Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yesterday's papers
A first class, fly on the wall documentary of the early- un -reconstruted Stones tour of Ireland. This period snippet allows the viewer a insight into the dynamics of the band and the early Jagger/Richards partnership. It highlights how Andrew Loog Oldham marketed the band as outlaws and rebels. All the band members are erudite in their comments and able to recognise the...
Published on 16 Dec 2012 by barcress

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Oldham's Pension Plan?
I appreciate this is great stuff for the Stones enthusiast/completist, but you have to question whether this is a fair price for the supporting material to a 65 minute documentary. I note that Andrew Oldham is the producer, and he figures in the documentary to a greater extent than most fans would wish to see. I can't help but feel that this is an attempt to squeeze...
Published on 12 Dec 2012 by Richard Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yesterday's papers, 16 Dec 2012
This review is from: Charlie Is My Darling [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A first class, fly on the wall documentary of the early- un -reconstruted Stones tour of Ireland. This period snippet allows the viewer a insight into the dynamics of the band and the early Jagger/Richards partnership. It highlights how Andrew Loog Oldham marketed the band as outlaws and rebels. All the band members are erudite in their comments and able to recognise the transcient nature of popular culture. Charlie remains detached throughout and both he and Jones share a dislike of the showbiz elements of being in a pop band , screamed at by teenage girls, so much so that the music is drowned out.
You also get to see the real Mick Jagger, very aware of the position he holds and the changing times he represents.

This is a must if you are after a cultural representations of 1960s culture and the emergence of a cultural challenge to the establishment of the day.
Apart from Gimme Shelter this is the only other true significant reflection of the true nature of the band. A must for any one interested in the band and the cultural shifts which changed society back in 1965.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Fading Away, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Richard Allen (Wellington, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlie Is My Darling [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The best thing about the Stones' recent anniversary is the release of so much material from their past. This film of their '65 tour of Ireland put me in mind of Pennebaker's Dylan film of the same period, Don't Look Back. Whilst nowhere near such an important document, this is nevertheless an interesting record of the Stones at their early peak. We follow them around Ireland, chatting between gigs and performing on stage. All the concert material is simply shot and cut with scenes of their fans. The standout track is a blistering Satisfaction. Much of the intervening material is of the guys fooling around, and not hugely revealing. There is, however, a fascinating insight into Jagger and Richards' songwriting technique. Jagger himself is remarkably insightful for a young man. All the others have their own comments on their recent fame. The material of Brian Jones, seemingly happy and well, is particuarly touching, bearing in mind the decline and death that is only a few years away.

Some of the best of this material is to be found in their recent Corssfire Hurricane documentary. Whilst this isn't such an important and thorough document of the band, there's much here for the fan to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bunch of darlings (not!), 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie Is My Darling [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Having been a Stones fan from the day their first album was released, when their look and style hooked me just as much as the music, this film is, to me, far better than the more recent 'Crossfire Hurricane'. This perhaps is due to the fact that it illustrates what I see as their most exciting period. Exciting for them and exciting for the fans who saw them as everything was new. New music, new fashions and a new youth culture that was bringing noise and colour to a very grey country.

This film gives you a taste of what it was like to be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent view of a point in time for both the development of the Stones and their impact on the social development mid 60's, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyable documentary that reveals the early development of the worlds greatest Rock and Roll Band against the backdrop of Ireland in the early 60s. For any Stones fan this is a must. An interesting point is that all the Band members give interviews except Keith, however he does play some pretty good guitar showing the evolution of some early Stones numbers in the Hotel room scenes - also there are some some very interesting undercurrents revealing who really wants to lead the Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Is My Darling Blu Ray, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb film and gives a great insight into the Rolling Stones during their early years just at the point they became hugely successful. Also to note is how dapper each member looks - typically sharp dressed men of the age. Makes you realise how scruffy people in the UK are these days when you compare to the 60s. Anyway, back to the film: Great shots of the Stones live in concert including full performances during their tour of Ireland in 1965 and some great location shots too coupled with plenty of interviews with the group members. Great film for fans of the Stones and for anyone interested in the pre-Psychedelic 60s era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Great Look At The Rolling Stones!, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This complete and thorough box set of the 'Stones' 1965 Ireland Tour is really exciting. The film (a little over an hour) is meticulously restored (there is an 'Extras' showing the difference by clips) and is tough to believe it is in such good shape. The content is a real slice of time, as the Stones were playing in smaller venues with little security, traveling by train, running from crazed fans, joking with each other - it's an intimate look at a very young group. It was shot right after, "(I Can t Get No) Satisfaction" went to #1. The vocals, guitar riffs; everything sounds perfect just as if today. It's amazing to remember that Mick Jagger was only 22-years old at the time. This is the first film of the Rolling Stones on a tour and it portrays a spark of the genius yet to come.

Included is the sturdy box set is are DVD and Blu-ray discs of the new 2012 version, the directors and producers cut, unseen footage, extras such as, interviews with each band member and two audio CD's. One is the film soundtrack and the other is a compilation of thirteen (13) live songs made from that 1965 tour. It is an excellent sounding live recording and placed on a period-like piece 10" vinyl disc (as well as on CD). If that isn't enough, there is an original replica poster for the concert on that September 4, 1965 date.

Also included is a slick 42 page Collector's Edition hardcover book with 14 never before seen, restored exclusive photographs. Color photos are included as well from Marc Sharatt, the Stones tour photographer. Great reprints of vintage newspaper and magazine articles from the Irish and UK press give accounts of the dates and attendant mayhem. Nothing is left untouched. This is a Rolling Stones Collector's item!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Is My Darling Super Deluxe, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolute must have for any Stones fan and for once a Stones "deluxe box set" that is actually worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DOCUMENTRY, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie Is My Darling [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
LOVED SEEING ALL THE OLD FOOTAGE THAT I NEVER SAW --AS A TEEN ALL I LEARNED CAME FROM OLD NEWSPAPERS

GREAT ADDITION TO MY STONES COLLECTION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why so late, 9 July 2013
By 
F.H (Brussels , Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie Is My Darling [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A very good documentary about the stones in the early days,fascinating to find how good musicians they were.Pity they dind't release it years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its the bedst dvd from that time, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really love the album and it is very funny to look back at time with the Stones in the sixties, whwn you are groing up with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charlie Is My Darling [DVD] [2012]
Charlie Is My Darling [DVD] [2012] by The Rolling Stones (DVD - 2012)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews