Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Literary historical mystery of fine vintage.
This is a very classy, beautifully put together historical mystery set in Dickensian London, but exploring the murky, destructive menage of Percy Bysshe Shelley and his second wife Mary Godwin. It's satisfyingly page-turning, but many of its pleasures are literary, scholarly and intellectual.
Published 17 days ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An ill-conceived piece of literary parasitism that adds nothing to Shelley scholarship and fails as a novel--hated it!
Oh dear, what can I say? This is far worse than Tom All Alone's in its literary method; there, at least a work of fiction i.e Bleak House, was warped and twisted by the author's parasitic mode of writing and no real people were depicted in a damaging light. In A Treacherous Likeness, however, real people are trashed, including Mary Shelley who is portrayed as a...
Published 9 months ago by Goth lady


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An ill-conceived piece of literary parasitism that adds nothing to Shelley scholarship and fails as a novel--hated it!, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Treacherous Likeness (Charles Maddox 3) (Kindle Edition)
Oh dear, what can I say? This is far worse than Tom All Alone's in its literary method; there, at least a work of fiction i.e Bleak House, was warped and twisted by the author's parasitic mode of writing and no real people were depicted in a damaging light. In A Treacherous Likeness, however, real people are trashed, including Mary Shelley who is portrayed as a semi-psychopath who is capable of child murder. It's a queasy mixture of fact and fiction and, as Daisy Hay so succinctly said in her Guardian review of March 2013, it's a great pity that the denouement is so mean-spirited, ill-conceived and nasty.

If only (as I said before in my review of Tom All Alone's) the author would ditch her academic credentials/research and stop using other authors and real people as a crutch to support her fiction. She can write well (except when her pastiche of Dickens becomes over-arch) and Charles Maddox is an engaging central character, but I'm afraid I felt deeply irritated by this book. It's mean to say this when a lot of hard work must have gone into this book, but I couldn't help thinking her thesis about Mary Shelley was in very poor taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mean-spirited character assassination of Mary Shelley, 11 May 2013
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This book is written in lovely prose - but I hate its depiction of Mary Shelley which is vicious, malicious and would be positively libellous if written about someone alive today. Shepherd has read the standard biographies, the letters, the journals - and then has chosen to ignore them in creating a monstrous Mary Shelley.

Unlike Shepherd's last two books, this doesn't make an intervention into a classic novel, instead it takes on the Shelley `circle' - Shelley, Byron, Mary Shelley, Claire Clairmont - and, particularly, the motifs of death that followed them: the suicides of Shelley's first wife, and Mary Shelley's half-sister Fanny Imlay; the succession of dead babies; the early death of Shelley himself before the age of 30, and turns them into a personal indictment of Mary Shelley.

Shepherd tries to justify her treatment in an afterword but I'm afraid I disagree both with her thesis (for which there is no evidence) and the way in which she puts it forward in this book. Her argument about the authorship question of Frankenstein can be fairly easily discounted as the 1818 manuscript for the novel exists in the Bodleian in Mary Shelley's handwriting, and Shepherd's assertion that it was dictated by Shelley is spurious in the extreme. More pressing, however, is the unpleasant emotional manipulations this book makes in its depiction of Mary Shelley, and its radical re-writing of the relationship between Claire Clairmont and Shelley.

I can't expand without significant spoilers but readers may want to compare this novel with some of the scholarly literature on the Shelley `circle': Richard Holmes' seminal Shelley: The Pursuit, and Janet Todd's Shelley and the Maiden are particularly relevant to some of the issues central to this book, though offering very different and far more subtle and nuanced interpretations without whitewashing or eliding the undoubtedly disturbing elements of the story. There are also many volumes of letters and journals from all these participants which are available in university and research libraries, and which serve as the basis for the biographies noted above.

It may be argued that this as `just fiction' - but I'm afraid I found this a jaundiced, hostile and deeply unpleasant recreation of a woman whose own writings reveal someone very different. Read this by all means, but do bear in mind that it's one person's rendition, in fictional form, of a group of real people who, sadly, can't defend themselves against the profoundly disturbing accusations made against them here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Literary historical mystery of fine vintage., 12 Mar. 2015
This is a very classy, beautifully put together historical mystery set in Dickensian London, but exploring the murky, destructive menage of Percy Bysshe Shelley and his second wife Mary Godwin. It's satisfyingly page-turning, but many of its pleasures are literary, scholarly and intellectual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked the second Maddox book, Tom All Alone's, but this one is a different matter and I have given up on it a third the way through. It is excessively verbose with long, boring tracts (fictionally) ascribed to Shelley and his mistress, has a very contrived story line and is just plain dull, at least so far. However, I shall not persist with it to find out if it improves and, in any case, I suspect I know how it will pan out. This is a pity because Ms Shepherd captured the Dickensian zeitgeist beautifully in TAA but this, I'm afraid, is a pot-boiler as far as I'm concerned. More effort required in future I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An atmospheric tale of love, loss and madness, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
n the middle of the 19th century, young detective Charles Maddox is called to the London home of Sir Percy Shelley and his wife Lady Jane. The only surviving child of the poet Shelley and his novelist wife Mary, Percy wants to protect the reputation of his increasingly infamous parents by buying up any and all rogue letters that threaten the safety of the past. Maddox is given the name of the latest pedlar of letters but he soon discovers that this is no ordinary tittle tatler - Claire Clairmont is the stepsister of Mary Shelley and what she knows could be lethal to the memory of the Romantic poet as well as to Mary, the author of Frankenstein.

This tale, though, follows a dark and twisted path. The light of romanticism and love is obscured by the night of madness, corrupt desire, death and vengeance. There is another reason for Percy and Jane to hire Maddox to put a stop to Claire's memoirs. They know that Maddox has his own connection to Shelley through his great uncle, also called Charles Maddox, who fell into a catatonic stricken state, close to dying, just at the mention of the word `Shelley'. The younger Maddox must blunder on, building together the pieces from the lives of Shelley, Mary, Claire and Shelley's first wife, Harriet. So many of them, including their children, are dead. Maddox is so intent on the past, though, including that of his great uncle, that he can barely see what's going on in front of his eyes. It's all quite a riddle.

My knowledge of Shelley (Mr and Mrs) and Byron is limited to gothic movies and university seminars. Having been drawn to them as an impressionable youngster for their hedonistic frolicking amongst the sun-drenched ruins of Italy, now I find them alarming and ambiguous. A Treacherous Likeness makes me take another look, combining the conventional view with the tragic reality of lives cut short, often mysteriously, and sometimes at a cruelly young age. I'm not going to pretend to like Shelley or Mary Shelley. Both are clearly damaged, as are some of the others around them. Here, though, there are suggestions of something even blacker. These are tortured individuals, often very hard to sympathise with. There's a strong sense that it all has to be resolved. The job, though, isn't made easy for Maddox.

A Treacherous Likeness is an immersive novel. It steeps you in the time through its present tense narrative, its sense of place and immediacy, its fidelity to mid 19th-century styles of storytelling. This could take a while to get used to, it did for me, but once comfortable in the style, the reader is treated to an evocative, atmospheric maze of a read. It is extremely moving in places just as there are other parts of it which made me feel disgust. It's a story that provokes strong feelings.

This novel follows on from Maddox's earlier investigation in Tom-All-Alone's but it stands strong on its own feet. A Treacherous Likeness is a tale of love, loss and madness, which is never simple but is very hard to put down. I'm grateful for the review copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well..., 9 April 2014
This review is from: A Treacherous Likeness (Charles Maddox 3) (Kindle Edition)
Ms Shepherd's new-found notoriety drew me to read the first chapter or so of this book. I can understand why the author launched into a really nasty rant against an infinitely more successful writer - jealousy and resentment. The rant made no sense. Fueled perhaps by a glass or two of wine, she did herself no favours. Dependent as many authors are on Amazon, the flood of readers' negative comments will have more or less destroyed her chances of selling books through this medium. What a shame - a career ruined by a few dozen ill-chosen words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MAYBE THEY WERE NOT ALL THAT ROMANTIC, 19 May 2013
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Lynn Shepherd's new novel of place, character and time is the second exploration into the life of Charles Maddox, Victorian era investigator. In this outing he is hired by descendents of Percy Bysshe Shelley to retrieve some papers that could prove to be most damaging to the memory of the poet as well as ruinous the reputation of the family. A FATAL LIKENESS (also published as A TREACHEROUS LIKENESS) is a haunting, moody and beautifully executed novel that left me thinking about the characters and their secret lives long after I had closed the cover on the final page. The author's rather interesting and circumspect speculations are based upon her in depth research and left me with many questions about Shelley, his wife Mary and her step-sister Claire. Did Mary really write the celebrated FRANKENSTEIN novel or was it really Shelley? Was Shelley, the twice-wed unfaithful husband, really a closet pedophile who also suffered from paranoia and manic depression? Was the death of the couples' children the result of Munchausen by proxy or simple a case of bad luck? How many women loved Shelley and what was the cost of that love to each of them? Guess I, like Ms. Shepherd will have to follow in her footsteps and do some research of my own to determine

There are secrets to be unearthed from their hiding places in the many layers of this historical fiction narrative, some that directly involve Maddox's great uncle, whose declining health and memory preclude him from providing Charles with direct assistance as he struggles to ferret out answers to mysteries long buried.

Each secret is slowly revealed via letters, long concealed confessions and case histories, posthumous messages and questionable deaths in a tale that reads like a cross between a biography, a mystery, and a fairy tale straight out of Grimm.

For readers who dislike the third person style of writing, this book may prove to be a bit off-putting, but for those who enjoy well written reading matter that juxtaposes fascinating details of Regency and Victorian era personages and the cultural idiosyncrasies of the era with today's conventional wisdom it should prove to be a thought provoking read. Obviously, THE ROMANTICS refers only to their poetry because closer examination of their personal lives would have earned them the label of "THE CHAOTICS". 3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring drivel, 9 April 2014
A boring drivel of a novel. It's poorly researched and written. Dull and tiresome. A complete waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Might have bought it ....but...., 9 April 2014
By 
Helenmb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Treacherous Likeness (Charles Maddox 3) (Kindle Edition)
May well have purchased this book as it does get a couple of decent reviews but since author wants a top writer (or two) to cease writing in order that the reader/customer has a choice limited to the mediocre and worse, there is no way I could ever give this author's book houseroom. Hopefully she will issue an apology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable historical mystery, 30 July 2014
This is a very enjoyable read and a great follow-up to 'Tom-All-Alones'. I always think that the sign of a really good book is one that leads you on to want to read more - in this case I want to read more about the real lives of the Shelleys. I know that this author has received some bad press because of certain comments, but Shepherd is a very good author of adult mysteries. Let's just say that some people are better at writing children's books and some are better at writing for adults!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews