the actions. This is particularly true of the event mentioned above in which he falls in Ben's eyes. It is something which has major repercussions for the book, and it really needed some explanation on Jacen's part.

The other characters are all done farily well, although I would have liked to have seen more of Jaina, and Admiral Pellaeon, the second of which was a favourite character of mine in the first book.

There are some difficulties in series written by different authors, which is the style of writing. In most cases the series can feel disjointed. In this first change of authors in the series, I barely noticed that it was a different author.

The only indication was that Traviss uses more of the expanded universe than Allston did, which was in someways difficult. Jaina is upset with Jacen in this book, because of something that happened with the Chiss. I haven't read anything else with Jacen and Jaina and I'd assumed that the Audiobook I listened too had missed something important. But it became such an issue that I became sure that it was deeper. According to Wookiepedia (The Star Wars Wiki), the issue between Jacen and Jaina was covered in the Dark Nest Trilogy.

I felt that if there had been any sense of animosity between the two in Betrayal, I would have accepted this easily. However, the apparent return of the emotions could have done with an explanation.

And that's the only thing that the back lacks, and that's motivation for a few of the events and feelings that occur. It's not many, but enough so that it doesn't get as high a score as betrayal (Except on Amazon, where I round it up to 5 stars).

But it's a brilliant book despite this, and Boba Fett and his family are fantastic. I was a bit nervous about it not being by Aaron Allston, but Kathy Traviss has impressed me. If you liked Betrayal, you have no reason not to read Bloodlines. If you haven't started the series, so far you won't be disappointed if you start. I still whole-heartedly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for fan of star wars, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is brillant for a fan of bounty hunters because it tells the true story of the bounty hunter jango fett and his son boba fett great book 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 22 Feb 2013
By 
S. Blanchette - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Legacy of the Force II - Bloodlines (Kindle Edition)
Great book, really hard to put down. Definitely leaves the reader wanting more. I particularly liked the boba fett storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb second book of Legacy of the Force, 12 Sep 2006
By 
Skywalker fan "GMS" (Oxon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this the second installment of the Legacy of the Force series Karen Traviss picks up the plot after Aaron Allstons excellent Betrayal. The Galactic Alliance and the Corellian system of planets are locked in a tense stand off as the book begins. However terrorist attacks by Corellians on Coruscant threaten to push the situation into a full scale war. A war in which the Skywalker/Solo family would be torn onto opposite sides.

Bloodlines was a great read it picks up just a few days after the conclusion of Betrayal and shows us already the implications of Jacen Solos radical choice at the end of that book. Jacen Solo now believes that he alone by becoming a Sith can fix the galaxy and end the cycle of violence that has troubled the galaxy. This takes the form of him dealing with the threat of terrorism in a startling brutal way and in so doing gives the impression that the Galactic Alliance is becoming more and more like the Empire. This is mirrored by the actions of Han Solo and Leia becoming equally involved in the events within the Corellian camp. While this is all going on we see Luke and the Jedi Council attempt to get the Galactic Alliance to deal with the situation with diplomacy but Luke is extremely troubled and distracted by the thuggish actions of Jacen and worries whether he should remain as Bens master. Plus lots of Mandalorian goodness as well. The plot is surprisingly light on action but this has no negative effect on the book at all and I found it to be an engrossing and complex look into the developing crisis in the galaxy.

Karen Traviss has given us an excellent insight into the thinking of the characters in Bloodlines. Her tight third person POV focusing on five characters Luke, Han, Jacen, Ben and Boba Fett made this book a real treat to read. There was also a lovely surprise at the end of the book in the form of an excerpt of Tempest the next book in the series by Troy Denning which was wonderful. Overall an excellent book that was great fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the new series..., 2 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Iain A. Morrison "Eoin Alexander" (Bearsden, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only problem i have is the stupid actions of Jacen Solo, rather than understanding the reasons why The Empire was defeated and more importantly why Luke Skywalker had to confront and defeat the dreaded Vader. His character seems lost, and stupid. Stupid by the way he has let in Lumiya into his life to manipulate and control him, he defends his actions by "time traveling" backwards now and then to see how his grandfather fell into the trap of the Dark side. Using this information Jacen solo uses this as an excuse to kill with meaning, rather than rationale thinking.

The whole decend into the dark side of Jacen solo is done okay, nothing major here but i feel that Lucasarts are trying to kill off the whole story of Star wars. Is Jacen solo going to kill Skywalker? are the solos on their last confrontation? the whole way the Skywalkers and Solos falling out doesnt make sense. Even if Han solo is a stuborn Corellian, i cant think of why over 20 years of friendship would be torn up by one single war.

The only good point of this book, is the insight to the most feared character in Star wars. boba Fett. his story was eagerly awaited when Karen jumps between the solos, skywalkes and Fett. To find out he has a family is shocking and interesting. And i wish we could have a Whole series just on this one Character. I want to know more about Boba fett and wish that Lucasarts allows writers to concentrate solo on Fett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars star wars, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big star was fan have been for years, I have past on my love for star wars to my sisters little boy like my mother did for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Book, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought three Star Wars novels as a birthday present for my son who enjoys these science fiction type books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodlines, 12 Sep 2006
This is a gripping read for any star wars fan. I found it hard to put down. It was a great follow up to Betrayal with more insite into charactors like Boba Fett and Jacen Solo. This books leaves the reader wanting more, with many qestions answered, it leaves more posed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A readable and sometimes enjoyable chapter in a poorly conceived series, 23 Oct 2006
This second installment in the new 9-volume Legacy of the Force series proves one thing - even a good writer can't make up for a silly plot.

Legacy started poorly in the first volume with a premise for which there is no evidence, namely that the Galactic Alliance (GA) is now more like the old Empire than the New Republic, running roughshod over member states, creating a general air of mistrust and indirectly fomenting ideas of rebellion and secession. When Corellia decides it's had enough, Luke Skywalker suddenly looses his good sense and sends a Jedi snatch-squad to kidnap Corellia's leaders so that they can then be bullied into not leaving the GA. How's that for implausible?

But it gets even worse in Bloodlines. Not only aren't we given any additional background information about why now everyone suddenly despises the GA, the characters start to act even more out of character, especially Luke and Mara, who despite the very obvious evidence that their nephew Jacen Solo is turning to the dark arts, do nothing to secure their son Ben Skywalker from training with the budding Sith Lord. They're also complicit in continuing to support the GA in bullying the Corellians. In the story's other major thread, Jacen is appointed colonel of an antiterrorist unit and spends his days rounding up and interrogating Corellians living on Coruscant. All the while he continues to explore his new powers, killing a "terrorist" while interrogating her and traveling through time to meet his grandfather, none other than Anakin Skywalker, aka Darth Vader. Perhaps in the next volume he'll be able to visit Corellia by flying through space.

Fortunately, we've got Karen Traviss writing Boba Fett into the story and for a time at least diverting us from the improbable main plot.

Now 71-years old, the dying mercenary needs the help of the Kaminoan scientists to arrest a fatal condition. But the cloner who can help him has fled Kamino and if Boba is to ever to get help, he's going to have to first find him. Which is made all the more difficult when the new president of Corellia, Thrackan Sal-Solo, makes Boba an offer he can't refuse, a huge pile of cash to assassinate his cousin and chief political rival, Han Solo.

As regular readers of the Star Wars novels are aware, Traviss is the new authority on all things Mandalore, having written quite an extensive back history and even the rudiments of a language for her two Republic Commando novels and her Boba Fett novella. The former military journalist's command of detail in this world of clone warriors and mercenaries imparts a certain depth and confidence that makes these sections more compelling than the palsied main plot. They also have a sad charm about them, as Boba begins to reflect of his mortality and experience for the first time regret for having long ago abandoned his family.

Besides a well-drawn Fett, Traviss provides some clues as to what happened in the intervening years to some of the characters in her Republic Commando series, and she also gives us for the first time a partially developed Ben Skywalker. Until now he's been just a kid and mostly Luke Skywalker's kid. But Traviss here for the first time makes Ben into a young man with his own personality, who begins to come into his own as an apprentice in Jacen's antiterrorist unit, using his Force powers on raids to sniff out people and munitions. This is one character I'm now interested in seeing how Troy Denning will handle in the forthcoming volume, Tempest.

I don't expect, however, no matter how well he writes Ben, that Denning will be able to rescue us from a poorly developed premise. I think we're now too far in to see any hope of saving what has revealed itself as a thinly disguised and poorly conceived retelling of the film saga, a story about a boy of enormous talent, trained as a Jedi and lured to the dark side in the belief that only the power he can find there will prevent his loved ones from suffering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Written - But marred by lisence constraints, 13 Dec 2006
This book holds up because:
of the brilliant portrayal of a capable non- Jedi in the form of Boba Fett.
And the writing quality (none of the faults I write about are the fault of this author)

The plot outline for the entire series seems stale however. The history repeating itself has no real basis in previous fiction. The most obvious reason being that the Gallactic Alliance hasn't suffered half a century of corruption.
The fact that there is no courage to tell a plot all about Fett or in another time is deplorable. This continual exploitation of the now grey haired characters seems almost like rape. The continual wars after 10,000 years of relative peace seem less plausible each time.
In short:
The wonderlust of the early books has dissapeared almost altogether.

Perhaps it is telling that the best stories since rogue squadron have been those in the Knights of The Old Republic videogames who although lack the emotional weight of the books have far better plotting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews