Customer Reviews


490 Reviews
5 star:
 (377)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vroom Vroom. Theatrical release review
The rivalry between James Hunt and Nikki Lauda though of comparatively short duration, was nevertheless one of the greatest rivalries in sporting history. The stakes were huge: life, death, the world championship.

Even though I did not follow Formula 1 racing then or ever, I clearly remember when this rivalry went global with badly burned reigning Formula One...
Published 8 months ago by L. Power

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rush
Fascinating insight into the lives of the guys who race around the track at breakneck speed. Two completely different characters in competition with each other on the track, with a deep respect - even friendship - off of it. Turn up the sound high, sit back and enjoy the roar !
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Mark Plant


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vroom Vroom. Theatrical release review, 6 Nov 2013
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The rivalry between James Hunt and Nikki Lauda though of comparatively short duration, was nevertheless one of the greatest rivalries in sporting history. The stakes were huge: life, death, the world championship.

Even though I did not follow Formula 1 racing then or ever, I clearly remember when this rivalry went global with badly burned reigning Formula One world champion Nikki Lauda being pulled out of a burning car at a grand prix, by other drivers. Almost dead from his injuries, it looked like his season if not his career was over.

I also clearly remember watching the charismatic James Hunt being interviewed about the subject. Considerably behind Lauda on points in the world championship, his act of getting out of the car to help rescue Lauda could have potentially ruined his own ambitions to become world champion. Truly, this is one of the most remarkable sporting rivalries of all time.

So, it was with more than a little anticipation that I looked forward to watching Ron Howard's take on these events done with the cooperation of Nikki Lauda. James Hunt sadly died of a heart attack in 1993 at age 45.

If you are like me, you do not have to be a big racing fan to enjoy this. Everyone understands we live in a world of rivalry and competition, and Ron Howard does an admirable job in this movie in crafting one of the most memorable movies of the year.

While I was one of the few people not very impressed with the movie Thor, there is no doubt in watching this movie that Chris Hemsworth does an awesome job as James Hunt, easily matching the charisma of the great character, who was both a charmer and a legendary womanizer, and that Hemsworth is a great star. I consider this to be his best role to date.

The title Rush is quite appropriate as you may experience a certain rush of adrenaline in watching the movie.

I think the movie in a way balances perfectly, because if you are like me, as you watch, clearly as a social guy Hunt steals the show, and as a technical and methodical racer, Lauda is superior. In a way they come across as total opposites, yet at the end one does admire both, Lauda for his heroic comeback showing what a true competitor he is, and Hunt for his charisma and skill.

Rush is jam packed with interesting events. You do not need I think to know much about movie going in, just allow it to rush over you.

I think most people will enjoy it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Limited Edition Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook Review!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
To any F1 fan that didn't get the chance to watch this great motion spectacular at the cinema i honestly feel sorry for you. You will never realise the true "blow away" nature of this film on the big screen aided by full surround sound audio. As a huge F1 fan i was lucky enough to take my girlfriend to see the film on release day, now she isn't the biggest F1 fan but even she liked the gripping nature of wheel to wheel action and realistic historical accuracy that director Ron Howard has attained, mainly due to the input that many people had given that were around at the time such as Nikki Lauda for example.

I have to compliment the two main actors who portrayed Lauda (Daniel Brühl) and James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth), not only do they resemble the two they are taking off remarkably well but they evidently did a lot of research regarding both of these two greats as you could easily mistake them both for the real thing. Hemsworth's portrayal of Hunt as a playboy who wants fame and Brühl's of Lauda as a man who almost has a machine like mentality to racing could not be better acted. The script is thoroughly enjoyable and has a good blend of racing, relationships, sex and fright although the main rivalry between the two drivers has been exaggerated beyond what it was in reality but that's to be expected to give the film a more gripping story. For those that need a little more background the film is based around the 1976 F1 Season but naturally does have some background based on what happened before and then after that period.

As for this specific product, You get a very nice Steel case matching the whole RUSH theme and inside you have the Blu-ray disk and also a copy of the film on DVD which means you'll still be able to watch it pretty much wherever you go. Part of the Limited Edition means you also get Deleted scenes and also behind the scenes and how the film was made.

Don't get me wrong you'll always find little things that have been put into a film that shouldn't be there, certainly as an avid F1 fan i prefer accuracy over many other things, but this is a film BASED on what happened and therefore not a total recreation of what happened yet the alterations they have made aren't enough to spoil it, indeed as a showcase of how things were back then this is fantastic, mostly accurate and gripping but I don't need to tell you that do I? You went to see it for yourself and left the cinema with the same conclusion.

VERDICT: It's a great film, if anything long overdue and the steel-book Limited edition makes it extra special for any F1 fan. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

P.S. Be aware that Amazon has lumped all the reviews of the DVD, Blu-ray and Steelbook Limited Edition together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best racing film ever., 30 Mar 2014
By 
AwesomeAuck "Cob" (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
The great story of the battle between James Hunt and Nikki Lauda in the 1976 Formula 1 World Championship. Brilliant adaptation or the events that lead to Lauda's horrific accident and Hunts tremendous winning title. Amazing film from Ron Howard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old School Adrenaline, 29 Mar 2014
This review is from: Rush (DVD)
Great true story, well filmed and acted, particularly engaging as it all looks and sounds as genuine as the 70s really was back then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is truly memorable, the choice of actors spot on and the attention to detail impeccable. One of the few films I will see again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film. Loved it! A must see for all F1 fans.A true reflection of life in 1970s racing. Ron Howard is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite top drawer, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed it, but just something lacking somewhere? Hunt may have been a playboy, but somehow this portrayal is just a tad light. Don't get me wrong, it's thoroughly enjoyable, I'm very glad I bought it and would totally recommend it, just not quite the very top drawer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I accept every time I get in my car there is a 20% chance I could die, and I can live with it, but not 1% more.", 19 Mar 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Nikki Lauder-James Hunt feud during the 1976 Grand Prix Formula One season is one of the greatest stories in motor racing history with everything you could wish for to make a perfect movie - two strong, remarkable larger than life characters, a horrendous near fatal crash and an against all odds recovery and comeback only six weeks later, driven by a rivalry that comes down to the very last point in the very last minutes of the very last race of the season - and Rush doesn't disappoint. It's the perfect mixture of the perfect script perfectly cast, with look-alikes Chris Hemsworth and Daniel Bruhl embodying the real people they play with a keen eye for their verbal and physical idiosyncrasies in remarkably convincing performances - Bruhl in particular has Lauda's uniquely staccato machine-like vocal delivery down pat - but manage to avoid mere surface mimicry to flesh them out as real people. It's to the film's credit that when the final monologue mixes footage of the actors with their real-life counterparts there's no jarring sense of being taken out of the movie.

Peter Morgan's screenplay is exceptional, conveying character and information with impressive economy, explaining both what fuelled their rivalry and how it drove them to excel, only really spelling things out in the final scene between the two drivers and even then making what could have been a maudlin sentimental wrap-up seem believable. It doesn't paper over their flaws either. Hunt's reaction to his friend's racing team going under is anger that he's lost his ride rather than concern the man might lose his home, yet despite his acknowledged self-centredness he remains the kind of person who could crap in your hat and you'd still buy him a drink, while Lauda's ruthless business sense and emotional remoteness is very much to the fore yet never allowed to alienate you. Both men are defined as much by what they lack as where they excel: while Lauda's understanding of cars is so great that he tells his mechanics what to do to improve the car, Hunt is left outside in the rain at the mercy of their imagination, but Lauda lacks Hunt's ability to seize the moment on and off the track because his analytical mind is always racing ahead and weighing the potential risks and rewards - so much so that when two fans give him a lift, he drives like an old man because there's no reward to outweigh the risk until the possibility of impressing an attractive woman presents itself.

There are a few surprising omissions that seem like naturals for a movie, like Hunt's infamous attack of nerves before every race that would see him unable to stop himself from kicking the inside of the car or the previously all-too-cool Lauda's own sudden attack of nerves in his first race after his crash that saw him unable to start for 30 seconds, but overall this is a film that constantly delivers more than you expect with old-fashioned craftsmanship at its best. Despite a surprisingly modest budget, the film does a particularly good job of recreating the look and feel of the sport in the 70s without letting the period detail overpower the story, catching the movie star glamour on the fringes of the racing scene at the time. Indeed, Lauda meets his future wife walking out on a party held by an (offscreen) Curd Jurgens while Hunt loses his wife to an equally offscreen Richard Burton. The mixing of stock footage, some reconstruction and CGi is handled imaginatively enough to look like a stylistic choice rather than a budgetary one and Ron Howard even gets creditable and refreshingly natural performances out of supporting players who have been blocks of wood in the past. A remarkably satisfying film that still manages to thrill even if you know how it ends, it's the best film of the year for me so far by miles.

StudioCanal's UK Blu-ray offers a fine 2.40:1 widescreen transfer and a decent selection of extras - 10 deleted scenes and featurettes Race for the Chequered Flag - The Making of Rush and The Real Story of Rush - though the limited edition version available from Sainsbury's included a separate DVD with interviews with Ron Howard, Niki Lauda, Chris Hemsworth, Daniel Brühl, Olivia Wilde and Alexandra Maria Lara, and numerous brief internet featurettes (World Premiere, Ron's Tweet, Filming in the Rain, Driving an F1 Car, A Look Inside, The Sexy 70s and Nürburgring) and the theatrical trailer. But this is one package where the film itself is definitely the main attraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Film, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. N. Mcdermott (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rush (DVD)
I am not a racing fan and can just about remember James Hunt but this not stop me from enjoying this film. It was well acted and interesting and the relationship between Hunt and Lauda was fascinating. A tribute to James Hunt and an insight into the edering character of Niki Lauda. Ron Howard is good, very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a must watch for eney f1 fan and it's very existing and very very interesting as well. Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rush [Blu-ray]
Rush [Blu-ray] by Ron Howard (Blu-ray - 2014)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews