Customer Reviews


338 Reviews
5 star:
 (257)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Limited Edition Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook Review!
To any F1 fan that didn't get the chance to watch this great motion spectacular at the cinema i honestly feel sorry for you. You will never realise the true "blow away" nature of this film on the big screen aided by full surround sound audio. As a huge F1 fan i was lucky enough to take my girlfriend to see the film on release day, now she isn't the biggest F1 fan but even...
Published 2 months ago by MrE

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting history
An interesting history lesson on the rivalry between James and Nikki, and a very scary reminder of how unsafe and 'mad' those formula one gouys were in the early days. I really enjoyed the human side.
Published 14 days ago by Nikki


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Limited Edition Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook Review!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
To any F1 fan that didn't get the chance to watch this great motion spectacular at the cinema i honestly feel sorry for you. You will never realise the true "blow away" nature of this film on the big screen aided by full surround sound audio. As a huge F1 fan i was lucky enough to take my girlfriend to see the film on release day, now she isn't the biggest F1 fan but even she liked the gripping nature of wheel to wheel action and realistic historical accuracy that director Ron Howard has attained, mainly due to the input that many people had given that were around at the time such as Nikki Lauda for example.

I have to compliment the two main actors who portrayed Lauda (Daniel Brühl) and James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth), not only do they resemble the two they are taking off remarkably well but they evidently did a lot of research regarding both of these two greats as you could easily mistake them both for the real thing. Hemsworth's portrayal of Hunt as a playboy who wants fame and Brühl's of Lauda as a man who almost has a machine like mentality to racing could not be better acted. The script is thoroughly enjoyable and has a good blend of racing, relationships, sex and fright although the main rivalry between the two drivers has been exaggerated beyond what it was in reality but that's to be expected to give the film a more gripping story. For those that need a little more background the film is based around the 1976 F1 Season but naturally does have some background based on what happened before and then after that period.

As for this specific product, You get a very nice Steel case matching the whole RUSH theme and inside you have the Blu-ray disk and also a copy of the film on DVD which means you'll still be able to watch it pretty much wherever you go. Part of the Limited Edition means you also get Deleted scenes and also behind the scenes and how the film was made.

Don't get me wrong you'll always find little things that have been put into a film that shouldn't be there, certainly as an avid F1 fan i prefer accuracy over many other things, but this is a film BASED on what happened and therefore not a total recreation of what happened yet the alterations they have made aren't enough to spoil it, indeed as a showcase of how things were back then this is fantastic, mostly accurate and gripping but I don't need to tell you that do I? You went to see it for yourself and left the cinema with the same conclusion.

VERDICT: It's a great film, if anything long overdue and the steel-book Limited edition makes it extra special for any F1 fan. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

P.S. Be aware that Amazon has lumped all the reviews of the DVD, Blu-ray and Steelbook Limited Edition together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vroom Vroom. Theatrical release review, 6 Nov 2013
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The rivalry between James Hunt and Nikki Lauda though of comparatively short duration, was nevertheless one of the greatest rivalries in sporting history. The stakes were huge: life, death, the world championship.

Even though I did not follow Formula 1 racing then or ever, I clearly remember when this rivalry went global with badly burned reigning Formula One world champion Nikki Lauda being pulled out of a burning car at a grand prix, by other drivers. Almost dead from his injuries, it looked like his season if not his career was over.

I also clearly remember watching the charismatic James Hunt being interviewed about the subject. Considerably behind Lauda on points in the world championship, his act of getting out of the car to help rescue Lauda could have potentially ruined his own ambitions to become world champion. Truly, this is one of the most remarkable sporting rivalries of all time.

So, it was with more than a little anticipation that I looked forward to watching Ron Howard's take on these events done with the cooperation of Nikki Lauda. James Hunt sadly died of a heart attack in 1993 at age 45.

If you are like me, you do not have to be a big racing fan to enjoy this. Everyone understands we live in a world of rivalry and competition, and Ron Howard does an admirable job in this movie in crafting one of the most memorable movies of the year.

While I was one of the few people not very impressed with the movie Thor, there is no doubt in watching this movie that Chris Hemsworth does an awesome job as James Hunt, easily matching the charisma of the great character, who was both a charmer and a legendary womanizer, and that Hemsworth is a great star. I consider this to be his best role to date.

The title Rush is quite appropriate as you may experience a certain rush of adrenaline in watching the movie.

I think the movie in a way balances perfectly, because if you are like me, as you watch, clearly as a social guy Hunt steals the show, and as a technical and methodical racer, Lauda is superior. In a way they come across as total opposites, yet at the end one does admire both, Lauda for his heroic comeback showing what a true competitor he is, and Hunt for his charisma and skill.

Rush is jam packed with interesting events. You do not need I think to know much about movie going in, just allow it to rush over you.

I think most people will enjoy it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Well, as a huge F1 fan this was a no brainer to go see at the cinema. But you don't have to be an F1 fan, the film is just that good as a standalone film and features great performances all-round and breathtaking scenes. It's definitely one I'll re-watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining film, but not as good as the BBC documentary, 15 April 2014
By 
Gareth Simon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
This is an entertaining film, but should be watched in conjunction with the BBC documentary shown on BBC4 – Hunt Vs Lauda: Grand Prix's Greatest Racing Rivals (BBC Official) [DVD]. This is the best motor-racing film I have seen, with regard to the filming of the racing sequences; the characters however are a bit 2-dimensional. The head of the McLaren racing team in the BBC documentary tells us that Lauda and Hunt were quite friendly, and that Lauda used to spend time in their garage, as he spoke fluent English but couldn’t talk to the Ferrari engineers in Italian. The film makes the two out to be enemies, when in fact they appear to have been friendly rivals – a subtlety the film chose not to show. The incident in the film involving Hunt and the journalist, whether true or not, does feel like something that the friendlier Hunt would have done. The BBC programme also manages to make the Japanese GP much more dramatic than the Hollywood film! And the British GP also has much more excitement than the film managed to portray. Chris Hemsworth manages to capture the public schoolboy arrogance of Hunt very well, something that comes over in the BBC film also. To me, the hero of the film appears to be Niki Lauder, intentionally or not; there is the famous quote on the English Civil War, that “the Royalists were romantic but wrong, the Parliamentarians repulsive but right”. Lauda’s professional approach to motor racing was the future of F1; Hunt was just a public schoolboy who was just a gifted amateur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for the boys, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film for my teenage sons and husband, but found that I really enjoyed it too. Really 70s and excellent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great F1movie don't miss it., 13 April 2014
By 
P. Selby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic movie recreates F1in the seventies, thought Nicki Lauda and James hunt were good pals throughout their years together. Thx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunt versus Lauda in Formula 1 in 1976., 13 April 2014
By 
Robin W Smith (Howick, KZN, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Very well dramatised - the duel for the World Championship between James Hunt and Niki Lauda in 1976. Seems true to the facts as I remember them. Motor racing was different then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 12 April 2014
This review is from: Rush (Blu-ray)
F1 films are not my usual type but this film has everything from track abuse/rivalry to personal tragedies. Cant recommend enough. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Omg amazing film. Love it. Always watching it tells the story really well. Old fashion f1 is back!!! Classic racing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie for all petrol heads.Really enjoyed the racing scenes. Filmed when the cars still made a load of noise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8e008c4)

This product

Rush [DVD]
Rush [DVD] by Ron Howard (DVD - 2014)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews