Customer Reviews


782 Reviews
5 star:
 (599)
4 star:
 (124)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I accept every time I get in my car there is a 20% chance I could die, and I can live with it, but not 1% more."
The Nikki Lauder-James Hunt feud during the 1976 Grand Prix Formula One season is one of the greatest stories in motor racing history with everything you could wish for to make a perfect movie - two strong, remarkable larger than life characters, a horrendous near fatal crash and an against all odds recovery and comeback only six weeks later, driven by a rivalry that...
Published 10 months ago by Trevor Willsmer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rush
Fascinating insight into the lives of the guys who race around the track at breakneck speed. Two completely different characters in competition with each other on the track, with a deep respect - even friendship - off of it. Turn up the sound high, sit back and enjoy the roar !
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I accept every time I get in my car there is a 20% chance I could die, and I can live with it, but not 1% more.", 19 Mar. 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Nikki Lauder-James Hunt feud during the 1976 Grand Prix Formula One season is one of the greatest stories in motor racing history with everything you could wish for to make a perfect movie - two strong, remarkable larger than life characters, a horrendous near fatal crash and an against all odds recovery and comeback only six weeks later, driven by a rivalry that comes down to the very last point in the very last minutes of the very last race of the season - and Rush doesn't disappoint. It's the perfect mixture of the perfect script perfectly cast, with look-alikes Chris Hemsworth and Daniel Bruhl embodying the real people they play with a keen eye for their verbal and physical idiosyncrasies in remarkably convincing performances - Bruhl in particular has Lauda's uniquely staccato machine-like vocal delivery down pat - but manage to avoid mere surface mimicry to flesh them out as real people. It's to the film's credit that when the final monologue mixes footage of the actors with their real-life counterparts there's no jarring sense of being taken out of the movie.

Peter Morgan's screenplay is exceptional, conveying character and information with impressive economy, explaining both what fuelled their rivalry and how it drove them to excel, only really spelling things out in the final scene between the two drivers and even then making what could have been a maudlin sentimental wrap-up seem believable. It doesn't paper over their flaws either. Hunt's reaction to his friend's racing team going under is anger that he's lost his ride rather than concern the man might lose his home, yet despite his acknowledged self-centredness he remains the kind of person who could crap in your hat and you'd still buy him a drink, while Lauda's ruthless business sense and emotional remoteness is very much to the fore yet never allowed to alienate you. Both men are defined as much by what they lack as where they excel: while Lauda's understanding of cars is so great that he tells his mechanics what to do to improve the car, Hunt is left outside in the rain at the mercy of their imagination, but Lauda lacks Hunt's ability to seize the moment on and off the track because his analytical mind is always racing ahead and weighing the potential risks and rewards - so much so that when two fans give him a lift, he drives like an old man because there's no reward to outweigh the risk until the possibility of impressing an attractive woman presents itself.

There are a few surprising omissions that seem like naturals for a movie, like Hunt's infamous attack of nerves before every race that would see him unable to stop himself from kicking the inside of the car or the previously all-too-cool Lauda's own sudden attack of nerves in his first race after his crash that saw him unable to start for 30 seconds, but overall this is a film that constantly delivers more than you expect with old-fashioned craftsmanship at its best. Despite a surprisingly modest budget, the film does a particularly good job of recreating the look and feel of the sport in the 70s without letting the period detail overpower the story, catching the movie star glamour on the fringes of the racing scene at the time. Indeed, Lauda meets his future wife walking out on a party held by an (offscreen) Curd Jurgens while Hunt loses his wife to an equally offscreen Richard Burton. The mixing of stock footage, some reconstruction and CGi is handled imaginatively enough to look like a stylistic choice rather than a budgetary one and Ron Howard even gets creditable and refreshingly natural performances out of supporting players who have been blocks of wood in the past. A remarkably satisfying film that still manages to thrill even if you know how it ends, it's the best film of the year for me so far by miles.

StudioCanal's UK Blu-ray offers a fine 2.40:1 widescreen transfer and a decent selection of extras - 10 deleted scenes and featurettes Race for the Chequered Flag - The Making of Rush and The Real Story of Rush - though the limited edition version available from Sainsbury's included a separate DVD with interviews with Ron Howard, Niki Lauda, Chris Hemsworth, Daniel Brühl, Olivia Wilde and Alexandra Maria Lara, and numerous brief internet featurettes (World Premiere, Ron's Tweet, Filming in the Rain, Driving an F1 Car, A Look Inside, The Sexy 70s and Nürburgring) and the theatrical trailer. But this is one package where the film itself is definitely the main attraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine dramatisation, 26 Dec. 2014
By 
Mark Dyer (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A fine film; F1 fans who remember those days should be entertained by the high level of accuracy and the excellent portrayals by Messrs Hemsworth and Bruhl. Non petrol heads will find the drama, rivalry and mutual respect a good story that is not necessarily about motor racing. The "description" above from Amazon is completely over-hyped and does not represent the film at all well.

There will always be anoraks who object to some detail or another but this is after all a dramatisation and not a documentary; it conveys well the atmosphere at race tracks in the 70s, a time when the garages did not look like operating theatres as they do now and a time when there was precious little fencing and other protection for spectators but mainly, of course, there were almost no devices within the cars or around the track to protect the drivers.

I particularly liked the use of Gimme Some Lovin' over the first racing scenes, inviting comparison and contrast with Days of Thunder and highlighting the smaller, undulating, track where one has to turn right sometimes and not just go round and round an oval. There were other nice touches hidden in the script, the use of Lord Hesketh's reason to step up from F2 to F1 being a good example.

I too would have preferred less CGI but I can't see any other way of reproducing those shots on a finite budget.

Overall, not quite as good as Senna but good entertainment for a wider range of viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended., 3 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Considering the director Ron Howard (a genius in his field) had barely heard about F1 prior to making this movie, he manages to capture the thrilling pace and excitement of Race day, plus the risks these men took in the more dangerous hey day of the sport. The two lead characters are stunning in their portrayal of Hunt and Lauda. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vroom Vroom. Theatrical release review, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The rivalry between James Hunt and Nikki Lauda though of comparatively short duration, was nevertheless one of the greatest rivalries in sporting history. The stakes were huge: life, death, the world championship.

Even though I did not follow Formula 1 racing then or ever, I clearly remember when this rivalry went global with badly burned reigning Formula One world champion Nikki Lauda being pulled out of a burning car at a grand prix, by other drivers. Almost dead from his injuries, it looked like his season if not his career was over.

I also clearly remember watching the charismatic James Hunt being interviewed about the subject. Considerably behind Lauda on points in the world championship, his act of getting out of the car to help rescue Lauda could have potentially ruined his own ambitions to become world champion. Truly, this is one of the most remarkable sporting rivalries of all time.

So, it was with more than a little anticipation that I looked forward to watching Ron Howard's take on these events done with the cooperation of Nikki Lauda. James Hunt sadly died of a heart attack in 1993 at age 45.

If you are like me, you do not have to be a big racing fan to enjoy this. Everyone understands we live in a world of rivalry and competition, and Ron Howard does an admirable job in this movie in crafting one of the most memorable movies of the year.

While I was one of the few people not very impressed with the movie Thor, there is no doubt in watching this movie that Chris Hemsworth does an awesome job as James Hunt, easily matching the charisma of the great character, who was both a charmer and a legendary womanizer, and that Hemsworth is a great star. I consider this to be his best role to date.

The title Rush is quite appropriate as you may experience a certain rush of adrenaline in watching the movie.

I think the movie in a way balances perfectly, because if you are like me, as you watch, clearly as a social guy Hunt steals the show, and as a technical and methodical racer, Lauda is superior. In a way they come across as total opposites, yet at the end one does admire both, Lauda for his heroic comeback showing what a true competitor he is, and Hunt for his charisma and skill.

Rush is jam packed with interesting events. You do not need I think to know much about movie going in, just allow it to rush over you.

I think most people will enjoy it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE BE IN A RUSH TO WATCH THIS FILM, 17 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Loved this film, the great thing is I hate Formula one and any kind of car, bike, go carts, bmx any thing on four three two wheels, but this film is just more than a film about cars, it follows two drivers who will do anything to become number one in there sport, I love the way this film shows how dedicated they are to the sport they love, the cars in them days were fast but health an safety was not a issue with many drivers being killed or injured. Chris Hemsworth(thor) is brilliant if not his best film to date with his portrayal of the late James Hunt, Daniel Bruhl(The fifth estate) was Oscar winning for me with his brilliant portrayal of Niki Lauda, for me what I felt about Niki Lauda, he was a true genius and one of the best drivers the world has ever seen. Wonderful film if you love racing sports or not, a truly great film.

The best part of the film was for me was when one of the press was being horrible and disrespectful to lauda and he really thought that hunt would be on his side, but no hunt kicked the crap out of him, that for me shown how much respect they had for each other this is what I love about this film, you can be a idiot in life but when it comes to sport there is nothing but respect, that is why this film is truly amazing.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Deleted Scenes
The Real Story of Rush
Race for the Chequered Flag: The Making of Rush
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really, very very good and most authentic, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
I have been following Formula 1 since the early seventies and I was very much aware of this piece of history as it happened. Then a couple of years ago, I saw the BBC documentary made about the battle between Lauda and Hunt, so when this film came out I couldn't wait to see it. Well the wait was worth every minute and the film is about as authentic as any film could be, with superb action and filming. I was only sorry that the director, or producers, decided to omit much of the skulduggery that Scuderia-Ferrari carried out during that season to try and stop the late great James Hunt from winning the championships, therefore painting a playing field that was much more level than I remembered, or the BBC documentary showed. Maybe there were legal reasons for this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rush, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Fascinating insight into the lives of the guys who race around the track at breakneck speed. Two completely different characters in competition with each other on the track, with a deep respect - even friendship - off of it. Turn up the sound high, sit back and enjoy the roar !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Limited Edition Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook Review!, 25 Jan. 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
To any F1 fan that didn't get the chance to watch this great motion spectacular at the cinema i honestly feel sorry for you. You will never realise the true "blow away" nature of this film on the big screen aided by full surround sound audio. As a huge F1 fan i was lucky enough to take my girlfriend to see the film on release day, now she isn't the biggest F1 fan but even she liked the gripping nature of wheel to wheel action and realistic historical accuracy that director Ron Howard has attained, mainly due to the input that many people had given that were around at the time such as Nikki Lauda for example.

I have to compliment the two main actors who portrayed Lauda (Daniel Brühl) and James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth), not only do they resemble the two they are taking off remarkably well but they evidently did a lot of research regarding both of these two greats as you could easily mistake them both for the real thing. Hemsworth's portrayal of Hunt as a playboy who wants fame and Brühl's of Lauda as a man who almost has a machine like mentality to racing could not be better acted. The script is thoroughly enjoyable and has a good blend of racing, relationships, sex and fright although the main rivalry between the two drivers has been exaggerated beyond what it was in reality but that's to be expected to give the film a more gripping story. For those that need a little more background the film is based around the 1976 F1 Season but naturally does have some background based on what happened before and then after that period.

As for this specific product, You get a very nice Steel case matching the whole RUSH theme and inside you have the Blu-ray disk and also a copy of the film on DVD which means you'll still be able to watch it pretty much wherever you go. Part of the Limited Edition means you also get Deleted scenes and also behind the scenes and how the film was made.

Don't get me wrong you'll always find little things that have been put into a film that shouldn't be there, certainly as an avid F1 fan i prefer accuracy over many other things, but this is a film BASED on what happened and therefore not a total recreation of what happened yet the alterations they have made aren't enough to spoil it, indeed as a showcase of how things were back then this is fantastic, mostly accurate and gripping but I don't need to tell you that do I? You went to see it for yourself and left the cinema with the same conclusion.

VERDICT: It's a great film, if anything long overdue and the steel-book Limited edition makes it extra special for any F1 fan. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

P.S. Be aware that Amazon has lumped all the reviews of the DVD, Blu-ray and Steelbook Limited Edition together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There were other great drivers competing in1976 yet this film would have you ..., 2 Nov. 2014
By 
I. Oxley "IanO" (Eastern Counties, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I hoped it wouldn't fall into the trap so many other racing movies did of over the top crash CGI but it does. There were other great drivers competing in1976 yet this film would have you believe James Hunt and Niki Lauda were the only two supreme talents out there. Also, even though it's about James Hunt, the nudity seems unnecessary and it could have otherwise been close to a family film even with the slight use of swearing. It's well shot other than some dismal CGI during the Fuji race scenes. The blu-ray is fantastic to show off if you have a home cinema. Not in front of your mum though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is based on a true story of two F1 racers, both in it to win it, and both for different reasons. Both characters are interesting in their own way and it's interesting to see which one people root for because both are good. This film is fast-paced and exciting; it makes you feel all kind of emotions throughout the film.
The Blu-ray had some good special features including behind the scenes. The picture and sound quality was good.
I'd recommend this to anyone (15 or over); it's not just a racing film, there's so much more to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rush [DVD]
Rush [DVD] by Ron Howard (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews