Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Massively underrated fantasy film
***This review is for the film only***

I had heard quite a lot of mixed comments about this film, some people thought it was the film of the year, while some really disliked it, but I do like Keanu Reeves so I thought I'd give it go anyway. I'm glad that I did.

Plot: It's about a group of proud Samurai who's master is killed and dishonoured and their...
Published 2 months ago by D. Krol

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible film
I very rarely bother to rate films but I felt it was my duty to warn others that if they watch this film, they are about to lose a couple of hours of their life they will not get back!

The best bits of the film can be watched in the trailers. However my own particular highlight was the third time I dozed off as it meant the movie was almost over!
Published 1 day ago by JG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Massively underrated fantasy film, 11 Feb 2014
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD + UV Copy] [2014] (DVD)
***This review is for the film only***

I had heard quite a lot of mixed comments about this film, some people thought it was the film of the year, while some really disliked it, but I do like Keanu Reeves so I thought I'd give it go anyway. I'm glad that I did.

Plot: It's about a group of proud Samurai who's master is killed and dishonoured and their status is reduced to Ronin. Only for them to rise up and seek revenge against the evil ruler and his magical witch, who are responsible

This film was panned by critics and became a huge box office flop but I really can't understand why. It's high adrenaline, action packed, exciting and has some absolutely mind blowing special effects. Ok Keanu Reeves does look a little out of place in a movie full of Japanese actors, playing out a truly Japanese story, but that is easily got past. There is quite a lot of Japanese language and subtitles in the film but most of it is in English so it's not too hard to follow.

The camera work and sound in this movie are what makes it really stand out, the unknown director really did a sterling job here and really immerses you into the magical world of the Ronin.
The acting for the most part is very good too and you really do develop a kind of kinship with some of the characters, which makes you really root for them and genuinely care about their fate.

All in all 47 Ronin is a fun, exciting, way to spend a couple of hours, it's visually stunning to look at and after a slowish start, the action and fantasy never lets up. Without giving too much away, it does leave the door open for a sequel but alas, due to its poor box office performance I doubt that we will ever see one.

8/10 Very good fantasy movie, harshly panned by the critics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film forget the 3D, 12 April 2014
what a great movie ,the 3 D was done post the release and it shows.

2 D version is so much clearer,3D effect do not come over well.
but 5 stars for the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrills Ahead! Excellent Adventure, 28 Dec 2013
First the negatives: I recently read that one of the reasons '47 Ronin' cost so much to make is that the director insisted on filming it with 3D cameras (rather than adding the 3D in post-production), which is surprising, as the 3D in the movie is so subtle (for 'subtle' read 'virtually non-existent') that in my opinion, it's not really worth paying the extra to see the movie in that format. Apart from some good fire effects, there's not much added to the film by the 3D. In fact, watching the movie wearing those 3D specs actually detracts from the experience, as the fantastic colour palette of the sets and costumes in the first half of the film, consisting mainly of vivid reds, yellow and orange, appears muted through shaded lenses. Also, if you've seen the trailer and you can't wait to see Keanu going mano-a-mano with the huge armoured bloke, apart from a brief fight at the start of the movie (in an exhibition for the Shogun) he never does!
However, those criticisms aside, I'd definitely recommend '47 Ronin' to anyone looking for a good action adventure. Keanu Reeves plays Kai, a 'half-breed' raised by nobleman Lord Asano in feudal Japan. Asano is tricked into killing himself by evil Lord Kira, and his samurai are decreed by the Shogun to be 'ronin'(masterless samurai) and commanded never to seek revenge for their master's death. However, they are determined to get revenge on Kira, even if it means their deaths, or teaming up with Kai, who is generally despised by the men (got that? phew!).
A lot of the second half of the movie is taken up with characters going on various quests, first to free Kai from captivity in 'Dutch Town' (when it all goes a bit 'Pirates of the Caribbean'), and then a journey to a haunted forest to obtain mystical swords from an order of demonic monks.The film culminates with an assault by Kai and his band of men on Lord Kira's fortress, where they have to take on both men and monsters.
I really enjoyed '47 Ronin'. The sets and costumes are fantastic, and there are plenty of exciting action sequences. The ending is quite downbeat, but also inevitable. A solid 3.5/5 and definitely worth seeing on the big screen, although it should look fantastic on blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foregt the reviews - this is a great movie, 27 Jan 2014
First of all I thought this film was rather unfairly treated by reviewers at the time of its release. I went to the cinema to see it and loved it, so much so that I have pre-ordered the Blu-ray.

The story of the 47 Ronin is well-known in Japanese culture and has been performed in kabuki theatre for centuries. This re-imagining plays with the story somewhat, introducing the character of Kai (Reeves) and quest elements whilst following the outline of the original plot. Visually, the film is stunning and the special effects are exceptional (given the Director comes from a SFX background this shouldn't be surprising).

As others have said, this is sort of a Japanese-inspired version of Lord of the Rings complete with witches, quests and dragons and if you like fantasy-based films then 47 Ronin should appeal to you as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I AM LOOKING FOR A HALF BREED, 20 Jan 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD + UV Copy] [2014] (DVD)
Kai (Keanu Reeves) is found in a river near Ako. He is called a half breed and is rumored to be a shape shifter. He is treated with respect by his adopted father Lord Asano(Min Tanaka) and beloved by his daughter Mika (Ko Shibasaki). He is despised by everyone else in this new middle earth tale because TV hasn't been invented and no one has seen "The Matrix." The film is loosely adopted from a true story from the early 1700's one that is often embellished. This one was embellished with dragons, shape shifters, witches, and demons.

Through a series of events the Ako Samurai are stripped of their title and banished, taking on the title of Ronin. Mika is to marry the evil Kira, controlled by a witch as the film turns into "Kill Kira." While history tells us the rest, I won't plot spoil it for you. It isn't how I would have wrote it.

Keanu Reeves barely speaks in this film. He bows his head a lot and stays silent even though he is half Englishman.

This is a good film if one views it as a middle earth fantasy companion and not as a history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, about honour and sacrifice., 17 Jan 2014
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD + UV Copy] [2014] (DVD)
Saw this film at the cinema despite all the negative reviews and just loved it. Visually it is stunning and Keanu Reeves plays a very good part as the outcast. I am aware of the legend of the 47Ronin and this film embelishes this but does it well. This is a Hollywood film not a Japanese film and purists might have difficulty with this but if you take it as a fantasy story not a true retelling then it definately holds its own. Really enjoyed it and will buy it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible film, 16 April 2014
I very rarely bother to rate films but I felt it was my duty to warn others that if they watch this film, they are about to lose a couple of hours of their life they will not get back!

The best bits of the film can be watched in the trailers. However my own particular highlight was the third time I dozed off as it meant the movie was almost over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 47 better things to watch......., 25 Mar 2014
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD + UV Copy] [2014] (DVD)
Whilst not quite as bad as initial critical reviews would suggest, its not a great film either. Had the magical mumbo jumbo been cut then perhaps it would have been a better film. The proper ingredients of honour and revenge are there so why the need for second rate demons etc is beyond me.

How and why the film cost so much to make is anyone's guess. The cgi isn't the greatest you will ever see (nor the worst, apart from the white fox) and its perhaps noting that the cover is very misleading. The guy covered in tatoo's? In the film for about 10 seconds. The silver samurai? About 2 minutes. Well that explains why he wasn't in the last wolverine film. Anyhoo......

The "half-breed" character (Japanese mother/English father) played by Keanu was found as a young boy in a forrest haunted by demons and the supernatural. He has grown to become the illegitimate black sheep of the clan. The clan is stitched up, dishonoured and left without a master thanks to a cunning rival and a witch. Its not made clear in the film who wears the trousers in this particular relationship but it seems the witch is more of a threat, she has the power to back it up whilst he has nothing to offer but man power. Thus the film is about honour and revenge.

At this point the film tries to be part Pirates of the Caribbean for about 5 minutes before wising up and realising that wouldn't be the smartest move. The next set piece moves to the forrest from which Keanu came from. And he is finally told what everyone else had already told him - he is a demon or at least part demon. Cutting an unnecessary long story short, the film moves towards the final show down between the ronin and the evil overlord. Well its been building up to this so don't be shocked to discover that the climax is a huge let down.

At the end of the day Keanu Reeves can't really shoulder too much of the blame for the film failing at the box office. Just about every single character in the film conveys a lack of emotion. Do they really care about honour and revenge? Well for the sake of the story they should but its a hard job convincing the viewer that they do. The only character who seems to try is Rinko Kikuchi (previously seen in Pacific Rim) as the evil witch. In fact she is the only reason for watching the film!

All in all, the fantasy element of the film wasn't really needed. The film itself has sat on a shelf for the last couple of years and it shows. Just about every single character is flimsy and lacks any depth, the plot is non-existant and you won't get the 2 hours of your life back that you spent watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, 6 Jan 2014
This review is from: 47 Ronin [DVD + UV Copy] [2014] (DVD)
Don't disregard the movie till you actually SEE the movie, I personally love the movie as I'm into all Japanese culture. It has good SFX... Even that Japanese girl from Pacific Rim... (She's hot BTW lol)... It's a take on a famous Japanese story of loyalty and revenge, showing that evil NEVER wins... Ronins are loyal to their master and if you dishonor their master by making them do seppuku, woe betide yourself because the ronin will exact bloody revenge even if it ment their deaths
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To many cooks spoil the broth., 14 Mar 2014
I am a big fan of Keanu Reeves but this film was a big let down.
Changes in script and people directly involved in the film were replaced the the new people wanted to change the plot from a eastern style movie like Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon to a more western themed movie with allot of CGI.
What you get is a mish mash of both ideas that work against each other.
Plot changes forced the non English speaking actors to rush having to relearn their lines at short notice having a big impact on their performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac684fc0)

This product

47 Ronin [DVD + UV Copy] [2014]
47 Ronin [DVD + UV Copy] [2014] by Carl Rinsch (DVD - 2014)
10.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews