Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as I am then this is a great film! Slated by some for its torture scenes
Review of ZERO DARK THIRTY starring Jessica Chastain - 1st November 2014. The story of the hunt for Osama Bin Laden is a fascinating one and if you are into that kind of thing, as I am then this is a great film! Slated by some for its torture scenes, which I found to be quite tame and on a par with other movies of this genre, the film follows the tenacious Mia, played...
Published 1 month ago by Lee James

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BRING ME PEOPLE TO KILL
This film is about Maya (Jessica Chastain) a potty mouthed CIA operative and her one woman crusade to get Bin Laden. It starts off with 9-11. Maya is a composite character. The CIA is not as dumb as this film portrays. She visits CIA black sites around the world through their revolving door. It appears as if she got all the intelligence on her own. We know this was not...
Published 19 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as I am then this is a great film! Slated by some for its torture scenes, 1 Nov 2014
By 
Lee James (West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Dark Thirty [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Review of ZERO DARK THIRTY starring Jessica Chastain - 1st November 2014. The story of the hunt for Osama Bin Laden is a fascinating one and if you are into that kind of thing, as I am then this is a great film! Slated by some for its torture scenes, which I found to be quite tame and on a par with other movies of this genre, the film follows the tenacious Mia, played by the lovely Jessica Chastain as she is sent out to Afghanistan to hunt for Bin Laden. The movie traces her first steps into the interrogation methods used to extract information from captured terror suspects, through her battle with US officialdom in the form of Washington and the CIA and getting the resources she needs to actually hunt effectively for the big man himself, to finally convincing the sceptics that she has actually found Bin Laden. The final masterpiece at the end of the film, the actual mission into Pakistan to carry out the SEAL raid, was something I was worried that Hollywood might mess up, since script writers and movie directors are well known for taking so-called "artistic licence" with some subjects and eventually screwing up the story out of all proportion. Thankfully not so with Zero Dark Thirty, where the finale of the film, the actual raid itself, is really gripping to watch. Highly recommended viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making a drama out of a crisis, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There have been a lot of negative reviews of Zero Dark Thirty (2012) based on the real-life hunt for Osama bin Laden and those involved in the terrorist attacks by the al-Qaeda against citizens of the USA and other countries. I have to agree that the storyline seems to lack excitement in what should have been an exciting movie but I don't think it's fair to rubbish it and possibly Kathryn Bigelow was trying to prevent the movie turning into one of those all too familiar gung-ho action/thrillers that seem to depart from reality with showers of explosions and buildings collapsing on a regular basis - not to mention car chases. While I admit I know little about what went on following the 9/11 attacks, I can well imagine that it took a lot of tedious investigation and frustration to obtain results; after all, they were dealing with fanatical and religious people who were willing to sacrifice themselves while bombing their victims, not people who would readily sell-out their grannies for a fiver.

Anyway, what do I know about it all except that I thought the movie was pretty decent - it came up to my expectations because I was expecting it to be more drama than action/thriller and so I wasn't disappointed. As for the torture scenes, they were no worse than you would see in many an action movie including James Bond movies.

I have no idea how much 'artistic license' was used in the making of Zero Dark Thirty (2012) but I thought Kathryn Bigelow did a fair job of it. Even so, the Oscar that it won in the 2013 Academy Awards ceremony was for Best Achievement in Sound Editing. The Oscar for Best Motion Picture of the Year (2012) went to Argo, another controversial movie.

I watched Zero Dark Thirty (2012) by way of Blu-ray which I bought online from Amazon.UK. It also came with Ultraviolet. Although the image was fine and the sound great, I was a bit nonplussed as to why, when I inserted the disc, I would get someone speaking to me in French, telling me (I think) to select my language of choice! Also, the symbols relating to the options for the disc were unfamiliar and so it was all a bit of guess-work. There were a few extras with the Blu-ray; the usual stuff about the making of the movie, about the history behind it, about the director and the main character played by Jessica Chastain.

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BRING ME PEOPLE TO KILL, 11 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zero Dark Thirty [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This film is about Maya (Jessica Chastain) a potty mouthed CIA operative and her one woman crusade to get Bin Laden. It starts off with 9-11. Maya is a composite character. The CIA is not as dumb as this film portrays. She visits CIA black sites around the world through their revolving door. It appears as if she got all the intelligence on her own. We know this was not the case.

In comparison, I must say "Seal Team Six" was a far better film as far as plot. What this film offers is an obsessed Jessica Chastain who borders on insanity. Her character seemed unrealistic at times, but compelling at other times.

Much has been made about the politics of this film which I found they took great lengths to be non-controversial. Sometimes facts have a bias to them. There is excessive torture at the beginning of the film. Information is gathered from people that have been tortured, but not necessarily because of it, as there is a disconnect between the two events. The audience is allowed to decide on its effectiveness. Seal Team Six appears late in the film, almost as an afterthought. The other film was superior in presenting the Navy Seals.

Obama and Bush aren't mentioned per se. Obama appears speaking in the background on TV. There is a new policy concerning torture that is alluded to, but the details are not given. One remark was, "You don't want to be the one caught holding the dog collar."

There is a reluctance on the part of some to invade the Bin Laden compound due to the WMD/Iraq disaster although no blame is specifically placed.

Chastain does an excellent job and is the best aspect of this feature. In an idea world she would have played Maya in "Seal Team Six." I found the political criticisms unwarranted as was the praise given to this film when "Seal Team Six" was clearly the superior production in presenting the tale. If you haven't caught "Seal Team Six" check it out.

Recap: Chastain great. Rest of movie so-so. "Seal Team Six" superior over-all.

Parental guidance: F-bombs, no sex, some male prisoner rear nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zero dark thirty, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Dark Thirty [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This film charts the Americans ultimately successful attempt to find and eliminate Osama Bin Laden. Made to be as historically accurate as possible, this is not a cheerful film, but with a very atmospheric soundtrack it is an enthralling one. This film might not be for everyone, but as a depiction of intelligence gathering techniques, and special forces operations, it is one of the best I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and Gritty with no glory hunting!, 11 Feb 2013
I have a lot of respect for film makers that are prepared to be brave. A gritty straightforward "docu film" about the biggest manhunt in history. We will never know what actually happened but this is the next best thing. There are no "hoowaahh" amercanisms either - just pinpoint detail.

It does contain torture scenes but these are nowhere near as bad as what you have been lead to believe. In fact Ive seen worse on a BBC Sunday night!

Very different to the Hurt Locker but if you liked that or other political docu films you will like this. The first 5 minutes of the film are probably the most provocative..and theres nothing on screen. Your just listening....

A Classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uncompromising film, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Jennie Lynch "Firefool" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brutal, engrossing and morally challenging film. There has certainly been some controversy about the torture scenes and scope for discussion about whether the end does justify the means. However, the director does not portray the story as a simple fight between good and evil and shows an uncompromising snapshot of the realities of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Torture is wrong no matter what the situation. If ..., 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Torture is wrong no matter what the situation.If you forget your humanity you become the enemy and alienate potential allies and friends.One of the aims of terrorist acts is to force goverments to adopt repressive measures that will alienate their population and bolster the terrorists cause.The film is well made and acted.It leaves you to make up your own mind about the torture and forces you to think.Is it just me or is there a hint that the main protaganist possibly lost her family to a terrorist act.Hence why she could not tell the director of the CIA what her motive for joining was during the scene in the canteen and why she was so driven.This would also explain the emotional release at the end. "What now ?" she seems to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to make a movie, 22 Mar 2013
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Why do people use their reviews to make political points or critise the actions of a third party? It doesn't matter what you think about waterboarding or the CIA, you're here to review a piece of fictionalised film making to give potential buyers an opinion.
That said I really enjoyed this film. It's no spoiler to say that the actual attack on Bin Laden's compound occupies the final half hour of a two and a half hour movie and when I realised how long the film was I did wonder how Katherine Bigelow was going to keep me interested.
Well she did it with a tense slow burning fuse of a movie based upon Jessica Chastain's character's obsession with killing Bin Laden. She goes from a fresh faced new recruit who turns her face away from torture to the a hard bitten professional spy. I felt her tears at the end were due to her realsing she had nothing left in her life following the success of the mission.
If your sort of movie doesn't progress beyong 'Die Hard' (which I love too) then you probbaly won't enjoy this film. If however you do like a good story with a superb cast performance then this could be for you.
If 'Die Hard' is the only type of movie you enjoy then don't bother fast forwarding to the end. The raid on the compound portrays professional soldiers and a job well done not gung ho trigger happy grunts.
The picture quality of the blu ray is superb and it has an excellent 5.1 audio track too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a nice movie, not a must see as I had ..., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a nice movie, not a must see as I had thought, but yes, it is worth the money and the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When the going gets tough - the tough dig their heels in, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Zero Dark Thirty [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
It's inevitable that comparisons will be drawn between Kathryn Bigelow's latest and Ben Affleck's surprise hit Argo (DVD + UV Copy), however suffice to say that as good as it is, the latter just can't match this for sheer balls-out tenacity - embodied, ironically, by Jessica Chastain's peerless CIA officer, Maya. By the film's denouement, Maya has spent her entire twelve year CIA career hunting Bin Laden, and upon her mission's eventual success (no spoiler as the film's based on real events), we see the massive sense of anti-climax through her eyes; a suitably passionate ending to a fine movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zero Dark Thirty [DVD] [2012]
Zero Dark Thirty [DVD] [2012] by Kathryn Bigelow (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews