Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are being watched...
A simple concept. Man (Michael Emerson) designs machine that can predict crime before it happens. He enlists the help a former CIA agent (Jim Caviezel) to intervene through whatever means necessary to prevent said crime.
Each episode revolves around a specific investigation. Caviezel is a bona fide leading man, and despite criticism as to the depth of his...
Published on 9 Oct 2012 by michael ercegovic

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Acting not the best,a bit disappointing
Published 3 months ago by Angus Gillies


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are being watched..., 9 Oct 2012
A simple concept. Man (Michael Emerson) designs machine that can predict crime before it happens. He enlists the help a former CIA agent (Jim Caviezel) to intervene through whatever means necessary to prevent said crime.
Each episode revolves around a specific investigation. Caviezel is a bona fide leading man, and despite criticism as to the depth of his performances, his role in season 1 is very much physical, and he is as convincing in the role as I have seen on television. You can't teach screen presence after all!
Emrerson, once again, is a delight and commands the audience attention every frame he is on camera. Who could forget his turn on LOST?
The talented supporting cast, fast paced plot, and intriguing premise guarantee most viewers will be coming back for more.
Along with homeland, the best new drama of 2011.
Let's hope they can keep this standard up in season 2...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching that has cross appeal, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Person of Interest - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I originally watched this show when it was on tv and then, on impulse, bought the blu ray when it came up on my recommendations. Then having gone back to visit my family I thought I'd watch the pilot. What shocked me was that my extended family, mother, sister, brothers all loved it. So much that they bought their own copy when I took mine with me home!

To the show however, the basic concept is a feel good factor of a duo, the brains and the brawn, working together to stop various bad deeds from occurring. This is done through the transmission of a social security number (national insurance number for the USA) from a mysterious source (I won't spoil with details). They then need to figure out if the person this matches to is either the potential victim or perpetrator of a crime.

These characters are supported by a few other regulars who provide necessary roles in hindering/helping certain plot lines which keeps the story lines at a pace that may otherwise risked flagging.

The quality of the picture and sound is excellent with an extended pilot and other extras included. I wouldn't recommend this for the under 12s but for families without kids that young I think this could be shared. Violence is rarely regularly occurring and it's usually, due to the skills of the main character, over quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Machine is Watching You...., 13 July 2012
By 
M. Hepworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Person of Interest is an interesting and watchable show that only needs some more reliable writing to be a must-watch.

The premise of Person of Interest is a paranoid's worst nightmare: The government is watching you. Every CCTV camera, every phone call and text, every email, every record about you is fed into a machine that knows what you're going to do before you even do it. The machine was built by Harold Finch (Michael Emerson from Lost) to predict when terrorists would attack, and it works, brilliantly. But before he handed it over to the US government he discovered it was also predicting crimes against ordinary people before they even happened. The government didn't care, so he built a backdoor that would feed him the social security numbers of these ordinary people. He doesn't know what will happen to them, or if they will be the victim or the criminal, but when a number comes out he knows it's just a matter of time before something violent happens.

This intriguing premise turns the usual detective show on it's head: the characters are preventing crimes, not solving them, and they need to work out what people are going to do, not whodunit.
Finch therefore needs someone to be his go-to man, to do the leg work and finally to step into violent situations to save the innocent. He recruits John Reese, an ex-CIA operative who has eneded up hiding out on the street after something unspecified and bad happened to him. Charismatically played by Jim Cavaziel, he quickly tidies up and stalks the streets in a sharp suit concealing some deadly weapon. He could be considered something of a Batman figure, swooping in to save someone with sudden violence and an enigmatic one-liner.

The Batman comparison is also appropriate as the concept came from author and screenwriter Jonathan Nolan (brother of The Dark Knight director Chris Nolan), and J.J.Abrams. The idea quickly grips you, and the show gradually moves on from "investigate the possible victim of the week" to weaving a longer-term story as characters return, and the backgrounds of Finch and Reese are slowly revealed. Story lines include Reese being investigated by a dedicated and honest detective, Joss Carter, and running into a set of thoroughly corrupt police officers. There's also a mob-war brewing in New York, the FBI investigating Reese, CIA killers shooting at Reese, not to mention various people on the trail of Finch and his machine.

The interplay between Reese and Finch is excellent, with the two actors crackling off each other, and the rest of the cast hold up well. Each episode is interesting, although sometimes the twists can be seen coming, such as when they think someone is a potential victim and they turn out to be the criminal. I particularly liked an episode where the number is that of an abandoned baby, and another where the numbers identify four totally unconnected people.

The main problem with the show is that some episodes have great concepts which never quite get completed properly. It feels like the main team coming up with ideas are firing on all cylinders, but some of the individual episode writers can't follow through. These aren't bad episodes, but they leave you feeling like an excellent episode has slumped to merely good. This probably only affects about a third of the season, and even then the episodes are perfectly watchable. I am eagerly looking forward to a second season, because this show can only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray of interest, 28 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Person of Interest - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
OMG.... yes I actually said OMG like a nerdy teen whose just found the first ever issue of Spiderman and is grasping it in his sweaty hands with such glee. I think I have found my new fave show, This show is reminiscent of an old show I used to watch back in the day before the Internet and Dazzling vampires, that show being Swift Justice which was about an ex cop who goes out to fight crime and is helped by a police detective, Person of Interest is Swift Justice 2.0 (obviously the two shows are not connected)
And seeing Ben from Lost back on the Tv screen, of course two characters are different that would be weird wouldn't it seeing Ben outside of the Island Manipulating an Ex Cia agent rather than manipulating Locke,
THE PLOT
John Reese (Jim Caviezel), a former Green Beret and CIA field officer, is living as a derelict in New York City after the death of the woman he loves, and is presumed dead. He is approached by Harold Finch (Michael Emerson), a reclusive billionaire computer genius who is living under an assumed identity. Finch explains that after September 11, 2001, he built a computer system for the government which uses information gleaned from omnipresent surveillance to predict future terrorist attacks. However, Finch discovered that the computer was predicting ordinary crimes as well. The government is not interested in these results, but Finch is determined to stop the predicted crimes.
Thankfully that's the plot synopses over and down with always hate that part, you should try explaining Donnie Darko how do you make someone want to watch a film about a guy who sees a 6 foot bunny rabbit and time travel (one of my fave films though) anyway's I digress. The chemistry between the two leads are good, the stories are compelling, it has everything you could possibly want but saying that if your looking for Zombies or sparkling Vampires or a romantic comedy stroke Friends this will not be for you.
The music choice is also good with two tracks by UNKLE thrown in. the brain child of Jonathan Nolan it has turned into one of my fave shows on TV and cannot wait till season 2. Hoping to get more answers about the Machine, and more info about Finch and Reese. And the support cast of the NYPD detectives especially Lionel is just superb. If you like good TV then this is for you; just becareful when watching that you don't get paranoid took me a few days too get over the paranoia that ensued after watching first few episodes I was ducking CCTV camera's all around London, must have looked like a crazed freak :)

Again I would recommend this to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 23 Sep 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't know many people who have seen or are aware of this programme, and that is a real shame as
Person of Interest is really rather good.
It concerns a former C.I.A. agent who is recruited by an elusive multi-billionaire for a covert operation.
The billionaire (Harold) developed a computer program that can predict when someone is in mortal danger.
Harold and rogue C.I.A man Reece then set about helping the individual concerned with the aid of a couple of Police Officers who also work for Harold on the side.
The stories are very good indeed, this show has some great writers, and there is also an ongoing plot as well.
You need to watch the first 3 or 4 episodes (Series 1) to get into the meat of the show but stick with it, Person of Interest is worth it.
In short this is a hidden gem of a show, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller series, 13 April 2013
By 
M. Dugdale (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once the premise of the series can be taken in, the story lines and plots are works of scriptwriting genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever writing drives this series., 17 Mar 2014
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jim Caviezel has appeared in many action movies which have been entertaining but have lacked depth or a meaty role to showcase his acting skills.He's been labelled 'wooden',quite unfairly in my view,as a result.

Like so many good actors over the last few years he's now been given the chance in a role that he can expand and flesh out in a top quality TV series: POI is just that.

The scripts are interesting,the supporting actors are excellent in every episode and as the story line moves on we see no flagging in each seperate instalment.
In fact the last few episodes were outstanding drama and full of intrigue and of course action:theres no chance of falling asleep when you watch this series.

Special mention for Michael Emerson,Taraji Henson and the subtley brilliant Kevin Chapman(playing 'Fiasco'?)who made themselves indispensable to this opening season.

I've heard from other reviewers(who have access to Sky channels)that Season 2 is even better.Looking forward to buying the future seasons if the standard is as high as this.

Please note:skip the pilot episode on disc 1;watch the extended(by about 10 minutes)pilot episode on disc 6 which also has a commentry should you choose that option.My fault,I didn't spot this until I slotted in disc 6 and looked at the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ever think you're being watched?, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: Person of Interest - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A billionaire software-genius named Harold Finch creates a Machine for the government that is designed to detect acts of terror before they can happen, by monitoring the entire world through every cell-phone, email and surveillance camera. Finch discovered that the machine sees everything, potential terrorist acts and violent crimes that involve ordinary people. When the government considered violent crimes between normal people "irrelevant", Finch built a back door into the system that gives him the social security number of a person involved in a future violent crime so he could act. Partnered with John Reese, an ex-CIA agent, the two work in secret to prevent violent crimes before they can happen. Eventually their activities lead to being hunted by the New York Police Department, CIA Agents in pursuit of Reese who was listed as dead, a computer hacker named Root who wants access to the Machine, and government officials who want to keep all knowledge of the Machine a complete secret.

Great series, each episode gets better and better as you watch it, great concept, well directed, solid acting and good action set pieces, highly recommend this if you are a fan of Jim Caviezel. Looking foward to season 2. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good value for money, 4 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Person of Interest - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great series,good concept,crisp screenplay.good value for money.some of the casting could have better.as usual jonathan nolan shines through.overall highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show currently on TV., 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started watching this series after friends mentioned how good it is, and I was hooked. POI is a great series based around 4 very brilliant and very individual characters, Harold, John Reese, Carter and Fusco that are brought together because of the machine (computer) to help people whose lives are in danger. The show features a different story each week as well as underlying story lines.
I recommend POI to everyone. I think it is one of the best series that has ever been made and really captures the time we are living in as well as making you think about how intelligence works and if computers can really go that far. The writers and producers of the show have really made something special and have chosen a great cast to play the main characters. I love the series and the characters so much that I bought the DVD to rewatch the first series and now have other family members hooked on the show too!! Just the right amount of action, dialect and verbal content is family friendly (I don't think I've heard any swearing at all), there is limited love/sexual interest. It is all very cleverly done and in my opinion comes together very well to make a really great series.
Go buy it, it's great!!! :-) ******************************** 5 stars+++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Person of Interest - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [Region Free]
£11.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews