Customer Reviews


340 Reviews
5 star:
 (258)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Limited Edition Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook Review!
To any F1 fan that didn't get the chance to watch this great motion spectacular at the cinema i honestly feel sorry for you. You will never realise the true "blow away" nature of this film on the big screen aided by full surround sound audio. As a huge F1 fan i was lucky enough to take my girlfriend to see the film on release day, now she isn't the biggest F1 fan but even...
Published 2 months ago by MrE

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting history
An interesting history lesson on the rivalry between James and Nikki, and a very scary reminder of how unsafe and 'mad' those formula one gouys were in the early days. I really enjoyed the human side.
Published 16 days ago by Nikki


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Limited Edition Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook Review!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
To any F1 fan that didn't get the chance to watch this great motion spectacular at the cinema i honestly feel sorry for you. You will never realise the true "blow away" nature of this film on the big screen aided by full surround sound audio. As a huge F1 fan i was lucky enough to take my girlfriend to see the film on release day, now she isn't the biggest F1 fan but even she liked the gripping nature of wheel to wheel action and realistic historical accuracy that director Ron Howard has attained, mainly due to the input that many people had given that were around at the time such as Nikki Lauda for example.

I have to compliment the two main actors who portrayed Lauda (Daniel Brühl) and James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth), not only do they resemble the two they are taking off remarkably well but they evidently did a lot of research regarding both of these two greats as you could easily mistake them both for the real thing. Hemsworth's portrayal of Hunt as a playboy who wants fame and Brühl's of Lauda as a man who almost has a machine like mentality to racing could not be better acted. The script is thoroughly enjoyable and has a good blend of racing, relationships, sex and fright although the main rivalry between the two drivers has been exaggerated beyond what it was in reality but that's to be expected to give the film a more gripping story. For those that need a little more background the film is based around the 1976 F1 Season but naturally does have some background based on what happened before and then after that period.

As for this specific product, You get a very nice Steel case matching the whole RUSH theme and inside you have the Blu-ray disk and also a copy of the film on DVD which means you'll still be able to watch it pretty much wherever you go. Part of the Limited Edition means you also get Deleted scenes and also behind the scenes and how the film was made.

Don't get me wrong you'll always find little things that have been put into a film that shouldn't be there, certainly as an avid F1 fan i prefer accuracy over many other things, but this is a film BASED on what happened and therefore not a total recreation of what happened yet the alterations they have made aren't enough to spoil it, indeed as a showcase of how things were back then this is fantastic, mostly accurate and gripping but I don't need to tell you that do I? You went to see it for yourself and left the cinema with the same conclusion.

VERDICT: It's a great film, if anything long overdue and the steel-book Limited edition makes it extra special for any F1 fan. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

P.S. Be aware that Amazon has lumped all the reviews of the DVD, Blu-ray and Steelbook Limited Edition together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vroom Vroom. Theatrical release review, 6 Nov 2013
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The rivalry between James Hunt and Nikki Lauda though of comparatively short duration, was nevertheless one of the greatest rivalries in sporting history. The stakes were huge: life, death, the world championship.

Even though I did not follow Formula 1 racing then or ever, I clearly remember when this rivalry went global with badly burned reigning Formula One world champion Nikki Lauda being pulled out of a burning car at a grand prix, by other drivers. Almost dead from his injuries, it looked like his season if not his career was over.

I also clearly remember watching the charismatic James Hunt being interviewed about the subject. Considerably behind Lauda on points in the world championship, his act of getting out of the car to help rescue Lauda could have potentially ruined his own ambitions to become world champion. Truly, this is one of the most remarkable sporting rivalries of all time.

So, it was with more than a little anticipation that I looked forward to watching Ron Howard's take on these events done with the cooperation of Nikki Lauda. James Hunt sadly died of a heart attack in 1993 at age 45.

If you are like me, you do not have to be a big racing fan to enjoy this. Everyone understands we live in a world of rivalry and competition, and Ron Howard does an admirable job in this movie in crafting one of the most memorable movies of the year.

While I was one of the few people not very impressed with the movie Thor, there is no doubt in watching this movie that Chris Hemsworth does an awesome job as James Hunt, easily matching the charisma of the great character, who was both a charmer and a legendary womanizer, and that Hemsworth is a great star. I consider this to be his best role to date.

The title Rush is quite appropriate as you may experience a certain rush of adrenaline in watching the movie.

I think the movie in a way balances perfectly, because if you are like me, as you watch, clearly as a social guy Hunt steals the show, and as a technical and methodical racer, Lauda is superior. In a way they come across as total opposites, yet at the end one does admire both, Lauda for his heroic comeback showing what a true competitor he is, and Hunt for his charisma and skill.

Rush is jam packed with interesting events. You do not need I think to know much about movie going in, just allow it to rush over you.

I think most people will enjoy it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, really captured the true story, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush (2013) (Amazon Instant Video)
Fantastically filmed and directed. The relationships between the two were well portrayed and in a very true and realistic manner. The film had me on the edge of my seat. A very true, entertaining, provocative and thought provoking film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film, didn't realise how much rivalry existed between these two drivers, and just how strong and determined Nikki lauda was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GReat watch!, 9 April 2014
By 
M. Hailey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush (2013) (Amazon Instant Video)
The time past rapidly. Great humor and racing feel. A great sense of how risky racing back then was. Cracking film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing film, 8 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Rush (DVD)
Excellent film! The lead characters are fab, really really good. I just don't understand why can't we review love film titles in the old way, when clicking on the stars was enough and writing an actual review was optional. I am not liking the way LoveFilm is anymore. Rant over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a F1 fan you will love this film!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush (2013) (Amazon Instant Video)
Very well put together and very high octane. I would highly recommend this film if you are into F1! Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and moving, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush (2013) (Amazon Instant Video)
Full of tension and thrills. You don't have to be a Formula One fan to enjoy this tale. Gives a real insight into the dangers and excitement of racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, even for those with no interest in cars, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush (2013) (Amazon Instant Video)
Great film, brilliantly put together. Works just as well for those with no interest in cars or racing. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a rush, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As an F1 fan this is an awesome film and what makes it so great is it's based on fact! The actors are a perfect match for their real life counterparts! A must see film, stop reading this and get it into your basket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7e7f48c)

This product

Rush [Blu-ray]
Rush [Blu-ray] by Ron Howard (Blu-ray - 2014)
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews