Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
I've used F4 for a few months and so far I am very pleased with it. F4 works very well and has all the basic functionality that I need: heart rate, adjustable heart rate zone, zone warnings, burnt calories, time, average heart rate etc. It's not very stylish but I wouldn't wear it outside the running path anyway:)

Pros:
- easy to set up
- easy to...
Published on 22 July 2011 by mika

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In the 21st century I now expect much MUCH more
Look, these products do a job, but really, they are absolutely ripe for disruption. The screen is crummy, the buttons are archaic, and the whole usability and interface are like something from a 1970s casio watch i.e. virtually non-existent. This product wasn't so much designed as hewn from stone. In the 21st century I now expect much MUCH more from such a product.
Published 16 days ago by A. Fox


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 July 2011
I've used F4 for a few months and so far I am very pleased with it. F4 works very well and has all the basic functionality that I need: heart rate, adjustable heart rate zone, zone warnings, burnt calories, time, average heart rate etc. It's not very stylish but I wouldn't wear it outside the running path anyway:)

Pros:
- easy to set up
- easy to use
- chest belt is comfortable and machine washable (in laundry bag)
- finds heart rate reliably and quickly
- display is easy to read

Cons:
- none really

I may upgrade to a heart rate monitor with a GPS receiver in the future but I can recommend F4 for anyone who wants a reliable monitor with basic functions for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Fault It, 27 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product, 'does exactly what it says on the tin'.
I wear it whenever I go cycling, come rain or shine, and it has never let me down.
Easy to read whilst on the move. Love the fact that it stores 10 Training Files.
Seems very accurate and looks good too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar FT4 Men's Heart Rate Monitor and Sports Watch (Electronics)
As well as pulse measuring the FT4M also records basic training albeit it's a little a bit fiddly to access. The chest strap is easy to adjust for size, easy to put on and vey comfortable to wear. The watch strap fitting is also very adjustable having many closley spaced holes embedded in a narrow plastic strip running down the centre of the strap. All in all, an excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 19 Jun. 2013
By 
CMack "Caroline" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this product based on the reviews on amazon and on-line and could not be more delighted with the watch. Its great for those just starting out, its easy to use and I haven't had any problems using it so far. The chest strap is very comfortable I hardly even notice it during exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watch is as described. Bought for a birthday present. My son very pleased with it. Would recommed to anyone thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Polar Monitor Does the Job, 24 Sept. 2012
By 
John Hopwood (Haslemere, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this heart monitor to use in the gym as it appeared to do everything I required. Nothing too difficult - record results for 4 exercises, each showing average and maximum heart rates, duration, and calories. Also, heart rate to appear on the dial during exercises and even better if it also transfers this figure to the exercise machine (where possible).

When it arrived I was somewhat disappointed as it looked rather flimsy and plasticy - my previous Oregon monitor was larger and more sturdy (however, it failed to work properly after 3 years). Well, my concerns were unfounded. The Polar monitor does everything I required (and more). It does not need to be large and heavy-duty - the simple design is strong enough and not of inferior Chinese quality. The heart rate does show on the exercise machines. Another excellent feature is the detachment of the monitor itself from the chest strap, so that the battery then stops working. In my Orogon the battery had to be removed to stop it and it was the monitor part that eventually failed.)

Learning how to use it was very quick - it is not unnecessarily complex. It is also very easy to use. Finally, changing the battery in both the watch and monitor is quick and easy. (On my Orogon, it was extremely difficult to change the battery in the watch.)

No complaints other than the fact that it looks like I am wearing a plastic digital watch rather than a sporty accessory !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly functional but if being picky a little uncomfortable, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does everything you could want it to, tells you the calories burnt, the current heart rate, length of session, whether your heart rate is in your predetermined zone with an audible beep when it's not. After the workout session you can look through previous sessions where it will tell you length if session average heart rate maximum heart rate, time "in the zone" and calories burnt. The only negative is the watch is a little uncomfortable and the strap can be a bit imposing at times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent heart rate monitor, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent entry level heart rate monitor. I love that the running / cross trainer machines at the gym pick up signal and project it automatically however the machines next to you can pick it up also, so its strange that other people have your heart rate.

The Calorie calculator is interesting. It is far higher than what the machines at the gym show (3 times more in some cases) but from what I can tell, this is a very accurate monitor so should take it as far closer to what is actually being spent.

The chest strap is very comfortable if a little strange to use at first.

All in all i would highly recommend this heart rate monitor for those who want to know what their heart rate is, the calories burned and a good summary at the end of what they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In the 21st century I now expect much MUCH more, 10 Mar. 2015
By 
A. Fox "generalist" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Look, these products do a job, but really, they are absolutely ripe for disruption. The screen is crummy, the buttons are archaic, and the whole usability and interface are like something from a 1970s casio watch i.e. virtually non-existent. This product wasn't so much designed as hewn from stone. In the 21st century I now expect much MUCH more from such a product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good functional product for the money, 12 Mar. 2012
By 
David B (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thing to bear in mind is that the chest strap works effectively to transmit the signal only when the sensors on the fabric part of it are damp against the skin. That is why you need to wet the sensors under a tap when you first put the strap on; otherwise the watch will not receive a signal. After that, the sweat of moderate excercise is enough to keep it working properly. However if you just want to monitor your heart when you are walking around or resting, it won't work because there is no sweat. I found that out when I wore it on a ramble. It worked for a couple of hours but stopped when the strap sensors dried out.
The chest strap is good quality and is reasonably comfortable. It is adjustable and elasticated to fit at just the right tightness, not too tight to be restrictive and not so slack that it keeps slipping down; the best position is just under the breast bone so that the transmitter iteself sits just above your solar plexus.
The watch is fairly easy to use, navigation around the menus is intuitive. The readout of the heart rate is big enough to see easily. It also communicates with the cardio machine I am on (most of the time!) so that my heart rate is displayed on the machine in front of me. It also displays the heart rate as a percentage of maximum. If you think the maximum it sets is too low you can 'fool it' by entering a lower age in the settings (but you might want to consult a doctor or professional for a health check before you start pushing your heart near it's maximum)
A good solid product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews