Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics
I didn't think that there would be much to comment on a set of banana plugs, but with a little bit of thought I can say that I was very pleasantly surprised by the offering.

The first question is obviously, do you need banana plugs for your music (stereo, hi-fi, etc) or audio visual ('AV') setup? If you know the answer to that (which should be fairly clear from...
Published 17 months ago by G. Ward

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-made, but not a great design
You can pay a small fortune for decent banana plugs, particularly from the "serious" hi-fi brands. On the other hand, I have had problems with dirt-cheap ones in the past, which tend to use small, feeble grub screws that disintegrate as soon as you try to tighten them. Amazon's own-brand offering is very cheap - around a pound a plug, which is about what you would pay for...
Published 18 months ago by S. P. Long


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
G. Ward "Sotto Voce" (You are here ->) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I didn't think that there would be much to comment on a set of banana plugs, but with a little bit of thought I can say that I was very pleasantly surprised by the offering.

The first question is obviously, do you need banana plugs for your music (stereo, hi-fi, etc) or audio visual ('AV') setup? If you know the answer to that (which should be fairly clear from the connection type on the back of the amplifier), then you're off to a good start.

In my experience banana plugs are fairly common (but note, they are not compatible with Cyrus, NAIM or the like, so always best to check).

The packaging is basic, but well thought out and more than adequate for protecting and arranging the contents. It's also dead easy to open up, and you're presented with a pair of plastic trays, with the paired (colour coded) connectors. With this arrangement is it easy to sort out the required numbers for left and right speakers. I was quite fortunate in that there were enough for my bi-amp setup (requiring twice as many connections between the speakers and the amplifiers).

I can't yet comment on how well the connectors will last, but the actual construction of the plugs appears to be very good. Perhaps not the last word in materials (but then they're considerable less expensive than more exotic connectors), but the finish is quite nice and I was able to pair the sockets up to my existing cables without any fuss for direct comparison.

Now, my existing plugs weren't what could be described as 'seriously expensive' (money would appear to be no object to those in search of 'that' perfect sound), but they weren't 'cheap' either. The new connectors were a reassuringly firm and snug fit into the amplifiers. I was also comforted to note that I'd made a reasonable job of minimising and excess wiring.

The design also offers a couple of options on how connections / wiring can be setup.

A back to back comparison made a good initial impression, with no loss to clarity, detail or drive (e.g. no nasties from poor connections). I'll leave these in place for a good while yet to see how well they do; but I have to admit that given the price point, these are very competitive and a nice simple solution for those wanting to get their setup sorted.

The only suggestion that I might have is that, for complete beginners, there could be more in the way of instruction or guidance on the pack. Thankfully, I'm no stranger to the wiring at the back of my system or the variations on plugs and connectors. That said, you don't really get much more intuitive than a simple sockets like these (tools aren't essential), so I'd happily recommend these to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-made, but not a great design, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
You can pay a small fortune for decent banana plugs, particularly from the "serious" hi-fi brands. On the other hand, I have had problems with dirt-cheap ones in the past, which tend to use small, feeble grub screws that disintegrate as soon as you try to tighten them. Amazon's own-brand offering is very cheap - around a pound a plug, which is about what you would pay for the cheapest plugs from Maplin and the like.

First impressions are very good - the plugs are solid and heavy - no information on what they are made of, but I suspect it is brass with the usual microscopically-thin layer of gold used for hi-fi purposes! They are a solid single piece with slightly flexible bananas, which gripped nicely onto the sockets on my amp with just enough force to hold securely, but without being ludicrously hard to plug in or remove.

The snag is the way a cable is attached. There is a large hole drilled through the plug, and a heavy thumb-screw at the back to tighten down onto it; this is drilled with a 4mm socket so plugs can be piggy-backed, which is a nice touch. You can either pass the cable from one side of the plug to the other, or pass it through the 4mm hole and out one side. But don't even consider this unless you have seriously thick cables - 79-strand would be a bare minimum. Standard bell wire just falls straight out; the size of the holes is such that the plug can't be tightened enough to grip it. However, once you have thick cable, the weight of it will be enough to start working the cable loose if you use the side entry; the trouble with thumb-screw connections is you can't do them up quite as tightly as grub screws.

The design also means, however you choose to connect the cable, that you will have a "tail" of bare wire sticking out of the side of the plug; really not a good idea given the generally catastrophic effect of shorting the speaker terminals on an amplifier!

Finally, it is bizarre in the extreme that these plugs come in packs of 24, i.e. enough to fit 6 mono speaker cables. The vast majority of surround sound systems use either 5 or 7 channels, so with this set, you will either have 4 plugs left over, or be 4 plugs short.

Within their limitations, these plugs are fine for the price - but make sure your cables are thick enough to make use of them, and make sure you are very careful with the excess wire you will have hanging out of the sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressed, 26 Feb. 2014
By 
A. Chothia - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
Solid metal, plated in gold, with a little plastic ring (black or red) to denote positive or negative. Speaker wire can be secured either through the side, or through the back. If you secure speaker wires from the side, you can stack plugs ie. One plug can plug into the back of another. This makes bi wiring a breeze.

I would happily choose these over the branded equivalents.

If any of you are not satisfied with the variety of banana plugs available here, try Amazon.de. They have a wider selection of plugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly perfect!, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
After some months with those banana plugs, i feel like i can write a review of it!.

First I bought some really cheap banana plugs, because if was too stingy to throw some more cash, after some better banana plugs. I should have started with those, then i could have saved me some more bucks!.

They arrived fairly quick, in a beautiful package. I was surprised on the weight of this little package, until i opened it up. I was amazed how beautiful these banana plugs actually look like. I know you never see them, because they're at the back of the receiver or speaker. But they look and feel amazing!.
They need some FORCE to get the screw to stay at the same place for a long time. But when you figure it out, the cable don't move away.

You need some fairly big cable, like 2 mm quadrant as a minimum. I got some Supra 2.5 mm quadrant, which i struggled to fit with those banana plugs. I folded the core to get bigger and then it fitted nicely.
You need space behind the receiver or speaker, because those banana plugs is fairly large.
If the above ain't a problem, then these plugs is definitely the ones you should get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cheap cheap, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
wires go in, screw them together and they plug into the amp and speaker, obvious! good quality for the price especially if you have a whole surround system to wire up

theres cheaper ones and more expensive ones, so it wont surprise you when i say these are mid range quality :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
Although these are described as "basics", they are far and away better than most other banana plugs I have used and cheaper than other similar plugs They don't use a fiddly grub screw and can take most thicknesses of speaker wire (thin wire just has to be folded a couple of times). They are easy to join together but there are a couple of points to watch. Because they tighten with a hand grip, this needs checking periodically as it can work loose (possibly due to temperature fluctuations). Also, when chaining together one or more plugs ensure that the positive and negative wires are set apart otherwise they can easily touch and short circuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
J. Hyatt (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
I spend an hours trying to wire one speaker to my Yamaha rx-v775 amp. Got these and it took about 1 1/2 to do. Fantastic product. I checked buying theses from a local shop, and they were £10.99 per pair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy connectivity, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
12 black and 12 red coded banana plugs, all easily accessible inside a neatly sized cardboard carton. Connection of cables is easy with a choice of two insertion points, either through the base or side of the plug; something that comes as quite a relief to someone that often finds DIY a bit of a challenge as you really can't go wrong.

The plugs feel weighty, well made and, most importantly, they do work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sound purchase., 19 Sept. 2013
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Amazon Basics range is impressive and these are no exception. I've used cheapo banana plugs and they felt cheap. But these, though not the cheapest, are far from being expensive and they feel nice and solid with screw mechanisms which thread nicely. The plugs themselves fit snugly with no wiggle and without having to jam them in. There's no metal covered plastic here these are all metal construction and are not fiddly in the slightest, wires can be inserted in the bottom <childish giggle> or the side and manually screwed into place by hand - no need to have a screwdriver handy.

They even look attractive in the cardboard box! And 24 plugs is a substantial number, these are always handy to have in. I don't really have the kind of equipment to really test the audio quality of these to breaking point, but from what I've heard there is no loss of fidelity and I would recommend these to anyone wanting plugs.

In a nutshell: These feel like premium plugs and I suspect they will outperform considerably expensive plugs out there - they are definitely one of the more solidly made plugs available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Klingsor (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics 24k Gold Connector Banana Plugs 24 Pack 12 Red / 12 Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm loving amazon basics range. Yet another brilliant product for those who like to fiddle with their hi-fi and surround home cinema. If you ever had to connect your 6 speakers into the dedicated plugs at the back of the surround amplifier/receiver, you know what a fiddly and time consuming the whole process is. It drives me nuts every time I'm trying to negotiate bare speaker cable wires between the plugs and getting to fix them and and keep them stay where they should be, isolated from each other. All 12 of them. And to repeat the whole process at the speaker end once again.

These banana golden plated plugs are such a practical solution and they are quick and easy to fix into place. Get your bare speaker cable through the hole, tighten the screw and plug into the amp and the speaker. And that's it. And it works. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews