Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars512
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2014
One star each for Ryan and Jeff...only because I like both of them....and the other star, well...the plot and script did entertain me. Hubby fell asleep after 1hr, need I say more. Seriously ..rent this one online...no need to buy. No need to own it, watching it once was enough for me.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
This film is mindless fun. If that's what you're looking for you could do a lot worse. It's not going to change the world and it will never be considered intellectual but it's a good fun watch. I can understand why fans of the comic book might be disappointed but seriously folks, it's just a movie, unclench and enjoy.

The one negative point for me was Jeff Bridges voice/accent. It was so thick that I didn't have a clue what he was saying for the first twenty minutes but then I think my ears became attuned to it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Firstly for all the critics, you're right, the story in the film is not as good as the story in the book and looking at how much money they threw at this there is no real reason for deviating from the book. The book is about demons on the earthly plain and the film replaces them with 'deados', dead people who won't stay dead and as such are like caricature monsters, think Mr Hyde from 'Van Helsing'.
That said this is an entertaining romp following the adventures of a recently killed Boston detective who is enlisted in the R.I.P.D. and partnered with a Wyatt Earp like sheriff to deal with the deados and either capture them or send them back downstairs. It is very much like 'Men in Black' but lacks the lead characters great chemistry. Jeff Bridges is a little bit over the top as Roy the sheriff but he is entertaining enough and the film flows along at a good rate.
If you're looking for an enjoyable adventure then you won't be disappointed, just don't look for anything deeper from this movie.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 May 2014
There are plenty of reviews already, and yes, it's MiB mixed with Ghost with 24 with Ghostbusters, and no, it doesn't really know what it want s to be - but it's very enjoyable for all that. Don't try to take it seriously, best taken with alcohol.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 October 2013
While RIPD has its moments and is good fun and done tongue in cheek so no need to take it so seriously, it all feels naggingly fammiliar. Boston Cop Nick is killed in a drug bust gone wrong and finds himself in the RIPD department, where dead cops hunt dead people who have escaped punishment by hiding among the living. He is partnered with old lawman Roy and together they investigate a case that seems somehow linked to Nick's death. Ryan Reynolds is wooden as Nick while Jeff Bridges puts in a great scene stealing performance as Roy with solid support from Mary Louise Parker and Kevin Bacon and good action scenes and effects. Not the most original film you have ever seen despite the excellent premise everything all seems very fammiliar but worth watching just for Jeff Bridges no nonsense seen it all before grizzled lawman.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
... with hat tips to Beetlejuice, Dead Heat, The Matrix, Ghost, Heaven Can Wait, The Blues Brothers and umpteen others along the way.

R.I.P.D is the archetypal leave your brain at home movie, in which no-one gives a monkey's about the plot, which is carried along entirely by the outrageously OTT action and a few chuckles along the way. Jeff Bridges and Ryan Reynolds are decent enough as the odd couple law-men and Kevin Bacon does what he does best playing the boo-hiss baddie. The CGI is quite inventive, surround sound is used to good effect and the 3D is above average, including a few projection effects.

Overall, not a film I would want to watch again but, if you just go with the flow, it's a pleasant enough way to spend 96 minutes.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
It's just about ok.. if you don't leave your brain on whilst watching. The acting isn't good... the script isn't good... but...it is... somehow... watchable, and... kind of... 'entertaining'...rent ...do not buy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Not something I would of normally watched, as the storyline line was a little offbeat and unusual. All in all a very watchable and enjoyable movie. Would recommend to anyone who wants to watch something a little different and not to heavy going.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Love this film....The 3D aspect the depth and of course the tongue in cheek comedy all go to make this a very enjoyable experience.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 November 2015
R.I.P.D. Is a whole lot of fun, and I really enjoyed Jeff Bridges, his performance was brilliant. He plays a Law Man, who has now teamed up with Ryan Reynolds who both work together to hunt down and arrest the dead, well being that they are dead themselves with them working for the "Rest In Peace Department".

There are some great action scenes and a few laughs along the way, especially Jeff Bridges, who shows what a great actor he is.

What I loved about this film was the awesome special effects, plus the 3D was very good. All in all a fun film which needs to be seen in 3D.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse