Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly as funny as it gets!
Okay, I'm going to push the boat out here and start off by saying that this book is as far as I'm concerned truly as funny as it gets. It comes off the back of a brilliant radio show which has already aired with the same name for several series on BBC Radio 4 and a BBC TV show `The Bleak Old Shop of Stuff' which starred among many others Stephen Fry, Robert Webb and David...
Published 21 months ago by Tim Kevan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High expectations but very bleak reality
Adore Bleak Expectations on Radio 4, have bought audio books of series 1-5
Didn't like old shop of stuff on the telly box, not as funny, thought this was because i am not fan of Mitchell and Webb.
Can not believe this book is by same writer as radio scripts; it has the feeling of class 4b being let loose on a wet Wednesday afternoon with instructions to write an...
Published 19 months ago by xxx


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly as funny as it gets!, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Tim Kevan (Braunton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Hardcover)
Okay, I'm going to push the boat out here and start off by saying that this book is as far as I'm concerned truly as funny as it gets. It comes off the back of a brilliant radio show which has already aired with the same name for several series on BBC Radio 4 and a BBC TV show `The Bleak Old Shop of Stuff' which starred among many others Stephen Fry, Robert Webb and David Mitchell. Now, the radio and TV shows were top notch (and shame on the BBC for not re-commissioning Bleak Old Shop), but it is in writing his first novel that Mark Evans truly comes into his own. This follows the same themes as the radio series - a spoof Dickensian comedy if you will. But it is goes much further and gives the writer full rein for his comedy genius (and I don't use the word lightly). It's beautifully written and truly laugh out loud funny. From the first page right through to the hilarious Appendix it'll have you not only turning the pages but having to make a list of the people you want to give it to for Christmas. As you've probably gathered by now, I can't recommend this book more highly. Destined to become a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High expectations but very bleak reality, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Kindle Edition)
Adore Bleak Expectations on Radio 4, have bought audio books of series 1-5
Didn't like old shop of stuff on the telly box, not as funny, thought this was because i am not fan of Mitchell and Webb.
Can not believe this book is by same writer as radio scripts; it has the feeling of class 4b being let loose on a wet Wednesday afternoon with instructions to write an amusing parody of Dickens, with predictable over cooked results.
Tried to hard 4/10

Please mr Evans, stick to the R4 scripts as somehow Bleak Expectations doesn't seem to work in any other format, maybe it is the excellent R4 cast who carry the show, I don't know, but this book was actually embarrassing to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas Present, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Hardcover)
If you're a fan of the radio series, as I and most of my family are, then this is the perfect Christmas present. I have got it for my mother and I wouldn't be at all surprised if she's bought it for me as well. It's got all the brilliant jokes of the radio show, plus lots of brilliant book parody stuff as well. Footnotes and the like. It's brilliantly funny even if you don't know the radio show. Buy it for anyone with even half a sense of humour. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Or, Oliver Copperfield, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Kindle Edition)
For those who've enjoyed this BBC R4 Dickens parody, here it is - and more - in print.

It seems to me that Dickens' success as a public reader of his own works is evidence that he wrote as much to be heard as to be read: hence the excellent screen and radio adaptations; likewise, this radio piece succeeds as an adaptation into novel form.

The parody is mordant, but affectionate: a deep love (and knowledge) of the originals shines from every page.

More important, it's very funny. I enjoyed it; I think you will, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Splendid, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Kindle Edition)
Be warned that if you buy this and read it in public you will find yourself reading extracts aloud to friends and possibly passers-by as well. I was surprised to discover that there are two "r"s in the word "harrumble". This changes everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny novelisation of the radio series, 23 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Hardcover)
Fans of the radio show will not be disappointed with Mark Evans's first novel, and anyone not familiar with the radio show will certainly enjoy this book for its humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the story from the radio series, 12 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Kindle Edition)
If you like the Radio 4 series of the same name you will love this. The best pastiche of Dickens ever. I found it hilarious and I defy anyone to not start adopting the narrators voice when reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great escapism..., 19 Feb 2014
By 
D.N.Wijewardane (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Hardcover)
If you like the slightly surreal and typical Brit humour of the "classical" type (not the silly current "Dumb Britain" humour that seems to prevail), eg venerable Python, Black Adder, Yes PM, and the books of Doug Adams, Chris Wood etc., ...and enjoyed the radio series, the book is - I feel - much better and more comprehensive, with hilarious footnotes and a writing style that pops out of the page at the reader. It does not - contrary to my fears - seem tedious after a few pages. The chuckles continue and makes for a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Kindle Edition)
I though this book was very funny and eerily similar to the radio show. I enjoyed it wholeheartedly and think others will do too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dickens mash_up, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bleak Expectations (Kindle Edition)
Comic book presents meets Dickens meets Monty Python meets Ripping Yarns. A good read if a little bizarre very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bleak Expectations
Bleak Expectations by Mark Evans
5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews