Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form
After "The Greatest", this is a welcome return to form ... can't fault it, hauntingly beautiful. Didn't get off on "Jukebox", apart from a couple of excellent songs, but on this one she is back to her best.
Published 20 months ago by Mr. K. Hubbard

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars LOVE ONE TRACK
The track 'Human Being' was used in an episode of CSI and brought Cat Power to my attention but sadly I didn't connect with the rest of this album. I far preferred 'The Greatest' which was bought as an afterthought at the same time and I'm very glad I did.
Published 2 months ago by Riley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice album, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
C.M did it again and it is the best creation for her entire career in music. such a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form, 19 April 2013
By 
Mr. K. Hubbard "kevinatkhco" (Glastonbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun (Audio CD)
After "The Greatest", this is a welcome return to form ... can't fault it, hauntingly beautiful. Didn't get off on "Jukebox", apart from a couple of excellent songs, but on this one she is back to her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, and yet the same, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Caitlin R. Kight (Falmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun (Amazon Exclusive Version) (MP3 Download)
I read a couple of negative reviews about this album, so I wasn't sure what to expect. This is much closer to the rich, multilayered sound of The Greatest and Jukebox than, say, Moon Pix, but in this case the instruments you'll notice most are drums and synthesizer. Apparently (according to comments Cat Power made in an interview), she wanted to push herself musically and do something she hadn't done before, which is why she deliberately tossed the stuff she'd written on guitar, and sat down with a synthesizer to play around with some new sounds. Thanks to their presence, this IS a different-sounding album. At the same time, though, there is still a darkness to even the most up-tempo songs, so the music is very reminiscent of the "southern gothic" sound of Powers' previous albums. I thought several songs sounded futuristic--like something you might hear in a movie while looking at a dark, rainy, Blade Runner-esque landscape, or perhaps as the soundtrack while someone walks into a dark nightclub.

I have eclectic tastes and so I was quite pleased with the purchase; as soon as I finished listening to the album the first time around, I put it on again. I never thought I'd hear Cat Power playing around with auto tune, but that and all the other electronic bells and whistles work. She's got a great hear for music and, of course, a great voice, which is a combo that is hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it came, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun [VINYL] (Vinyl)
was a bit late but it still came and the vinyl was in perfect condition, still in its packaging. sounds great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun (Audio CD)
This is all about personal preference, and I think it's a brilliant album. A bit of a departure for Cat Power music wise perhaps, so listen before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars LOVE ONE TRACK, 7 Oct 2014
This review is from: Sun (Audio CD)
The track 'Human Being' was used in an episode of CSI and brought Cat Power to my attention but sadly I didn't connect with the rest of this album. I far preferred 'The Greatest' which was bought as an afterthought at the same time and I'm very glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Side Of The Sun, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Gannon (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sun (Audio CD)
Given Sun is Chan Marshall's first proper album for six years and comes off the back of a breakup with her long-term partner, we perhaps might have expected an awkward album out of time and place. A hybrid of sultry electronics and determined rock, Sun however is having none of it and Marshall is back it would seem to put contemporaries such as Joan As Police Woman and St. Vincent in their place.

All the same, there will undoubtedly be some that bemoan Marshall's evolution from sparse singer-songwriting into today's svelte song-craft, but those same people may find some solace here in "Human Being" in which Marshall puts that smoky folk whisper of hers to good use, but quite what these people will make of the track's juxtaposition of echoing acoustic strumming and fizzy synth bass pulses in anyone's guess. And there are more challenges for the reticent too. For example, the title track is but dark casing for a panning spotlight of synth, Marshall even experimenting with a spatter of auto-tune towards its close, though it must be said more in line with the tasteful application of Poliça than its more usual chart usage.

Although there's a few unremarkable mid-order moments and, earlier, the stepping dither of "3,6,9" overdoes its heavy repeats, Sun does house some real highlights. Politicised single "Ruin" twins a dancing piano line with infectious bass bounce, superlative guitar chatter and some strong melodies. The dreamy drum machine pitter-patter and slo-mo piano footfall of "Manhattan" is all very dignified too, and the solid "Cherokee" is a busy template full of drum machine clicks, woozy synth and stirring piano loops that combine for a great outro framed by militaristic drum rolls.

It's the tail end of Sun's running order that really steals the show however. "Silent Machine" and "Peace And Love" are both stomping rockers with big guitar riffs, the former of which conceals an unexpected passage of crunching noise and distorted vocal effects. In the middle of this pair is all eleven minutes of "Nothin' But Time" - an epic tribute to David Bowie's "Heroes" that pilfers a little of the original's melody and partners it with a swooping line of buzzing synth. Iggy Pop even turns up for a lascivious croon towards its close, though we could have done without the reprise adding three minutes to the running time with little benefit.

Sun is different - more distinctive and lingering too - than The Greatest, which is in turn different to what preceded it. Like the best artists, Marshall is on a journey and Sun captures her most recent developments; at times sombre, at others angry she's nevertheless confident enough to explore the power of voguish electronica, presenting for the most part an album of optimism and quality.

Advised downloads: "Ruin" and "Nothin' But Time".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have her back, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Kenneth (nottingham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sun (Audio CD)
When Cat Power named her 2006 album The Greatest, I got the feeling she was being ironically self-deprecating, that's not because it wasn't a brilliant album, it was In fact one of the standouts of that year and even won her the Shortlist Music Prize. It's just that Chan marshall's not particularly well known for being a self-assured or conceited individual, so I'd just figured she was having an inside joke with her devout listeners who'd have no problem spotting the tongue firmly in her cheek.

With the completion of Cat Power's latest album Sun, coinciding with her split from boyfriend Giovanni Ribisi, I anticipated a brutal and bitter break up record here and once again saw the title as another demonstration of Chan's wryness. There's no misdirection going on though, Sun sounds precisely how you'd think an album would sound with that title; vibrant, positive and above all wonderfully accessible.

The Instruments on Sun are what make it sound so virile and energetic, bright Synthesizers and trip hop beats are often laced with lovely piano motifs and lightly distorted guitar. This doesn't turn the album into a saccharin love-in though, Chan's soulful alto hasn't disappeared (even if it is modulated at times) and her lyrics can still be dark and brooding on here too. The albums actually begins with lyrics about Death and resigned disappointment on opener "Cherokee" but Cat Power sounds so defiant and invigorated when she's singing them, especially when the danceable electronic beat comes in a third of the way through to accompany her.

"3,6,9" is really where her new direction becomes most apparent, the use of autotune and the boom bap beats will perhaps intially alarm a few diehards who thinks she's diluted her forlorn essence in favour of gimmicky pop dalliances. But it's disposable lyrics and quasi ephemeral instrumentation are used as tools to celebrate how liberated she's become here and if you listen without any preconceived notions as to what a Cat Power song should be, it's actually a really fun track.

Lead single "Ruin" really shows how deft she can be as a producer as well as a musician; the song is expertly sequenced with a captivating keyboard riff that revolves around soft percussion, a chicken scratch guitar and Cat Power's mellifluous vocals. Initially the lyrics sound like a preachy clarion call for westerners to wake up and realise just how lucky they are. However it becomes apparent after repeat listens that she's actually singing about herself with the "B*thcin complaining" line, which give's the song's kerouac sense of propulsion an inverted twist.

The track I imagine most people will be talking about on Sun is "Nothin but Time" though; it's unapologetically epic at 11 minutes, features Iggy Pop and has Cat Power singing the most tender lyrics of her career. Sonically the song essentially repeats the same drum groove and piano loop for it's entirity but the aforementioned elements mean it only just outstays it's welcome. Some have been hailing Sun as Chan's best album yet and although i personally wouldn't quite go that far, i must say how remarkably she's transitioned into the new sound on here without abandoning the very elements that made her so fascinating in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hotter than the Sun, 14 Sep 2012
This review is from: Sun (Audio CD)
There's been some strange reviews of this album. Let me assure you this is an album (in its own way) as strong musically as The Greatest, and, unlike say, Jukebox, has the tunes and lyrical chops to keep you going back for more. Her voice too is at its smoky best and is magnificent on the album's showstoppers Manhattan and Nothing but Time. It's great to have Chan Marshall back on an album that has the heat and light most singer-songwriter's can only dream about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Hassle free purchase, how it should be. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews