Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it!
And I know a lot of people complained there is too much violence, too much swearing, and an array of cheap laughs, I still found myself enjoying it! Majorly thanks to Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy who make the magic of blue screen work no matter how average the script is and how bad the jokes are.

While watching it I did not once get the "I've seen this...
Published 8 months ago by Lola

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Friends don't steal friends' identities, do they?
While not quite the abomination that some critics have suggested it is, Identity Thief is a hard film to recommend to film fans looking for a comedy to cheer them up. Too long at just under two hours length, the makers appear to have dropped Melissa McCarthy in the middle of a film, built a load of questionable on going gags around her, and then thrown Jason Bateman in...
Published 9 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Friends don't steal friends' identities, do they?, 7 April 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Identity Thief [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
While not quite the abomination that some critics have suggested it is, Identity Thief is a hard film to recommend to film fans looking for a comedy to cheer them up. Too long at just under two hours length, the makers appear to have dropped Melissa McCarthy in the middle of a film, built a load of questionable on going gags around her, and then thrown Jason Bateman in for the charm offensive. Then as the film runs out of steam at the mid-point, it gets caught in a vortex of contrivances and pseudo serious statements. It's a real hodge-podge of a script that does the actors no favours at all. A great premise is not fulfilled, sadly.

Identity Thief only escapes bottom of the ladder status because fans of the two leads will find a modicum of enjoyment in their respective efforts. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deflated road trip comedy, 15 July 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Identity Thief [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Identity Thief follows everyman Sandy Bigelow Patterson (Bateman), who one morning takes a call he thinks is from his credit card company offering him an ironically free identity theft cover. However the sweet voice on the other end of the phone is anything but, instead it's the crafty & remorseless Diana (McCarthy) , an identity thief after her next shopping spree. The consequences hit Sandy hard, as he decides he will go & bring in this thief himself to the police, who are helpless to aid him, to save his job. But Diana maybe hobbit sized, but she packs one helluva punch & it's going to be a rough ride as things escalate, fast.

Overall, Jason Bateman (Horrible Bosses) was great as the everyman guy drawn into mayhem, and equally so Melissa McCarthy (Mike & Molly) put her larger than life comedic touch into her colorful, out of control & eccentric character. But despite both they're best efforts playing to they're strengths, which built up to a promising story in the beginning along with some good laughs, it began to spiral downwards as new sub plots/characters are introduced. And the transition of the movie goes from comedic to dramatic, and back & fourth there after. The heartfelt, remorseful moments did hit home thanks to the acting range of the duo, but McCarthy's great ability to make her character remorseless, made it even harder to undo her ground work & believe this transformation. Quite a few of the gags built themselves up with great potential but didn't follow through in any memorable way to take advantage. The good support cast of Genesis Rodriguez (Man on a Ledge) , John Cho (Star Trek [Sulu]), Morris Chestnut (V) , Robert Patrick (Terminator 2), Amanda Peet (2012) & Jon Favreau (Iron Man) etc... are in some cases pretty much wasted as they either have little screen time or come off as unmemorable, stereotypical fodder for excuses to keep the road trip going.

In conclusion, Bateman & McCarthy squeeze all they can out if it & make it more watchable as a result. But it hit me like a surprise punch to the esophagus at how average it turned out to be. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ghastly, 24 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Identity Thief (DVD)
Not funny, not even vaguely amusing. She's not funny in "The Heat2 with Sandra Bullock either or Bridesmaids. Avoid like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, 17 May 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
And I know a lot of people complained there is too much violence, too much swearing, and an array of cheap laughs, I still found myself enjoying it! Majorly thanks to Jason Bateman and Melissa McCarthy who make the magic of blue screen work no matter how average the script is and how bad the jokes are.

While watching it I did not once get the "I've seen this before" feeling. The leading characters are comic gold, with great on-screen chemistry. There is a number of quite great comedy sequences and one-liners (my particular favourite being "I love my turquoise like I love my women: American and top grade", wait till you see that in the film). The only disappointment is the supporting cast (Jason Bateman's on-screen wife is particularly wooden).

In short: your average accountant Sandy Patterson (Jason Bateman) gets a call confirming his name and asking for all the important identity information for "insurance purposes". Within a couple of days, a hair salon in Florida is confirming his appointment, and his credit cards are cut in halves. With his identity stolen and his career on the brick of collapse (and just out of handcuffs), Sandy leaves his family and job to literally bring the criminal (Melissa McCarthy) to justice, from Florida to Colorado. Little does he know. The weird but wonderful road trip begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I visually enjoy you..., 17 Nov. 2013
Sandy Patterson gets a call confirming his name and other information. The next thing he knows his credit cards are maxed out.

With his identity stolen, Sandy leaves his wife, kids and job to bring the thief to justice. But keeping tabs on the other Sandy, and run-ins with bounty hunters, is harder than he was expecting.

The returning trip is going to find both Sandys learning from one another....

It's another movie with a great premise. But, like all these risqué comedies, it fails to deliver on the great concept and other ideas.

It's basically a profane, vomit filled odd couple, and the tropes are delivered in spades. You know they are going to despise each other, one is laid back, the other is as straight as can be, but low and behold, they start to drain from each others personality.

The two leads are good though, Bateman in my opinion can do no wrong, and I could watch him reading the dictionary, but his character is the same as almost every other comedy he's done in this sub genre. See all his movies since 2007.

McCarthy is the selling point of the movie, the character with the heart, like a fraud version of Roberts in Pretty Woman, the studio wants us to relate to her, because, you know, she's had a hard life....

Some scenes are mildly amusing, but there are no laugh out loud moments, Lots of cringe worthy moments, like Favreau rifting on Swimming With Sharks, and Cho playing against type, but these are predictable in this sort of genre, and its getting tired.

If you want a predictable ride, with a sugar coated ending, this could be for you, but I wish the makers would be a little more sadistic and have more of an edge with these movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but not average either, 20 Nov. 2013
Not the car crash disaster its reputation suggests it is. Having said that, it was no misunderstood masterpiece. It's below average generic stuff with a weak script and a central premise that has problems.

The female lead is very unlikable. The actress is of limited appeal (she works better as a supporting actress, like she was in Bridesmaids) and her character is downright repugnant. They give her the standard redemptive arc but she doesn't deserve it. She was not redeemed and made good in my eyes by the end. Why Bateman and his family grow to like her makes no sense.

Also why is Amanda Peet in this film? As a successful actress surely there was another movie out there that offered her more than the basic supportive wife role. It's a comedy and she doesn't even get one funny line. It's a very underwritten sexist role. It just feels odd to me that an established actress with options would agree to play that part (for lots of money is the only realistic explanation).

The subplots with the bounty hunter and the two hit persons feel very bolted on. They impact very little on the story and feel contrived. Frankly they have wandered in from another film with a different tone and approach to logic. Also the two car chase scenes (when she is kidnapped, and when they escape the police car) are action sequences that have been squeezed in from another movie as well. The script is not very consistent. Perhaps it was mucked about with by everyone over years in development hell. I suspect the credited writers hate the movie as their original drafts were probably very different and better. NOTE: I've just Googled their credits. Nothing in their pasts suggests high standards.

For a comedy it wasn't particularly funny. There are a few very mild laughs here and there. Not a high hit-rate.

It's a very weak movie of no merit, but it was watchable enough if you expect nothing from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T TAKE DIANA HOME, 3 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Identity Thief [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The film starts out fairly decent as Sandy Patterson (Jason Bateman) has his identity stolen by a likeable, playful Diana (Melissa McCarthy- Bridesmaid). We see Sandy's life come apart from the incident as it seems no one in Colorado understands identity theft. Sandy is forced to act on his own as he goes to Florida to ask Diana to please return to Colorado with him to explain to his wife and boss how he can not be in Florida and Colorado at the same time.

Now at this point the film becomes improbable as our duo transverse the county being pursued by the bad guys in a comedy that falls flat as the film takes on aspects of "Planes, Trains, and Automobiles" minus the humor. Melissa McCarthy gives us a good performance for a tired script. Cheap rental only.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex. No nudity-thank you Melissa for drawing the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sandy and fake Sandy, 18 July 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Identity Thief [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Advertising executive Sandy who is male is horrified to learn that someone has stolen his identity. After discovering that the police can't help him, Sandy tracks down the thief himself, a loudmouthed woman. A very silly but very likeable and amusing comedy that's not to be taken seriously in any way. While it is predictable there are some good performances. Jason Bateman is likeable in the lead as Sandy but the film is stolen by Melissa Mccarthy as the loudmouthed thief and con artist Diane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal, 14 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Identity Thief (DVD)
Somehow I had got the impression that this was a comedy. I think I laughed once (the snake/hitting with a flaming stick scene) but this was completely unpleasant, humourless, gross, lame and supremely uninvolving. AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not funny. I, 30 July 2014
By 
Ms. M. James "pxzqfd33jk" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Identity Thief [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
X rated language fall the way through. Spoils one of the world's funniest comediennes. Hum drum plot line. Not funny. I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Identity Thief [DVD] [2012]
Identity Thief [DVD] [2012] by Seth Gordon (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews