Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars US Blu ray horse falls and camel punching
This review is for the US release of Conan the Destroyer blu ray.

The disc is not region locked and plays fine on my region B Sony player.
The horse falls at the beginning are left in as is the camel punching long shot.

The whole package is an improvement on my aging dvd version and I'm happy I upgraded.
Published 16 months ago by P. Ward

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from "Collector's edition"!
If you like myself were hoping for a definitive collector's edition,then think again!

While the packaging is all very lovely and you do get a very nice detailed booklet and some nice postcards,the actual disc is a dreadful release.For a start the opening fight scene is cut to ribbons,the scene where Conan knocks out the camel is again cut and really for a...
Published on 27 Jun 2007 by Howard Watson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far from "Collector's edition"!, 27 Jun 2007
By 
Howard Watson (Margate,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like myself were hoping for a definitive collector's edition,then think again!

While the packaging is all very lovely and you do get a very nice detailed booklet and some nice postcards,the actual disc is a dreadful release.For a start the opening fight scene is cut to ribbons,the scene where Conan knocks out the camel is again cut and really for a collector's edition,you would expect these scenes to be re-instated.

The extra features on this disc are particularly lame.There is a really poor quiz,but the crowning glory of bad is the commentary.Sarah Douglas does little more than ramble on and on about how wonderful she is and very little that she mentions has anything to do with the movie at all.

Kim Newman chimes in every so often in a really cynical manner,and overall,this is easily the worst commentary ever added to a dvd.

In conclusion,if you want a copy of this film,then hunt out the vastly superior region 4 Australian version or make do with the ordinary region one version from America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars more cuts than arnie's sword., 9 Nov 2013
By 
T. Keating - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conan The Destroyer [DVD] (DVD)
Before I purchased this dvd I checked with the BBFC website and it stated that the 2012 release was not cut. Well it was. I contacted the BBFC to see why they said it was passed with no cuts when clearly it was. The reply I got was the copy they reiceved was passed with no cuts. I believed them.
THE RSPCA made recommendations to the BBFC that the animal scenes were cruel. They were eliminated in the uk release. Am I the only one who remembers the camel scene from the cinema viewing. The cuts in this film were obviously done retrospectively and were done before the video release. Yet to my knowledge the film was unedited in america as The AMERICAN HUMANE ASSOCIATION had no input into the making of the film.
So as the film was made in mexico there could be an original version somewhere. If one does exist would somebody kindly tell me where I can get a copy. Thanks
P.S. and an unedited version of COMMANDO on dvd I know one exists on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the same orignal version., 25 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wonder why there was so many small cuts in fight sequence which distort the movie? I have the first DVD edition and i noticed it is not exactly the same version in 1983, so i didnt like it. The orignal version there was Conan hit his enemy horse during fight battle and a camel also, which was cut here.

I did purchased this edition because they mentioned it is a COLLECTOR EDITION and i thought it should be full without any delet or cut shots. But unfortuantly it is the same as first DVD release, except in better picture and sound quality. For this im rating this edition only 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable But Bloodless Conan Sequel, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dvd Info.

Running time 101 minutes approx, Region 2, Rated 15 UK,(PG-13) US.

Trivia.
1)It was the studio's idea to make this sequel a more family friendly movie due to the recent success of E.T even though Arnie told the studio it was a bad idea.
2)Grace Jones trained 18 months to stick fight & accidentally put 2 stuntmen in hospital so I guess the training paid off.
3)Walt Chamberlains one & only film, He bragged to have slept with over 20,000 women in his life time, For Charlie Sheen & Russell Brand that's breakfast.
4)Mako appears as the wizard Akiro from the first movie but has a larger role in this sequel.
5)Sarah Douglas played Ursa in Superman 1 & 2.
6)Pat Roach was also a villian in movie's Never Say Never Again & the first 3 Indiana Jones movie's (His fight scene with Indy on the zeppelin in Last Crusade didn't make the final cut).
7)Sven-Ole Thorsen turns up as Togra.

Review.
Conan is sent on a quest to retrieve a magic crystal for Queen Taramis, In return his one true love Valeria will be returned from the afterlife to him, He must also take Princess Jehnna along with him on his quest as she can help locate the crystal.

Conan set's out on the quest with his friends Wizard Akiro & thief Malak in locating the magic fortress were the crystal remains inside, Along the way he meets Zula a fierce fighting warrior woman who helps Conan on his quest as here the adventurers will battle against ancient traps, A powerful sorcerer named Toth Amon & finally a vicious God named Dagoth.

Unknown to Conan, Queen Taramis has sent one of her fiercest warrior's Bombaata to aid Conan on the quest but is to kill him & his friends once Conan locates & retrieves the crystal.

Conan must use all his cunning & strength to fight sorcerer Toth Amon & defeat the powerful God Dagoth while attempting to rescue Princess Jehnna whom is later kidnapped by Queen Taramis & her army of warrior's to lure Conan into a trap.

Timelord Thoughts.

First off this sequel isn't as bad as some claim, Yes it's nowhere near as good as the original movie but does contain
some decent action scenes that for a PG-13 (15, UK) movie are quite violent at times.

Again there are 28 seconds of cuts by the BBFC on dvd of horses falling over & a camel getting punched which seems pointless when the UK Blu ray restores those scenes in it's latest release.

Arnie of couse does well reprising the role of Conan yet at times this feels more like tndiana Jones than a Conan movies & the brutality of the original is sadly lacking in it's sequel here.

Grace Jones says very little but retains a screen presence throughout this film & highlights what a great character her role is as Zula in some of the movie's fight sequences.

Sarah Douglas oozes sexuality as Queen Taramis but isn't given enough to do & is underused throughout the movie.

Pat Roach though does well as sorcerer Toth Amon & the fight between him & Conan within the room full of mirrors is the movies highlight.

This has decent fantasy adventure & it moves along at a cracking pace but doesn't have the heart of the original film making it a decent but flawed sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Blu-ray to get of this blasphemous sequel.., 9 Dec 2013
By 
A. Moncrieff (up your a s s) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've come around a bit - A BIT - to this film over the years, but it's still ultimately a weak sequel to one of the best films in it's genre. John Milius's Conan the Barbarian is still an excellent film that's aged well and holds up to many, many repeat viewings. Conan the Destroyer is extremely lightweight and thrill-free. However, as has been said before, if Milius's film was Robert E. Howard's Conan, this one is more in line with the Marvel Comics version, and that's not necessarily a bad thing. Don't think of it as a continuation of the first movie, but another take, and you'll enjoy what fun is there.

The UK blu-ray has a number of problems, chiefly the picture is not as good as this, the audio is (lossless) stereo ONLY, the camel punch is cut out in a particularly clumsy way, and none of the extras from the wonderful Conan The Destroyer (Collector's Edition) [DVD] are carried over. This disc has little to no extras (a trailer, if I recall correctly) but the presentation is top notch, with flawless picture and sound.

This is the one to get if you want this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars US Blu ray horse falls and camel punching, 4 April 2013
By 
P. Ward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for the US release of Conan the Destroyer blu ray.

The disc is not region locked and plays fine on my region B Sony player.
The horse falls at the beginning are left in as is the camel punching long shot.

The whole package is an improvement on my aging dvd version and I'm happy I upgraded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conan the Pretender, 20 Nov 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Conan the Destroyer is a painless but brainless and bland sequel to Milius' not-that-good-in-the-first-place pagan epic. The violence has gone, along with the ambition and pretension, leaving something that might as well have been shot in Italy in the early 60s with Victor Mature. Tracey Walter's comic relief is especially painful and it's a shame that Basil Poledouris, whose score was the real star of the first film, has to struggle with an audibly smaller orchestra this time, but there's some genuine fascination in Ahnoldt's drunk scene, at once inept and frighteningly convincing. And this man now has power of life and death in California...

Despite the 'Collectors' Edition' tag, there's not much to get excited by in the original UK DVD release from Castle: none of the deleted scenes (the film was trimmed down substantially to get a PG) and only a trailer and none-too-exciting commentary, though at least the film is in 2.35:1 widescreen. The second issue by Sanctuary included a audio commentary featuring Sarah Douglas and trailer, though the UK Blu-ray fared best of all: despite no extras being listed on the packaging, it includes two featurette - one on Basil Poledouris' score and the other with the writers of the original screenplay, though none of their more critical comments about the end product from previous interviews are included - and trailer, restores the UK censor cuts of Arnie hitting the horse and the camel and has a generally decent 2.35:1 widescreen transfer that's marred by a few shots where digital noise id noticeable in darker shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not uncut version, beware!, 30 Dec 2013
By 
M. Connolly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A decent 80's adventure film but not all the scenes are present on this copy. A certain channel beginning with 'N' is currently showing this film and its the uncut version! Annoying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DTS-HD Ma 5.1 at last, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been searching for a better release of Conan The Destroyer, i bought the UK release but it had both mediocre picture and sound quality and a rather cheap menu. This one is a major improvement, the DTS-HD Master 5.1 soundtrack is well worth the switch, and i even think the picture quality is better than the UK release (High Fliers) and it has a better menu.
If you're a fan of this movie, go for the US release (Universal) It's regionfree and uncut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conan the Destroyer (1984) [Blu-ray]
Conan the Destroyer (1984) [Blu-ray] by Richard Fleischer (Blu-ray - 2012)
£10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews