Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tie it - you'll like it!
The book is a great way to introduce you and/or partner into the rope bondage scene, It is very clearly laid out, with easy to follow step-by-step instructions on how to tie, and just as important, how to release the knots. The book is divided into several sections, firstly giving some useful hints and tips on the different types of rope out there and the pros and cons of...
Published on 23 Mar 2008 by rackle

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death to Jay Wiseman
The bondage in this book is very American-style. Plenty of, "let's try to make this look more interesting by putting in double coin knots everywhere."

The explanations and the pictures are easy to understand. I learned a few things here like the dragonfly sleeve, but most of the info you can find online.

Given the choice between this and Midori's...
Published on 9 July 2007 by KorganRivera


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tie it - you'll like it!, 23 Mar 2008
By 
rackle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is a great way to introduce you and/or partner into the rope bondage scene, It is very clearly laid out, with easy to follow step-by-step instructions on how to tie, and just as important, how to release the knots. The book is divided into several sections, firstly giving some useful hints and tips on the different types of rope out there and the pros and cons of each; this is followed by a guide to doing the do's and don'ts within rope bondage, including safety (very important); the basic knots are then covered; and finally sections on different applications of the specialist knots/positions e.g. dominance bondage or sexual use of knots & positions.

The book is written with a cheeky and fun sense of humour, and is not at all cliquey in its approach to rope bondage. It does mention that the styles shown in the book are not purely from the art of shibari (Japanese rope bondage): there are some western influences too.

It even has a recommended further reading list, should you wish to delve a little deeper into the scene, or learn more about the particulars.

And should you ever have chance to contact the Two Knotty Boys in real life or via myspace, you'll find that they really are down-to-earth friendly guys that are only too happy to help with queries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - A Must have!, 14 April 2007
By 
L. Ball - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have never looked into this and want a positive, informative, fun book to get you started then this is it! It is clean, easy to follow and starts right at the top, with rope, kinds of rope, uses for, and tips on safty, health and so on to make it very informative.

The pictures are clear, colourfull and taken so that you see each and every stage of each tie, without going from one point to another and wondering how you got there!

if your starting out, or even a seasoned player, this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bondage made simple, 17 April 2009
I recently bought 'The Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage' in the hope of learning some basic techniques but was terribly disappointed. The diagrams are unclear and there are only a handful of techniques in quite a large book. I bought 'The Knotty Boys' in the hope that it would be a better introduction and I have to say I was VERY pleased. Clear, well paced instructions and a wide variety of knots from the very basic to the complex and aesthetically impressive. I couldn't recommend this book enough and will soon be purchasing the second volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear, clever and foolproof..., 4 Mar 2009
By 
Katy (LEICESTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For any beginner interested in the artistry as well as the practicality of rope bondage, this book delivers exactly what it promises. Sacrificing sensuality for clarity and safety it really does illustrate a good number of techniques in easy to follow step-by-step guides. It provides you with great ideas for improvisation and it inspires confidence with great detail in both tying and releasing the knots and covering safety issues.
Written with humour and backed by great expertise. I think this is a superb book for novices and my only gripe is that it's costing me a fortune in rope to try out all the fabulous ideas! Rope bondage is an art, a very beautiful, sensual and rewarding one at that and is quite addictive. Buy this book, experiment and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real bondage how to, 12 April 2007
By 
Jens Manor Holm "bastilasen" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Always looking for new inspiration into BDSM play, I often looks at books, nd buy too many of them. Buying large books with few techniques seems to bemy way. two Knotty boys differs a lot. They deliver exciting new technique for the advanced player, step by step for the newcomer and everybody just love their inspiration, a great tnx for an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting all tied up, for fun...., 18 Sep 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Knotty Boys Showing You the Ropes: A Step-by-step, Illustrated Guide to Tying Sensual and Decorative Rope Bondage (Kindle Edition)
An easy to follow book with lots of diagrams showing many different styles of knots
and braiding which will come in handy for securing your product, subject or client as needed.
I purchased this book for kindle as a Portrait Client asked me if I knew about this type of
Japanese knotting and would I be willing to do a shoot in this fashion.

Well, I didn't know how, but I'm always willing to learn and do what I can to fulfil a clients needs.
So, I purchased it and read it in an afternoon and had practice all the knots within a week.
I'm just waiting for my client to make her appointment, for her requested shoot.

The main thing though, is that it explains things very easily, shows photographic images to
help people understand, and it also covers types of ropes, what they are best used for
and it also covers safety factors you need to know about each knot and rope type.

All I can say, is have fun with it, but please be mindful you can hurt the person being tied up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Aug 2009
By 
Pedro Polónio (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike some bondage manuals that provide only bland and boring (and often unclear) instructions, this one provides detailed instructions on how to tie each knot and each rig, with pictures that illustrate the less easy to describe by text alone steps, along with witty remarks and suggestions. It also provides basic ideas upon which variation, expansion and improvisation should prove easy and intuitive. However, this doesn't seem to cover much regarding safety. Also, it could be vastly improved if only the pictures (which, although erotic and provocative, are tasteful and not explicit at all) were in color. Nevertheless, a great book, especially for beginners, but best paired with either Chanta Rose's "Bondage for Sex" or Jay Wiseman's "SM 101" (or both!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all!, 11 Jan 2009
A Kid's Review
An excellent book from the Two Knotty Boys. I bought this as an introduction to decorative bondage and I wasn't disappointed. The techniques are well explained and superbly illustrated. The enthusiasm shown is this book is testament to a pair of men who are determined to take BDSM away from all its stigmas and show that it can be a really fun lifestyle choice for anyone with the inclination to pursue this chosen path, top marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death to Jay Wiseman, 9 July 2007
The bondage in this book is very American-style. Plenty of, "let's try to make this look more interesting by putting in double coin knots everywhere."

The explanations and the pictures are easy to understand. I learned a few things here like the dragonfly sleeve, but most of the info you can find online.

Given the choice between this and Midori's book, I'd choose Midori's. Midori's content is far more useful. She teaches principles that can be applied and adapted in every situation.

However, given the choice between Two Knotty Boys and anything by Jay Wiseman, I'd buy every copy of anything by Jay Wiseman and burn it! Then I'd buy this one.

I don't know why people rave about Jay Wiseman. His books are awful. Seriously - if you're choosing between this and anything by Jay Wiseman, then definitely choose Two Knotty Boys Showing You the Ropes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !!!, 29 Dec 2007
This is the one to go for. A very easy to read and informative book, the step by step descriptions and photos make it a breeze to follow and the designs are truely stunning! Perfect as a companion to other more wordy books on the subject, and, after reading this book is just a few steps and your imagination away from creating unique designs of your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews