Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read
This is a light-hearted and entertaining account of the author's personal experiences, written in a relaxed and, at times, self-deprecating style. The writer's love of Spain, its people and culture are obvious and infectious and made me want to book my next holiday immediately. It's also opened up new areas of Spain for me to explore away from some of the more typical...
Published 23 months ago by S. Parsons

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggled to finish
There's no real story, its all about him and his eating and drinking escapades I ended up skipping pages and struggled to finish the book.
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. P. Mcmanus


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
This is a light-hearted and entertaining account of the author's personal experiences, written in a relaxed and, at times, self-deprecating style. The writer's love of Spain, its people and culture are obvious and infectious and made me want to book my next holiday immediately. It's also opened up new areas of Spain for me to explore away from some of the more typical tourist haunts. I thoroughly recommend this to fellow hispanophiles and adventurers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining read, thoroughly enjoyable!, 8 Jan 2013
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
Tapas and Tinto is a highly entertaining read something between memoirs, a travel guide and a recipe book. It recounts the adventures of a trainee sales manager who opts out of the retail life in Blackpool for the call of sun and adventure in the Mediterranean. His talent for boxing, love of good food and passion for the Iberian culture save him from falling into the stereotypical ex pat lifestyle and instead lead him down a raucous path of colourful characters and events reminiscent of the great Mr. Hemingway. What makes it particularly interesting is the era it depicts; an era on the cusp of technological and economic transformations that now render this kind of haphazard travelling obsolete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Lyn spence (Fleetwood england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit I'm not a great reader but I feel I have the bug after reading Tapas and Tinto.
I really enjoyed reading about the real Spain and it has made me realise how much of Spain I have still to discover.
Will certainly look out for more of Petes books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tapas and Tinto by Pete Wolstencroft, 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
An absolute riveting read. The authors experience of Spain comes out in the book with often extremely humourous results. Couldn't put this book down and will look for more from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tapas and Tinto, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
This is a must read the areas this guy goes to I have travelled and it took me back to many pleasant memoriesof fun in the Sun and the laid back nature and proud passionate nature of the Spanish people that I have met and still do, Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tapas and Tinto, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. Pete Wolstencroft scoops up the reader and plonks them unceremoniously into the good, the bad, the ugly (and the tasty) parts of unspoilt Spain. It is a boost of sunshine and flavour. My only criticism is that I wanted more juicy details of his adventures at times, especially regarding various arguments! If you aren't booking your flight to Malaga by the end of this book, I'll eat my sombrero. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggled to finish, 9 April 2013
By 
Mrs. P. Mcmanus (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
There's no real story, its all about him and his eating and drinking escapades I ended up skipping pages and struggled to finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good insight into Spain, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
A good insight into Spain and the Spanish way of life. Well written, keeping the reader interested. Very true to life rather than staged. A writer who enhanced his career later in life, and has proved that it can be done. Well done, would certainly read another by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every inch, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
I loved every encounter from wine to tapas to wildlife. You get a real great insight into the character and his encounters. Written with honesty and humour highly recommend what a great book from a great 'writer'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent & different take on the usual Brit moving abroad, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tapas and Tinto: Spain from the mid 1980's to 2007 as seen through the eyes of an Englishman (Kindle Edition)
Took a little getting into but a really enjoyable read. Interesting and refreshing to read about someone who actually bothers to learn the language and he clearly loves the people and the country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews