Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining adventure
Firstly for all the critics, you're right, the story in the film is not as good as the story in the book and looking at how much money they threw at this there is no real reason for deviating from the book. The book is about demons on the earthly plain and the film replaces them with 'deados', dead people who won't stay dead and as such are like caricature monsters,...
Published 9 months ago by PJ Rankine

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad...but enjoyable...just!
One star each for Ryan and Jeff...only because I like both of them....and the other star, well...the plot and script did entertain me. Hubby fell asleep after 1hr, need I say more. Seriously ..rent this one online...no need to buy. No need to own it, watching it once was enough for me.
Published 5 months ago by Jane C


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining adventure, 4 Oct 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Firstly for all the critics, you're right, the story in the film is not as good as the story in the book and looking at how much money they threw at this there is no real reason for deviating from the book. The book is about demons on the earthly plain and the film replaces them with 'deados', dead people who won't stay dead and as such are like caricature monsters, think Mr Hyde from 'Van Helsing'.
That said this is an entertaining romp following the adventures of a recently killed Boston detective who is enlisted in the R.I.P.D. and partnered with a Wyatt Earp like sheriff to deal with the deados and either capture them or send them back downstairs. It is very much like 'Men in Black' but lacks the lead characters great chemistry. Jeff Bridges is a little bit over the top as Roy the sheriff but he is entertaining enough and the film flows along at a good rate.
If you're looking for an enjoyable adventure then you won't be disappointed, just don't look for anything deeper from this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad...but enjoyable...just!, 26 Jan 2014
One star each for Ryan and Jeff...only because I like both of them....and the other star, well...the plot and script did entertain me. Hubby fell asleep after 1hr, need I say more. Seriously ..rent this one online...no need to buy. No need to own it, watching it once was enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is mindless fun. If that's what you're looking for you could do a lot worse. It's not going to change the world and it will never be considered intellectual but it's a good fun watch. I can understand why fans of the comic book might be disappointed but seriously folks, it's just a movie, unclench and enjoy.

The one negative point for me was Jeff Bridges voice/accent. It was so thick that I didn't have a clue what he was saying for the first twenty minutes but then I think my ears became attuned to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Men in black meets beetlejuice vs Lethal weapon, 30 Aug 2013
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
***This review is for the film only***

Considering that this film has been one of, if not the biggest summer flop, I was expecting it to be really bad. But having watched it myself, I have to say that it's actually pretty darn good.

The film begins with a Boston cop named Nick Walker (Ryan Reynolds) having a dispute with his best friend and partner, Bobby Hayes (Kevin Bacon), about turning in some gold pieces which they found at a recent drug bust.
During an unexpected shoot out, Walker is shot and killed by his partner and is sucked up into the clouds and recruited by the R.I.P.D. (Rest In Peace Department). The R.I.P.D.s main function in the afterlife, is in catching souls who have refused to leave the land of the living, known as deado's. Nick is partnered with an old, gruff, U.S marshal from the wild west, Roy Pulsipher (Jeff Bridges). Together, they are sent back to earth under the guise of an alter ego avatar (I.E Roy looks like a supermodel, while poor Nick resembles an old, decrepid Chinese man) to rid the living world of the deado's and to foil their diabolical plans to take over the world.

R.I.P.D is pretty much Men in Black but with zombies/ghosts instead of aliens.

Sure it has a lot of scenes that we have all seen before, but it is also packed full of hilarious jokes and spectacular set pieces to keep the film from ever feeling stale.

The effects range from absolutely brilliant to weird and cartoonish but for the kind of film this is, they do work very well, this is a comic style comedy after all.

Jeff Bridges and Ryan Reynolds are a brilliantly funny team and Kevin Bacon is his usual sinister, yet supercool self. The supporting cast includes Mary Louise Parker as Roy's boss and on/off love interest, James Hong and model Marisa Miller as Roy and Nick's avatars and Devin Ratray (anyone remember Buzz from the Home Alone films?) as an overweight, ginger, Elvis lookalike, who works as one of the films main antagonists.

R.I.P.D is in no way an instant classic and it's unlikely to spawn any sequels due to it's disastrous box office showing ($62M so far on a budget of $130M BEFORE marketing costs) but I found it to be an hour and a half of harmless, amusing and at times exciting fun.

If you liked films such as Men in Black and Beetlejuice then you should be able to find something of value here.

Well worth a watch. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.I.P.D (Amazon Instant Video)
Not something I would of normally watched, as the storyline line was a little offbeat and unusual. All in all a very watchable and enjoyable movie. Would recommend to anyone who wants to watch something a little different and not to heavy going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just plain silly, 4 May 2014
By 
John R. Wade "john24526" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There are plenty of reviews already, and yes, it's MiB mixed with Ghost with 24 with Ghostbusters, and no, it doesn't really know what it want s to be - but it's very enjoyable for all that. Don't try to take it seriously, best taken with alcohol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starsky and Hutch Busters in Black Flubber!, 3 May 2014
It's just about ok.. if you don't leave your brain on whilst watching. The acting isn't good... the script isn't good... but...it is... somehow... watchable, and... kind of... 'entertaining'...rent ...do not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.I.P.D.: Rest in Peace Department [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love this film....The 3D aspect the depth and of course the tongue in cheek comedy all go to make this a very enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P.D., 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
dont know why this film failed in the cinema...its quite good and easy to follow..not bad acting either...watched it twice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.I.P.D.: Rest in Peace Department [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This action comedy is an easy watch where you don't have to be fully alert to follow the plot. This is certainly more action than comedy and is worth a watch. A good addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

R.I.P.D.: Rest in Peace Department [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray]
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews