Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars779
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2015
I Would like to say if you Love Rachel McAdams, You will love her in this film. It,s Nothing like her usual film,s.As the Note Book, The Vow ect.
I fell in love with her in this..She is a sweet young lady from America, About Time is nothing you,d expect by the name of the film. It,s one of them i watched over. A Good chick flick..Fun, Moving, Great English Actors you,ll either love it or hate it. At the price i,m so happy i read reviews.
Thank you for the over 3 stars, Even though i do like to ignore some as we all like different movie,s..
I Hope this is good viewing for you as trusting reviews is a good thing..
Kitty, Wirral...
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
So. As this is a Richard Curtis film. From the start you have an idea if you are going to be interested or not. You are guaranteed twee Englishness and gentle humour from almost all he has done.
If you, like me do like most of his films then it's fair to say this is well worth watching. The characters are pretty much as you would expect. All are likeable people and are played well by the actors. Especially Bill Nighy who I have a soft spot for anyway.
This is the story of a young man told by his dad that he can travel backwards through time and change parts of his life. His first thought is that he wants a girlfriend and he sets his heart on one he meets at a dinner in the dark date.
What I did like was that the film wasn't completely about him trying to get the girl and mucking it up through the whole film. The chemistry between them is played well and you know quite early on that they are the ones for each other. With some beautiful landscapes, some genuinely funny bits (be careful who gives your best man speech), and the most amazing relationship between a dad and his son.

As the film moves on he finds out there are some provisos and limitations on what can be changed and this sets the film up for some set backs.
There is nothing remotely game changing in this film and there are some plot twists you will see coming like a herd of wildebeest across the plains. But. This doesn't make the film any worse at all. Like love actually it's all about the journey of the people involved..
It's not often that my wife and I can sit and talk about a film after watching it like this one, but everything about it was...just....lovely.
That the original reviews were slightly hit and miss yet really surprises me. This has everything you would want for an evening with your loved ones.
Probably one of the nicest films I have seen in a while and one that will most definitely join the others of Mr Curtis on my DVD shelf. I'm just off to stand in a cupboard with my fists clenched.
P.s bring tissues.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A lovely film ,that took forever, for me, anyway to really latch onto my interest. A film from Richard Curtis, 'Notting Hill', a lot about love, family, living life the right way, everyday.

Tim Lake, played by Domhnall Gleeson, is living at home in Cornwall with his parents Bill Nighy, as dad and Lindsay Duncan, as his mother. Quite an eccentric family, including his sister Kit Kat, played by Lydia Wilson. He is just starting his professional life, he considers himself, "too tall, too skinny and too orange", but to most of us, just right. Tim is leaving for London when his father tells him a family secret: Once they turn 21, the men in the family acquire the ability to travel back in time, a power that comes with its own logic and rules. This does seem like overkill, but it is the one true thing that holds this film together, other than the exquisite acting. Tim can go back to moments in his own life and become more sexy, and more sensitive.

Tim meets the love of his life, Mary, played by Rachel McAdams, and off they go into life. The rest of the film seemed to overlong to me, rather sentimental, but quite lively, all in all. A good film for the family, over 15, and a good date night film. Any film with Bill Nighy is a good one. Rachel McAdams and, new to me, Domhhall Gleeson, carry the film quite well.

Recommended. prisrob 02-06-14
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Fantastic film with great soundtrack. Bill Nighy plays a great role - funny as ever. The other actors are well fitted to their roles too. If you want a bit of romance, a laugh and some thought provoking material this is the film for you.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Be patient with the beginning, it is a bit quirky and some would consider boring, like a hug from grandad, when you are a child, but by the end of the movie you miss that hug like there's no tomorrow...

Concept is brilliant - tomorrow can happen as many times as you wish, anything can be redone/undone/done...
( , BUT terms and conditions apply, as usual )

IN MY VIEW:
Best and simplest spin on time travel with brilliant cast, script and SOUNDTRACK.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
what a lovely film well acted and fantastic actors in this feel good film. absolutely a must to see , it has everything fun, sad, happy, all in all a great film
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 23 November 2015
It's an interesting story; funny that it should star the same actress who was also in The Time Traveller's Wife, yet again playing the time traveller's lady-of-interest.

I felt like this film wanted to be too many different things and ended up not doing any of them properly from start to finish. It starts off as a slighty silly, light-hearted comedy, goes on to be an epic story following a man's life from around his 21st birthday for a good decade or so, and by the end, all light-heartedness and comedy flies out the window as it gets all serious, moral-of-the-story-ish, and becomes a proper tear jerker - and I really, really dislike tear jerkers which is why I had to take off one star; and another one star off for the feeling that it seemed to go on a bit. I had to watch this in segments rather than seeing the whole thing in one go because I grew restless / impatient in parts. 3/5 sounds fair to me for the likeable characters, interesting story and for the laughs.

I can see why some people would like this.. if you don't mind tear jerker moments, slightly silly humour and have a good amount of patience - there's a good chance you may love this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
I found 'About Time' to a very enjoyable, light hearted, feel-good movie about a the highs and lows of a loving family within the males possess the unlikely ability to travel backwards in time and change history as and when it suits them. The film is enacted in such good spirit, particularly by the two leads: Domhnall Gleeson and Rachel McAdams as to make it surprisingly easy just to suspend one's critical faculties and go along with the fun. The philosophical and ethical problems of time manipulation for selfish ends are cheerfully kicked into touch. The plot gets to be a bit confusing at times as the time changes run out of control but who cares? Recommended.

Chris Allen is a Technical Author and a crime writer specializing in unusual and well researched fiction with the following books available through Amazon:
His latest novel: Parallel Lifetimes
The Beam of Interest: Taken by Storm
Hypnotic Tales 2013: Some Light Some Dark
Call of the Void: The Strange Life and Times of a Confused Person: 1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
You have to suspend belief quite a bit in this film due to the time-travel element. However, in this case the time-travel is more about making good mistakes that you made the first time round. If your relationship got off to a bad start, for example, you can "reprise" the situation and eliminate the embarrassment or shyness you might have felt at the time. All the characters are very likeable, which means you "root " for them as they try to make things work. I particularly liked the lead actors in the romance and also Bill Nighy, who doesn't have to work terribly hard to be himself, but comes across as a wonderful father. The message of the film is that you have to learn to live each day to the full, and to the best of your abilities, and then you are more likely to get things right first time. The only thing that mars the film slightly is the occasional bad language, which I don't think is necessary. Apart from that, it is a feel-good film with a wonderful soundtrack, and I watched it twice in quick succession.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
Enjoyable film with a great cast and clever story. Worth a watch. A typical English setting London and the south coast nice
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)