Customer Reviews


632 Reviews
5 star:
 (482)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I almost threw up watching this...
As a Formula 1 enthusiast, I have watched many F1 documentaries and films over the years, including Senna, and have researched the 70s and 80s era to much depth.

This film has plenty of subtle nods to that era (cars, tracks, engineering etc.) and is very faithful to the period of racing, portraying death in a genuine, scary way which is hard to accomplish...
Published 29 days ago by Nickesh

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but less gripping than documentaries on the same events
1976. Two racing drivers are competing for the Formula One World Championship. Racing for Ferrari is Niki Lauda, a studious, restrained, methodical and logical driver. Racing for McLaren is James Hunt, a flamboyant British playboy who prefers partying to doing homework about downforce and aerodynamics. Their radically different styles of driving are put to the test in a...
Published 7 months ago by A. Whitehead


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I almost threw up watching this..., 24 Sep 2014
This review is from: Rush (2013) (Amazon Instant Video)
As a Formula 1 enthusiast, I have watched many F1 documentaries and films over the years, including Senna, and have researched the 70s and 80s era to much depth.

This film has plenty of subtle nods to that era (cars, tracks, engineering etc.) and is very faithful to the period of racing, portraying death in a genuine, scary way which is hard to accomplish.

Niki's famous crash is depicted in grotesque imagery, being the only film I almost vomited while watching. As someone who is usually in control of my emotions, this is very high praise indeed. The subject matter is very close to home as well, as my father has worked in Formula 1 for the past 10 years and is something I wish to enter at some point.

Genuinely one of the best film/documentaries I have ever watched. There is tremendous respect for the subject matter here, and has echoes of Stanley Kubrick-esque dedication and accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vroom Vroom. Theatrical release review, 6 Nov 2013
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The rivalry between James Hunt and Nikki Lauda though of comparatively short duration, was nevertheless one of the greatest rivalries in sporting history. The stakes were huge: life, death, the world championship.

Even though I did not follow Formula 1 racing then or ever, I clearly remember when this rivalry went global with badly burned reigning Formula One world champion Nikki Lauda being pulled out of a burning car at a grand prix, by other drivers. Almost dead from his injuries, it looked like his season if not his career was over.

I also clearly remember watching the charismatic James Hunt being interviewed about the subject. Considerably behind Lauda on points in the world championship, his act of getting out of the car to help rescue Lauda could have potentially ruined his own ambitions to become world champion. Truly, this is one of the most remarkable sporting rivalries of all time.

So, it was with more than a little anticipation that I looked forward to watching Ron Howard's take on these events done with the cooperation of Nikki Lauda. James Hunt sadly died of a heart attack in 1993 at age 45.

If you are like me, you do not have to be a big racing fan to enjoy this. Everyone understands we live in a world of rivalry and competition, and Ron Howard does an admirable job in this movie in crafting one of the most memorable movies of the year.

While I was one of the few people not very impressed with the movie Thor, there is no doubt in watching this movie that Chris Hemsworth does an awesome job as James Hunt, easily matching the charisma of the great character, who was both a charmer and a legendary womanizer, and that Hemsworth is a great star. I consider this to be his best role to date.

The title Rush is quite appropriate as you may experience a certain rush of adrenaline in watching the movie.

I think the movie in a way balances perfectly, because if you are like me, as you watch, clearly as a social guy Hunt steals the show, and as a technical and methodical racer, Lauda is superior. In a way they come across as total opposites, yet at the end one does admire both, Lauda for his heroic comeback showing what a true competitor he is, and Hunt for his charisma and skill.

Rush is jam packed with interesting events. You do not need I think to know much about movie going in, just allow it to rush over you.

I think most people will enjoy it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but less gripping than documentaries on the same events, 1 Mar 2014
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
1976. Two racing drivers are competing for the Formula One World Championship. Racing for Ferrari is Niki Lauda, a studious, restrained, methodical and logical driver. Racing for McLaren is James Hunt, a flamboyant British playboy who prefers partying to doing homework about downforce and aerodynamics. Their radically different styles of driving are put to the test in a season-long showdown that will leave one of them physically scarred for life.

Rush is the movie dramatisation of the events of the 1976 Formula One championship season. This season is infamous for its nailbiting, year-long battle between Hunt and Lauda. The showdown is often cited as being the transformative moment for F1's popular appeal, turning it from a niche sport into a global phenomenon as a result of the sale of TV rights for the whole season, allowing motor sports fans across the world to see every race rather than odd highlights.

It's also noted for another shocking event: at one of the races Lauda's Ferrari spun out and burst into flames. It took a minute for Lauda to be pulled from the car, during which he suffered burns to his entire body. He was rushed to hospital and was not expected to survive, even being given the Last Rites by a priest. Unbelievably, Lauda survived and recovered. Even more unbelievably, he was back in the racing seat just six weeks after the accident, determined to take the championship to the last race, which he did.

If director Ron Howard had made up this story, people would be howling to the rafters about its contrived nature. However, the fact that it is true adds an air of authenticity to the drama which really helps sell the tension.

As well as its story and tension, Rush also does very well with its actors. Chris Hemsworth and Daniel Bruhl play Hunt and Lauda to perfection, with Bruhl in particular going to some lengths to nail Lauda's very precise and distinctive way of speaking, familiar to hundreds of millions of people around the world from almost forty years of working in F1 (as a driver and more recently as a team executive for Mercedes). Other actors tend to fade a little in less-prominent appearances, but Alexandra Maria Lara brings dignity to the role of Lauda's wife, Marlene, and Natalie Dormer has a small but memorable role as a nurse treating Hunt for a crash injury early on in the movie.

Where the film falters is its treatment of the races. Millions of people watch F1 every year all around the world and faking the races with CGI was never going to work (you can tell straight away). Indeed, the few scenes where CGI is clearly used are distracting. At the same time, Howard was never going to get a budget large enough to accurately rebuild 20+ 1976 F1 racing cars and race them at the real circuits, where they have survived (in fact, the $38 million budget is rather small for such a film). The result is a compromise: several real cars are built and raced around, enhanced with CG where necessary, with the distracting use of full-CGI scenes and backgrounds kept to a minimum. This all works reasonably well, but it means that the actual racing is kept to a minimum, with the focus on the drama.

This is where the film comes unstuck. Howard establishes early on that Hunt is the playboy who lives on the seat of his pants and loves partying and women, whilst Lauda is the serious technician who knows the engineering of F1 cars better than several of his dedicated engineers. And that's really it, neither of them change or evolve through the film. Hunts gets married because he thinks it's good for his image and this doesn't work out, which we could guess. Lauda is arrogant and opinionated and is sometimes proven wrong, teaching him occasional moments of humility which never seem to last. A frequent problem of adapting real events into stories is that real life is too disorganised and people too varied to fit into the boxes required by drama, and in this case there isn't enough meat to the story arcs to justify the amount of time that is spent on the non-racing segments.

As a result, Rush (***) feels a little bit lightweight. The racing scenes, where they actually exist, are good. The battle on track and the off-track battle of wills between the two drivers is well-handled, driven by excellent performances. But there isn't enough actual character development to justify the amount of time spent on the non-racing segments, and there isn't enough money or practical ability to focus on the racing segments more successfully than they do here. It all ends up being fun, but with a sense of also being underwhelming compared to some of the actual documentaries covering the events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Limited Edition Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook Review!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
To any F1 fan that didn't get the chance to watch this great motion spectacular at the cinema i honestly feel sorry for you. You will never realise the true "blow away" nature of this film on the big screen aided by full surround sound audio. As a huge F1 fan i was lucky enough to take my girlfriend to see the film on release day, now she isn't the biggest F1 fan but even she liked the gripping nature of wheel to wheel action and realistic historical accuracy that director Ron Howard has attained, mainly due to the input that many people had given that were around at the time such as Nikki Lauda for example.

I have to compliment the two main actors who portrayed Lauda (Daniel Brühl) and James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth), not only do they resemble the two they are taking off remarkably well but they evidently did a lot of research regarding both of these two greats as you could easily mistake them both for the real thing. Hemsworth's portrayal of Hunt as a playboy who wants fame and Brühl's of Lauda as a man who almost has a machine like mentality to racing could not be better acted. The script is thoroughly enjoyable and has a good blend of racing, relationships, sex and fright although the main rivalry between the two drivers has been exaggerated beyond what it was in reality but that's to be expected to give the film a more gripping story. For those that need a little more background the film is based around the 1976 F1 Season but naturally does have some background based on what happened before and then after that period.

As for this specific product, You get a very nice Steel case matching the whole RUSH theme and inside you have the Blu-ray disk and also a copy of the film on DVD which means you'll still be able to watch it pretty much wherever you go. Part of the Limited Edition means you also get Deleted scenes and also behind the scenes and how the film was made.

Don't get me wrong you'll always find little things that have been put into a film that shouldn't be there, certainly as an avid F1 fan i prefer accuracy over many other things, but this is a film BASED on what happened and therefore not a total recreation of what happened yet the alterations they have made aren't enough to spoil it, indeed as a showcase of how things were back then this is fantastic, mostly accurate and gripping but I don't need to tell you that do I? You went to see it for yourself and left the cinema with the same conclusion.

VERDICT: It's a great film, if anything long overdue and the steel-book Limited edition makes it extra special for any F1 fan. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

P.S. Be aware that Amazon has lumped all the reviews of the DVD, Blu-ray and Steelbook Limited Edition together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is based on a true story of two F1 racers, both in it to win it, and both for different reasons. Both characters are interesting in their own way and it's interesting to see which one people root for because both are good. This film is fast-paced and exciting; it makes you feel all kind of emotions throughout the film.
The Blu-ray had some good special features including behind the scenes. The picture and sound quality was good.
I'd recommend this to anyone (15 or over); it's not just a racing film, there's so much more to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush out and get it!, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
I initially thought that the James Hunt role was over done - physique wise, as I remember the real James Hunt and he wasn't that build. I really enjoy the film and so does my wife - who has never been a racing fan. It has a great feel of society high life, racing energy and all the glamour surrounding it. The Nicki Lauda performance is excellent - I can't separate the real person from the actor! We have watched it three times to date - great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 27 Sep 2014
By 
Jac Knight (Bucks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rush (2013) (Amazon Instant Video)
Far exceeding my expectation. Not one boring moment - full of actions and yet emotionally engaging. Ron Howard the director has no doubt improves his story telling. Performances from both leading actors are impressive. This is the first movie I give 5 stars, except Breaking Bad which is not a movie. Please don't miss this movie even though you are not a fan of Formula one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended., 3 Oct 2014
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Considering the director Ron Howard (a genius in his field) had barely heard about F1 prior to making this movie, he manages to capture the thrilling pace and excitement of Race day, plus the risks these men took in the more dangerous hey day of the sport. The two lead characters are stunning in their portrayal of Hunt and Lauda. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a F1 fan but movie far exceeded my expectations., 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
I am not a Formula One racing fan by any means but I found this film far exceeded my expectations. In my view, it succeeds at all sort of levels, most especially in terms of its portrayal of contest between two very brave men of completely contrasting temperaments: Lauda the introverted and complete professional and Hunt the extroverted and highly talented playboy with an amateurish attitude. The two leads. particularly Hemsworth are both excellent in their respective roles making it easy to suspend disbelief throughout. An interesting, oftentimes exciting but, above all else, thought provoking film. Highly recommended.

Chris Allen is a Technical Author and writer with the following books available through Amazon:
The Beam of Interest: Taken by Storm
Hypnotic Tales 2013: Some Light Some Dark
Call of the Void: The Strange Life and Times of a Confused Person: 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining film, but not as good as the BBC documentary, 15 April 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: rush dvd Italian Import (DVD)
This is an entertaining film, but should be watched in conjunction with the BBC documentary shown on BBC4 – Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD]. This is the best motor-racing film I have seen, with regard to the filming of the racing sequences; the characters however are a bit 2-dimensional. The head of the McLaren racing team in the BBC documentary tells us that Lauda and Hunt were quite friendly, and that Lauda used to spend time in their garage, as he spoke fluent English but couldn’t talk to the Ferrari engineers in Italian. The film makes the two out to be enemies, when in fact they appear to have been friendly rivals – a subtlety the film chose not to show. The incident in the film involving Hunt and the journalist, whether true or not, does feel like something that the friendlier Hunt would have done. The BBC programme also manages to make the Japanese GP much more dramatic than the Hollywood film! And the British GP also has much more excitement than the film managed to portray. Chris Hemsworth manages to capture the public schoolboy arrogance of Hunt very well, something that comes over in the BBC film also. To me, the hero of the film appears to be Niki Lauder, intentionally or not; there is the famous quote on the English Civil War, that “the Royalists were romantic but wrong, the Parliamentarians repulsive but right”. Lauda’s professional approach to motor racing was the future of F1; Hunt was just a public schoolboy who was just a gifted amateur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 264 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rush [DVD]
Rush [DVD] by Ron Howard (DVD - 2014)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews