Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capote: "Perry and I grew up in the same house, and one day he went out the back door and I went out the front."
This brutally honest portrait of author Truman Capote, with its stunning photography (by Adam Kimmel) and Academy Award-winning acting, has been one of the most "decorated" films of 1995. Philip Seymour Hoffman, Oscar-winner as Best Actor, becomes Capote in this film--small, effete, and vulnerable, but also selfish, petulant, weak, and sometimes cruel. Catherine Keener,...
Published on 3 May 2006 by Mary Whipple

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glossy, yet dull ...
The acting, cinematography, script and sets merit five stars, but alas, the subject matter downgrades it.

The story of Capote's research methods for his book `In Cold Blood' is not the most dynamic subject for a movie. The first forty minutes are touch and go - whether or not to touch the stop button and go and do something else - but things consolidate...
Published on 14 Jun. 2009 by Tyke


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suffering for his art, 17 May 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capote [DVD] (DVD)
"Capote" is worth watching if only to see the Oscar winning performance from Philip Seymour Hoffman , who plays the part of Truman Capote, a lesser known American author from the Sixties. Hoffman brings the character to life superbly ,capturing his mannerisms and behaviour to perfection. The film is not really a biopic as the title of the film might suggest. It concerns itself only with the events that led to Capote writing his most famous novel, "In Cold Blood" , a "factional" account about a multiple murder in a small Kansas community . Capote decides to write a book about the murders and, in so doing ,he befriends the murderers , visits them in jail and assists them with legal matters before ultimately watching them hang. The impact of the real life events on which his novel is based begin to take their toll on Capote and his friendship with the killers unbalances his emotional equilibrium . None of the characters in the film are particularly likeable; Capote's girlie voice is grating and I was not impressed with his taking advantage of the two killers mainly to further his own literary career. The two murderers were unlikeable also; unrepentant and unremorseful ,they used Capote to further their own ends as well, perhaps seeing him merely as a "useful idiot" (to coin a phrase from Lenin ). "Capote" is a thoughtful character portrait ,but it is also a restrained critique of capital punishment, similar to films like "Dead Man Walking" and "A Short Film About Killing", although it does not possess their deep visceral impact . I must also mention the cinematography in "Capote" ,which was excellent. It captured late autumn in Kansas very well with it's huge bare trees , harvested fields and big skies . The indoor scenes were all filmed stylishly and constructed carefully as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and dark biopic, 28 Feb. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capote [DVD] (DVD)
Capote is an extraordinary film for a number of reasons.Hoffmans portrayal of Truman Capote is mesmerising....capturing the effete insecure needy writer to a tee.Its clear that Hoffman immersed himself in studying Capote to be able to deliver such a powerful on screen presence.The story is about the writing of Cold Blood,the first non-fiction novel about the brutal murder of a family in rural Kansas by two drifters.Truman Capote spent a number of years researching the material for his book and in the process became very involved in the lives of the jailed men responsible for the killings.
The film spends very little time recounting the story as told in the book but concentrates on a detailed psychological analysis of Capote.The cinematography shifts from bleak long shots of the flat featureless landscape of Kansas to extended closeups of Hoffman in a range of different states of mind.The effect is a growing claustrophobia that becomes very intense.
Most people will feel a range of attitudes to the character of Capote...humourous loathsome and sympathetic by turns.
The vision on offer here is dark and pessimistic.The films achievement lies in the outstanding performance of a truly great actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbingly Intriguing, 18 July 2006
By 
A. H. Lever "Alan Lever" (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capote [DVD] (DVD)
Due to the scandalously limited English cinema release of this film I was waiting for the DVD impatiently to see if my initial very favourable impression at the local multiplex was valid.

I was not disappointed, this film is little short or a masterpiece and incidentally the DVD extras are good as well.

For me the film is about writing, and the lying and scheming that lies behind research into morbid crimes.In this sense the viewer is of course complicit in the salaciousness of the subject matter, just as much as the writer, the reader and his P.R. men.come to that.

Visually the use of the Winnepeg for Kansas locations is succesful, and the acting is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Capote, 31 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Capote [DVD] (DVD)
Truman Capote's famous book, "In Cold Blood", is one of the best books I have ever read. I thought the film concentrated too much on Capote's relationship with Perry Smith, whereas the book dealt with both Hickock and Smith even handedly. The film also omits any detail of what happened while they were on the run.

Nevertheless, this is a very good film. I saw it in the cinema before buying the DVD. Philip Setmour Hoffman is a wonderful actor. The other parts, especially the local police officers, are well acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understated yet powerful, 5 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capote [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of cerebral films and something a bit different from shoot 'em ups, then this is for you. Starring Philip Seymour Hoffman in an Oscar winning performance, it tells the story of the four year period in which Truman Capote, author of Breakfast At Tiffany's, was researching for his factional novel In Cold Blood, about two killers who slaughter a family of four in Kansas, believing the farmer dad has $10k in the house. They get away with $40-$50.

The way Hoffman plays Capote gives the writer a very chilling, sinister air. Hoffman has the mannerisms perfectly, but it's not just that. Watching Hoffman's performance, you get the impression that if Truman Capote hadn't been a writer, he'd have been a serial killer. In fact at one point, Capote says of Perry Smith, one of the killers, 'It was like we were brought up in the same house and he walked out the back door whilst I walked out the front'.

Capote is obsessed with Smith, and seems to genuinely like him (perhaps in a sexual way) but is not averse to manipulating him to get the story he wants. He lies to Perry about what the book is called even when Perry is told and calls him on it, claiming it was the title chosen by his publishers and he hasn't decided if that's going to be it yet. Capote also uses his celebrity to get access to documents and people, including the records of the police chief who you can tell doesn't want to co-operate but is dazzled by Capote's status (though he does tell Capote that if he gets the men off he'll track him to Manhattan).

When the killers' death sentences go to appeal several times, Capote complains that it's tough on him. If they lived, he was convinced it would ruin his story. He only attended the execution because his friend Harper Lee (of To Kill A Mockingbird fame) shamed him into it. You get the impression that Capote is genuinely upset, and it says something that he never finished another novel after In Cold Blood, but you're still left with an impression of a man who will stop at nothing to get the story, even if his feelings do become involved.

Hoffman's performance is very understated, except when Capote is showing off to people at a party, and you get the impression of someone who had to be the centre of attention (as shown by his lousy behaviour at the premiere of Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird, which he felt was 'a lot of fuss about nothing'). What's interesting is that both Capote and Harper Lee were writers who had a very quick ascent, Capote through In Cold Blood and Lee with Mockingbird, then wrote very little else afterwards. And yet both endured in the public imagination, despite not turning out anything new. Maybe that's the trick. Write one good book then retire...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HANG SO I CAN FINISH MY BOOK, 5 July 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Capote [DVD] (DVD)
I first came upon Truman Capote as a 15 year old when I read Breakfast At .. Three years later I read In Cold Blood and I still have mixed feelings on Capote. Some of those feelings were highlighed by this film.

He wandered one day into this very white conservetive town in the middle of America's heatlands and wanted to know what had drove the killers to kill this family. However the DVD will not tell you why they killed. It is about the writing of the book and really there is very little detail in there about why they did it. The film does however show that Capote was not there to save them as Perry Smith seemed to think he was. And when the going got tough Capote left them pretty much stranded. You could see that maybe he really thought they would not be sent to the gallows but in the weeks before the deaths he seemed to have given up on them. He is of course closer to Smith and may have been in love with him. The film centres around the fact that Capote needs to get Smith to talk about the night th family were killed and also they need to hang before he can finish the book. Capote does not really have the guts for the fight and Smith comes out of it looking better than he.

Philip S H is wonderful as the small southern dandy who was Capote. He also seems to age throughout the film just as Capote did when he wrote In Cold Blood. Remember this is the film about the writing of a book not the crime. The acting is excellent all round. And the way the movie is shot is a credit to all. However if you expected to find masses of information about the crime and the criminals in this movie you will not. Truman Capote paid a high price for writing In Cold Blood he never finished another novel.... Perhaps the fact that he needed to see the men hung before he finished his book or perhaps the fact that he may have fallen in love with Smith had something to do with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ! ! !, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capote (Amazon Instant Video)
A great movie. Excellent plat. Great team of actor. We all loved it and will watch it again.
I'd highly recommend you try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hoffman shines. A real loss., 12 Mar. 2014
By 
R. Steadman (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capote [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Deep meaningful, brilliant. A laugh it isn't. You need to be in the right mood. I was. In this film, he becomes Capote. Why do they dub soap actors Stars ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Basic watching if you read the book, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capote [DVD] (DVD)
The novel "In cold blood" has been sold in some one million copies... This film shows what was behind the writing of the book, how Truman Capote collected information and got in touch with the characters. If you liked the book, you'll be interested by this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating you inside Capote's mind, 8 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: Capote [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film because of the rumoured fabulous acting by Philip Seymour Hoffman and I was not disappointed. In this seemingly quiet movie with little action and faded looking scenes, Hoffman gives a more than brilliant performance of Truman Capote.

For me, the attraction of Capote is not in the skin, not the outside but the inside of his mind, of his heart. The complicated emotions and motives that clash with every word he says to all the different people he said them to. Is he being sincere or is he being deceitful? Did he really care for the murderers? Or did he care more about his book? This movie inspires all these questions and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Capote [DVD] [2005]
Capote [DVD] [2005] by Bennett Miller (DVD - 2012)
£5.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews