Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tidy littlle unit does what its supposed to do
I am quite happy with this little unit. The menus are easy to use (my 80 year old neighbour has one and gets on ok with it) and the picture quality is good. The remote controls are big and clear to read unlike some fiddly boxes.

As well as being a recording device the unit also hooks up to BBC Iplayer which can breathe a bit of life into an older flat panel TV...
Published 17 months ago by Skeeog

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excelled HD quality - but a few irritating quirks
My old PVR broke so I needed to get a replacement.

For the price this ticked all the boxes. Always worth paying a bit more to get HD capabilities these days.

So far it's worked a treat. However be aware that there a few design flaws with the usage that will jar if you've been using another make/brand.

For example it stores your recorded...
Published 11 months ago by Mikey G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excelled HD quality - but a few irritating quirks, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
My old PVR broke so I needed to get a replacement.

For the price this ticked all the boxes. Always worth paying a bit more to get HD capabilities these days.

So far it's worked a treat. However be aware that there a few design flaws with the usage that will jar if you've been using another make/brand.

For example it stores your recorded shows in folders named after the show. Handy for having linked recording in one place. Not so handy for instantly seeing what you have watched. Even when going into the folder it still wont show you what has already been viewed.

Secondly it doesn't show what programmes have been set to record if you're not viewing the actual programme on the TV planner screen, you are only made aware of a clash when you try and schedule three programmes. My previous machine set one or two red lines above the TV Guide screen showing if any recordings had been made.

Thirdly when viewing a recorded show you phyiscally have to press the stop button before it allows you to move to another screen. Minor irritation but other machines I've used just allow you to navigate away from the recorded show instantly.

Fourthly the subtitle button isn't as straightforward as putting them on or off, you have to scroll through a number of options via the main menu.

These are only minor quibbles and if you havent used a PVR before you probably won't notice that it's a bit unusual doing this. It also wouldnt stop me buying this again; you just have to be aware that different brands have different operating procedures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tidy littlle unit does what its supposed to do, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
I am quite happy with this little unit. The menus are easy to use (my 80 year old neighbour has one and gets on ok with it) and the picture quality is good. The remote controls are big and clear to read unlike some fiddly boxes.

As well as being a recording device the unit also hooks up to BBC Iplayer which can breathe a bit of life into an older flat panel TV without such features. Connecting up is easy with a scart socket, HDMI of course, and ethernet connect for internet services. The aerial socket has a pass-through to allow you to still leave other devices in the loop.

In the box is a HDMI cable which saves the annoyance of having to buy a separate one.

Being small the unit will site side by side with some other small devices like a smaller DVD player saving space under the TV if like me you have a lot of gear connected. The small size helps for use in a bedroom or study also it'll just go on a shelf if need be. Power consumption is low at just 13w running, 1w standby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot be beaten on value for money!, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
This recorder definitely packs the most features compared to others in it's price range, standing up alongside the Panasonic and Humax equivalents. The box itself is smaller than most DVR's, and feels solid and looks sleek, so it doesn't need to be hidden away like some devices.

The rear panel has both analog and digital audio outputs through phono jacks, allowing connection to HiFi and home cinema systems, meaning you can listen to music and radio with the TV switched off. Media can be played through the home network to the TV through an ethernet port on the back, great for streaming music through your home cinema speakers. A SCART socket allows connection to a VCR/DVD recorder.

The Sagemcom RTI95320's menus and EPG are easy to navigate and the device has a quick response to remote input, giving a nice overall feel to the unit. The HD picture is crisp and clear even with a standard aerial, and the recorded television is just as high quality.

I noticed another review complaining about the picture being incorrect on a screen with a 4:3 aspect ratio, which would be because HD video has a 16:9 ratio, so thats what this box was designed to display in!

Give this box a try, I'd highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a chance, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Gareth Hardy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
I'll be honest - if I'd been writing this when first unboxing the RTI95 last November, you'd only have been seeing two stars above.

It had issues, the response to the remote was sluggish, it was very slow to boot and there were blips in both live TV and recordings.

Sagemcom appear to be actively updating the software and have fixed most of the troublesome issues, so it gets another star for now being responsive, reliable and fast-booting.

The fact that they have an active support community and are willing to listen to customers and are keen to respond personally earns another star.

It would get a fifth star but there are a few minor niggles - the parental control system does not work* because it relies too much on broadcasters' whims, the unit does not "remember" the last library selection and so returns to the top of the list after each watching etc. I expect some will be fixed over the coming months.

* likely to be fixed soon by having a "deactivation" option.

On the whole, it's been a great purchase. Anyone who bought it last year who wasn't willing to wait for fixes will definitely disagree with me, but anyone who values a hot line to a manufacturer willing to listen will probably struggle to find a better manufacturer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great little box, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
this was very easy to setup,great picture easy to record would recommend to a friend.
this is a neat box and looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sagemcom RTI95320 High Definition Digital Freeview Recorder, 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
I recently bought this and I love it! it is very easy to set up and to control it has very good quality on the TV.
nice an easy to read on the screen and to flick thought the channels. easy for someone who don't know much about TV's and free-view box's to go thought the instructions and set it up to how you want it for your TV and the pause, rewind and record is just a bonus.

its a must have and best bit of kit out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart & simple, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
Exactly what it says on the box, this unit is smart and very simple to use and set up.
Having owned a Humax SD recordable box that suddenly decided to record what ever it liked when it felt like it and kept powering its self up for no reason i was looking for a replacement at a reasonable price.
being a typical bloke i don't read instructions. So being able to take it straight from the box, plug it in and watch it work was great.
The menus and sub menus were all logical and made perfect sense, and within minutes i had customised it to my own preference.
We suffer from poor signal in our area and one of our TV's will not even work without an external box, but the picture quality is really good and amazing in HD.
I am loving the fact that you can create folders for your recorded content. this stops others in our house deleting my programs to make space, but with up to 180 hrs i dont think that will be a problem.
Having BBC iplayer built in is really good and all i had to do was plug it in to the internet with no additional set up, but best of all i can now view photos and video straight from my computer via my home network
or just plug a USB stick straight in the front if i wish.
The programme guide is good looking, especially as it is set on a black background, This makes it easier to see, unlike my last box
Having read some other reviews before getting this unit it is fair to say it could be a little more responsive but you can speed the start up process by switching off eco mode if your not fully committed to energy efficiency, however its fine for me.
Recording and play back are as easy as it gets. The box is small with nice small blue display and the controller is not full of buttons you will never use.
With options for sound out put, Scart, HDMI, USB & ethernet i can't think of any thing else you would need from an HD TV recording box.
I will definitely be getting another one now for our other TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My review, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
Easy to set up good value for price nice and compact does not take up much space records two channels no problems good on delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sagem freeview recorder, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
The instructions are wrong, when you want to set up a regular recording the instructions tell you to go to 'My TV > Recording Timer' on the set I've got this is Recording Library.

Also when you click on the recording it immediately starts. But besides these two quips at the moment the machine seems fine. Have only had it less than a week, so am still learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ... but could be more reliable, 28 April 2014
By 
John H (Hornchurch, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sagemcom RTI95320 Freeview + HD Digital TV Recorder 320GB (Electronics)
This is our third SAGEM upgrade and if you accept it will let you down on occasions then its not so bad. First thing was to upgrade the software (as you have to do with most things these days) which passed off without any problems. The response to the handset is quite fast if compared with previous models and the handset design is also better than for previous models. Picture quality is great.
Now the bad bits ....
1. It will often not record the first program of the day although it thinks it is recording it. If you press the record button it asks you if you want to cancel the recording. You have to say 'yes' then press the record button again. It will then record the program as a one off and not in series mode.
2. If a program doesn't record you have to go into the recording shedule and delete it otherwise it seems to miss other programs.
3. Sometimes it won't let us program in a recording because it says we are recording two channels already ... which is not the case.
4. Sometimes the box 'freezes' and you have to unplug it and plug it in again.
We had thought about sending it back for a replacement but in all honesty its no less reliable than the other boxes we have had over the years. They all seemed to play up in one way or another.
Maybe someday SAGEM will get it right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews