Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed seeing the book come to life
When I read this book I thought it would make a great film and I really enjoyed seeing it come to life on the big screen. Love the way they presented the underground world, particularly the wheat field. Some of the scenes were not entirely true to the book and it could have benefited from more sensitive treatment from the director (the way Wanda's relationship with the...
Published 15 months ago by Minnie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow paced Sci-Fi romance
Earth has been taken over by an alien species of sentient parasites that take over the body of humans, essentially shutting the person inside they're own body & the parasite being able to access the memories of the host body. These inhabited bodies exhibit odd glowing eyes, lack of emotion & aggressiveness. Following one of a few survivors, Melanie Stryder (Ronan), she is...
Published 15 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed seeing the book come to life, 27 July 2013
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
When I read this book I thought it would make a great film and I really enjoyed seeing it come to life on the big screen. Love the way they presented the underground world, particularly the wheat field. Some of the scenes were not entirely true to the book and it could have benefited from more sensitive treatment from the director (the way Wanda's relationship with the two male leads develops and in particular the very last scene of the film), but on the whole enjoyable and escapist sci fi. The casting was very good as the characters did look pretty much how I imagined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow paced Sci-Fi romance, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
Earth has been taken over by an alien species of sentient parasites that take over the body of humans, essentially shutting the person inside they're own body & the parasite being able to access the memories of the host body. These inhabited bodies exhibit odd glowing eyes, lack of emotion & aggressiveness. Following one of a few survivors, Melanie Stryder (Ronan), she is captured & implanted with a parasite or soul, and interrogated by a Seeker to find the whereabouts of other humans. But she isn't going to go quietly & fights back from within, making a connection with the soul inside her, Wanda. Rebelling, they set off to find Melanie's family. Can they convince them Melanie is still alive ? & can they avoid capture ?!

Overall, The Host isn't a Sci-Fi action movie or anything, it's a slow paced Sci-Fi romantic drama. Which i guess should had been expected, coming from a novel by Twilight author Stephenie Meyer. The story itself is very good & heartfelt as we follow the experiences of Wanda & Melanie, but getting there over it's 2 hours was quite a task with such a slow, drawn out mundane pace & an abundance of dialogue which isn't always that riveting, while the odd bit of tension & excitement was too far apart. Surprising then when you consider the talent of Andrew Niccol, who has brought us some good fantasy/Sci-Fi films such as The Truman Show, In Time & Gatacca, was behind the camera & helped with the transition to film here.

Saoirse Ronan (Hanna) was very good as the lead, playing the part of Melanie & Wanda, coming across on screen really well when combining her fluidity of physical control as well as voice over as her thoughts when she becomes Wanda. The supporting cast was good, albeit not used to fruition. Of note, Diane Kruger (National Treasure) as the under pressure Seeker, William Hurt (Broadcast News) as Melanie's uncle, now leader of the rebels & impressive youngster Chandler Canterbury (Knowing) as Melanie's little brother. While love interests Max Irons (The White Queen) & Jake Abel (Percy Jackson) were on hand for plenty of smooching.

In conclusion, The Host has a good romantic Sci-Fi story in here, but it's so drawn out that it's hard to enjoy. It will certainly suit a select target audience who can happily overlook these flaws. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THE 'EYES' HAVE IT', 29 Aug 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Mankind are under threat from an unseen enemy who are taking-over the
very being of their human Hosts.
one victim who who has reluctantly succumbed the to switch, Host-'Melanie
Stryder' fights to keep the memories the 'Seekers' normally take
from their human-form.
'Melanie' wants to protect those who had mattered to her from becoming
one of the unwelcome visitors.
'Melanie' escapes however the 'seekers' will not give up the search for
her any time soon.
a terrific concept asking the age-old question......What If ?
certainly not a fast moving plot, however the story-line is certainly
worth a viewing.
( the author of the 'Host' and 'Twilight' 'Stephenie Meyer' has created
some interesting story-lines.....'Twilight' was watered down to capture
a wider audience base, i'm guessing not having read the book 'The Host'
has almost certainly been subjected a similar fate ? )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want to read the book, 13 April 2013
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
The Host is set in the future where the world is no longer our own. Human bodies are overtaken by parasitic aliens against their will. Not all humans have been overtaken though and some run for their lives, determined to keep control of their own bodies and minds. I absolutely loved the idea behind this film. Very early on, we are introduced to the alien species of `Souls' in human form. Although a species believing in calm and trust, they go to great lengths to find any remaining humans and do anything possible to capture the bodies. The thing that distinguishes the `Souls' from humans is their metallic silver looking eyes, which was both beautiful and creepy at the same time.

Playing protagonist Melanie/ Wanderer is Saoirse Ronan, an unknown actress to me. I thoroughly enjoyed Ronan's performance throughout this film and I thought she did a wonderful job considering it being quite a tricky role to play. Throughout the film, Wanderer has to deal with Melanie's voice in her head, which obviously wouldn't have really been there. Never did it look like Ronan was thinking too much about who or what she was replying to and it all looked as natural as it should have. Ronan also plays both characters with conviction and she was very believable as each. What I really enjoyed about her performance was that she was able to make both characters very different.

The plot isn't really all that exciting apart from a couple of moments so secondary characters are what help to make this film good. Other `Souls' such as the Seeker played by Diane Kruger give the plot a good chase, with her trying to track down Wanderer and more humans. The Seeker was an interesting character because you can tell something is not quite right with her. She isn't the same as the other `Souls' and has a lot more fire inside of her. While others say to let Wanderer be, she cannot let it go and goes to great lengths to find her again.

Then there are the love interests. Melanie has a boyfriend called Jared but Wanderer becomes attracted to another boy, Ian. While I think love triangles are somewhat overdone now, I loved this one although I'm not sure it is technically a triangle. Melanie gets mad at Wanderer for liking someone else other than her own boyfriend but Wanderer wants to treat the body as her own while respecting Melanie's wishes at the same time. Explaining it is a little confusing but not when you are watching the film. The romance aspect of this film was completely new, unique and different and definitely better than other romance stories out there at the minute.

Overall, I really enjoyed The Host as it was different from everything else out there at the minute. It also made me want to pick up the copy of the book that I have had sitting on the shelf for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very displeased, 14 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
To put it short, simple and to the point Meyer's novel "The Host" was, and was always meant to be a book. Not a film.

As many of you shall be aware, "The Host" is written in the first person narrative (using first person pronouns 'I' and 'we') were the readers / audience have a dual perspective from both Melanie and Wanda. Thus, a fair chunk of the book is composed in italic font which is Wanda's supposed 'voice' inside Melanie's mind as both people happen to be sharing the same body.
Subsequently, when watching the film when the face of Melanie is looking in the mirror having a running conversation in her head it is one thing, fake. Well in fact I'm telling porkies, its two things: fake, and boring...

Another thing that is quite irritating is that the acting itself feels staged and like they are acting. Some of you at this point may say, "well duh, this is a movie... it isn't real..." and I understand that, my problem is that when watching this movie I want to at least feel like it is real. And when I did watch this at the cinema I kept rolling my eyes, tutting and thinking to myself 'just because twilight was a hit (with girls apparently - what a joke) why on earth does that mean that everything Meyer writes must be converted to film?

Don't even get me started on the acting ability either. I cannot pinpoint if whether it is the actors themselves delivering the lines, or if it was the director, but nonetheless, it is God awful. The timing of actions and the sync of speech seems all wrong, scripted almost, and yet again, fake. The only brilliant actor was young Chandler Canterbury, who plays Jamie, Melanie's younger brother. He was pure excellence, brought a tear to my eye actually.

Anyway moving on, the story line (plot) is also different in the movie. And yet again, I did not like it.
SPOILER ALERT: Go away right now if you don't want to be spoiled. ************* Right, at the end of the book, the gang decide to put Wanda's spirit into another host (a girl) because they didn't want to lose her. However, in the movie, the group shoves Wanda in a body not because they are attached to her, but because, this new body is of trapped in a coma and consequently the body will only go to waste if they don't occupy the vessel with another soul. To me, this adaption felt both awkward, unplanned and completely cold - because, for me, it implies that they didn't care for Wanda'a welfare. So, the only reason they revived her is because they could, not because they had the initial desire to. That is cruel in my eyes.

Good points:
The movie, especially the graphics, are very beautiful.
The music choices are original and successfully intensify the drama.
The fight scenes, as well as the car assault sequence, was very well crafted.
All the characters look and suit the characteristics of their given personas in the book.

Overall, the film is pretty average and nothing colossal or special. Would I watch it again? Maybe in a decade's time when I'm old and have cats.
But, as I've said, I don't think this material should of been adapted to the big screens because in honesty, it simply does not work.

I'd save your money if I were you. Wait 5 years for it to premiere on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The host is a brilliant book, even tho i am a huge twilite ..., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
The host is a brilliant book, even tho i am a huge twilite fan i have to say this is better.

they have to change and leve things out wrn turning a book into a film, sometimes the film is just as good as the book sometimes not.

The film in this case is just as good as the book, not much was changed and only a few details changed.

BRILLIANT FILM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Host, 27 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Host [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I read the book and I was very impressed I was excited to watch the movie and I was so pleased when the movie lived up to the book Stephanie Meyer has done it again she is amazing, I can't wait for her next book as every book and movie has been a work of a miracle worker. Love this author she's exciting and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love, love, love it!!!!!!, 5 July 2013
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend this to adults and tenagers it is simply amazing i have read the book and love it some things they miss out or slightly change but some they keep the same it is an absolutely brilliant film i couldnt recommend it more alsoread the book as well i watched the film before i read the book but it was still amazing melanie stryder thinks she is the only one along with her brother Jamie alive as the souls have taken over then they find Jared Howe they fall in love and then the seekers come melanie tries to lead them away and jumps out a high window as there is no escape so she can die andthey cant put a soul inside her however although causing serious damage toher body she just aboutlives they heal her and put a soul called wanderer inside her however melanie resists she fights back talks to wanderer inside her head and shows her memories of Jared she forces wanderer to find Jared and Jamie on the brink of death her uncle jeb finds her and takes her inside the humans hate her espe iallyjared as they had taken melanie watch how they prove to jared that melanie is still alive inside and he growsto believe and how another romance blossoms and friendships areformed watch melanie and wanda as uncle jeb nicknamss her become like sisters it is a great and a great film i hope you thoroughly enjoy it as much as I did i only wish it would never end and have more of jared and melanies romance scenes absolutely amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to the Book, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit, I'm a grown up reader who likes Stephenie Meyer's stuff. I thought the film was faithful to the book and well cast. Although I have to admit, my husband thinks he was shortchanged as I promised he was sitting down to watch an alien invasion film - well I didn't lie, but maybe I got more out of it because I'd already read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the host, 17 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Host [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant film me and hubby have watched it couple of times its a film i will not get bored of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Host [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Host [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Andrew Niccol (Blu-ray - 2013)
£22.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews