Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Swedish Crime Thriller
This is actually a follow up to a film from 1996 called `Jagarna' and this was originally called `Jagarna 2', but you don't have to see the first one to be able to follow this but it will help contextualise everything. It stars Rolf Lassgard as Detective Eric Backstrom, he is called to his familial town to investigate a suspected murder after a girl goes missing in very...
Published on 23 Feb. 2013 by Tommy Dooley

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rolf Lassgård is So Good
I love Lassgård as Wallander and in his many films, but this show, False Trail, is just a little too cruel for me. Hunting shows aren't my thing. I guess it's good, just not my cup of tea.
Published 14 months ago by maggie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Swedish Crime Thriller, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
This is actually a follow up to a film from 1996 called `Jagarna' and this was originally called `Jagarna 2', but you don't have to see the first one to be able to follow this but it will help contextualise everything. It stars Rolf Lassgard as Detective Eric Backstrom, he is called to his familial town to investigate a suspected murder after a girl goes missing in very suspicious circumstances. The only suspect is the town's local human detritus and the cops hate him and are always trying to fix him up for crimes. So the objectivity of Stockholm CID is what they are looking for - enter Detective Backstrom.

Once Eric starts to do his investigation it soon appears that the local cops are probably not as dogged as he would like and things just do not add up on the evidence front. Soon he is at loggerheads with most of the police and some of the locals as he leaves no stone unturned to get to the truth and having to face up to the ghosts from the past and what he has both done and failed to do.

This is a great film, the cinematography is brilliant and the Swedish country side is amazing. A word to animal lovers there are hunting scenes in this and animal butchery which is completely real. Peter Stormare playing bad cop Torsten is actually brilliant and I discovered he was in `The Big Lebowski', so watch out for him. But the real star is Rolf Lassgard who pulls the whole thing along and balances the good cop routine with enough humanity to flesh out the character. There is a wide interest in Nordic films at the moment and if they keep making them like this then that interest is not going to wane any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars False Trail, 27 April 2013
By 
M. A. Brown (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely great the plot was easy to follow even having to read the subtitles I have bought several foreign DVD's and have found the story lines excellent. Have no hesitation in recommending this DVD. Maisie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars False Trail, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
Compelling and intelligent drama. Saw this before 'The Hunters' - an earlier film referred to in 'False Trail.' Both films were brilliantly crafted and acted. Would recommend them to all who ar enamoured of 'Nordic Noir.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rolf Lassgård is So Good, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
I love Lassgård as Wallander and in his many films, but this show, False Trail, is just a little too cruel for me. Hunting shows aren't my thing. I guess it's good, just not my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nordic Noir when it is best, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
Rolf Lassgaard is excellent. Keeps you hooked to the very end. Set in Northern Sweden which is astoundingly beautiful as a backdrop for this thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow but sure., 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
This is an intriguing, slow burning thriller. The layers of the mystery are gradually removed and the viewer is neatly wrong-footed. This has some of the same appeal as "The Killing" on TV, though the pace is a bit quicker. The wonderful backdrop in the north of Sweden is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above!, 12 Jan. 2015
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
This is for me much better and better balanced than the previous version of 1996. This sequel is also marginally improved if you have seen the earlier version as some of its context is recalled. Screenplay is VG -maintaining the dramatic intensity throughout ,as well as the cinematography..Pete Stormare is superb as the local policeman who has issues and as usual Rolf Lassgard is super as the visiting investigator.Both have English subtitles and I watched both in bluray to enjoy the wonderful views on offer. Definitely a "cut above"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super movie, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. R. Doyle "Alex65" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
I am a real fan of the "Nordic tv series and movies" this does not disappoint. Excellent story line great twists in the plot. Substantially better than the rubbish on UK tv at present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First class thriller!, 26 April 2015
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this on Netflix. It had me gripped right to the very end and is a lesson in what happens when dangerous psychopaths hide behind authority and are aided by colleagues. All the acting was superb and the stunning visual back drop of the icy beauty of the Swedish landscape an additional feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A blunted edge, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: False Trail [DVD] (DVD)
It's perhaps unfair to compare this with Jägarna, but since the original title is Jägarna 2, it's perhaps not as unfair as all that.

Much of the impact of its predecessor is the jolting introduction to a different Sweden from that portrayed in most other Nordic Noir films. If you were to watch this film first, you'd probably get much of that impact. But coming second, as it does, the viewer is less overawed by the all-pervasive Deliverance-like menace, and more focused on the plot.

And the plot, frankly, isn't as good - there are many conventional devices - and the denouement is disappointingly Hollywoodesque.

Still, this is a good thriller, and the menace is still there, though maintained more by scenes of violence than by less obvious means. The acting is a little uneven - I wasn't entirely convinced by one or two of the more minor characters.

Altogether, this is a slightly less accomplished film than its older brother, but that still makes for a thoroughly enjoyable evening in front of the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

False Trail [Blu-ray]
False Trail [Blu-ray] by Kjell Sundvall (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews