Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a compromise caused by low price, small size and massive zoom - but if you can overlook the flaws it's a good value camera
April 2014 update : This Canon SX500 IS has been replaced with the identical looking 30x zoom Canon PowerShot SX510 HS Camera (12.1MP, 3 inch rear LCD) that has a 12.1 megapixel CMOS sensor (which is a 4 million pixel drop in resolution from the 16 megapixel CCD in this SX500). Although probably less sharp than the SX500's old 16MP CCD detector in daylight, the new...
Published 20 months ago by Keith_Joseph

versus
147 of 155 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the casual snapper, disappointing for the enthusiast
First impressions
-----------------

I thought this was a surprisingly small and light camera for having a 30x zoom. It won't fit in a pocket - unless it's a big, baggy one - but should slip easily into a bag, or not wreck your neck muscles if carried on a strap. It has a nice comfortable grip, a good clear layout on the back with a nice clear screen...
Published 21 months ago by Caroline P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a compromise caused by low price, small size and massive zoom - but if you can overlook the flaws it's a good value camera, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
April 2014 update : This Canon SX500 IS has been replaced with the identical looking 30x zoom Canon PowerShot SX510 HS Camera (12.1MP, 3 inch rear LCD) that has a 12.1 megapixel CMOS sensor (which is a 4 million pixel drop in resolution from the 16 megapixel CCD in this SX500). Although probably less sharp than the SX500's old 16MP CCD detector in daylight, the new back-illuminated 12MP CMOS detector in the SX510 increases low light sensitivity and so reduces image noise in lower light (still using Digic 4 processing), and the cameras ISO max has been increased from 1600 to ISO 3200. Otherwise the newer SX510 HS has near identical features to this SX500 IS and shares the same lens, and so also has purple fringing problems in areas of hi-contrast. Which rate the new Canon PowerShot SX510 HS highly giving it a 'recommended' rating.

------------------------------------

My wife rates this Canon SX500 IS camera very highly. The PowerShot SX500 IS measures 104 x 70 x 80mm and weighs 341g including battery. That's pretty small and light for a camera with a massive 30x zoom - in fact this Canon SX500 is the smallest and lightest mega zoom camera currently available. That zoom is the 35mm dSLR equivalent of suitcase full of SLR lenses ranging from 24mm wide angle to 720mm telephoto, and there's the Canon's macro option that can focus from 0 cm. Plus the camera is solidly built, looks great, isn't expensive and has a load of adjustable control features. OK image quality isn't as good as a decent bridge camera, there's noise on all images and this becomes very noticeable above ISO 400 or if you enlarge the photo. Plus purple fringing can appear in areas of high contrast (an optical effect of that great zoom lens). But at standard viewing on a 24" PC monitor the images generally look pretty good, and importantly the camera has decent lens stabilisation built in so at least the handheld shots are nearly always in focus - even in low light provided the scene is fairly static. If you want better photo quality at high enlargement you'll have to forgo the massive 30x zoom or pay more and buy a larger camera. The camera can also shoot movies at (HD) 1280 x 720, 25 fps, and video quality is fine for casual use.

The lack of an LCD viewfinder (EVF) can be a problem in very bright sunshine as the rear LCD panel is all you have, but this camera's LCD screen is far superior to my wife's old Olympus u740 compact where you couldn't see anything at all in daylight. My wife has the option of both cameras, and now it's always this Canon SX500 that goes out with her despite it being more bulky - it's just so more usable in the field. My wife's review: `Actually this is a really good camera'. She's not interested in using my larger Olympus e620 dSLR or Canon SX50 HS bridge camera, she just wants a decent point and shoot that has a few customisable settings if required. This camera offers all that and more - the 30x zoom in particular - and it's pretty cheap with a street price of around 220.

The camera has quite a few adjustable settings, so you can change the focus from face recognition to centre point, manually set the ISO, White Balance and Exposure Compensation (brightness). You can switch off the autoexposure AE and autofocus AF lock, and there's an autofocus AF light and the option of manual focus. Plus there's three metering and focusing modes, art filters, and a selection of preset Scene Modes. Camera modes include Smart Auto (32 scenes detected), Program AE, Shutter priority AE, Aperture priority AE, Manual, and Live View Control. The maximum resolution photo is 4608 x 3456 Large jpgs (there's no RAW) and a 32Gb SD HC card can hold 4,560 Large photos on the card (and it can work with Eye-fi cards). The lens appears to have a screw thread for attachments and the camera can take the optional Canon HF-DC2 high power flash.

The camera comes with a NB-6L battery, a mains charger, a standard mini USB lead, and the software/operating manual CD. There's no SD HC card, case or lens hood supplied. I bought a couple of Sandisk Ultra SDHC 16GB cards, and a spare Canon NB-6L battery as the battery is quite small and only lasts around 195 shots. The flash has to be manually pulled up to use (no auto pop-up), but at least that prevents the flash firing accidently. The camera has a Mini HDMI out for a TV (cable not supplied). We purchased the official Canon DCC-950 camera case, nice but it lacks decent storage even for a spare battery, so we had to get a larger generic camera case as well. We also fitted an anti-reflection screen protector for the camera's rear LCD.

From the technical point of view the maximum lens aperture is f3.4-5.8, so the camera's not especially good at bringing in light to the CCD sensor. Worse still the 16MP CCD sensor with Digic 4 processing is not as good dealing with low light as a 12-16 MP Megapixel CMOS detector with Digic 5 would be, so the camera is susceptible to image noise in the photos and streaking on video in bright light (but using a CMOS sensor would up the price). Fortunately there's the decent intelligent image stabilization built into the lens to iron-out any camera wobbles, so at least the photo should be in focus - indoors without the flash my wife can get a fair number of blurred shots, but these are due to focus lock failure rather than camera shake (she tends to press the shutter release too hard and takes a picture by mistake, but at least she knows the picture will be blurred and can take another). Plus the camera has that problem with purple fringing in areas of high contrast, it's in just about every photo if you view at 100%. However when I haven't got my camera with me, I'm more than happy to borrow this camera - there's no advantage to having a mass of superb dSLR kit if it's left at home because it's too intrusive and bulky for the location. The camera is perfectly useable hand held at full 30x zoom, particularly if the view is fairly static.

If you can put up with the Canon SX500's size (despite being smaller and cheaper than a typical megazoom bridge, the camera is still noticeably bigger than our Olympus u740 micro-compact and can't quite fit into the pocket) and if you can live with the compromise in image quality caused by the large zoom and low price, then this camera has a lot to recommend it. My wife is very happy with it, and she uses it a lot indoors and out. We both rate the camera 5* for build and value, and 4* for photo quality. I've posted example photos under customer images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little camera with an amazing zoom, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
Really happy with this camera. It's not too complicated to use, looks good, is small which makes it easy to carry and it's 30mm zoom is amazing (but you do need a support or tripod as it's very difficult to not shake the camera when the zoom is out fully) As you can probably tell from my review I am not an experienced photographer, I just love taking pictures and this camera suits me down to the ground. I would recommend you purchase an Anti-glare Screen protector for the back screen as this camera does not have a view finder (which I would have really preferred) and when you do get glare on sunny days you can only really see your reflection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 155 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the casual snapper, disappointing for the enthusiast, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Caroline P. (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First impressions
-----------------

I thought this was a surprisingly small and light camera for having a 30x zoom. It won't fit in a pocket - unless it's a big, baggy one - but should slip easily into a bag, or not wreck your neck muscles if carried on a strap. It has a nice comfortable grip, a good clear layout on the back with a nice clear screen (although I could only test it in autumn sunlight), a convenient one-touch recording button for movies and, wonder of wonders, a lens cap with a thin strap you can attach to the camera body so you can be sure of not losing it. It also feels reassuringly solid and well made. All in all, it gave a good first impression. The only no-no was the discovery that the Digital Zoom was switched on by default. The camera gives you a 30x Optical zoom anyway. A Digital zoom appears to add to that but doesn't actually give you any extra pixels - the ones you have are magnified and image quality suffers as a result. Most photographers would advise you to turn the digital zoom off and forget about it. And this camera cannot afford to give away image quality as it is its weakest point already. The other annoying negative is a manual that comes on disc rather than as a book.

Startup time is fast, as you'd expect with a modern camera. The menus are nice and clear with a brief description underneath of what each option is for. This is not always too helpful - if you don't know what a "Servo AF" is, or whether you want it on or off, just telling you that the option turns it on or off is not all the useful! So you need the manual - bad luck if you're out in the field and away from your PC for viewing it. However, Canon menus on the whole are usually nice and clear and easy to navigate, and this one is no exception. The settings you can change vary depending if you're in Automatic or one of the more manual modes. There are also some very basic editing options available when reviewing your photos.

Using the camera
----------------

The zoom is great fun! It is amazing what you can see, when you zoom right in on a screne. A truly excellent feature of the camera is the zoom assist button on the side, Press and hold this button, use the zoom controls to frame the part of the scene you want to zoom into and then when you release the button, the camera zooms in automatically to your frame. This process allows you to see a nice, clear box superimposed on the whole scene, allowing you avoid accidentally cropping out part of a person, or allowing annoying objects into your picture and I found myself using it all the time when zooming. A very nice touch.

Now for quality and use. If you're a happy point-and-click photographer who wants a decent camera to use on holidays and the like, you can almost stop reading here. Although not a fast ("bright") lens, pictures printed at 6in x 4in, or A4, or viewed on screen are fine with good colour balance. In all but the brightest light, however, you will need some form of tripod or other means of stabilising the lens at extreme zoom in order to get a sharp picture. But for almost everything, Automatic mode will serve you well and produce nice photos. Annoyingly, if you want to use Macro mode (and most people enjoy taking some macro photos) you can't do it in Automatic and will need to switch to a different mode. However, ordinary folk who don't want to be camera geeks will be well pleased with this camera.

If you're an enthusiast
-----------------------

If however you are a bit of a camera geek, the good news ends here, even though the camera provides some settings for the enthusiast (Av, TV, Manual, Program). The SX500 does have a very small sensor, as do most cameras of its class. Even allowing for that though, it has a noise problem. Even at the lowest ISOs, noise is clearly visible and zooming in to 100% will leave you disappointed, as will the relatively 'soft' images. Forget low-light photography - the noise is pretty terrible by ISO 800 and you'll need to use a flash. Flash balance is fairly good but still quite noisy - snaps only, really. There's some vignetting at the wide end of the zoom range but it's not terrible. What is more of a struggle is that the lens is pretty slow even at wide angle (max aperture at wide angle is f/3.4), let alone at extreme zoom. A tripod is a must - but the quality of the pictures will still disappoint. That's not only for noise but for chromatic aberration (ie purple fringing). I haven't seen this much purple fringing on any camera for years and it's really disappointing. Macro results, however, seemed pretty good and produced the sharpest & best images of any I took. The centre of the lens, it seems, is extremely sharp. Astonishingly the zoom goes to 0cm! Good luck getting light on the subject though - I couldn't find a way to test that! Colour reproduction seemed very good and true to life on all photos I took - this has always been a strong point of Canon cameras.

Conclusion
----------

Overall then, if you want a long zoom in a really very compact camera you probably won't find a longer zoom or a smaller body than this. If you're a casual user and don't want to enlarge your images, or crop in on them tightly, you're likely to be very happy with this camera. As a holiday and snaps camera for this kind of user, it's pretty excellent and even though the image quality could be better it's not likely to be much of a problem. For this kind of user, I'd give the camera 4 stars - maybe 4 and a half.

If you're an enthusiast, I think you're going to be disappointed with the image quality and the noise issues. For this group of users, who don't want to carry a heavy DSLR (or want to leave it behind sometimes) I think the compromises go too far, despite the wonderful long lens. The image quality just isn't up to scratch. For this group, then, 2 stars - and maybe, just maybe, 3 if the long zoom is an absolute 'must have' (but you'd be better with a larger-sensor compact and a crop, I think). And not having a manual to hand is infuriating for those who want to fully explore a camera's capabilities.

This makes a single overall rating for this camera a very difficult choice! But in all honesty, I think I can't give it more than 3 stars with the proviso (if you've read this far!) that it might suit YOU personally down to the ground if you're a casual snapper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
I am having so much fun with this camera. I have only ever used point and shoot before, this camera lets me go from that in stages as I gain confidence to a fully manual mode. Even I am surprised by how good the photos are. The only downside is that the manual is online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat Camera, 17 Oct 2012
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
I bought this camera as an alternative to a more complicated dslr. Ive had it for about to weeks, and I do alot of outdoor/nature photography(hobby). Ive taken some really great shots and am still learning all there is to know about this camera. But overall I would say that it is a really fun camera and it has a really great zoom. Can take acceptable pictures at really far distances. The macro is far better than my last camera and is suitable for my needs and since my primary photography targets are insects, this should say something. With the camera's zoom capabilities I might consider shooting birds lol. :) An extra battery might be something you want to consider however. One full charge will last me 2 or 3 days.....thats maybe an hour a day of active picture taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considering the price point, it's a super little camera, 23 Mar 2013
By 
McStick (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The unique selling point of this camera has to be the ability to remain compact, while incorporating a fantastic built in zoom. In the past, bridge cameras were closer to the size, and price, of an entry level DSLR. This meant that they were bulky and heavy, and the only real advantage was that an additional bag of lenses wasn't required.

With the Canon Powershot SX500, the x30 optical zoom has been retained, but the size of the camera has been massively reduced. It is now closer to the size of an average compact, with a large-ish lens attached to the front. The quality of the zoom has not been reduced either - in fact I would even go as far as to say that it has been improved. In addition to the x30 optical zoom, this can be extended to x120 with the assistance of the digital zoom. With other cameras that I have used in the past, the digital zoom was traditionally useless, even if you were using a tripod, as the pictures would either be excessively blurred, or contain a lot of noise.

In order to prove this, I set the camera a challenge. The challenge was as follows: would I be able to take a picture of a standard page of normal sized text in a magazine (Gardener's World, in case you're interested!), in daylight conditions, from four metres away and using the x120 digital zoom? The answer is yes. There was a bit of noise, and the colours were slightly distorted, but considering the challenge that was involved, I was very impressed. I couldn't even see that there was text on the page with the naked eye!

As I mentioned above, the main selling point of this camera is the ability to remain small, while keeping its fantastic zoom. Therefore, some compromises have needed to be made, so that it can still be affordable as a budget camera. The most major of these is that the number of shooting modes is somewhat limited compared to other cameras currently on the market. Therefore, unless have a snow (which at the time of writing, I do!) or a fireworks scene, there is little option but to take pictures on the automatic mode. Having said this, this will probably not really be an issue for the majority of people that this camera is aimed at. In fact, I only tend to change the settings and use scene modes when using a DSLR, on all other cameras, automatic mode is good enough for the situation.

While the number of scene modes is somewhat limited, it is still possible to adjust many other settings through the use of a full manual mode. Shutter and aperture priority modes are also available, however you've be forgiven for thinking they didn't at first glance, as Canon have called them Tv and Av modes, rather than the more common S and A.

One final point I would mention is the battery life. I received the Camera in October 2012 and have used it on and off since that date. During that period of time (6 months), I have charged the battery once and it is still showing 2 bars. A lot more impressive than another camera which I recently tried which had a battery life of a week, even if it wasn't used!

Overall, I am very impressed with this little camera. Yes, it may not be the most versatile and come with the most options and settings available, however for most people, I think the most important thing after image quality (and all cameras have mastered this by now), is zoom capability and quality. The majority of the other features are just nice to haves. Therefore, I can't find any fault with how it performs and at the end of the day, if I do find myself in a very special situation that requires all sorts of special features, I wouldn't be wanting to use what is, for all intents and purposes, a budget camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
A good point and shoot camera. I wish I put forward a bit more money for a cheap DSLR but I couldn't fit it into my budget. If like me you're unprepared to spend that much this camera may be worth trying.

Pros: Very good for macro photos, good zoom, easy to use, I have no complaints about the video capture (seems good to me), small and light.

Cons: Very noticeable chromatic abrasion against a cloudy sky (especially on tree branches etc). Quite a bit of noise, albeit a lot less than you'd get on cheaper cameras. Colors appear to be a bit washed out to me at times, jpeg only (no RAW), images seem to become 'damaged' easily if you try to improve them in photoshop/lightroom/whatever (that is to say they get more noisy and the jpeg artifacts become more apparent).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camera - for the price, 22 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First impressions of this camera is how compact it is. It really is a small camera when compared to my Nikon D5100 DSLR - and a fraction of the weight.

Out of the box, the battery has to be charged before use. The box contains a battery charger, mains lead, USB lead for PC connection, strap, lens cap, software CD & User Manual CD.

Once the battery was fully charged (indicated by green light on charger), it was placed into the camera. Sadly, there was no SD memory card included in the package so I used a spare I had with the Nikon.

Camera switched on, and a quick and easy initial setup of Language / Time / Date was completed in a minute or so.

Using the camera for the first time, I tried a variety of settings. The zoom capability of the camera is very good. A few family portraits (using the portrait mode)rendered lovely sharp images with good flesh tones. Flash, although adjustments to flash level are possible, was left at the standard setting and seemed to provide the perfect amount of light for portrait pictures. Also, the camera does warn you if flash is required in a given situation. To implement the flash, you are required to manually "lift" the flash unit at the top of the camera.

I will point out that the above portrait pictures were shot indoors. When setting up these images on the LCD screen (no viewfinder on this camera), the LCD looked extremely grainy. I'm not overly concerned about this as the resulting images were very good.

Outdoors in daylight, this is not an issue. Again images rendered are very sharp with good contrast and tonal balance.

HD video clips are very sharp and acceptable for 720p. Though the camera will seldom be used for video shooting anyway as my Nikon has full 1080.

The menus can appear to be a little confusing with some functions being difficult to access straight away, but as with most electronic equipment, plenty of hands on experience soon brings all the cameras feature to your fingertips.

I would invest in some LCD Screen protectors as the LCD on this camera can not be turned around as on some cameras to protect it from scratches etc. I would also look to get a camera case for it - though at the moment, there doesn't appear to be many dedicated cases for this model to choose from.

To summarise, while this camera can't hope to be a match for my more expensive Nikon, it does however punch above its weight for its price. We got this camera as a "family use" camera, and for that, I think it fits the bill perfectly. I do think Canon could, for what it would cost, include at least an 8GB SDHC card with the camera though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compact superzoom with a compact price, 27 Oct 2012
By 
Andrew "impulsive gadget buyer" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My first thought when holding this camera was how small and light it was. I have had other bridge camera's and they have been much larger and heavier so this was a welcome surprise.

Key Features
* 16.0 megapixel CCD sensor
* 30x optical zoom lens, equivalent to 24-720mm
* 60x ZoomPlus (Digital Zoom)
* Optical image stabilisation
* 3 inch screen, 460k dots
* P / A / S / M modes
* 720p video, with optical zoom
* ISO100-1600
* 0cm macro from the front of the lens
* 195 shot battery life

In the box you get some software and warranty documents, battery and charger (pleased to see it uses NB6L batteries the same as my Canon s95 Powershot, a thick lanyard and usb lead.
As with nearly every camera out there this does not come with an SD card supplied so you will need to pick one up separately. I use the excellent Sandisk Extreme cards which have been both great value and tremendous performers.

Once it's powered on and you work through the initial setup ie time/date I was struck by how similar the menu's and some of the technology was to my Canon s95, in a good way. Canon's digic 4 processing is present here as it is on my s95.

The main obvious feature of this camera is a 30x optical zoom which works really well. You can boost this to 60x zoom which is then digital. One very nifty feature on the left side of the lens barrel is a button which canon calls `Zoom Framing Assist'. What this means is when zooming in it is easy to lose sight of your target. Pressing this button quickly zooms the camera back out so you can reacquire your subject and get straight back in. This is a very nifty feature which will be particularly useful during big zooms.

There are also a number of other features to help get that perfect shot such as the intelligent image stabilisation and a smart auto mode that detects up to 32 scenes.

Although surprisingly small in hand it is actually very nice to hold and I had no trouble with my bear size paws! Two fingers grip the front while my index finger does the business with the zoom and shutter release while my thumb grips a raised dot area on the rear. You need your left hand for the frame assist button but on the whole I found it easy to use one handed, great compared to other bridge cameras.

Menus are quick and intuitive to use, and some menu functions only become available when you have selected one of the appropriate shooting modes. Menus as mentioned are easy to use and the camera also features manual focus.

Switch on time is ok and I found continuous shooting to be slower than that of my s95, though more than enough for everyday use. I found macro mode very good, with the camera able to focus on images directly in front of the lens.

I found the picture quality very good in daylight. I found it suffers a little in low light compared to my s95 and noise visibly increases once you approach/pass 30x zoom and enter digital zoom territory, although this I feel is to be expected.

Conclusion

This camera has a lot going for it. Very compact and very easy to use it is a great almost compact for everyday shooting with a tremendous zoom. It does have a lot of features, including filters such as fisheye/miniature etc which do work well. Although a curious omission is the lack of panoramic mode. This would have been a great feature to have.
Video is 720p so not full HD but the video I shot was nice and crisp and clear with stereo sound which should more than handle the occasional vid at a family event.
I think the slow shooting might put some off, especially if they are going for this to capture sports shots or other fast action shots. Great beginner's camera with manual control offering the ability to develop your skill and knowledge as you go.

One thing I really wasn't keen on was the flash. In order to deploy the flash you have to manually lift it up. Now, the camera does prompt you to do so but I cannot understand this. Even if it popped up when needed and just had to be manually closed I think would have been better. However, I guess this is the trade-off for its compact size and price.
Also, there would appear to be no case available specifically for it from Canon, though hopefully this will be rectified in the coming weeks.
I do like to have a genuine case built to fit.

Overall a good solid compact bridge camera with some cracking little features that I would recommend.

Update: for those looking for the genuine canon case for this camera it is the Canon DCC-950.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic camera, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PowerShot SX500 IS Digital Camera - Black (16.0 MP, 30x Optical Zoom) 3.0 inch LCD (Camera)
Brilliant little camera. Doesn't have a viewfinder, so shots are composed via LCD screen, but this is fairly common on these mid range cameras. Results are outstanding and video image is also very good. In short, good camera for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews