Customer Reviews


1,209 Reviews
5 star:
 (384)
4 star:
 (402)
3 star:
 (246)
2 star:
 (97)
1 star:
 (80)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and not predictable!!
Have just finished reading this book having been unable to put it down - especially the last few chapters.

It started off an excellent little story, Hannah and her family, her sister and neice and sister's gay friend all going on holiday to France. The plot went along well, you started to get to know the characters and enjoy their holiday along with them...
Published 22 months ago by jolaw

versus
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of 20p and several hours of my life
There is a line in this book which says that a conversation was like something out of a dodgy script and that perfectly summarises this book for me. After all the rave reviews on Amazon I downloaded it and by the time I got to 25% through the book I really wanted to stop but felt I would miss whatever it was that made for such great feedback. The same happened at 50%.I...
Published 20 months ago by Sarah


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab read!, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
Not had my kindle long so am trying all sorts of offers and daily deals. I would have been happy to at full price for this . It kept my interest all the way through, a thoroughly good read. a story with characters you really cared about and a cracking ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The half life of Hannah, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
Slow read and rather sedate!
I dragged myself through it hoping for something to happen that would vaguely make me like the main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly bad - don't waste some of your life reading this, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
Language limited, characters shallow and not believable, no substance. Please don't invest your time reading this. A very poor read from beginning to end! Makes me question the review process, as I chose this based on the star ratings of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable read, 4 Oct 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
This is a smashing little read focussed around a family villa holiday in France. It's told partly in the third person, describing events that are happening now, and partly in the first person; Hannah relating events from the past and each "segment" seems to complement the other beautifully.

It is not a book with a lot of action in it, it is very languorous and you really get the feel of being on a lazy villa pool holiday with the sun beating down. Because the story unwinds very slowly you could be forgiven for thinking "when is something going to happen", but it is well worth sticking with because when an extra uninvited guest arrives at the villa, then people's lives are going to change forever.

An extremely well written book, the real beauty of the story is in the interaction between the characters and the dialogue. They are all very realistic, true to life characters and totally believable and the parts of the story narrated by Hannah in particular really help you get inside her head and right to the heart of the story. All the characters are totally different to each other, echoing the "you can choose your friends but not your family" saying and the author has each characters' foibles, strengths and weaknesses absolutely spot on.

At times it is funny, sad, shocking; like watching your next door neighbours carrying out their family dramas on the other side of the fence - fascinating to follow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half a good book, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
This begins amiably enough, with an extended family holiday in a French gte. Hannah, the central character, and her husband at first reminded me amusingly of myself and my own wife, and their relationship with Hannah's sister, now affectionate, now teeth grindingly infuriating, is pitch perfect.

But then almost nothing happens. For ages. And then one's impatience begins to spread from the absence of plot to the (by now) tiresome characters and their oh-so trendy metrosexual attitudes.

I did try, but I was defeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 31 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
After reading rave reviews I bought this book and just kept on reading page after page of what was just conversation and everyday happenings. Very disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read fascinating family story ith readable science, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
I heard a review on this book on woman's hour and it certainly came up o my expectations. Very readable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book after reading the reviews. i am glad i did. It is a lighthearted view of relationships & what can go wrong. I really enjoyed the story & it was easy reading, didn't want to put it down.The bonus was the author comes from the same town as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cover to cover in 48 hours!!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
I read the reviews and thought I would give it a try....Well, what a brilliant read!! It did start a little slow but the story needed the background information to be able to 'put you in the picture' about Hannahs past.
The story unfolds and leads you on an unexpected path. It is in essence a beautiful love story BUT it has several twists and turns....keeps you guessing what is going to happen (hence I couldn't put it down)
In fact it was a lovely book, well written and I would suggest you give it a try!!! Fantastic, feel good story. Kind of makes you wonder if you ever really do know your partner though..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable experience, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Half-Life Of Hannah (Kindle Edition)
A nice book with a twist. Very enjoyable, I wonder if there will be another that continues on with Hannah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Half-Life Of Hannah
The Half-Life Of Hannah by Nick Alexander
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews