Customer Reviews


504 Reviews
5 star:
 (229)
4 star:
 (121)
3 star:
 (82)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film for thinkers and action-lovers alike!
First of all, I should say that this is the first Blu-ray film I have ever seen (watching on my new Panasonic TXL47FT tv). The picture quality is stunning, and having now also watched Braveheart and Monsters University on Blu-ray, I can tell you that Oblivion looks sublime in comparison. It truly is a visual feast.

Onto the film, and there is plenty here for...
Published 7 months ago by Squire Humphrey (Azzy)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Sci-Fi Fun
This film is almost split into two, or so it felt to me. The first half is a visually stunning set-up, with breathtaking cinematography and visuals that encapsulate why science fiction is a real gem of a genre, and often ruined by too much on screen with too much noise and action. As Cruise’s character introduces us to the remnants of Earth and we accompany him on...
Published 20 days ago by Mr. C. Gelderd


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film for thinkers and action-lovers alike!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
First of all, I should say that this is the first Blu-ray film I have ever seen (watching on my new Panasonic TXL47FT tv). The picture quality is stunning, and having now also watched Braveheart and Monsters University on Blu-ray, I can tell you that Oblivion looks sublime in comparison. It truly is a visual feast.

Onto the film, and there is plenty here for everyone:

- Sci-fi lover? A great plot that develops at just the right pace, with great effects and a classic sci-fi ending.
- Action lover? Plenty of fantastic, edge-of-your-seat action here for you to drool over.
- More of a thinker? The plot will have you gripped from start to finish.
- Tom Cruise fan? Spoiler alert - the shirt does indeed come off.

I consider myself firmly under the first three of those, and after watching Oblivion in Blu-ray, I may well be on my way to converting into #4 as well...

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to watch a good film that's not too long (2hrs) and who wants to be blown away by picturesque beauty.

5/5 from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


166 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good Science Fiction super-production, with good actors, evil aliens and REALLY cool robots, 2 May 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I liked this film. It is not an immortal master-piece, but it is well made. Below, some more of my impressions, with limited SPOILERS.

Year of Grace 2079. After a devastating war against alien invaders, Moon was broken in pieces and Earth was left a barren, poisoned desolation. The aliens were in principle defeated but what was left of humanity had to move to Titan, which is now being slowly terraformed. The ruined Earth was abandoned to two categories of inhabitants - the Scavs, a handful of alien survivors, stranded castaways barely managing to survive miserably one day at a time and the two lonely humans, Victoria (Andrea Riseborough) and Jack (Tom Cruise) who supervise the last stage of evacuation of the planet, which includes pumping and carrying away what remains of uncontaminated water on Earth by robotic installations and automated cargo ships.

Jack does the most dangerous job by flying daily repair and maintenance missions, mostly fixing combat drones, which protect the installations from the desperate and aggressive Scavs. From their flying house, a safe refuge out of reach of Scavs, Victoria watches over him, warns him of dangers and if necessary musters drones to help him. It is a harsh and quite sad life, but they have one another for comfort - and also their task will soon be over.

But Jack is not well. He doesn't sleep well since some time and every morning wakes up more and more tired, exhausted by strange dreams which repeat themselves - dreams in which he meets a strange Woman (Olga Kurylenko), a woman he can not remember ever knowing, but who nevertheless seems surprisingly familiar... And then, one day after he wakes up for another day of work on the surface, the film really begins...

This is a good film, although it borrows heavily from many of older and better Sci-Fi movies (I will not name them, to avoid spoilers - but you will recognise them). Although Philip K. Dick didn't have anything to do with the scenario, he would probably recognise his influence in it - and I think he would have liked this film, for quite a lot of reasons... There is a good mixture of slow scenes setting the mood and of action. There is a mystery in this film, and the FULL disclosure is not given until almost the end - and it is done very, very well indeed. And the ending, always the most vulnerable spot for all Sci-Fi super-productions, is well done - and it is both moving and in the same time asking questions, on which we have to think a little before answering...

Tom Cruise, who notwithstanding some excentricities is a great actor, gives here a GREAT performance, both when talking and when shooting. Olga Kurylenko and Morgan Freeman (who appears late in the film in a way which you will have to discover by yourself) are also very good. But personally I was MOST impressed by the character of Victoria and the way Andrea Riseborough played her. It is not an easy role and it is definitely not easy to outstage a looker like Olga Kurylenko - but in my personal opinion Ms Riseborough totally did it!

Another personal favorite in this film are combat drones - they are really cool, both in their visual aspect (shape and especially this SPEED!) and in the sounds they produce. Those are really some bad@ss military robots, infinitely more dangerous and cooler than most of such things in recent Sci-Fi. And just to be clear - do not expect any cute Transformers-like machines... Those things were made to fly far, find quickly and terminate with extreme prejudice, not to sell action-figures...)))

There are of course plot holes - but well, come on, without plot holes all heroes would always die and bad guys would always win. And who would like that?

Bottom line, I liked this film very much and I am very happy that finally I was given the opportunity to watch a GOOD big budget SciFi film. Try to catch it in the cinema as long as it is still playing - me, I think I will buy the DVD when it is available, because it is worth another watching one day. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Written, Intelligent Sci-Fi, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. J. O'brien (frome england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you're a fan of well written, well acted, intelligent Sci-Fi. Then please ignore the one star reviews some people have given this film. This film has a fantastic futuristic set design, and a great story. Yes it may have hues of Independence Day, Aeon Flux and Moon. But is done better than any of them. (Not that they are bad films). A couple of the plot twists, were predictable if you are a Sci-Fi fan. But there is nothing new under the sun! Don't want give away any plot spoilers. The film is a tale of two halves, as other reviewers have mentioned. The second part much more of any actioner, but this is well paced and none the worst for it. Tom Cruise is Tom Cruise though. He gives a very rounded believable performance, but you still tend to identify the character as Tom rather than Jack. Much in the same way as you see Will Smith when saving the world. A non A-lister would have suited the role better, but film companys bottom line has to be box-office performance. Highly recommended, with out doubt one of the best Sci-Fi's for years. Well worth the five stars. ***** Joe O'Brien
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Great Soundtrack, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I went to the cinema to see this twice last week - very refreshing to see something without all the clutter of CGI that we get so regularly. Beautiful imagery, amazing music score, and perfect characters. Sit back and enjoy it, stop criticizing everything that exists and you will realize how engrossing this film is. I want more stuff like this, lots more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average Sci-Fi Fun, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This film is almost split into two, or so it felt to me. The first half is a visually stunning set-up, with breathtaking cinematography and visuals that encapsulate why science fiction is a real gem of a genre, and often ruined by too much on screen with too much noise and action. As Cruise’s character introduces us to the remnants of Earth and we accompany him on his routine exploration and dangerous job of military repairman, the vast, endless wasteland of the planet is a thing of beauty; from the eerie, hanging remains of our destroyed Moon frozen in the cosmos above to the destroyed remains of the Empire State Building, the New York Yankee stadium and other notable landscapes all brought down to nothing.

It feels spacious, it feels vast and is wonderfully enjoyable to explore with Cruise, who plays yet another likeable character in his later years. Not cocky or self-assured, but methodical, passionate and calm. He involves us in his thoughts and his feelings, connecting with us as audiences in the face of remembering all he holds dear. There is some action, but it’s never grand or CG heavy, it’s a frantic burst for survival, before it’s over and we continue the exploration; just another day in the life of a Tech. And the tower block Harper and Vika live in is stunning, thanks to the glorious surroundings you see during the day and night.

The second half, once we are introduced to the beautiful and brilliant Olga Kurylenko as Julia, escalates into a thrilling action spectacle, with CG enhanced battles and aerobatics. One thing about Kurylenko is her ability to be just as powerful opposite the leading star, if not more so. From Daniel Craig in ‘Quantum Of Solace’ to now Cruise, she radiates strength, innocence and passion for the role that she conveys so well, and she is a credit to the film and an asset in bringing our Harper’s humanity towards the finale.

Freeman is more an authoritative supporting role, lending a firm and narrative voice to speed on proceedings and explain the “twist” to audiences and Harper in case we hadn’t guessed by now. But there is plenty of great stunt work and visuals to keep action fans amused as Cruise leaps, falls, runs, blasts, flies and rides his way across the stunning landscape to seek out the truth behind those behind Earth’s collapse.

The story isn’t fresh, and you may guess where it’s going towards the middle, but it’s solid performances and exceptional visuals that remind you this is how modern sci-fi should be done in the action genre, where less is more at times, and building a world as stunning as post-war Earth is as much a supporting character as the stunning Miss.Kurylenko.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth awatch for Sci Fi fans (as if you can afford ..., 29 July 2014
By 
W. Sargent "uk DS fanclub" (Lake District, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Definitely worth a watch for Sci Fi fans (as if you can afford to ignore a decent budget flick of this nature!), but be prepared for lowest common denominator direction, and predictable, US teen-centric "f***-you, machine!" from gurning Tommy C at the film's climax. Couldn't help thinking a dirtier, low-budget '80s version, with Kurt Russell (okay, and Carpenter music, too) as the lead would have made it sing ;) At times the clean white/grey lines of the ships and houses looked like an Apple ipad advert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, even with the plot holes, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Andy Barnard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I watched this with no real expectations and was very pleasantly surprised. Good acting, amazing visuals and a twisty plot make for one of the better sci-fi films I've seen in a while. The only problem is that when you start to think about it, it doesn't hold up to scrutiny at all. Spoilers follow.
I can forgive a lot of the holes quite easily but the main one, on which the entire story is centred, is why would the aliens create clones......and then try to trick them? What, it's easier to build over 50 flying houses and a bunch of other cool contraptions to fool clones you created, (and who have memories you gave them!) than it is to just build some spare killer robots? Beech even said that there were thousands of soulless clones originally so why not just make these ones kill people like the others? Why the deception, on which the whole thing is based?!
Once you start picking at it like this, it's very difficult to stop much in the same way as with the good but flawed 'Prometheus'. Why did Cruise's character show no surprise to learn there were a load of other humans left on earth, but he was surprised that aliens were sending a signal off the planet? How did Beech know the line of the book he'd read? I could go on.
Despite all this I've given it 4 stars because it is a really enjoyable film and certainly one of the better Hollywood attempts at serious sci-fi. I may even watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars puzzled by indifferent press reviews., 29 Nov 2013
By 
K. Newell "Nacho" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I didn't see this at the cinema because of the mediocre press reviews and what a mistake. I don't know what film they were watching but this had everything you could want from a sci fi. Good atmospheric fx, decent plot and context and excellently executed by the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly anticipated, but for me disappointing ........, 24 July 2013
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
***** PLEASE NOTE THIS CONTAINS SPOILERS *****

As a fan of almost anything science fiction based, and having been lured by the trailers, I really wanted to like this film. Not just like, but rave about it. Unfortunately It didn't quite hit the mark for me.

The premise of the movie is that it is approximately sixty years after the earth was destroyed by a war against alien lifeforms. The moon took a hefty hit and lies in the sky like a partially crushed sphere, trails of it's debris leaking across the atmosphere. Down on the surface earth has been affected by the change in the moons gravitational field, causing earthquakes to ravage the planet and leave it uninhabitable. Naturally we used nuclear weapons during the war so that left it pretty knackered too. After we won, humans migrated to Titan (a moon of Saturn) and teams of two technicians have been left on earth to maintain some high level technology which provides benefit to Titan.

The movie revolves around Tech 49, Jack Harper (Tom Cruise), who maintains the running of the equipment, aided by his partner Victoria played by Andrea Riseborough.

The opening visuals are slick and effective, capturing the contrast of the gleaming, sterile human environs and the devastated planet. To further enhance this divide, the Technicians live up in the clouds on a high rise platform home, with only Cruise descending to fulfill his task of repairing the aerial weapons (called drones) which protect the vast machines from the alien threat still on Earth.

And here is where the story starts to slip, with too many unanswered questions that come from trying to fit too many good ideas into one movie.

The visuals are superb and beautifully executed, reminiscent of some of the best sci-fi illustrators of the 70's and 80's (Syd Mead and Moebius to name two) with minimalistic interiors of grey and white and an outdoor transparent pool that almost seems to hang in the air. The destroyed earth is equally beautifully depicted without the usual wasted cities so familiar in many movies. Time has softened and eased the earth back to a more natural state with the remnants of civilisation only seen in brief pockets. It is quite breathtaking in places.

Unfortunately instead of capitalising on this simplicity the story starts to morph into something altogether heavy and overburdened with ideas. The idea of stealth technology being used in armour to hide the resistance (there had to be one), the presence of an all knowing leader figure who sends Harper off on a quest (instead of just telling him the news), mass cloning, cryogenic sleep, vast machines that I didn't quite grasp the purpose of, a predictably jealous woman, post apocalyptic survival, a cabin by a lake (yes really), sentimentality for the past, living a huge lie, ............ the list goes on.

What could have been a beautiful new foray into science fiction simply turned into a quagmire of well trodden paths and because of that it became sadly predictable. Right down to the last scene.

I feel bad for not liking it, maybe thirty five years of movie watching has made me jaded. I have no doubt some may adore this film (and I can understand that), and there are positive aspects to it. Morgan Freeman being one. For me though it was all style and little substance and a bit too long winded with acting that never felt quite believable. It was almost as if the actors knew it was flawed.

Worth a rent to see it, if you are a die-hard fan of Tom Cruise or Sci-fi then buy it. For me though it missed the mark in the same way Prometheus did. A great shame indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUCH better than expected, 6 Jun 2013
I must admit, I did not have high hopes og expectation for this movie.

BUT, I'm happy to say, that I was pleasantly surprised!
Oblivion delivered ALL it promised and much more.
The acting is solid (some parts are a bit wodden, but it makes sense at the end), the scenery is beautiful and the story itself is fair.
While it doesn't ad anything new to the table, it's solid and I hadn't seen the twist towards the end.
And, the end of the film is quite cool, reminded me a bit of 2001: Space Oddesy!

I guess in 2013, most people have come to expect too much from alot of movies, which is unfair.
Had this movie been made in the 80's, it would be a cult-classic today!

So, fans of SciFi, you will NOT be dissappointed with this movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013]
Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] by Joseph Kosinski (Blu-ray - 2013)
6.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews