Customer Reviews


650 Reviews
5 star:
 (300)
4 star:
 (165)
3 star:
 (99)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


170 of 194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good Science Fiction super-production, with good actors, evil aliens and REALLY cool robots
I liked this film. It is not an immortal master-piece, but it is well made. Below, some more of my impressions, with limited SPOILERS.

Year of Grace 2079. After a devastating war against alien invaders, Moon was broken in pieces and Earth was left a barren, poisoned desolation. The aliens were in principle defeated but what was left of humanity had to move to...
Published 21 months ago by Darth Maciek

versus
28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly anticipated, but for me disappointing ........
***** PLEASE NOTE THIS CONTAINS SPOILERS *****

As a fan of almost anything science fiction based, and having been lured by the trailers, I really wanted to like this film. Not just like, but rave about it. Unfortunately It didn't quite hit the mark for me.

The premise of the movie is that it is approximately sixty years after the earth was destroyed...
Published 18 months ago by Ghost


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

170 of 194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good Science Fiction super-production, with good actors, evil aliens and REALLY cool robots, 2 May 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I liked this film. It is not an immortal master-piece, but it is well made. Below, some more of my impressions, with limited SPOILERS.

Year of Grace 2079. After a devastating war against alien invaders, Moon was broken in pieces and Earth was left a barren, poisoned desolation. The aliens were in principle defeated but what was left of humanity had to move to Titan, which is now being slowly terraformed. The ruined Earth was abandoned to two categories of inhabitants - the Scavs, a handful of alien survivors, stranded castaways barely managing to survive miserably one day at a time and the two lonely humans, Victoria (Andrea Riseborough) and Jack (Tom Cruise) who supervise the last stage of evacuation of the planet, which includes pumping and carrying away what remains of uncontaminated water on Earth by robotic installations and automated cargo ships.

Jack does the most dangerous job by flying daily repair and maintenance missions, mostly fixing combat drones, which protect the installations from the desperate and aggressive Scavs. From their flying house, a safe refuge out of reach of Scavs, Victoria watches over him, warns him of dangers and if necessary musters drones to help him. It is a harsh and quite sad life, but they have one another for comfort - and also their task will soon be over.

But Jack is not well. He doesn't sleep well since some time and every morning wakes up more and more tired, exhausted by strange dreams which repeat themselves - dreams in which he meets a strange Woman (Olga Kurylenko), a woman he can not remember ever knowing, but who nevertheless seems surprisingly familiar... And then, one day after he wakes up for another day of work on the surface, the film really begins...

This is a good film, although it borrows heavily from many of older and better Sci-Fi movies (I will not name them, to avoid spoilers - but you will recognise them). Although Philip K. Dick didn't have anything to do with the scenario, he would probably recognise his influence in it - and I think he would have liked this film, for quite a lot of reasons... There is a good mixture of slow scenes setting the mood and of action. There is a mystery in this film, and the FULL disclosure is not given until almost the end - and it is done very, very well indeed. And the ending, always the most vulnerable spot for all Sci-Fi super-productions, is well done - and it is both moving and in the same time asking questions, on which we have to think a little before answering...

Tom Cruise, who notwithstanding some excentricities is a great actor, gives here a GREAT performance, both when talking and when shooting. Olga Kurylenko and Morgan Freeman (who appears late in the film in a way which you will have to discover by yourself) are also very good. But personally I was MOST impressed by the character of Victoria and the way Andrea Riseborough played her. It is not an easy role and it is definitely not easy to outstage a looker like Olga Kurylenko - but in my personal opinion Ms Riseborough totally did it!

Another personal favorite in this film are combat drones - they are really cool, both in their visual aspect (shape and especially this SPEED!) and in the sounds they produce. Those are really some bad@ss military robots, infinitely more dangerous and cooler than most of such things in recent Sci-Fi. And just to be clear - do not expect any cute Transformers-like machines... Those things were made to fly far, find quickly and terminate with extreme prejudice, not to sell action-figures...)))

There are of course plot holes - but well, come on, without plot holes all heroes would always die and bad guys would always win. And who would like that?

Bottom line, I liked this film very much and I am very happy that finally I was given the opportunity to watch a GOOD big budget SciFi film. Try to catch it in the cinema as long as it is still playing - me, I think I will buy the DVD when it is available, because it is worth another watching one day. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars -------------------"Earth is just a memory"------------------, 14 April 2013
By 
Susman "Susman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Oblivion is a post-apocalyptic speculative fiction movie founded on Joseph Kosinski's unpublished graphic novel of the same name.

The is scene set as we are lead into an impressive post-apocalyptic Earth where the moon has been destroyed, the textures and colours are vivid and almost photo shopped; the remnants of Man's world are literally fused into the landscape, or disintegrating amphitheatre of an American football stadium, we are shown the pitiful spire of the Empire State Building. This is all the result of a Pyrrhic victory against extra-terrestrial interlopers called `Scavs'/`Scavengers', in principle the human race has essentially given up on Earth.

On this `barren' world there appears to be a couple who are doing their stint as caretakers as they are instructed by mission controller Sally (Melissa Leo) to protect the colossal offshore fusion energy generators, which are producing power for the colonists on Titan, they are harvesting the last of Earth's riches - water and when needed mopping up `Scavs'/`Scavengers'. What is left of Humanity lives on a large orbiting satellite while the rest have moved to mankind's' new home Titan? Jack, who does the maintenance has a partner called Victoria, who is a communications specialist and lover, they live in `Sky deck' or Sky Tower, high up off the ground, a rather amazing uncluttered structure and command centre. They even have a glass bottom swimming pool for tempting night dips. They are told that they too will join their colleagues on the satellite and will then be transported to Titan. Mission controller Sally always asks "Are still an effective team". However, the situation for these human caretakers what's left of earth is not all that seems.

If we look past the visuals of landscaping of the post-apocalyptic world, the interesting futuristic Sky deck residence, `bubble-copters' and amazing colour palette of photography. The narrative while interesting, the components that make up the whole have been borrowed from a number of other films and the ending while drawing together the story threads, was disappointing, because it based on the movie's perception of alien being having superior intelligence one minute, and then somehow lack it the next. That said, Oblivion is first and primarily a visual experience - while many have panned this film for being thinly scripted, for me faults and all it was good and entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MODERN CLASSIC FOR TRUE SCI-FI FANS, 30 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Oblivion (DVD)
In 2077, Earth has been ravaged from war sixty years prior with an extra-terrestrial attacker. The Moon was destroyed, causing earthquakes and tsunamis, while humans allegedly used nuclear weapons for a costly victory. Humanity is now relocating to Saturn's moon Titan via the "Tet", a large tetrahedron-shaped space station. On Earth, Tech 49 Jack Harper (Tom Cruise) and his partner and lover Victoria "Vika" Olsen (Andrea Riseborough) are among the few humans left on Earth. Stationed at Tower 49 in former northeastern United States, they are instructed by mission controller Sally (Melissa Leo) to protect the gigantic offshore fusion energy generators, which are generating power for the colonists on Titan, from attacks by Scavs, a small force of marauding aliens who remained on Earth. The generators are protected by both Drones and Jack's regular reconnaissance from his ship. Despite having had a memory wipe, Jack experiences visions of being on the observation deck of the Empire State Building before the war with an unknown woman...

Result - a clever an compelling sci-fi classic !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THROW THE LONG BALL, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
In the year 2077 Jack (Tom Cruise) and Victoria (Andrea Riseborough) are a working couple who live in a tower on the planet earth. We are given the background: Aliens called Scavengers or "Scavs" destroyed the moon. The earth went into turmoil. We managed to defeat them through the use of nuclear weapons. With our planet uninhabitable, our people went to live on Titan. An orbiting triangle space station gives orders to Jack whose mission is to maintain an army of drones used to hunt the remnants of the scavengers.

Jack's memory was erased in case aliens capture him. He has dreams of a woman (Olga Kurylenko)in NYC from a time long before the invasion. About the time Morgan Freeman shows up, things tie together, we get the twist, and the film takes off in a different direction.

The characters in the film are dry. The dialouge was boring. The action moved slow with the film definitely being too long. I enjoyed the one early scene where Cruise attempts a "Mission Impossible" type of escape, one that fails. The cinematography was great with a decent story line. If you love science fiction and are tired of those SyFy films, this is a welcomed change with neat killer drones and landscapes.

I am sure Cruise didn't have to beat himself up too much to accept the role of Luke Skywalker, Captain Steven Hiller (Will Smith, Independence), and Harry Stamper (Bruce Willis, Armageddon) all wrapped into one as he saves the world from alien invaders. This film is an obvious Scientology propaganda film just like "Battlefield Earth". Tom Cruise believes, according to "Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood & the Prison of Belief" that he will actually save the planet from alien invaders. Gotta love it.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bombs (1 SOB) no sex, no real nudity. Brief sensuality. Brief Riseborough buttocks (?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, unexpected, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Ariel Guerra "A.Real" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Stylish scenes, clever script, unexpected twists, amazing casting, elegant pace, outstanding production, cool gadgets and very interesting non verbal messages throughout the film make this a masterpiece. On top of that, Joseph Kosinski shows a remarkable work as writer and director, imagine, since this is his second movie ever! Brilliant!
Unlike Tron Legacy (his first work on big screen) that barely supplies depth and contrast, Oblivion delivers a wealth of ideas and their successful realisation.

Downsides:
Gonzalez and Trapanese soundtrack sound great, and yet, there's so much Nolan's Batman on Tech49, and Matrix, and... so much that I get distracted, come on guys an aditional grain of creativity wouldn't hurt anybody.
Pieces and parts taken from other movies are sometimes too obvious to be considered inspired from them.
The 5 minute introduction isn't really necessary since Jack will explain all to Julia again during the movie. Yes it's a Hollywood movie but we don't live in Idiocracy (yet)... and maybe the intro wasn't even Kosinski's idea.

Kosinski says there could be a prequel now... This movie could give birth for both prequel and sequels, it's beauty and storyline call for more Tets and love stories to unfold...

Definitely worth watching, buying and contributing to Kosinski's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Great Soundtrack, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I went to the cinema to see this twice last week - very refreshing to see something without all the clutter of CGI that we get so regularly. Beautiful imagery, amazing music score, and perfect characters. Sit back and enjoy it, stop criticizing everything that exists and you will realize how engrossing this film is. I want more stuff like this, lots more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fragment of a Lost Dream: The Oblivion Exprience, 11 April 2013
By 
Gre4t Moments (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Oblivion is a movie with sci-fi background set in a future earth, and I said sci-fi background because you can't put this film in any particular genre. It's science fiction, adventure, action, fantasy, romance, thriller but more than that it's a human drama, a tale of humanity and love.

If you've not seen the film, I can guess what you are expecting, just another big budget sci-fi extravaganza. Well, it's not that simple, you can elevate this movie into any sub-genre. Morethan a mega sci-fi movie Oblivion indeed far surpassed my expectations.

After the devastation of the earth, humankind lives above the clouds in stations, while on earth the ruthless alien savages known as Scavengers roam free. Marine Commander Jack Harper who is haunted by the fragment of a déjà vu dream, which survived a mandatory memory wipe out, repair drones, lives in one of sky stations, with his partner Victoria are an "effective team."

Jack constantly questions his monotonous life and prone to retrospection, once he salvages a few survivors from a crash landed ship, but before he could do anything the drones destroy them immediately except one lone survivor, Julia Rusakova (Olga Kurylenko). Jack Harper had to risk his life to save her from the drones much to the dismay of Victoria at the station. That was the starting point of an odyssey to find truth about everything about him and around him with Julia as the guide. I have to stop giving you any further details of the plot as it can be a spoiler, you have to see the film with lesser plot details for its great many surprising twists and turns.

According to Joseph Kosinski, the director (Tron Legacy fame) said it's a "homage to science fiction films" and it's true, not only in the seventies Star Wars and The Black Hole, but other films and series like Terminator, Matrix, also Star Trek, Firefly series etc. as well.

It's an amazing film in every perspective, spectacular scenes, great plot, instant twists and turns, Oblivion is an experience. Even if you are not a sci-fi fan, this is a film for you because, again let me stress, sticking any genre in this film won't do justice to this film.
(I will update this review with DVD features)
---Update---
A few comments and mails I have received suggest I am taking away the sci-fi elements from the review. Let me clarify that aspect, I am in no way belittling the sci-fi aspects of the movie, it is a science fiction film but the movie has reached such higher realms with its poetic beauty and open canvas, it's an experience to cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oblivion -better than people would have you think, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Oblivion [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I saw Oblivion recently as a preview to the main release. This review is about the film rather than the (as yet) unreleased DVD/Blu-ray.

This is a film with a cinematic feel - sweeping panoramas of a devastated world turned mostly to desert, contrasts with the futuristic vehicles, droids and living quarters of the technicians left behind to act as caretakers of a barren world.

As has been said by other reviewers, the world has been ruined by a war with alien invaders and now the last humans prepare to leave the earth forever; their spaceship orbits the earth and all that remains is for the seas to be used to provide energy for spaceship and future colony.

Unfortunately the earth still has remnants of the invaders left who try and disrupt the energy conversion and it's up to Tom Cruise and his fellow technician to prevent the remnants of the invasion force interfering with the conversion operation. That's the opening premise and the film develops from there.

The film moves from action sequences to slow deliberation and takes the time to "breathe". I like the changes of pace and the contrast that this brings. The dialogue can be slow in places and this hearkens back to older sci-fi films. I like it - a complete contrast to the "cowboys in space" that we often see.

The visuals are fantastic, desolate world with ruined artifacts scattered around. The futuristic transport and living quarters, etc are wonderfully realised.

As can be imagined, the original premise isn't all the story to be told, but no spoilers here.

The film doesn't feel like a Tom Cruise vehicle and for someone who doesn't particularly like him in films, he didn't get in the way.

The film has been pretty much panned by the critics for being a melange of sci-fi ideas and plots and for a stulted performance by Tom Cruise & co. It's true that the film has nods to past films, a definite nod to an old Cruise film and one sequence in particular where deja-vue will definitely set in. I don't care.

I loved this film and will buy it on Blu-ray when released. I'm already looking forward to watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film for thinkers and action-lovers alike!, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
First of all, I should say that this is the first Blu-ray film I have ever seen (watching on my new Panasonic TXL47FT tv). The picture quality is stunning, and having now also watched Braveheart and Monsters University on Blu-ray, I can tell you that Oblivion looks sublime in comparison. It truly is a visual feast.

Onto the film, and there is plenty here for everyone:

- Sci-fi lover? A great plot that develops at just the right pace, with great effects and a classic sci-fi ending.
- Action lover? Plenty of fantastic, edge-of-your-seat action here for you to drool over.
- More of a thinker? The plot will have you gripped from start to finish.
- Tom Cruise fan? Spoiler alert - the shirt does indeed come off.

I consider myself firmly under the first three of those, and after watching Oblivion in Blu-ray, I may well be on my way to converting into #4 as well...

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to watch a good film that's not too long (2hrs) and who wants to be blown away by picturesque beauty.

5/5 from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, even with the plot holes, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Andy Barnard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I watched this with no real expectations and was very pleasantly surprised. Good acting, amazing visuals and a twisty plot make for one of the better sci-fi films I've seen in a while. The only problem is that when you start to think about it, it doesn't hold up to scrutiny at all. Spoilers follow.
I can forgive a lot of the holes quite easily but the main one, on which the entire story is centred, is why would the aliens create clones......and then try to trick them? What, it's easier to build over 50 flying houses and a bunch of other cool contraptions to fool clones you created, (and who have memories you gave them!) than it is to just build some spare killer robots? Beech even said that there were thousands of soulless clones originally so why not just make these ones kill people like the others? Why the deception, on which the whole thing is based?!
Once you start picking at it like this, it's very difficult to stop much in the same way as with the good but flawed 'Prometheus'. Why did Cruise's character show no surprise to learn there were a load of other humans left on earth, but he was surprised that aliens were sending a signal off the planet? How did Beech know the line of the book he'd read? I could go on.
Despite all this I've given it 4 stars because it is a really enjoyable film and certainly one of the better Hollywood attempts at serious sci-fi. I may even watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013]
Oblivion [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] by Joseph Kosinski (Blu-ray - 2013)
Used & New from: £6.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews