Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a comic made movie.
Tipical movie with chinese people (and Russell Crowe) fighting with impossible movements and impossible weapons. It's like Dragon Ball comic with real actors. I'd like it.
Published 5 months ago by PereJota

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Action!
As action flicks go, very enjoyable, great action. Exactly what you might expect. No surprises here. Or are there? Mmmmm.....
Published 9 months ago by Hensen


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP MARTIAL ARTS ENTERTAINMENT..", 4 Feb 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great movie, very entertaining from the stylish and bloody open sequence to the bloody finale, great story jam packed with classic martial arts scenes and styles from different types of movies from over the years, the cast was great, RZA does an awesome job at directing and starring as the man with the iron fists, Russell Crow was a big surprise he is very good, Lucy Liu is great to watch as always, and the rest of the cast was great too, its jam packed with gory fights and death scenes and the cool brass body assassin, this movie is very original and so much fun, if you love films like kill bill and wild over the top martial arts movies this is a must see, great soundtrack too and great features and good picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 24 Jan 2013
By 
it seems to me that the actors in this movie had a bit of time on there hands, i honestly believe that this kind of film has had its day. it was embarrasing to watch, it,s all been done before and if it,s a homage..its a bad one. if you want to see it done properly watch a donnie yen film..and also tarantino should stop putting his name to these films and go for something origanal instead of copying whats been done before..gave it 2 stars because i don,t hate movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Man with bad film make DVD, 6 Mar 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Man With The Iron Fists (DVD)
Turned it off. Bad acting, bad accents. Chinese people speaking in Chinese then English with each other. Fight sequences that were an insult to the genre. What was Russell Crowe thinking. I actually fell asleep. It wasn't worth the effort. Put this akin to the Power Rangers (at least thats more colourful!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 25 Feb 2014
What went wrong? Ok so RZA can't act or direct but an all out kung fu flick is hardly Citizen Kane. This movie is confused, mishandled and ultimately pointless. Sad, because it had promise, but utterly failed to deliver. Don't waste your money people, this is a low point in the "Tarantino presents" range even worse than the Dusk til Dawn sequals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I feel like someone raped my brain, 25 Jan 2013
The storytelling and acting are so bad that I cried a little. I wish some Americans would make a petition to get this movie deported and buried somewhere in North-Korea. Everyone connected to the making of this movie should be punished by entering Paris - Dakar ... on foot... while carrying a donkey.

It's not cool. It's not a guilty pleasure. It's a donkey with Parkinson's and ADD (I apologize to people affected by ADD and/or Parkinson's. You ROCK!).

I'm sorry I didn't have anything to say about the movie. It's that bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a great film, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Having just seen this film, I just have to say how much I enjoyed it. I cannot wait for the release date to come round. A joint venture between America, and China. Bringing the best of both movie styles together. I do not want to spoil it for those who have not seen it yet, but if you liked "Kill Bill" Vol 1, then you will really love this. It has the same feel, but with a eastern flavour. If I had one complaint, it would be Russell Crow's English accent, which sounds like an Australian,trying to speak like an American, who intern is putting on a British accent. In other words it does not work. I will say without giving away the plot, I feel the way they left the ending means there is more of these to come. I only hope the next one is as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Every cliche about kung-fu films rolled into one., 27 Jan 2013
I watch a lot of b-movies cause I enjoy them, but this is by far the worst b-movie I have ever seen, there is literally no enjoyment watching this garbage. Set in china, all the characters speak perfect English with an American accent. The main enemy looks like a woman from the 80s with a bad wig, the fight scenes are horrible with people being clearly suspended with rope. It is like the movie was created by a 10 year old. The writer has taken every common thing and cliche from past kung-fu movies: bad guy kills his leader to become leader, bad guy kills people, underdog rises to kill bad guy, prostitute turned assassin. Everything in this movie was bad, there was not one part in the movie where I said "oh thats alright", it was all horrible. Rza clearly failed to make a proper kung-fu action film as the pacing was uneven, the one liners were hilariously bad and just lame and the acting was awful. Oh and Russel Crow clearly was in this to collect his paycheck. Just terrible! And the idea of a blacksmith that has a Voice Over like Shaft with the rap music does not work at all.... maybe it could have been possible if Tarantino or a solid director with a better script and dialogue.. but this was low quality and poor judgement. Avoid this and watch The Raid instead, trust me you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Man with the Iron Fists, 8 July 2013
Really enjoyable - silly, stupid but great fun. Russell Crowe is superbly over the top and steals the show. Only downside was RZA in the main role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars weird, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a slightly odd offering but if you don't mind things a little unusual then give it a punt. plenty of blood and lots of over the top action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Criminally slated, 11 Jun 2013
Amazingly, this has been criminally slated by a considerable number of both mainstream critics and members of the public and deserves better. So what's the problem? Apparently everyone was expecting RZA of Wu-Tang Clan to make some sort of 'Crouching Tiger, House Of Flying Heroes' wuxia epic complete with Zhang Yimou's sense of cinematography and Ang Lee's sense of narrative. Why anyone would expect RZA - a man notorious for sampling low budget Shaw Bros. kung fu flicks for his Wu-Tang productions - to make such a film is beyond me. The fact nevertheless remains that he hasn't made a wuxia epic as these people seem to have expected and they've made damn sure he's been punished for it by criticising the film for poor direction, terrible acting and a plot that is anything from opaque to non-existent. Oh yeah - and apparently it's a bit violent too. Let's put that to bed now and consider what 'The Man With Iron Fists' actually is...

...And what it actually is, is a pastiche of the sort of low budget, Shaw Bros. kung fu flicks that RZA is enamoured of. You know - like Shaolin Vs. Lama, Incredible Shaolin Thunderkick, Five Deadly Venoms and Clan Of The White Lotus. The sort of thing also pastiched by Tarantino in the Pai Mei scenes in Kill Bill 2. And last time I checked, Tarantino wasn't being held up for the godawful camerawork and cheap dialogue in those sections of his movie because, in his case, people were expecting pastiche. In actual fact this has a plot which hangs together at least as well as most Shaw Bros. plots. And yes, the fighting IS violent and if you were expecting otherwise of a kung fu flick you deserve everything you get from watching it. Acting-wise we might not be talking Daniel day Lewis but the standard is not only considerably better than most Shaw Bros. flicks, it's also several steps above the cack-handedness of your typical Segal/ Statham/ Li C-movie. It's also quite clear that Lucy Liu and Russell Crowe are well aware that they are taking part in a deliberate pastiche of a B movie and ham it up accordingly. In a good way. Now you know what to expect you can make an informed decision about watching this. And if you haven't seen any Shaw Bros. flicks - go and check some out - 36th Chamber Of Shaolin is a good place to start. Perhaps next time RZA will get his Chinese actors to act in Mandarin and either dub them out of synch in English or provide subtitles translated into tortured English so that former public schoolboys who write for mainstream broadsheets 'get' that it's a pastiche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man With the Iron Fists [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import]
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews