Customer Reviews


449 Reviews
5 star:
 (197)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (72)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


161 of 183 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good Science Fiction super-production, with good actors, evil aliens and REALLY cool robots
I liked this film. It is not an immortal master-piece, but it is well made. Below, some more of my impressions, with limited SPOILERS.

Year of Grace 2079. After a devastating war against alien invaders, Moon was broken in pieces and Earth was left a barren, poisoned desolation. The aliens were in principle defeated but what was left of humanity had to move to...
Published 14 months ago by Maciej

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly anticipated, but for me disappointing ........
***** PLEASE NOTE THIS CONTAINS SPOILERS *****

As a fan of almost anything science fiction based, and having been lured by the trailers, I really wanted to like this film. Not just like, but rave about it. Unfortunately It didn't quite hit the mark for me.

The premise of the movie is that it is approximately sixty years after the earth was destroyed...
Published 11 months ago by Sesterce


‹ Previous | 132 33 3445 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crisp detailed viewing, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Excellent filming and details. Good story and special effects. good nod to 2001. Would like to have seen more of 166. as a character in itself. Worth a view and one for the action collection, Got to get a drone ringtone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
very good film , good storyline. tom cruise was at his best again.would recommend this film to my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Sci fi flicks in recent years., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This movie is a well made, entertaining, intelligent and realistic sci fi, and thats rare. Recommended. Cruise is very good again never letting you down in his performance, although he can seem a tad over eager in places. Buts its a cool movie, with a cool final act. If you like sci fi then you must see it, its better than Moon, but has similar premise, but has more action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The first 10 minutes had me wondering about this movie but it improved and I enjoyed it even though the ending was predictable Tom Cruise is good as he usually is recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Tom's better, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This was not what I was expecting...loved it. Great film good production and story. Love my Sci-Fi. Good delivery as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SciFi @ its Best!!!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Being from the generation of children that watched the Charlton Heston Movies, "The Omega Man, Planet of theApes & Soylent Green..." I am very impressed with this attempt at revitalising that Genre of SciFi.

In years to come I think this movie will become a classic.

"Spoiler alert

Look out for the scene were Cruise & Kurylenko are being chased in his bubble ship by drones, in a flying manoeuvre you will see a great homage to Planet of the apes... the Statue of Liberty lying on its side!

This movie has all my family glued to my 60" TV without a whimper, not even making a sound when eating or drinking... they really were that immersed in the story.

The cover for the bluray is something of a collectors piece too.

Buy it and you'll love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
To all half decent movie but felt like it was on a budget. Acting from Tom Cruise first class Morgan Freeman first class but not enough depth my honest opinion. Wont go into the plot but worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice steelbook!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steelbook is really nice. Film was worth watching. If you have a hdtv this will give it a good workout. Picture is nothing short of stunning. Originally filmed in 4k, picture really does show it. Can't wait for this to come out on an actual 4k blu ray. Finally something to watch on your 4k tv!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stylish subtle Sci Fi with Eye Candy to the max on Bluray, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Cormac T. Garvey (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Possibly the most underrated Sci fi of the last 10 years? Visually stunning,Im surprised it didnt win any special effects awards. Check out the best swimming pool scene of all time.Eye candy to the max. The unique sound signatures of the drones, the future industrial design classic furnished apartments..The attention to set detail is excellent.The furniture signature look is consistent and classic and reminiscent of 2001/space odyssey in a timeless way.

This is a subtle stylish sci fi ; You are best off watching this on blu ray at home with no distractions. Some incredible twists.But the nuances of Cruises performance could easily be lost. A character in conflict with himself and in a relationship but nevertheless very much alone. Theres an ember of humanity about him that hasnt been extinguished by the system, yet. Ive watched it quite a few times. Still enjoy it, like listening to a good album..
Great film if Sci Fi is your thing. Closer to 2001 space odyssey or bladerunner, than Aliens or star wars.
Watch it in BluRay for max effect. Like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Anthony Campbell "topcat" (Ipswich,suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Well organized and thought out, Tom Cruise plays the part well, takes a bit to understand until the last sequence, where all comes together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 132 33 3445 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013]
Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] by Joseph Kosinski (Blu-ray - 2013)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews