Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Massively underrated fantasy film
***This review is for the film only***

I had heard quite a lot of mixed comments about this film, some people thought it was the film of the year, while some really disliked it, but I do like Keanu Reeves so I thought I'd give it go anyway. I'm glad that I did.

Plot: It's about a group of proud Samurai who's master is killed and dishonoured and their...
Published 9 months ago by D. Krol

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So little besides the monsters
This is a film made for 3D effects. Those effects are more important than anything else in the film. This particular product has the film in normal Blu-ray Disc for those who are not equipped or for those who do not care for the 3D effects because they obliterate your critical vision.

That is just the point. The film as for its content is very limited. In the...
Published 2 months ago by Jacques COULARDEAU


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Massively underrated fantasy film, 11 Feb 2014
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] [2013] [2014] (DVD)
***This review is for the film only***

I had heard quite a lot of mixed comments about this film, some people thought it was the film of the year, while some really disliked it, but I do like Keanu Reeves so I thought I'd give it go anyway. I'm glad that I did.

Plot: It's about a group of proud Samurai who's master is killed and dishonoured and their status is reduced to Ronin. Only for them to rise up and seek revenge against the evil ruler and his magical witch, who are responsible

This film was panned by critics and became a huge box office flop but I really can't understand why. It's high adrenaline, action packed, exciting and has some absolutely mind blowing special effects. Ok Keanu Reeves does look a little out of place in a movie full of Japanese actors, playing out a truly Japanese story, but that is easily got past. There is quite a lot of Japanese language and subtitles in the film but most of it is in English so it's not too hard to follow.

The camera work and sound in this movie are what makes it really stand out, the unknown director really did a sterling job here and really immerses you into the magical world of the Ronin.
The acting for the most part is very good too and you really do develop a kind of kinship with some of the characters, which makes you really root for them and genuinely care about their fate.

All in all 47 Ronin is a fun, exciting, way to spend a couple of hours, it's visually stunning to look at and after a slowish start, the action and fantasy never lets up. Without giving too much away, it does leave the door open for a sequel but alas, due to its poor box office performance I doubt that we will ever see one.

8/10 Very good fantasy movie, harshly panned by the critics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eastern culture diluted for Western consumption, 13 May 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] [2013] [2014] (DVD)
In feudal Japan, when their Lord is bewitched & commits a crime, he is forced to perform sepppuku (ritual suicide by disembowelment) as punishment. Afterwards his loyal Samauri warriors are stripped of their titles, proclaimed Ronin (masterless Samurai) & banished from their province forbidden to return or face death. But knowing of the treachery committed upon their Lord, they set out to revenge his death & reclaim his honor.

As with Hollywood films that are based on true stories, we usually give them the benefit of the doubt while taking it with a pinch of salt as well. The core story of the 47 Ronin was very engrossing, and they did flesh things out for Western audiences with a few sub plots, consisting of a love story, an outsider trying to earn respect & said outsider having magical powers. In the execution it gives us plenty of time to drink in the culture & visual beauty of feudal Japan which it achieves to aplomb, while they're maybe too much talking for some, it periodically throws in various action scenes to keep you sated. Some are traditional Eastern sword fights, while the CGI laden Japanese mythology & more Western influences from other Hollywood films e.g Pirates of the Caribbean etc.. are nice embellishments/distractions & obviously done to open the film up to appeal to a wider audience.

The acting was pretty good all round, Keanu Reeves (The Matrix) puts in a decent performance in a palatable co-lead role as the solemn British/Japanese 'half breed' Kai. Alongside him are a host of Japanese actors that maintain the traditional vibe of the film as they take turns together & apart in furthering parts of the story. The stand out's IMO being Hiroyuki Sanada (The Twilight Samurai) as Oishi the courageous leader of the 47 & Rinko Kikuchi (Pacific Rim) as the evil witch. The latter stole Tadanobu Asano's (Ichi The Killer) thunder as the devious Lord Kira, relegated to a lot of smirking as a result. And in a Captain Phillips fashion, newcomer Takato Yonemoto was welcome brief comedy relief in a a very sombre feeling movie as the rotund Ronin, Basho.

In conclusion, 47 Ronin was an enjoyable mixture of Western film making & an introductory experience to Japanese Feudal culture & mythology. Contains violence & mature themes. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So little besides the monsters, 7 Sep 2014
By 
This is a film made for 3D effects. Those effects are more important than anything else in the film. This particular product has the film in normal Blu-ray Disc for those who are not equipped or for those who do not care for the 3D effects because they obliterate your critical vision.

That is just the point. The film as for its content is very limited. In the Samurai times of Japan two rival local rulers get into some kind of strife because the younger ruler uses the services of a witch to reach his target and that target is to get the older ruler from next door eliminated and his daughter bound to marry him. At the same time the Samurais of the older ruler are banned and forbidden to take revenge.

A half-breed, Kai, half European, half Japanese, rejected by all, has been trained by some special and sort of supernatural Buddhist order and as such has developed some super power, essentially extreme speed in reactions and unexpected attack from the side negotiating the direct central attack.

The banned Samurais get him out of his slavery as a prize fighter on some ship in some harbor to provide them with his special powers and his contact with his original order to get weapons. That’s how they end up 47 Samurais against the younger ruler on the day when he is going to be married to the daughter of the older ruler.

The rest is only special effects and the end is banal.

The supreme ruler of Japan imposes the normal end to the disobedient Samurais: death by their own hands, seppuku or ritual disembowelment (don’t worry you only see the shoulders of the Samurais: no bowels are visible: note that kind of death is a slow death). Only one is saved: the son of the leading Samurai. An ending showing the honor code of these Samurais who are eliminated though they only asked for justice and since it was not given to them they just took justice in their own hands and worked it out by themselves. When a system reaches such a point of absurdity it is bound to end very badly. And it did in 1945.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ingredients...so-so result, 1 July 2014
A bit disappointed here. I mean you have KR (one of my fav actors), a few very good Japanese actors, a true samurai story and some fantasy (Lord of the Rings style) thrown into it ! how can you go wrong right? well, sometimes lots of good ingredients don't necessarily make a good dish.
The whole thing just doesn't add up...you don't feel a connection to the characters or the story. Hard to put my finger on it...characters seem so flat in lack of a better word. I see rottentomatoes gave a 1* rating LOL Maybe too harsh but you get the idea...
Visuals are ok and so is the HD sound.
I was expecting so much more.....maybe part II ? :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and interesting, but also slightly odd, 20 July 2014
This review is from: 47 Ronin (DVD)
’47 Ronin’ is actually based on an old Japanese historical event when 47 samurai avenged the death and disgrace of their master, even if it marked them as ‘criminals.’ This tale is very well known and documented in Japan and people still visit the graves of the deceased in order to remember their commitment to their cause.

It’s been made into a film at least six times before, but this is the most ‘Hollywood’ version to date. For a start, we have Keanu Reeves as the lead character and it’s fair to say that no westerners took part in the actual event. Therefore, it’s safe to say that many liberties have been taken in this retelling. This point is hammered home by the inclusion of various mythological creatures our valiant exiled samurai encounter. And, I’m just guessing, but I’m pretty sure there weren’t any dragon-witches or giant ogres in Japan back then.

So, don’t expect a faithful re-telling of the historical event. But, do expect entertainment. I don’t know why, but ‘The Pirates of the Caribbean’ kept going through my mind while I was watching this. The whole affair sort of reminded me of Captain Jack Sparrow in the Far East. Every so often there’s a chase scene or a monster to fight and there are plenty of CGI backdrops for us to pretend are real. Perhaps the one thing that isn’t really included is an awful lot of fight scenes. I expected more ‘martial arts’ from a film about samurai, but there’s only a couple of swordplay scenes included.

All in all, it’s not a bad adventure film, but it’s kind of hard to think who its primary audience is. Like I said, it doesn’t have enough fights to be a martial arts film. It’s not ‘fun for all the family’ like Pirates of the Caribbean, so it’s more serious. If you like supernatural action/adventure movies which have had all the major gore and adult-stuff edited out, then you might like this. Keanu Reeves is ‘the star,’ but it’s the supporting Japanese cast that really hold it together.

I didn’t regret watching it, but I doubt I’d ever watch it again. I’ve got a hundred better action adventure films already in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 47 Ronin and 1 Keanu, 16 July 2014
This review is from: 47 Ronin (DVD)
"47 Ronin" is a retelling of a famous Japanese legend which has been updated and specifically adapted for Western audiences. This is especially true in the way it adds in the Keanu Reeves character to the story, a supposedly half American, half Japanese warrior with a mysterious background. I can only imagine that the writers thought that they needed a European character to make the story more sympathetic to Western audiences, but Keanu Reeves does not look any more Japanese than Sean Connery did in "You Only Live Twice".

Despite these changes though the film looks spectacular, especially on Blu Ray, with a very stylized exaggerated version of medieval Japan. The effects and the cinematography are all excellent, and there is some effort made to make the customs and mannerisms of Japan come to life. Fans of films like "Hero" and "House of Flying Daggers" will appreciate the look and feel of this movie, if nothing else.

The main problem with "47 Ronin" is that it fails to draw you into the story or make you care enough about the characters. Most of the ronin are anonymous supporting cast who live and die without making any impression. For those characters who are named as individuals there is nothing to make you sympathetic about their fate. The director can do action, but seems unable to convincingly show human relationships and emotions. In fact the most colourful and likeable character I found was the witch, played by Rinko Kikuchi, who is supposed to be the villain of the piece!

Despite a very good start "47 Ronin" fails to develop into anything very remarkable. Without caring about the characters the ending is a real anti-climax and one which makes it soon forgettable. Its a shame as the movie has a lot of potential but it fails to deliver on the initial build up and while enjoyable in places is far from being a classic of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CGI is star of the show., 18 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: 47 Ronin (DVD)
The Last Samurai meets House of Flying Daggers and falls far short of either. 14 to 25 year old action fans will no doubt love it for the fight scenes, and sensitive viewers may find meaning in Reeves' long stare-into-the-camera close-ups (and there are many) but to me it was just Reeves staring at the camera.
The best part of it was the CGI which varied from so-so to near-perfect. It was so good at times that after I had returned the rental copy I wished I had watched the movie again purely to see what CGI I had actually accepted as real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it....., 4 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] [2013] [2014] (DVD)
If you know actual true story of the '47 Ronin' this film is based around this as have so many re-makes before it.
I personally liked this film, some very talented and recognisable Japanese actors in this production who held their own and were not out shone by Reeves.
This version has added its own Hollywood glitz so with the Witch and Reeves's character don't actually belong or are true to the actual legend, could this film been better without either character, maybe?! I'd leave that up to you to decide, but Reeves does well in it.
It is ashame it didn't do so well in the cinema and by the critics, I never listen what the 'rotten tomatoes' say anyway I like to give my own view on things, where some people like this film others may not, I did, I don't think Reeves is a bad actor at all I think it's unfair to write it off as though as mentioned before the other actors do it justice.
There are some special effects in it not so many to make it so far fetched and the main story line is there in the film.
I would also wiki the actual real story behind the 47 Ronin as it is an interesting read about honour and what it meant to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Japanese language is a very expressive language with sometimes very short sentences which leans itself very good towards emo, 5 Nov 2014
By 
michael raes (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought it and regret it fully. As someone as me who likes Asian movies in the likes of directors such as Takeshi Kitano,Takeshi Miike,Kurosawa,Kim Ki Duk and several others , this movie does not even lick the heels of those named. I don't know what the director was thinkin' about but he failed on numerous accounts and my guess is that Keanu wil approve that statement. The story : simpel , no hooks, no surprises. The action : mediocre, nothin' special. The acting : and here the major flaw is at hand : why was this done in English ? The Japanese language is a very expressive language with sometimes very short sentences which leans itself very good towards emotions, anger, fear , etc etc. By doin' this in English the emotions are totally surpressed.Compare this to other recent samurai movies such as 13 assassins, the last samurai or Zaitochi and you will have a movie with all which is lackin' in this very poor 47 ronin. Last but not least : the acting of the female witch made me laugh. Want to see a true bitch with depth , take a look at the one in Crouching Tiger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If only they spoke in Japanese, 14 Oct 2014
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD] [2013] [2014] (DVD)
Despite having a descent plot, compelling visuals and some excellent action sequences, there was something that didn't sit well with me in regards this movie. This was the fact that it features Japanese people speaking English to each other. This seems a throw-back to old-school cinema in which we'd see such things as German WWII soldiers conversing in English. Contemporary filmmakers tend to allow people of a different native tongue to talk in that language and use subtitles, such as in Braveheart, Apocalypto, both of the new Sherlock Holmes films featuring Robert Downey Jr and The Last Samurai. It has a much more natural feel and respects national heritage. However, I totally understand why 47 Ronin wasn't subtitled. Film companies naturally want their movies to appeal to the widest possible audience. It's just a shame because, for me at least, this ruined my enjoyment of what is otherwise a good movie.

This said, if you're not worried about such things and you're looking for a good sword and sorcery film, then you should give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

47 Ronin [DVD] [2013] [2014]
47 Ronin [DVD] [2013] [2014] by Carl Rinsch (DVD - 2014)
£6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews