Customer Reviews


255 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuing 2 Kick-Ass.
Being a sequel Kick-Ass 2 had no chance of capturing the 'controversial' shock value of the first film and an early decimation of a group of bad guys by Hit-Girl {always a gleeful treat} might in fact lead you to think that this film was just going to be a retread of the first film's highlights. Thankfully while it is still foul-mouthed and full of over the top,...
Published 19 months ago by lordbrett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reasonably entertaining
a reasonable sequal, but more of a film in its own right, some good comedy as expected, perhaps lacking the edge that the first had boasted, nonetheless a good entertaining film
Published 6 months ago by Jason Fenn


‹ Previous | 110 11 1226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a very good version, perfect for adults,the grafics in this film are cool, could watch this film hundrends of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it more than the original, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Okay, I’ll start by confessing that I’m possibly the ONLY person in the world who HATED Kick Ass (1). I really don’t know why I bothered to watch the sequel, but, for some reason, I’m really glad I did. It just seemed to be everything that the first one wasn’t. I found it cleverer, funnier, more action-packed and more (and I think this is the word I’m looking for) ‘real’ than the original.

If you don’t know, Kick Ass 2 is about a gang of everyday folk who decide that they’ve had enough with crime and therefore don suits and ‘fight back.’ Of course, not being blessed with Spiderman or Superman’s powers, they have to make do with wetsuits for costumes and baseball bats for weapons. I found it was at its best when it was showing how these sorts of ‘superheroes’ would be portrayed by the media and how they would find life really trying to do what they do.

If you’re wondering how much Jim Carrey is in it, I think it adds up to about seven minutes of screen time. He famously distanced himself from the film after starring in it due to its violent content – a strange action. After all, the original was pretty violent and you’d think he would have read the script before he signed on!

Anyway, if you like action-satires then I think that would describe this film best. Interestingly enough, I seem to be in the minority (yet again) in my praise for Kick Ass 2. Most fans seem to view it as inferior to the original. Personally, I thought it was everything the original should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Naive Optimism, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
AngelCake (Various locations within the U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Watched the first film the other day then made the mistake of watching Kick Ass 2 straight afterwards desperately hoping that this was going to be as awesome as the first. Its not but it certainly didn't deserve the savaging it got from the critics. Having said that, I love films that try and do something a little bit different from the usual so maybe that makes me incredibly biased in my praise for Kick Ass 2!

Firstly, I thought the film was controlled very well. I think a film like this has the potential to be either unintentionally hilarious and slip into parody or unrelentingly grim (like the source material) and I thought the balance was struck very well. The film is entertaining from start to finish. Kick Ass seems to have been side-lined in favour of the supporting cast which have some hilarious lines of dialogue. Although the script does take a nose-dive at times, it does get itself back on track. Christopher Mintz-Plasse as the 'first real life super villain' with the unmentionable name gives a great performance as a guy on the edge of sanity. How he comes by his new costume is just inspired. John Leguizamo, Iain Glen, Jim Carrey (Who plays it just right as Colonel Stars and Stripes) and Chloe Grace Moretz, even in her incredibly dull and formulaic school scenes (This whole High School saga seemed like a bit of a missed opportunity to do something more creative and original), are all worth mentioning.

However, it seemed as if the director had so much that he wanted to cram in that important events (Justice Forever, the warehouse showdown, the brutal personal attacks on Dave) are just glossed over in ten seconds flat diminishing their impact on the viewer and the characters. Just a little more time spent on these moments would have sufficed in bolstering their impact. Talking about editing, the extended scenes not included in the actual film are brilliant. The material would have really padded the film out as these scenes are actually worth seeing and allow us a little breathing space. As it stands the film isn't that long anyway so why these weren't added into the DVD release I find very strange.

Overall, this is an entertaining film which was a fun, crazy and unusual ride and I give it kudos for trying to do something a little bit different. Unlike a lot of films, Kick Ass 2 stands up to repeat viewing. I can think of worse ways to spend an evening than watching Kick Ass 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1st one was better......., 22 Jan. 2014
I am disappinted in this.thought it would be class but it was alright,not as good as the first but worth watching once.didnt really laugh at it either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay - but disappointing, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It is okay, but somewhat disappointing if you have been waiting for this sequel. Kick-ass 1 was certainly worth the laugh, this one feels a bit like something that needed to appear quite fast to draw in the public of KA 1...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor sequel, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I had high hopes for this but i'm afraid it failed to live up to my expectations,whereas kick-ass was fresh and original this was stale and lacked any punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the low scores, Buy this movie!, 30 Dec. 2013
Absolutely fantastic from start to finish and easily in the top 10 movies of 2013. Don't go to imdb and make your choice based on, what appear to be completely rubbish, ratings. If you enjoyed the original then you WILL enjoy this sequel and look forward to the 3rd and final Kick-Ass movie. Action packed, fast paced, funny in parts, upsetting in others. You still reading? stop! buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy just for UV version..., 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Ok so I wanted the DVD as I loved the first film but when using the code in the box for Ultraviolet / Flixter I found that it gave me the original Kick-Ass and not KA2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
good film a good follow up to kick ass enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Topside Barone! Cybotron. Captain Rock etc. VEST ..., 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Topside Barone! Cybotron.Captain Rock etc. VEST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kick-Ass 2 [DVD] [2013]
Kick-Ass 2 [DVD] [2013] by Jeff Wadlow (DVD - 2013)
£4.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews