Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An evolution from the Uplift trilogy
Exiles is a little tough going at first, as there are lots of characters and most of them are aliens, which makes them a little difficult to empathise with. This makes the first book a slow burner, but definitely worthwhile and the more rewarding once you're into it.

Unlike the Uplift books the Exiles books are one long story, which makes it feel a lot more...
Published on 5 Feb. 2013 by Keith Henry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First volume is too slow - loses the fast pace of the first trilogy
It took a whole book and a half just to set the scene for the second trilogy - good ideas but I almost gave up - still ploughing through the second volume of trilogy book 2 - not sure if I will sustain the interest to finish it!
Published on 14 April 2013 by Guitarman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An evolution from the Uplift trilogy, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Keith Henry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Exiles is a little tough going at first, as there are lots of characters and most of them are aliens, which makes them a little difficult to empathise with. This makes the first book a slow burner, but definitely worthwhile and the more rewarding once you're into it.

Unlike the Uplift books the Exiles books are one long story, which makes it feel a lot more epic in scope. It connects back to the Uplift stories, but I won't give anything away by saying how.

I recommend it strongly, especially if you liked Uplift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 15 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this omnibus until towards the end of the last book. I felt the ending was slightly anti climatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
well written with lots of original ideas and quite well drawn characters. Some times confusing when the plot jumped from one character's experiences to another's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more uplift, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Actually a trilogy rather than the previous 3 uplift books which are 3 separate stories around the same universe and timescale. Some mysteries are addressed from the previous books, which is satisfying, and it's a bit less preachy on the eco front. As always Mr Brin gives us very well developed concepts and believable alien characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First volume is too slow - loses the fast pace of the first trilogy, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
It took a whole book and a half just to set the scene for the second trilogy - good ideas but I almost gave up - still ploughing through the second volume of trilogy book 2 - not sure if I will sustain the interest to finish it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Highly recommended, this is gripping, hugely imaginative and enjoyable sci go writing at its best and I really couldn't put it down, read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars open minded, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Only read if you are open minded and willing to except the fantastic, I found this a great read, lots of twists and turns with outlandish concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
After reading the first trilogy we need to know more... perfect ending to the Saga! Enjoyed reading it, i could not stop reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow going, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I think David Brin is very good at creating aliens. I enjoyed his Uplift Omnibus Book One, but so far am finding this sequel quite hard going. However, I am hanging on as he has a knack of pulling the threads together and producing an unsuspected finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All Three parts in one easy kindle edition, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Andrew Riley (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exiles: The Uplift Storm Trilogy (Uplift Omnibus Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is not a new trilogy, it's a kindle binding of the Second Uplift Trilogy with all three books in one handy volume. Here's a review I wrote for the paperback version of the first book, Brightness Reef, back in 2009.

The second Uplift trilogy, or the Jijoian Trilogy is set in a universe where species are raised to sentience by a Patron race, to whom they then owe one hundred thousand years of servitude as a thank you. Humanity, having already raised Chimps and Dolphins to sentience stumble out into the galaxy at large without a patron race, making them rare "wolflings" generally doomed for extinction lacking protection in what is often a dangerous and violent galactic society.

The majority of the trilogy is set on a Sooner colony called Jijo, where half a dozen outcast races live together striving to return to "blessed presentience" avoiding larger galactic society. The story follows this colony as the wider universe comes crashing in.

I tremendously enjoyed these books, they're well written with a wide range of characters. The galactic society is startling different from most simple Utopian or "mankind stands alone" situations often found in fiction. Groups centered on uplift clans or religious beliefs fight wars within the constraints of stability within the larger society. The differences between the collective cultures of the mixed races of Jijo and the interactions of the parent races out in the Five Galaxies form a large part of the subtext. Both the overarching plot and the development of each character is handled well and Brin doesn't leave minor loose ends dangling at the end of the tale. He has left himself with a few hooks for another series if he wants it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews