Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No 5th album fatigue!
After being rather disappointed with Element of Freedom (and when I say disappointed, I'm talking 8/10 as opposed to the usual 10/10 I give an AK album!) I was very apprehensive about getting this one because a lot of artists tend to drop off once they start reaching they're 4th / 5th albums...not mentioning any names (usher)...but anyway...ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS...
Published 20 months ago by MeHB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
It was ok, not as good as her previous release.
perhaps her other album was just too good and hard to follow.
Published 11 months ago by DEN


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No 5th album fatigue!, 26 Dec 2012
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
After being rather disappointed with Element of Freedom (and when I say disappointed, I'm talking 8/10 as opposed to the usual 10/10 I give an AK album!) I was very apprehensive about getting this one because a lot of artists tend to drop off once they start reaching they're 4th / 5th albums...not mentioning any names (usher)...but anyway...ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS!!

I think this one does still (just slightly) sit behind A Minor & Diary, but the snippet of soul (Fire We Make), touch of musical genius (Least I Got to Love You), girl power anthem (Girl on Fire), lyrical inspiration (Brand New Me), beautiful melodies (Not Even the King / One Thing) and the token R&B Reggae track with a bassline that your blow your neighbours' mind (Limitedless) mean that this album will certainly be listened to for years to come! Each track is easygoing enough for everyone to like but without lacking the depth that makes this a credible piece of musical work! Thanks Alicia!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alicia Keys is a "Girl On Fire", 29 Dec 2012
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
Alicia Keys has once again taken her time to write new material and has let three years pass before releasing her fifth studio album "Girl On Fire". Compared to her previous effort "The Element Of Freedom", this collection of songs is much more energetic and fresh. It is actually quite difficult to compare the two as they are so different, but Alicia sounds much happier on this outing, possibly because she is now married and has experienced motherhood.

Following the Classical music inspired intro "De Novo Adagio", the piano led ballad "Brand New Me", co-written by Emeli Sande, is very classy and stylish with a breathtakingly powerful bridge section that adds immensely to the quality of this song. "When It's All Over" is quite an interesting composition as it contains elements of R&B, Jazz and Funk, but then swiftly unravels and transforms into a melodic Dance track with lots of energy and commercial appeal. There are a variety of different styles on this album - "Listen To Your Heart" falls comfortably in between Neo Soul and R&B slow jam territory whilst "New Day" boasts punchy Hip-Hop drum beats and brings bags of energy and hope to this release, although it is my least favourite track due to its simplicity, being aimed solely at the commercial market. The lead single and title track "Girl On Fire", featuring the Hip-Hop artist of the moment Nicki Minaj, is another mainstream R&B creation with very passionate and soulful vocals from Miss Keys and a catchy melody, although it is slightly over-sung and a tad middle of the road. The duet with the ever so talented Maxwell "Fire We Make" oozes sensuality and has some beautiful soft vocals from both artists that blend with the suave and gentle Soul, Jazz and Funk arrangements. "Tears Always Win" is an infectious ode to Soul and Gospel whilst also possessing a very sweet laid back feel to it. "Not Even The King" is a beautiful piano led ballad and actually sounds very much like Emeli Sande at her most vulnerable. "That's When I Knew" is a gentle soulful acoustic guitar led ballad with sweet vocals from Alicia. "Limitedless" is a cool Reggae infused track with an addictive bass line and rhythm. "One Thing" is a fragile and beautiful atmospheric ballad co-written by Frank Ocean, another recent R&B sensation, and the final song "101" is the third piano led ballad co-written with Miss Sande and is just as passionately sung as the other impressive ballads.

"Girl On Fire" contains something for everyone as it is a very varied album blending many different styles successfully which allows the listener to pick and choose tracks depending on his/her mood. The album can also be enjoyed as a whole as the message of hope, joy and independence resounds through each and every composition. Personally, I do prefer it when Alicia opts for less commercial sounds, but I am just being fussy. Alicia is happy and you can feel that through her inspiring music - that is all that really matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Job, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
Album is fantastic, worth buying, every single track a classic. Track 3 features her son Egypt, listening to him makes you want to melt. I listening to it all the time. Well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alicia is back, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
I really love this album. Alicia never disappoints. I actually think that Girl On Fire is one of the worse songs on the album. I love the song Brand New Me, It is filled with so much raw emotion and is catchy. The duet with Maxwell is amazing. Two of my favourite artists together. All in all a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Girl is on Fire, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Harry Perkins (Romford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On each album that Alicia releases she improves and her latest release is simply fab. The title track is the best on here but they are all so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement of lost album., 14 May 2013
By 
A. Beare "Nick" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
This was to replace a copy of 'Girl on Fire' that I had lost and I think it's a great album, & I received this album very quickly after ordering it, & after having discovered I had lost it , was very gratefull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - slightly more edgy, 12 May 2013
By 
Paul Francis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
Have been a fan for a while. This album is a bit different, exploring a different angle of this artist. There are 3 tracks I would call "edgy", but the rest are sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good music, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
Brought as a gift for my better half. Did to think it would be my kind of music but very pleasant on the ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
Great will use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl On Fire (Audio CD)
arrived on time
packaged well
its a cd its music what can I say I bought it because I like Alicia Keys its a good cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girl On Fire
Girl On Fire by Alicia Keys (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews