Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year?
Adrian Jones and his band have come up with something truly special on One Eye on the Sunrise, the second album from the 'band' configuration of Nine Stones Close (the first NSC album was very much an Adrian Jones solo project). The songwriting is inspired, blending elements of bands like Camel, Marillion, Pink Floyd and Porcupine Tree into a truly unique-sounding...
Published 20 months ago by Dr. Rod S. Taylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit predictable
Very Floyd, Airbag but still a good listen. There is nothing offensive to the ears here and is a good addition but its not going to blow you out of your seat, musically or technically.
Published 3 months ago by sonofwil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album of the year?, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Dr. Rod S. Taylor "rstaylor" (Ely, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
Adrian Jones and his band have come up with something truly special on One Eye on the Sunrise, the second album from the 'band' configuration of Nine Stones Close (the first NSC album was very much an Adrian Jones solo project). The songwriting is inspired, blending elements of bands like Camel, Marillion, Pink Floyd and Porcupine Tree into a truly unique-sounding collection of music: these influences are in there, but NSC never really sound like anyone other than themselves. There's also a good sonic mixture on OEotS, including delicate ballads, mid-tempo rockers and all-out belters. Never a dull moment.

The musicianship here is also impressive. Adrian is a stellar guitarist, but he's surrounded himself with a collection of top-notch musicians on this set (keyboardist Brendan Eyre also gets a few songwriting credits here), and it really sounds like a group of musicians playing as a band - not just a guitarist playing with a bunch of hired hand supporting musicians. Given the relatively short time they've all been working/playing together, I cant wait to hear what they come up with next time!

In a nutshell: if you like emotive, intelligent and passionate music (with guitar licks that will knock you socks off!), do NOT let this album pass you by. Probably my top album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (Nine Stones) Close To Perfection, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
'One Eye On The Sunrise' is contemporary progressive rock that will probably appeal to fans of bands such as Porcupine Tree, Anathema, Pink Floyd, Marillion and King Crimson.

Nine Stones Close was originally a solo project brought to life by guitarist Adrian Jones. His first release under the NSC name, 'St. Lo' deservedly won critical acclaim and enabled Adrian to recruit some notable musicians to collaborate on further releases. 'One Eye On The Sunrise' completes the transformation of NSC into a fully fledged band and Adrian is joined by : Marc Atkinson (vocals) and Brendan Eyre (keyboards) both of Riversea, Peter Vink (Ayreon) on bass and Pieter Van Hoorn (Knight Area) on drums. Whilst Marc and Brendan had also been present for the second NSC album (the excellent 'Traces') 'One Eye' is the first NSC album to really sound like a genuine band effort.

NSC have come a long way in three albums. Whilst I loved parts of 'St. Lo', it wasn't structured enough for me and is now hardly recognisable as the embryo that NSC developed from. 'Traces' was itself a huge step forward, but 'One Eye' is revelatory and really sees NSC come of age. Whilst the themes and flavours build on those used in 'Traces', there is a greater maturity to the composition and musicianship.

The album opens with a brief Floyd-esque instrumental 'Faceless Angel' that sets the atmosphere of the music on offer. 'A Secret', follows. This is a sparse, minimalist prog-rock anthem. Marc Atkinson's emotive vocals accompany stepping stone guitar chords that are awash with melancholy. Although there is nothing commercial about the song, it quickly entwines you in its hypnotic spell. "I told you a secret, Wrap it up and keep it, Then swallow it whole"...

'Janus' follows, a majestic and powerful instrumental that contrasts with the minimalist flavours of 'A Secret'. Wailing guitars are underpinned by a driving and pulsating bass line before yielding to ornate piano lines. Again, the melodies on offer are savagely addictive.

Adrian then treats us to some beautiful acoustic guitar riffs that luxuriate with the reverberation of open strings and harmonics and eventually lead us into the title track. Despite the beauty of the melody on offer here, there is a brooding underlying, menacing atmosphere that is further developed with the use of unsettling cello lines, before angst-ridden heavy metal guitars aggressively release the tension. The awesome cover art of the album (courtesy of Antonio Seijas) perfectly depicts the musical flavours on offer here, especially in the way it portrays both lightness and darkness and mystery.

'The Weight' is another epic track that builds on flavours that were introduced on the 'Traces' album, whilst 'The Distance' offers a pastoral, ethereal flavour that is again adorned with Adrian's acoustic guitar lines. 'A Frozen Moment' has an almost apocalyptic feel at times and combines musical mayhem with strong melodic passages and varying atmospheres as it clocks in at more than thirteen minutes, the longest track on the album.

I was totally blown away when I first listened to this album, it's been a haunting, emotional and atmospheric experience......it's essential listening for all fans of progressive and classic rock and to my ears at least is pretty much (Nine Stones) Close to perfection....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Purple Sandra (Warminster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
I was worried about this album as Traces was easily one of my favourites in recent years. No need to worry. It is like a superbly crafted progression of Traces. Beautiful lyrics, beautiful music and talented musicians. what more is there to say. Nine Stone Close should be very proud of themselves indeed. Roll on their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equally as good...possibly better!, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Nick Shepherd (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
When an album of brilliance like Traces comes along you tend to worry about the follow up. There was no need...this album is a beautifully crafted piece of work. As with Traces it is generally "easy listening" with its great melodies but no one should be in any doubt of the undelying strength of the musicianship with its blend of subtleties,intricancies and on occasions "driving rock". Adrian Jones and his team are a revelation and deserve our thanks for creating something very special indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year, 24 Mar 2013
By 
G. R. Copnall "cyberfloat" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
Reassuringly often in these days of what seems to be a resurgence of great progressive rock an album is brought out that completely obsesses me for several months. I bought One Eye on the Sunrise months ago, knowing it was going to be something special. It grabbed me from the very first playing and i listened to it many, many times over the ensuing weeks.

What is more unusual is an album that grabs you in this way and maintains its hold on you, still seeming fresh and never sounding too tired or familiar. The addition of a real drummer this time around has made a tangible difference to the sound that Adrian Jones and his talented crew make. I'm not going to do a laborious track by track critique here, there are others more proficient than I at doing that.

To me the most important thing is that this music just works on so many levels, whether the exquisite vocals from Marc Atkinson, the inventive soundscapes provided by keys man Brendan Eyre, the soaring guitar playing of Adrian Jones himself, or the driving rhythms and supporting percussion offered by Pieter Van Hoorn, for me this album ticks all the boxes, even to the extent of giving my much desired, but rarely achieved, full on emotional reaction, tears, goosebumps etc. The addition of Cellist Katy Bell on 2 of the tracks demonstrates a new maturity of composition that greatly adds to the overall sound pallette. New bass man Peter Vink and the wonderful Matt Stevens also contribute well.

I know that, despite the departure of Marc Atkinson, that Adrian is already hard at work on the next album and I, for one, am already watering at the mouth in anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a bit predictable, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
Very Floyd, Airbag but still a good listen. There is nothing offensive to the ears here and is a good addition but its not going to blow you out of your seat, musically or technically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Guitarist/Progressive CD, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
Assembled prog musicians who have produced a haunting C/D that leaves you wanting to listen to it time and time again.A distinctive male vocalist that suits the themes in the release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the albums of an outstanding year of music., 1 Mar 2013
By 
Ian (Rowley Regis, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
I'm a relatively new fan of Nine Stones Close, having heard about them last year and bought Traces. I found Traces to be very good indeed but with an indefinable something missing. I was very pleased to hear that Adrian Jones, the driving force behind the band, had managed to recruit the splendid Peter Vink on bass.

I was very intrigued as to how the music would progress, or if it would stay the same as on Traces. Happily I'm able to say that "One Eye..." is even better than Traces. All the band members are really at the top of their game here and the song-writing matches the musical talent. This all combines to make One eye a truly remarkable album.

Adrians wonderful guitar playing ranges from heavy, crunching riffs to delicate acoustic work, via deceptively simple-sounding Gilmouresque soaring emotionally charged solos and is always a delight to listen to. Similarly, Brendan Eyres complements him beautifully on keyboards with his range and musicianship, doing everything from filling in behind solos to taking the lead himself.

Peter Vink on bass and fellow "Knight Area" band-mate Pieter van Hoorn combine perfectly in the rhythm department giving the band a real driving power when needed and an always rock-solid foundation for the others to work from.

On vocals there is Marc Atkinson, who sang on Traces and also the critically-acclaimed "Riversea" album alongside Brendan. He never fails to hit the spot and his delivery of Adrian's lyrics is the final piece in a superb jigsaw. Lastly, mention must be given to the splendid Matt Stevens guesting on "Frozen Moment", where he fits perfectly into the band, alternating guitar solos with Adrian and really enhancing an already top-class line-up.

It is very hard to pick favourites from such an album, where everything is so very good, but probably I'd have to go with opener "Faceless Angel" and "Frozen Moment". Both contain scintillating guitar playing, which I have to admit is nearly always my priority when I listen to an album. If pressed to pick an absolute favourite however, it would have to be "One Eye On The Sunrise". It is a genuine epic of a song, where Adrian again excels with both delicate acoustic and heavy, almost "metal", playing. Brendan provides some wonderfully ominous, surging keyboards while Marc puts in probably his beat performance on the album.

The only note of sadness here, is that Marc has subsequently left the band to pursue his solo career, which leaves a rather large hole in the band. Having witnessed Adrian's ability to gather exactly the right blend of musicians, I'm sure he will find someone of equal talent. It all leaves me feeling very excited when I think of just what this Anglo-Dutch band is still capable of in the future.

An essential purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent effort from Adrian and pals, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: One Eye on the Sunrise (Audio CD)
Having loved the previous album I was keen to see what they would come up with next. I totally agree with the other reviews posted here. Namely that this is record is even better than the previous outing. I purchased the recording on vinyl and the quality of the playing and production shine through. If you enjoy intelligent well crafted music I would recommend that you give it a listen. Looking forward to hearing some of these songs live in the not too distant future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nine Stones Close just keep getting better!, 21 Dec 2012
Nine Stones Close AKA Adrian Jones just gets better and better. Traces was perfect in my opinion. When this album started to surface, I heard a few samples and thought it would be Traces 2. It isn't! In the last year, they seem to have got the attention of Arjen Lucassen and even grabbed Star One's bass player Peter Vink. I saw that guy with Star one live in 2002, so I know how good HE is! Read Bruford Freak,s rundown on the tracks. I can agree with most of it. Especially the part that 9SC turns in to led Zeppelin in the title track. I never expected that! Porcupine Tree also became Zep a few years ago and why not!!! I occasionally hear the sound of Porcupine tree in the album too. This album is very moving and soulful but shifts gear just at the right times. Frozen Moment has to be a highlight and it gets even better with each listen. Faceless Angel is a favourite of mine also. I love instrumentals and Pink Floyd. This track has that quality and feel. In the end this is Ninestonesclose and not a tribute to some other band. The occasional references are only a clue as to where Adrian's influences may come from. These are great musicians and I hope that rumours of a live tour in 2013 will become a reality. Even releasing an album is difficult enough but touring? That's when it really gets tough! I have heard talk of album of 2012 for this in more than one place and if that happens, it is well deserved. This is an album that will stand the test of time.
Corvus Stone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Eye on the Sunrise
One Eye on the Sunrise by Nine Stones Close (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews