Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What made the crocodile cry?By Susie Dent, 11 Nov 2009
By 
This is yet another 'gem' of a book from the quite prolific Author - Susie Dent(TV's channel 4 Dictionary Corner Wizard of Cowntdown).As well as being extremely funny in parts,it directly points out the questions - as well as answering them - that many of us would like to know more about,e.g.origins of sayings/words etc;but were really rather afraid to ask in the first place!This is an excellent read,well thought out,and presented.When I first purchased it,I found I couldn't put it down until I had completely read it from start to finish.A wonderful reference book,the reader will(I have no doubt)keep on picking it up to refresh on certain points of interest.A must for party's also - so keep it tucked away,and surprise and amaze your friends with the same very things that they'd wished they'd asked,but didn't get around to doing so!5+plus.
It has been an absolute pleasure to very quickly review this wonderful piece of art!
Other books I'd like to thoroughly recommend,written(partly,tongue in cheek)by Susie are:
'WORDS OF THE YEAR':'FANBOYS AND OVERDOGS':'THE LANGUAGE REPORT':
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Made The Crocodile Cry, 30 Dec 2009
A great book bought as a Christmas present. Gave answers to everyday sayings etc which one uses and never thinks about the origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pick it up then try to put it down!, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Made The Crocodile Cry?: 101 questions about the English language (Kindle Edition)
The reviews say its the sort of book you can dip into from time to time. I disagree, once picked up I couldn't put it down until I had finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars subject book, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received in good condition. It was purchased as gift for my wife who is very pleased with it. well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 20 May 2014
By 
R. Broom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a watcher of countdownI felt I had to get Suzie Dents book she is such a great scholar.OK Yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Made The Crocodile Cry by Susie Dent, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book (as are all Susie Dents') - fascinating info about origins of words - handy to impress people in gatherings. Read it in one sitting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reading, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book - loads of unknown (to me) information about origins of words and phrases!

A great book to have at your bedside!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating reading, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Made The Crocodile Cry?: 101 questions about the English language (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed reading this bookI was so fascinated by the explanation of some of the words and sayings that are used by people .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What made the Crocodile cry, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Made The Crocodile Cry?: 101 questions about the English language (Kindle Edition)
Good for Suzie Dent, but the type of book that I like to dip in and out of , so about halfway through, loving it so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What mad the crocodile cry?, 20 May 2013
By 
L. A. Evers (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really interesting snippets regarding various English words and phrases. Really good for dipping in and out of. Written by Susie Dent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews