Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold, brassy and brave
I must confess at the outset that I am a fan of this band and so I was eagerly awaiting this new release. On first hearing it I thought it was not as immediate as their other albums. However, after a couple of days listening I am not disappointed. It is a rich, heady concoction. Some of the songs grab you immediately - eg 'Roll the Woodpile' Down' and '10,000 Miles'. Also...
Published on 17 Oct 2012 by P. C. Jowett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Object lesson - see them live!
Brilliant band. Saw them live at Cheltenham and absolutely loved the gig - the CD is a much less satisfying experience.
Published 10 months ago by Art Mumma


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
It's ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
Very talented but prefer folk groups with more than one vocalist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
Didn't like it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a gift, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
brought this for a friend hope they like it as they are going to see them soon hope they have not got this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped with weedy vocals, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Terrahurtz (Kidlington, Oxon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
This band are always being rammed down our throats on radio 2, notably by Simon Mayo but also by Chris Evans. No doubt they're good live, but listening to studio recordings (and even live on R2) the massive elephant in the room is that John Boden can't sing. His voice is really weedy and he struggles to be heard on occasions and - when he is heard - to carry a tune on others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed., 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
I waited until seeing Bellowhead live once more (last night at Bristol) before listening to this new CD. Although the gig was a belter the new songs didn't really grab me, but I thought I'd listen to the studio versions before making a judgement. Well, I have, and I'm not impressed. Somehow they have lost the songs that they put on this album, drowning them in a welter of horns and unneccessary arrangements. 'Byker Hill' and 'Thousands or More', for example, bear no relation to anything, least of all a coherent song. What makes Bellowhead so great is how they have added their style to traditional songs and produced a unique sound. Here, it seems that they have decided on the CD sound and style beforehand, then trawled around for some traditional lyrics to drop haphazardly on top of it.
Also, worringly, Jon Boden's vocal style is stretched to perform some of these frenzied arrangements, which coupled with the fact that he hardly lifted his fiddle last night makes me wonder if they are drifting away from their great strentghs.
So I can't recommend that anyone buys this album, but go and see them perform live and make your own mind up. I do have hope though - only every other Star Trek film was any good, and Bellowhead albums appear to be the same: 'Burlesque' brilliant, 'Matachin' woeful, 'Hedonism' wonderful and 'Broadside' pretty dire. The next one should be a cracker - looking forward to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on previous recordings, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because I liked their 2 previous offerings, but never having seen them in a live performance, I cannot claim to be a hard-core fan.

All I can say is that this is a terrible let-down. The music drowns the words, the singing can be off-key and even strained and some familiar songs are reduced to a dirge. After several plays, I can't remember a single memorable tune.

Unless you are a real fan, I would avoid this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this was a gift, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadside (Audio CD)
this was a gift but the cd turned up on time and was packed well so no damage to product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broadside
Broadside by Bellowhead
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews