Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excited for more!
A wonderful CD from a new vocalist.

If this is just the beginning of her career then we are very lucky to be able to experience what is to come.

Highly, highly recommended to anyone who loves great music.
Published 10 months ago by Bluesmoky

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Portrait 'out of the Frame'.
Liked the overall sound of this Album on first listening , plus the quality of the Vocal, but it hasn't stayed the course for me, and very rarely give it a listening any more.
Published 8 months ago by John Green.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excited for more!, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
A wonderful CD from a new vocalist.

If this is just the beginning of her career then we are very lucky to be able to experience what is to come.

Highly, highly recommended to anyone who loves great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Voice, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
I discovered Josephine by chance via one of those you-bought-that-so-you-might-like-this recommendations and I'm so glad I did. The BBC review above is pretty accurate, so rather than vainly try to improve on it I'd just like to reiterate that this is an amazing voice singing accomplished songs. Why is this woman not a major star?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Magic In The Air, 16 Oct 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
I feel fortunate to have stumbled upon this wonderful album.
Josephine Oniyama is a singer/songwriter from Manchester who
seems to have burst into the listening world fully-formed with
her accomplished debut recording 'Portrait'. She has a simply
beautiful voice : calm, centered and completely unaffected.
The kind of voice which, in a curiously old-fashioned way, would
have sounded perfectly at home in any of the last five decades.

There are ten songs in the collection which demonstrate a deft
facility with both words and melody. An easy naturalness and
warmth permeates each and every one one them. The uncluttered
arrangements are a model of restrained musicality, the better
to support the gentle drama of her gorgeous vocal performances.

The soft drone and simple piano part of the folksy opening track
'When We Were Trespassers' is somewhat redolent of some of the late,
great David Ackles finest inventions. A song which frames the
perfect melancholy of Ms Oniyama's subtle vibrato and rich delivery.
A truly sublime creation and alone worth the price of the album.
Further joys include the string-infused, sixties-scented title track
'Portrait' (just loving the plaintive half-heard harmonica part!);
the spare and somewhat bluesy minor-key number 'I Think It Was Love',
which sports a wonderfully moody and affecting vocal; 'Pepper Shaker',
a fidgety upbeat number which finds Ms Oniyama flexing her muscles and
delivering an impressively powerful turn and the lovely final track
'House Of Mirrors' whose lilting waltz-time rhythm and delightful tune
would not have sounded out of place in a Stephen Sondheim musical.

Whatever you do don't let this very special album pass you by.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Portrait of Josephine. More please!, 1 May 2014
By 
Mr. A. Cannings (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
Josephine's "Portrait" album is the best album of new music I've heard in the last 10 years (I said that about Camilla Kerslake's first album a few years ago, but this is even better than than), and the more I listen to it, the more I like it. So many influences in there but all delivered in Josephine's fresh, imaginative, unique style. And what an incredible voice.

My favourite track? Only by a whisker I'd say "Last Minute". The other 9 songs, while different styles are equally as strong but there's something about "Last Minute" that makes my spine tingle. Every time I hear it.

Josephine deserves to be as big as Adele. I've owned this album for a little over a year now, and it rates as one of my all time favourites. I've been buying music since 1971 and have a large collection. Portrait has now become one of my Top Ten favourite albums of all time.

Congratulations and thanks for an album that couldn't be any better, I'm really looking forward to the next one. Would love to see her live too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Album, 11 April 2013
By 
Mr. John P. Williams (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
I normally don't submit reviews of albums i purchase but this album is the best thing i have heard in a long time- if you only buy one album this year buy this as it will blow you away!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Voice, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
Great Début Album from a girl with a truly classic voice....strong lyrics and a lovely mix of Jazz and Soul make this a definite addition to my "Favourites" selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (MP3 Download)
Once in a while a new artist emerges on the music scene with a record that is different, Unique, Timeless. JOSEPHINE's PORTRAIT certainly is. If you like LIZZ WRIGHT / The Orchard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best UK singer since god knows when, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
Josephine's voice is the star of this outstanding album. Everything about it is perfect. Pitch, tone, clarity, timing, range, articulation, dynamics ... she has it all and the combined effect is spine-tingling.

On the evidence of this outing, Josephine is the best UK singer I have heard in a very long time. It doesn't get much better than this. I cannot wait to hear her sing at a live performance.

The standard of songwriting and production isn't far behind. Although this is definitely an album that is better than the sum of its parts, every song is worthy of inclusion; there are no fillers here.

What does the album sound like? Think of a vocalist with the clarity and precision of Dusty Springfield, crossed with the earthiness and soul of Shara Nelson (Massive Attack, Unfinished Sympathy), fronting The Smiths. Unique, and very, very good.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet and beautiful, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
This is a gem. I've rated it as four rather than five as a couple of the tracks are fillers, but most of them are wonderful - simple and beautiful harmonies and a bittersweet voice that seems to have lived an age, the sort of stuff that will have you pulling your car over and sobbing your heart out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful songs with feeling, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
I recommend this beautiful album with songs full of longing and praise for life. A full voice, original songs and soft music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Portrait
Portrait by Josephine
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews