Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good
I've used F4 for a few months and so far I am very pleased with it. F4 works very well and has all the basic functionality that I need: heart rate, adjustable heart rate zone, zone warnings, burnt calories, time, average heart rate etc. It's not very stylish but I wouldn't wear it outside the running path anyway:)

Pros:
- easy to set up
- easy to...
Published on 22 July 2011 by mika

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quality has a price
My wife previously had a Polar F11 and was very pleased with it. The FT4 as a replacement unfortunately failed to meet expectations of how the data was reported - No average Heart Rate displayed per session etc. - This info is only available in the data file that you may decide to access once you have gone home and got bored. The watch strap quality was also lacking with...
Published on 28 Nov 2010 by Andy


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 July 2011
I've used F4 for a few months and so far I am very pleased with it. F4 works very well and has all the basic functionality that I need: heart rate, adjustable heart rate zone, zone warnings, burnt calories, time, average heart rate etc. It's not very stylish but I wouldn't wear it outside the running path anyway:)

Pros:
- easy to set up
- easy to use
- chest belt is comfortable and machine washable (in laundry bag)
- finds heart rate reliably and quickly
- display is easy to read

Cons:
- none really

I may upgrade to a heart rate monitor with a GPS receiver in the future but I can recommend F4 for anyone who wants a reliable monitor with basic functions for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job very well, but no G-Shock, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a basic heart rate monitor, primarily to use with an Infiniti (aka LifeCORE) R100 Rowing Machine. I was replacing an old and malfunctioning CARDIOsport Heartsafe-T, which was flaky at the best of times and never really recovered from the last battery change. I could have just bought a Polar WearLink chest strap and transmitter (for around 30-40) and used the HRM computer on the rowing machine, but for the difference in cost I thought a new HRM receiver watch would be useful.

My criteria were;

* accurate and reliable
* comfortable and washable chest strap
* compatible with the industry standard 5kHz HRM receiver on my rowing machine
* user-replaceable batteries
* no needless frills - I didn't need features like PC data interface, etc.

This model seems to fit the bill perfectly. I've certainly found it accurate (at least as accurate as any domestic HRM can be) - the BPM readings match those on the rower's computer (which they never did with the CARDIOsport for some reason) and it monitors reliably throughout a training session, provided you remember to moisten the strap well before use. The WearLink strap itself is very comfortable and I like the fact that you can detach the WearLink transmitter to maximise transmitter battery life and wash the strap.

Initial setup is fairly intuitive (I never had to refer to the supplied quick start manual), though the 5 push buttons have minimal labelling. Date and time are straightforward, then it prompts you to enter your biometric details (height, weight, age, sex). It uses these to calculate your optimum heart rate zone and calorie burn, using the usual generic algorithm. You can override the calculated values if you want to set your own zone thresholds. It can record and store up to 10 individual training sessions, each of which contains data on session duration, maximum and average heart rate, calories burnt, and time spent within the training 'zone'. You can delete individual sessions or all 10 at once. It has a useful feature whereby you can scroll through the display options simply by bringing the watch close to the chest transmitter. None of this information is in the supplied quick start manual, by the way - you have to download the full 16-page manual in your language of choice from the Polar support web site (I don't mind that so much).

As a watch, it's frankly on a par with a petrol station giveaway, though you can apparently swim with it on provided you don't push any buttons! It has dual time zone, a feeble alarm and an even more feeble back light, as well as a certain retro chic. The display is clear enough in daylight, but I can't see many people wanting to use this as their main watch. It's certainly no G-Shock and the plastic display scratches very easily.

I can't vouch for battery life yet. The watch battery is already installed on arrival, and once you've completed the setup the watch is on all the time - there is no 'on/off' or 'sleep' function to extend battery life. Fortunately battery replacement is via a standard coin-twist access panel, as is also the case for the transmitter.

All in all, it does everything I need perfectly well and I felt it was reasonably good value for the money (I paid 55).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does what it says, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
found my heart rate straight away holds all the information i need to no just what i was looking for and batteries are renewable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Fault It, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product, 'does exactly what it says on the tin'.
I wear it whenever I go cycling, come rain or shine, and it has never let me down.
Easy to read whilst on the move. Love the fact that it stores 10 Training Files.
Seems very accurate and looks good too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watch is as described. Bought for a birthday present. My son very pleased with it. Would recommed to anyone thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value,easy to use and look after,and so helpful in training and weight loss.
Take no notice of what the machines in the gym say you have burned,get it direct from your ticker to your watch how many calories you have really burned.You will be surprised and inspired to work harder to burn more,quicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar FT4 Men's Heart Rate Monitor and Sports Watch (Sports)
As well as pulse measuring the FT4M also records basic training albeit it's a little a bit fiddly to access. The chest strap is easy to adjust for size, easy to put on and vey comfortable to wear. The watch strap fitting is also very adjustable having many closley spaced holes embedded in a narrow plastic strip running down the centre of the strap. All in all, an excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Ms. C. Macvey "Caroline" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this product based on the reviews on amazon and on-line and could not be more delighted with the watch. Its great for those just starting out, its easy to use and I haven't had any problems using it so far. The chest strap is very comfortable I hardly even notice it during exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Top watch, very easy to use. The belt for the transmitter is very comfortable. Good for keeping you in the fat burning zones!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this watch, use it everytime i hit the gym so i can compare my workouts how much calories i burn and also lets you know when you are in your 'zone'. WORK SMARTER NOT HARDER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews