Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go on, Just TRY to not compare it to Live At Leeds!
I've become quite slack with all things Who in the last few years, so when i first saw the pre-order for this i thought it was going to be disappointing, but knowing what we know about Live At Leeds and its relationship to Hull, it really isn't.

The first thing that strikes me about this set, is that it is IMPOSSIBLE to listen to it and not compare every second...
Published 19 months ago by Nick

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Repeat of Live at Leeds
This is no different from Live at Leeds which is much better as is the Isle Of Wight Concert CD. Why bother releasing it at all? Suppose it increases the bank balance.
Published 7 months ago by John B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WHO - LIVE AT HULL, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Samuel "Stevie S" (Yorkshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
The classic WHO concert, recorded live in HULL CITY HALL in the same week that the other LIVE ALBUM was recorded. In my opinion, this was a much better concert, and I am pleased that following THE WHO''s recent KC STADIUM concert in HULL, where Pete corroborated this belief, they have eventually been able to issue it. BUY AND ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the proof of the pudding., 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
the who at the pinnacle of their powers as a live experience. tighter and better performance than leeds, as it has always rumoured to be, the tommy set in particular. will never be as famous as the seminal "live at leeds" but its superior imho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sheer power, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
If you have the De Luxe version of Live At Leeds, then the sheer whack of this album will come as no surprise. It is as good as that release, with a few caveats - part of the pleasure of the later CD releases of LAL was the chatter in between the tracks with Pete and Keith exchanging comments and jokes, and Pete engaging with the audience; it would be interesting to know if Pete did that in Leeds as he knew it was being recorded, because here there is nothing like that, just the music. The music is just fantastic though, with the Who at their absolute peak - the live version of Tommy here is just breathtaking. This is probably for the completist - it doesn't add much to 'Leeds', but it is extremely good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Who - Live at Hull, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
Fantastic live recording of the Who in their heyday, proving what an excellent band they were. Daltrey delivers a great vocal performance, Moon is as mad as ever on the drums, you can almost see Townsend wind-milling the guitar and Entwhistle ably underpinning the whole soundscape with his clever bass riffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I woz there!, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Bythewall (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
So great that this amazing concert has appeared after all these years. It was a wild and wonderful night of music that had reached such a zenith. They were all brilliant. It had a special edge as a concert in that Hull nearly got missed off the tour and Tony Firth, my old man and a music journalist, managed to get it to happen at the last minute as the Who were good enough to point out on the programme. Big nostalgia and great music. I'll buy it for his sons too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Essential, 26 Nov 2012
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
This Hull CD is absolutely essential but, please, read on as I explain why. There are a number of very subtle differences between this and the Leeds set, and, perhaps, the most notable is Keith Moon and where he sits in the sound mix here. Keith Moon is certainly dominant throughout the entire set, and his drums are `placed' very high in the mix resulting in a thundering and very relentless attack which brilliantly drives all the songs here.

Pete Townshend is very clean and his pick-ups (which I assume are his P90's on his SG) are brighter than ever. On the Leeds set you hear Pete's guitar very fuzzed out and distorted (even with reverb!), and the Hull set offers a nice clean contrast in places, while other places offer a more rounded smoother overdrive than Leeds. The `presence' and `closeness' of just Keith Moons drums and Pete Townshends guitar are enough to place you center stage in a way Leeds does not.

As for the bass, John Entwistle's playing is as strong as ever, and the over-dubs on the first few tracks are not exposed by the rest of the set - the tone, timing, and volume are all consistent from start to finish and any overdubs are actually undetectable (don't worry!). And Roger Daltrey's vocals are absolutely flawless; very powerful, very touching, and very admirable.

Whilst this set is no-where near as `polished' as Leeds, it does offer an invaluable insight into how the band would have sounded on stage at that time - Leeds has always felt too `done' in my opinion, and the sound, when compared to Hull, is like comparing a studio recording with a live recording; Hull feels realer, truer, and more alive! The Hull CD gives great tribute to Keith Moon and Pete Townshend in particular, and Moon's playing is more daring, adventurous, and spontaneous (with fills unimaginably tight), and Towhshend cranking solo's demonstrate how diverse his playing is - what a great lead and rhythm guitarist!

After first purchasing `Live at Leeds' in 2001 (at the age of 11) and playing it extensively over the last 11 years, I can conclude that Hull may be the rawer, truer, and superior set to Leeds. Overall, I'd highly recommend this CD set and, having been a strong fan of The Who for years, would rate it as highly as Who's Next, Isle Of Wight 1970, and Quadrophenia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Casual Who Fan Has To Make a Choice, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Mark Syder (Prescot, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
There really isn't a great deal of difference between this and Live at Leeds (LAL). The dedicated Who fan, like me, will want both. But if you're a casual listener who would quite like to have a live Who album from 1970 in your collection you need to be aware of the differences to allow you to choose which is for you:

1. Magic Bus is missing from Live at Hull (LAH).

2. There are times when the sound seems a little subdued on this release. It says in the sleeve notes that the crowd were quiet, so maybe it's atmosphere that's lacking - it certainly isn't The Who's performance, which is magnificent.

3. There are occasional glitches in sound quality in LAH (not enough to deduct a star).

4. There is virtually no banter between songs (according to the sleeve notes there genuinely was virtually no banter - I assumed it had been removed to make this release different from LAL).

5. LAL has the tracks in the order in which they were performed. This means that Tommy starts half way through disc 1 and finishes on disc 2. LAH has Tommy on disc 2 and everything else on disc 1.

If you only want one, I hope the above will help you to decide. Suffice to say I give LAL and LAH five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
A companion to Live At Leeds. A great show which is as good if not better than 'Leeds'. The Tommy set lives up to expectations and to here The 'Oo belting it out is unbelievable. The first Cd features the rest of the set and features much the same as the Leeds set. The booklet notes that some parts had to be dubbed with sections from Leeds as a few sections did not record properly on the night - a few dropouts.
This is an essential purchase for The Who fan and any rock fan. Get this instead of 'Live At Leeds' it you have to make the choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dad gift - hull tastic, 9 Jun 2013
By 
J. Brewer "mumof2" (e.yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
Being from Hull and dad being a fan of The Who, this was a must buy and glad i did. Having a birthday nr xmas i never know what to buy him, it was a suprize for him he thinks is great, that makes this a full five stars, being a fan thats a bonus too x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 14 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Hull (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift, my friend was over the moon. Its very hard to find older cds or dvds and my friend lost his copy and i managed to find this for him. Sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Hull
Live At Hull by The Who (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews