Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agony is the price that you pay in the end
Since December 8th 2004, when I actually broke down in tears at my work because I'd learned that Dimebag Darrell had been murdered on-stage, I've been waiting for someone from the band to say something other than 'he said, she said.. ' Bassist Rex has finally written an unputdownable volume which is essential for anyone even remotely interested in PanterA's music and...
Published 19 months ago by Ian Devlin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...and the whole bit.
Well, one of the things that you will clearly notice on this book is that Rex considers himself as god's gift to heavy metal music and that he could easely bury Mozart or Beethoven in what concerns music wise.
He certainly does not like Vinnie Paul. As a matter of fact, although he, sooner or later, calls his band mates "brothers", I don't think he liked any of them...
Published 14 months ago by Gex


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Pantera!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book, well written and fun to read. A must for all Pantera fans.
Three more words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars finally!, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's based on Rex's point of view of his musical journey, as he called it, some few things about his personal life and then is about how things went back in the Pantera days, i think that when you will read it you might understand why a reunion of Pantera will be a bad idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Truth, 101 Proof: The Inside Story of Pantera (Kindle Edition)
If you love Pantera, you will love the detail this book goes into! Well worth the cash. sometimes a bit hard to read due to Rex's honesty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Truth, 101 Proof: The Inside Story of Pantera (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, loved reading it. As for service bought it on my kindle so no complaints there. Recommended read for any Pantera fan though, a must!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 6 July 2013
By 
C. Browne "gageuk" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Truth, 101 Proof: The Inside Story of Pantera (Kindle Edition)
Metal bands come and go. Pantera remain. To get a glimpse into the life, excess and loves of this extraordinary group of people is mind blowing.
Dimebag was special, a talent that changed the way metal was played. A player who will go down in music history for all the right reasons. I hope one day the remaining three can meet and tear down the walls.
RIP Darrell Abbott. A genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth!, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been in a privileged position of knowing all of Pantera since the early '90's and touring with them on the US Ozzfest in 2000 I thought I knew EVERYTHING there was to know about the band!
How wrong I was!
This book is an extraordinary insight into the band that every Pantera fan should read.
Brutally honest, insightful and a real page turner at its best!
Highly recommended.
Thank you Rex for at last putting to paper what we all wanted to know!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 15 May 2013
By 
Alan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Truth, 101 Proof: The Inside Story of Pantera (Kindle Edition)
Great insight to one of the worlds biggest bands.It wasn't the biggest book I have read but it is good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn`t put it down, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must have book for any Pantera fan . Rex was known as the quiet one in Pantera but this book shows how involved he actually was , he was not "just a Bass player" in that band . This book is not here to "Drag the waters" of ill feeling but it is here to set the record straight , and it does that nicely . It is a nice addition to any persons book collection especially if you are a Metal Head . Books like this made me realise I was part of a movement that was like a tidal wave , and Pantera were at the head of this wave . Read this book and fill in the blanks that you about this man and the band .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is long over due and it did not disappoint in any way! I have been a huge Pantera fan for years and have always wondered about Rex' relationship with the rest of the band given he is the one who looks like he would lift out the most easily, being the quieter behind the scenes sort of dude that he is. This book answers so many questions that, for me, have been lost in translation through rock n roll media propaganda! I laughed, I cried and it's got me listening to Pantera 24/7 all over again - also got me into Rex' new band who are amazing - read it in two days.

If you are a Pantera fan you need this book in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Official Truth, 101 Proof: The Inside Story of Pantera (Kindle Edition)
I'm a fan of Pantera's music and although I've read a few magazine articles about the band this is the first full insight into the band members and music I have read. Well worth a read if you're a Pantera or metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews